Blatherings: Beasts in the professor’s House

Today, I have two disturbing photos to share with you–nay, three.

The first is some sort of tiger that sits atop the professor’s globe. (Notice that he sits above the U.S.S.R. Interesting, isn’t it?)

DSC00218

Look at those evil eyes!

DSC00216

The funny dadblamery here, is that Mr. Tiger looks like Bob, wouldn’t you say?

DSC00221

And then, lastly, is Bartimaeus.

DSC00217

A convenient place to hang one’s hat. (The sunglasses are his–as is the flower.) It’s said that Bartimaeus holds professorish treasure within.

Anyway, these two beasts help the professor stay sorted.

It’s a hard job; one that I wouldn’t want.

 

122 Responses to “Blatherings: Beasts in the professor’s House”


  1. 1 naomimgruer November 14, 2013 at 05:23

    Dadblamery is an excellent word! Bob looks like he knows more than he lets on.

    Like

  2. 3 The Dancing Rider November 7, 2013 at 22:23

    Bob I love! Mr. Tiger has disquieting eyes, Professor! And of course there is treasure in Bartimaeus. That he can hold a hat is one of them! :)

    Like

  3. 5 Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister November 7, 2013 at 20:15

    I like Mr. Tiger’s eyes, but he does seem sad, possibly hopeful that someone will soon take him from his position as guard over the U.S.S.R.

    Bob is adorable. I really like his chesty white patch, it makes him look so official. I wonder how he keeps it looking so prestine?

    Is Bart. holding your hat, professor? I like his color choice in flowers. Everyone should have a bit of color on them. His sunglasses would have set his coloring off just right had they been Feisty Red. In the end he looks like a rather cool dude, I’d say.

    Like

    • 6 Professor VJ Duke November 7, 2013 at 20:18

      Maybe so! The professor would be sad if he had to guard the U.S.S.R too!

      I’m not sure. Maybe he preens it?

      Yes, he is! Can’t you picture the professor in a beanie? The professor needs to get Feisty Red Sunglasses–now that’d be cool!

      Bart is a cool guy–very Punchyish, you know.

      Like

  4. 17 Hazy November 7, 2013 at 15:49

    Mr. Tiger seems to look… mesmerized… like he’s trying to hypnotize someone (or he is being hypnotized!)

    Bob looks like he isn’t too happy to have his picture taken. He seems huggable! (but I’m a bit scared of kitties)

    Glad to see Bartimaeus again! He looks cool, as ever. Did he go on a vacation? He and Weatherly could be good friends, don’t you think?

    Like

    • 18 Professor VJ Duke November 7, 2013 at 16:52

      I think Bob is angry with Mr. Tiger. Perhaps Bob put him under a spell…

      He is! (Why? Weatherly’s sort of like a cat…)

      I do think so! Weatherly could teach him how to defend himself! :lol: (Bartimaeus is constantly under attack by flies.) I think he was on vacation, yes. He’s relaxed now.

      Like

      • 19 Hazy November 10, 2013 at 12:44

        Oh, that doesn’t sound improbable… Did Mr. Tiger do something wrong to make Bob put him under a spell?

        (But Weatherly is a ninja cat, and he understands hazy minds… mostly. I’m afraid of nearly all animals though! Although I have a dog, but she can be scary too)

        Awesome! Weatherly is happy to have a new friend. (Why do flies like to attack Barty?)

        Like

      • 20 Professor VJ Duke November 10, 2013 at 19:38

        I think Bob would like to sit atop the globe…

        (That means he’d probably understand professorish ones too. :) :lol: Animals are scary, so the professor understands completely!)

        Barty–I love it! Well, I think it’s because he’s sweet.

        Like

      • 21 Hazy November 11, 2013 at 15:17

        Has he tried sitting up there? If Bob tries to stay as still as Mr. Tiger, I think he can manage it.

        :lol: They are, aren’t they? The teeth and claws, I fear.

        Maybe Barty should try not to be too sweet… or maybe use some homemade fly repellant. Though Weatherly insists on nunchucking the flies away. :lol:

        Like

      • 22 Professor VJ Duke November 11, 2013 at 18:30

        No, he hasn’t. (Secretly, I don’t think Bob would like it.)

        Yes, that’s it!

        :lol: The professor would love to try nunchucking hiself…

        Like

      • 23 Hazy November 14, 2013 at 16:34

        :lol: Why do you think he wouldn’t like it?

        I think you’d be quite good at it! Weatherly is flawless at it now. He doesn’t trust me with it because I always end up hitting myself :lol: Nunchucks and I don’t mix, I’m afraid.

        Like

      • 24 Professor VJ Duke November 14, 2013 at 19:06

        Because Bob isn’t the sort of beast to stay put for long.

        Oh, I don’t know… The professor would probably be just like Hazy. I’m sure Weatherly is a master, though!

        Like

      • 25 Hazy November 17, 2013 at 09:44

        Does Bob get bored easily?

        Yes, he is. And Weatherly thinks you have much better coordination than me, so you’ll learn it pretty quickly. :lol:

        Like

      • 26 Professor VJ Duke November 18, 2013 at 15:07

        I think he does, yes. He also has an insatiable appetite.

        :D Oh, I’m sure Hazy would do just as well as the professor!

        Like

      • 27 Hazy December 7, 2013 at 10:39

        He probably eats a lot! What’s Bob’s favorite food?

        :D Haha, maybe. Thanks!

        Like

      • 28 Professor VJ Duke December 7, 2013 at 20:29

        Bob likes tuna, I think…

        Like

  5. 29 Lesley November 7, 2013 at 10:39

    Professor, youcallthem beasts, but they hardly look like beasts. I will even go as far as claiming that they are cute :)

    Like

  6. 37 ladycheetah7 November 6, 2013 at 23:41

    I had a squirrel that would faithfully knock my plant down in the patio. One day as I was climbing the stairs (I live on the second floor) there were two squirrels at the top of the stairs as if I had to give them a secret password. I think I said something to the affect, “are you going to let me pass?” One climbed up the wall and the other scooted on my patio and stretched himself as if he were going to make himself at home.
    :-P

    Like

  7. 39 Anja November 6, 2013 at 22:53

    Awwww I like da kitty. No pictures of your tassies?

    Like

  8. 63 sonya solomonovich November 6, 2013 at 21:13

    You are so lucky to have so many beasts close at hand. I would love to have a scary looking dog but alas my living arrangements are too small to contain such a beast… but I do have a couple of dolphins! :)

    Like

  9. 69 L. Marie November 6, 2013 at 19:30

    Bob is giving the Professor a look (if the Professor is the one who took the photo) that I find more disturbing than any of these photos. It could be because of the tiger sitting on the globe–on top of the world so to speak. That’s Bob’s place. The tiger usurped that place.

    Like

  10. 73 Jackie November 6, 2013 at 18:48

    Bob is much better looking than Mr. Tiger. Mr. Tiger looks permanently freaked out and not very punchyish. I think you should call him Fraidy Cat. >^..^<

    Like

  11. 79 Painting Pundit November 6, 2013 at 17:05

    Bob looks much sweeter than the freaked out tiger.

    Like

  12. 85 krugthethinker November 6, 2013 at 17:01

    What a ferocious tiger! Perhaps he is Siberian.

    Like

  13. 87 weggieboy November 6, 2013 at 15:40

    I generally have Andy the Persian cat plopped down by my feet or on top of my computer. His brother Dougy fills in the rest of the time by taking up too much space on my computer desk, generally right where I need to put my arm, hand to use my mouse!

    Like

  14. 89 Angeline M November 6, 2013 at 15:17

    I would watch out for Bob if I were you. Bob and that tiger…they are one.

    Like

  15. 91 Susan P November 6, 2013 at 14:20

    The tiger looks more bewildered than ferocious. Perhaps the serious and sensitive nature of his position in caring for the Professor has that effect upon him. Is Bartimaeus related to Miss Piggy? I think I see a resemblance. But, I’ve been wrong before.

    Disturbing indeed!

    Like

  16. 109 deanthefish November 6, 2013 at 13:54

    Do yourself a great big favor and throw out the worn-to-rags tiger, taxidermy Bob and then you have a much more stunning heirloom to pass down through the generations.

    Like

  17. 117 sknicholls November 6, 2013 at 13:02

    I have a squirrel that sits on top of my computer, but sometimes he gets in my way. He can be quite a distraction.

    Like


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

The PL Blogging Schedule

Monday: PL Times

Tuesday: Tales and Stories

Wednesday: Tales of the Professor

Thursday: Punchy Video

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Need Manliness? Join Jazzy!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,522 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 78,507 hits

Categories

Professorish Smiley:

==]:-{)=

or

==]:-{)+

Depends on the day.

Punchy Argot:

1. Manothunder.
2. Dadblameit.
3. Maburnit.
4. Punchinny.
5. Wowawee.
6. Humdinger.
7. Punchalicioius.
8. Plumbtastic.
9. Chickit.
10. Chicky-woot-woot.
[abbrev. C-W-W.]
11. Laws.
12. Malediction.
13. Ja-beanwicky.
14. Rapscallion.
15. "Jazzy Couldren Laughed!"
16. Gardoobuled.
[alt. spelling: Gardoobled.]
17. Congratulilolations.
18. Togoggin.
19. Gargonic.
20. Warts and Popcorn.
21. Two and Five Gurgles.
22. Rats and a Heifer.
23. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid.
24. A bit, bits, and little bits.
25. Huff-Hum and a Roar.
26. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you.
27. Ri-do-diculous.
28. Humphalicious
29. Grossapopoluss

Punchy Questions?

If you have any questions for the professor—about the Punchy Lands, specific characters, or anything Punchy in general—contact me immediately! micpencilpoint@gmail.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,522 other followers

