Belated Blatherings: Breakfast and Hungry Dogs

Two instances, I believe, should be shared.

Firstly, the alarming anecdote of my breakfast. I had the misfortune of getting an ill-formed (for lack of a better word) egg. The egg seemed quite itself on the outside, but when I took the toast and tried to break the yolk…it was quite impossible. The egg must have had a steel barrier or something. After several unsuccessful attempts to break the yolk (I didn’t want to get too wild in public), I rammed the toast into the yolk with great force. Still the yolk would not break. Now, it was war. The yolk had declared it; and I had accepted. After the toast had disintegrated into crumbs, I took up the fork. “This,” I thought, “will end the war!” I brought the fork down with such vigor, with such loathing, with such indignation! The yolk barely budged. I brought the fork down again. Ahh, success! The war was over! The fork was dull, and somewhat bent, but I had won! Of course, by this time, my appetite had disappeared almost completely. So, in a sense, I had lost the war.

Secondly, this is what happens when training is over, and the dogs no longer have the ball.

DSC00074DSC00077DSC00078

27 Responses to “Belated Blatherings: Breakfast and Hungry Dogs”


  1. 1 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 21, 2014 at 23:46

    Duke, you make me laugh. The poor egg! Which is which…your dogs seem adorable. *winks* Umm, nice teeth… *laughs* Seriously, they look so happy. How often are you training them? Or maybe you’ve finished?

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke June 22, 2014 at 19:17

      I forgot all about that dadblame egg!

      *laughing* They’re not that vicious. I caught them wrestling on purpose. (They do it all the time.) The black one is Rommel and the other is Freya!

      Well…I don’t train them that much. I just beat them about. You know, every dog needs beat about the ears.

      • 3 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 23, 2014 at 03:46

        *laughs* It was a nice thought, you know, wanting to eat the egg.

        *giggle* I really like the pictures, Duke. They are too cute. (Adorable) Rommel is so handsome! Freya, yeah, she’s my girl. They have great names…

        Duke!!! You’re teasing….

      • 4 Professor VJ Duke June 23, 2014 at 13:35

        Haha, it was dadblamery!

        Oh, thanks! Yes, the names are creative, I’d say.

        Yes, overall, that is! I love their ears.

      • 5 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 23, 2014 at 15:48

        I can’t imagine what was wrong with the egg.

        They are! Beautiful names.

        I enjoy the ears of a dog, too. Love rattling them up and scratching them. I have a thing about sliding them through my fingers.. soothing.

      • 6 Professor VJ Duke June 24, 2014 at 00:14

        It is soothing! The egg declared war, and I won. That was a battle, too!

      • 7 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 24, 2014 at 05:19

        *smiles* I know…Oscar loves it. So you beat an egg in war??? You are so strong and brave…how did you manage? *laughs*

      • 8 Professor VJ Duke June 24, 2014 at 13:49

        You’re laughing me to scorn!

      • 9 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 24, 2014 at 16:05

        I love laughing with you..

      • 10 Professor VJ Duke June 25, 2014 at 12:01

        *laughing* Me too!

      • 11 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 26, 2014 at 06:25

        *giggle*

  2. 12 sknicholls June 15, 2013 at 17:18

    What a rough start to your day…i do hope things have improved a bit :)

    • 13 Professor VJ Duke June 16, 2013 at 00:43

      Yes, I decided not to have an egg for lunch.

  3. 14 safia June 15, 2013 at 11:10

    This bothers me a great deal. Firstly, please confirm that this was in fact a boiled egg. Secondly, you mention you were on public view. Now, I know the general scattiness and eccentricities of academics are usually tolerated by those who recognise they are in the presence of genius, but really – are you trying to tell us you actually ordered a boiled egg in some café advertising ‘breakfast’? Please – never, ever do it again. The precision needed for the perfect boiled egg (a scant 3 minutes using the Oggy method) is only achievable at home. Don’t thank me – my favourite historical period is The Enlightenment. PS. Should anyone need advice on the Oggy egg, please leave a note below. I’ll probably be popping in here every day.

    • 15 Professor VJ Duke June 15, 2013 at 15:52

      Actually, the egg was over easy. And I wouldn’t necessarily call the professor a genius…

      • 16 safia June 15, 2013 at 18:23

        Ah, I guess the fork was the giveaway! Please ignore the previous witterings on boiled eggs. You have my deepest sympathy.

      • 17 Professor VJ Duke June 16, 2013 at 00:43

        The egg should probably have your sympathy…

  4. 18 Redo You Project June 14, 2013 at 18:23

    Sometimes our burdens are heavy, as are our yokes! Sorry, it’s just a “yoke joke.”

    Good to see your visit and “like” on Seuss. Have a great weekend.

    Jeff

    • 19 Professor VJ Duke June 15, 2013 at 15:51

      :lol: Isn’t that true?

      • 20 Redo You Project June 16, 2013 at 21:19

        Are you any luckier with say…pancakes? I knew a guy who got in trouble for making a batch of pancakes…he was arrested on “BATTER-ery” charges!

        That’s as flat as a flap-jack. Sorry!

        Jeff

      • 21 Professor VJ Duke June 16, 2013 at 23:35

        Jeff, that made me laugh! Thanks!

  5. 22 Pragmatic Ace June 14, 2013 at 18:00

    Perhaps just perhaps you should have given the egg to the dogs! Now I believe that would have definitely been a win/win situation for their appetite would not have been effected. ;-)
    Great Post! Funny too! I think I might have “run” (no pun intended) into an egg like that before.

    • 23 Professor VJ Duke June 14, 2013 at 18:12

      You’re right: I should have! Dear me, this professor…mental problems…

  6. 24 FictionFan June 14, 2013 at 15:30

    You should have got Bob to deal with the yolk…

    • 25 Professor VJ Duke June 14, 2013 at 18:12

      *gulp* You’re right: I should have. I fed him late today. Do you think he’ll forgive me for both grievances?

      • 26 FictionFan June 14, 2013 at 18:47

        No!

        PS I keep meaning to mention that I love your tagging system… :)

      • 27 Professor VJ Duke June 15, 2013 at 15:50

        Ooops.

        Thank you!!


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,875 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,935 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


