Punchy Proverbs…and a Possible Interview

(1) Don’t laugh while planning a joke; laugh when it comes to fruition.

(2) A bad joke is like a firecracker that blows up in your face.

(3) Does anything ever happen out of the extraordinary?

~ The Punchy P’s of the Week

Favorites? (The professor is terribly indifferent to all three. He especially dislikes #1, 2, and 3.)

One more thing, dear Punchy Family. The professor must needs know something. I am aware that the PL characters can be somewhat mysterious. So, the professor was thinking—just thinking, mind you—that he could set up an interview where the Punchy Family interviews a specific character of their choice. Is that something of interest?

36 Responses to “Punchy Proverbs…and a Possible Interview”


  1. 1 gita4elamats August 13, 2013 at 07:23

    (3) sounds interesting…

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke August 13, 2013 at 13:33

      Yes, if a bit confusing…

      • 3 gita4elamats August 13, 2013 at 13:42

        Unexpected.

      • 4 Professor VJ Duke August 13, 2013 at 13:47

        True.

  2. 5 Jennifer August 13, 2013 at 07:19

    1 & 2 are quite popular in my house with three boys and hubby, and because of the male-female ratio, #3 happens regularly. :-)

    • 6 Professor VJ Duke August 13, 2013 at 13:33

      :lol: I knew that #3 had to happen somewhere!

  3. 7 L. Marie August 12, 2013 at 20:28

    I’m partial to number 2, especially having sat through stories of people who couldn’t get to the punch lines of their jokes due to their inability to keep from laughing.

    • 8 Professor VJ Duke August 12, 2013 at 21:58

      I know! Isn’t that the most vexing thing ever? The professor has suffered too much with that as well!

  4. 9 ladycheetah7 August 12, 2013 at 17:38

    #2 is the winner only because I read a blog that talked about this same thing. Love the interview idea.

    • 10 Professor VJ Duke August 12, 2013 at 17:45

      Really? That’s great. If I had to pick on, it would probably be #2 too!

      Very good. Just comment on the Daddy Salami interview post!

  5. 11 Sonya Solomonovich August 12, 2013 at 17:28

    Excellent! I would be very interested in asking these punchylanders some very probing questions.

    • 12 Professor VJ Duke August 12, 2013 at 17:44

      Great! Just comment on that Daddy Salami interview post!!!

  6. 13 FictionFan August 12, 2013 at 17:11

    Ah, yes, now I remember…

    OK, I’ll put my thinking cap on…

    Why surprised? Am I not always polite to the Professor? ;)

    Yes, indeed I would be interested! I hope she wasn’t too polite though…

    • 14 Professor VJ Duke August 12, 2013 at 17:30

      Oh yes, always polite to the professor. :) But not to Mr. R!

      No, she was quite mean, actually. (As the queen, though, you needn’t be polite all the time; only for the professor.)

  7. 15 krugthethinker August 12, 2013 at 17:05

    Oh, I love the interview idea! It would be so much to peruse the questions as well as the answers!

    • 16 krugthethinker August 12, 2013 at 17:08

      I will contribute some very silly questions, like “What is your favorite color?” and “Which came first: the chicken or the egg?”

      • 17 Professor VJ Duke August 12, 2013 at 17:29

        D. Salami would love these questions!

    • 18 Professor VJ Duke August 12, 2013 at 17:29

      This is great. The professor will get a post up, and then just ask your questions in the comments. (Up to 3!)

  8. 19 Elina August 12, 2013 at 15:32

    Third one is interesting! I like that thought :) Interviews sound cool!

    • 20 Professor VJ Duke August 12, 2013 at 16:09

      Great! You would be willing to ask a few questions then?

      • 21 Elina August 12, 2013 at 19:18

        Me… ask questions? Mmmm… well ok then :) I will try.

      • 22 Professor VJ Duke August 12, 2013 at 19:23

        Sure, give it try! Just go to the post “Interview with Daddy Salami” and post up to three questions in a comment. Anything you want to ask! :)

  9. 23 Jackie August 12, 2013 at 15:18

    I like all of the proverbs today but #3 is my favorite. I don’t really want to interview anyone but I would love to read an interview that was conducted by Punchy Family members. :-D

    • 24 Professor VJ Duke August 12, 2013 at 16:09

      That’s great! But the professor would be delighted if you would ask at least one question. Is that something you would consider? :)

      • 25 Jackie August 12, 2013 at 16:20

        OK but only cause it’s you doing the asking. :-)

      • 26 Professor VJ Duke August 12, 2013 at 16:21

        Awesome! It should be interesting!

  10. 27 Susan P August 12, 2013 at 13:59

    Would the Professor please define “extraordinary?”

    • 28 Professor VJ Duke August 12, 2013 at 15:13

      Well…something unusually excellent or strange (sounds a bit like the PL)? In truth, the professor is quite confused by this proverb. What are your thoughts?

      • 29 Susan P August 12, 2013 at 16:05

        My thoughts are that the PL are quite extraordinary. And yes, it is a confusing proverb. Perhaps it was not translated carefully from another language.

      • 30 Professor VJ Duke August 12, 2013 at 16:13

        I think that’s exactly what it was! Would you be interested in asking Daddy Salami a question in an interview?

      • 31 Susan P August 12, 2013 at 16:21

        Moi? Ask Daddy Salami a question? Oh dear. Since the Professor asks, I will see what I will see about it. Is there a deadline, Professor?

      • 32 Professor VJ Duke August 12, 2013 at 16:22

        Yes, you. Well, if enough Punchy Family members are interested, I’ll set up a post. Just comment up to three questions. And then, I’ll interview Salami and ask your questions. How does that sound? (Just try not to insult him, or I’ll fetch it!)

  11. 33 FictionFan August 12, 2013 at 13:53

    Well…I rather like No. 3 – very deep!

    Now you know I’d like to interview Daddy Salami – any excuse to get to know my hero! And I can think of a few things I’d like to say to Mr Ratherquite too – though he’d be wise not to reply. :evil:

    • 34 Professor VJ Duke August 12, 2013 at 15:10

      I suppose so…but very confusing too. Actually, too confusing for the professor. I really should beat Shnodgrate…(maybe Shnodgrate’s a Prendick…)

      I thought you might. Well, I’ll try to organize one. Salami will answer from a video–if that’s agreeable. The professor is curious! What would you tell poor Mr. R?

      • 35 FictionFan August 12, 2013 at 15:41

        I’m sure I should remember who Prendick is…

        Video would be :cool: – no fun unless we can try to make Salami chuckle. But if you’re going down the video route, then I nominate Zez/PeZ too – let’s see if we can make him gurgle… :D

        I would tell Mr Ratherquite firmly but politely what I think of slimy, weaselly, belly-wobbling, gatecrashing fops who go about masquerading as my Darby. I would then point him in the direction of the Punchy airport and advise him to purchase a one way ticket, unless he wants me to be having a little chat with Zez…

      • 36 Professor VJ Duke August 12, 2013 at 16:12

        :D Prendick is the character from the Beast people book. He’s a type of…

        Good! I suppose how it would work is that you would send the questions to me, and I would interview the character. I can check on Zez, but I’m not sure he’d agree. He tends to be very secretive.

        The professor is surprised that you would go about it politely! (Actually, that’s just what Madam Mosley did to him at one PL party I attended. I could post it, if you’re interested.)


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,873 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 115,253 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


