Punchy Proverbs…and rips…

Be on guard at all times; for it is uncertain where the attack will come from, but it is certain that one will come.

Truth feels very slighted when he is reinterpreted to fit one’s ideal.

Never be pushed into something; you may end up stumbling.

~ Punchy Proverbs of the Week

Now you must pick an absolute favorite!

I have one more question, dear Punchy Family. The professor would like for you to tell him which of the following novels you would most enjoy seeing ripped:

a. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
b. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
c. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
d. The Mystery of the Yellow Room by Gaston Leroux
e. Quo Vadis by Henry Sienkiewicz
f. Pride and Prejudice by Colin Firth

42 Responses to “Punchy Proverbs…and rips…”


  1. 1 krugthethinker August 6, 2013 at 16:25

    I like second one. So true! I think it would be fun to see Gatsby ripped because so many people have read it, but P&P could be really fun too!

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke August 6, 2013 at 17:07

      Okay, then! Everybody seems to want to see Gatsby and P&P ripped. Both are on the schedule!

  2. 3 Mariah August 5, 2013 at 23:58

    Please do Pride and Prejudice. I do not understand everyone’s obsession with Darcy!

    • 4 Professor VJ Duke August 6, 2013 at 00:00

      :D Me neither! I’m so happy to hear that! A rip will be coming.

  3. 5 Simply Inquisitive August 5, 2013 at 23:30

    Okay now Professor are you trying to make me split my sides???? Last I looked P&P was not authored by Colin Firth. Of course, he did wonders to promote it though. :-)

    • 6 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 23:35

      You see, everybody seems to really like (or love) Darcy. But who they really love is Firth. (More in the ripping.)

  4. 7 Angeline M August 5, 2013 at 23:15

    Favorite proverb is Never get pushed into something….. been there, done that
    Oh, I would so love to see you rip The Great Gatsby!!!!

    • 8 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 23:32

      Okay, then. Do you dislike the Gatsby lots? :)

      I like that proverb too.

  5. 9 ConfusedTeen August 5, 2013 at 23:05

    Oh do rip Wuthering Heights! It’s on my summer reading list for junior year and I’ve had the most awful time reading it! It deserves to be ripped :D

    • 10 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 23:32

      Really? I’ve heard some rotten things about it! Is it that bad?

      • 11 ConfusedTeen August 5, 2013 at 23:45

        Well I do suppose that reading it for school makes seem a lot worse! The writing is beautiful, it’s just sometimes quite… um… presumptuous and flowery, which is sort of hard for me to digest, as much as I loved the Anne of Green Gables books which are quite flowery as well

      • 12 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 23:57

        Oh yes, I definitely understand! And it deserves a rip!!!

  6. 13 The Dancing Rider August 5, 2013 at 20:57

    Having experienced #3 many times over, it’s my favorite. I might have finally learned……

    As for a novel to rip, I’d go with “The Great Gatsby”, on several levels!

    Love your entry, Professor!

    • 14 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 22:45

      I know what you mean! You’re one up on the professor. He still hasn’t learned…

      Great! Gatsby needs ripped, I think. You’re not a fan?

      Thank you!!!

      • 15 The Dancing Rider August 5, 2013 at 23:23

        Wellllll, I can’t say I’m not, as I’m a fan of several classics. It’s not so much F. Scott who needs the ripping,– but rather the character!

      • 16 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 23:33

        And I quite agree-if my memory serves me correctly! (But we’ll rip the whole thing, author included! ;) )

  7. 17 sonya solomonovich August 5, 2013 at 19:13

    Wuthering Heights, a rip-worthy novel if ever I saw one. I’m sure you could have a lot of fun with it, professor!
    Speaking of ripping, I am very tempted to rip a Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens, though I won’t call it a “ripping” since that’s your trademark.
    As for the proverbs, I like #1. I’ve just been watching this old TV show called Kung Fu, and they stated a similar proverb there, though slightly more buddhist-ish: one must be trusting, but at the same time one must expect the unexpected.

    • 18 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 20:42

      Great! Let me know when you shred it! I’ll keep Wuthering Heights in mind…soon.

      Yes, #1 is quite good, I think too.

  8. 19 ladycheetah7 August 5, 2013 at 17:51

    #2 is the winner although I believe people get insulted when confronted with the truth. Anywhoo…..
    As for the rips I think these were pre-punchy. None of them ring a bell.

    • 20 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 20:41

      Ah, that’s true.

      Any you can think of that would make good rips? :)

      • 21 ladycheetah7 August 6, 2013 at 02:19

        I read fiction like Harry Potter (blush) yah I know it’s a kis book, a few from Phiilppa Gregory Ii Elizabet and the other Boleyn Girl and am currently reading Steve Berry series if you are interested into American authors..

      • 22 Professor VJ Duke August 6, 2013 at 12:14

        Well, HP could probably be ripped, but would the professor be brave enough to read it?

  9. 23 Jackie August 5, 2013 at 13:58

    Oh dear – the proverbs are all so good it’s hard to pick my favorite! But seeing as I must and I didn’t pick one the last time – I’ll go with #3. As far as what to rip – The Great Gatsby.

    • 24 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 14:13

      #3 is the professor’s favorite too!

      Great! You don’t like the Gatsby? :)

      • 25 Jackie August 5, 2013 at 14:33

        It was ok but it didn’t hold my attention very well.

      • 26 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 15:16

        It had trouble holding this professor’s attention as well!

        I thought it rather horrid, though.

  10. 27 FictionFan August 5, 2013 at 12:52

    1) I feel this one may have been inspired by a cat not unlike dear Bob, and is so true…if a little paranoid.
    2) I can’t quite see what truth’s problem is since, if it is reinterpreted to fit my ideal, it’d end up looking like Colin Firth, which has to be a good thing, don’t you think?
    3) How are you getting on with P&P?

    All good ones this week, C-W-W, but I’d have to go for 3.

    Wuthering Heights would be good since it’s an unfavourite of mine, Gatsby would be good since it would give me an opportunity to ripio the ripio…but it must be Pride and Prejudice by Colin Firth :lol: – glad to see he’s dropped that old nom-de-plume!

    • 28 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 13:27

      Hmm…Bob may have inspired that. Maybe Shnodgrate had a run-in with Bob at one time. (Of course you understand the professor is not paranoid.)

      Well, if I was truth, I’d take issue with being reinterpreted to look like Firth. Anything would be better…including Darby.

      Haven’t started it yet. I’m wondering if I should do a couple of rips on it, since there are many angles to come from. Twain ripped Cooper in depth and tried with Austen, but he couldn’t do it. The professor must finish the job for him!

      Oh no, Darcy is still Darby, but Firth is not Darcy–at least, Austen didn’t think so. But everyone else seems to. You see, if it wasn’t for Firth, I doubt that there would be too many P&P fans… (I thought you liked his real name? ;) )

      • 29 FictionFan August 5, 2013 at 13:46

        But if you were reinterpreted to look like Darby, Bob might not recognise you – hence the danger of an unexpected attack might lessen…

        Twain couldn’t rip Austen because he recognised her innate superiority – I expect he normally read a couple of chapters of P&P or S&S before bed each night.

        Still trying to work that last paragraph out…you didn’t write a book about the Enlightenment recently, did you? I loved P&P long before Firth became Darcy became Darby became Jane Austen…the wet-shirted, smouldering-eyed one merely enhances the story, proving that it is possible to improve on perfection after all…

      • 30 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 14:15

        Why would this professor want to look like Darby?

        I shall prove to you, madam, in the ripio of P&P the glaring inaccuracies in your second paragraph!

        :lol: Well, I am a professor after all. Firth always reminded me of a loon.

      • 31 FictionFan August 5, 2013 at 15:00

        Hmm…good point! No, on second thoughts, I think you should stay just as you are, Prof Indiana.

        We shall see, sir!! (It’ll be worth it just for the joy of watching you reading it…)

        A duck? That’s rather unkind… ;)

      • 32 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 15:18

        Ahem! Professor Spitz…(I could never stand the name Indiana. What a horrid name!)

        You must get enjoyment from my pain…

        But it’s true, you know. :)

      • 33 FictionFan August 5, 2013 at 15:43

        OK, Chicky-Spitz-Spitz, is that better? :D

        Only a little… :twisted:

        Presumably that’s why he spends so much time in the lake?

      • 34 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 16:50

        :D Yes, it is.

        :lol: You know, I think you hit right on it!

      • 35 FictionFan August 6, 2013 at 00:52

        I’m becoming deeply concerned about the anti-Gatsby momentum that seems to be building here – I warn you, if you rip all my heroes, I may sob again…uncontrollably…and then I’ll tell BigSister you made me cry… :evil:

      • 36 Professor VJ Duke August 6, 2013 at 01:33

        I know! Isn’t it odd? The hate for Gatsby is building. So, the conclusion: Gatsby, Heights, and P&P have been weighed and found lacking.

        You won’t sob, will you? Isn’t it more customary to threaten with a BigBrother? At least, that’s how it is over here…

  11. 37 Susan P August 5, 2013 at 12:48

    Never be pushed into something; you may end up stumbling. is my favorite. I’ve been there, and done that over and over just to avoid rocking someone else’s boat. A couple of years ago I decided “Nevermore.”

    I think I’d like to see you rip Dorian. Yep.

    • 38 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 13:28

      I definitely liked that one too. The professor has stumbled on too many occasions. I think I must also say, “Nevermore!” Has it been working?

      Yes, Dorian definitely deserves it.

      • 39 Susan P August 5, 2013 at 18:42

        There’s a social place called StumbleOn or something. Do you think it’s a conspiracy?

      • 40 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 20:41

        Yes, I do. Don’t you?

      • 41 Susan P August 5, 2013 at 20:56

        My lips are sealed.

      • 42 Professor VJ Duke August 5, 2013 at 22:44

        The professor shall seal his then, too! :)


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,871 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,371 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


