Blatherings – Random Thoughts

I must make a confession:

My favorite author is Mark Twain. He possesses unparalleled wit, wonderfully biting sarcasm, and an ability to really write magnificent stories.

Below is a list of some of his best:

1. The Prince and the Pauper
2. The Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court
3. Roughing It
4. A Literary Nightmare (Short Story)
5. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
6. The Stolen White Elephant (Short Story)
7. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
8. About Barbers (Short Story)
9. Fenimore Cooper’s Literary Offenses (Short Story)
10. Pudd’nhead Wilson

Mark Twain’s quotes, sayings, and proverbs are also stellar. Definitely check them out if you’re interested!

Below are two particular quotes from Mark Twain which basically sum up the career of another author:

“I haven’t any right to criticize books, and I don’t do it except when I hate them. I often want to criticize Jane Austen, but her books madden me so that I can’t conceal my frenzy from the reader; and therefore I have to stop every time I begin. Every time I read Pride and Prejudice I want to dig her up and beat her over the skull with her own shin-bone.”

“Just the omission of Jane Austen’s books alone would make a fairly good library out of a library that hadn’t a book in it.”

One more thing. I would like to share a photo that’s somewhat bewildering.

dreamstime_19780741edit

 

18 Responses to “Blatherings – Random Thoughts”


  1. 1 MissTiffany June 28, 2013 at 13:02

    Unparalleled wit? I personally think highly of Miss Austen’s wit. And I don’t think she would care if Mr. Twain didn’t like her…

    “I do not want people to be agreeable, as it saves me the trouble of liking them.”

    Oh, please do. Go ahead and read Pride and Prejudice for a ripping review. You just might like what you read.

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke June 28, 2013 at 15:29

      Jane’s wit isn’t at all funny, or charming, or entertaining–like Twain’s! I could only imagine Jane writing about her travels around the world–it would be unbearable and atrocious!

      For a book to be ripped, it has to cause just a tiny bit of repulsion. P and P’s first sentence has caused this professor much repulsion. Why a comma? It staggers the imagination. I can only imagine–in horror–the rest of the novel.

      • 3 MissTiffany June 28, 2013 at 16:01

        Have you read Jane’s works to know whether or not her wit is funny or charming? I imagine Jane would have had some very entertaining observations about societies all over the world.

        Is it wrong that I find your horror of having to read the rest of the novel a tad amusing?

      • 4 Professor VJ Duke June 28, 2013 at 20:05

        It would be entertaining in how poorly it was written and how readily rippable it would be!!

        It is wrong! ;) Just like wishing for someone to watch the Eragon movie is wrong… :)

      • 5 FictionFan June 28, 2013 at 21:11

        Perhaps if it was translated into American? It’s not really fair to expect you to understand the nuances of a foreign language… ;)

      • 6 Professor VJ Duke June 30, 2013 at 21:43

        Humph! I suppose you’re right. I wonder if Darcy eats ice lollies…

      • 7 FictionFan July 1, 2013 at 03:03

        He would if I were Lizzie…

      • 8 Professor VJ Duke July 1, 2013 at 14:51

        :lol:

  2. 9 FictionFan June 27, 2013 at 23:16

    It is a truth universally acknowledged that men with excessive facial cannot be trusted…and these violent tendencies of Mr Twain prove that truth!

    I note that he can’t prevent himself from re-reading P&P though. Methinks the gentleman doth protest too much… ;)

    • 10 Professor VJ Duke June 27, 2013 at 23:21

      Goodness. This professor took that to mean that he was trying to do a ripping book review. But every time he tried to read it, he couldn’t!

      I shall do it for him…I think. If I can brave reading it…

      • 11 FictionFan June 27, 2013 at 23:26

        But…but…what if you read it and discover….that you like it?!?

    • 12 Professor VJ Duke June 27, 2013 at 23:29

      Never thought of that… I would amend my ways forthwith! And you’d be the first I’d come crying to!

  3. 13 gita4elamats June 4, 2013 at 13:51

    I love Mark Twain; here’s one my favourites of his quotes: ‘It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open one’s mouth and remove all doubt.’
    Mark Twain

    • 14 Professor VJ Duke June 4, 2013 at 14:09

      Oh, boy, Gita!!! That’s just great! Mark is my absolute favorite!!! That quote makes me laugh every time I hear it! Thanks for sharing!

      • 15 gita4elamats June 4, 2013 at 14:47

        It makes me watch my words. :)
        Ela

      • 16 Professor VJ Duke June 4, 2013 at 18:15

        Doesn’t it? That’s been me on too many occasions!!

      • 17 gita4elamats June 5, 2013 at 03:41

        Me, too! :lol:

      • 18 Professor VJ Duke June 5, 2013 at 14:26

        :)


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,871 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,252 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


