Blatherings: The Professor’s Garden is Wonderful

Dear Punchy Family, before the professor shows you his garden, you must promise not to get jealous.

Agreed?

Very good.

The garden:

DSfull garden92

Now, you are absolutely correct. The professor grows a wide variety of weeds in his garden. In fact, I would be so bold as to suppose that the professor’s garden is home to more indigenous weed species than any other garden in the world! In truth, this is true.

Below, is a beautiful, pink flowering weed. It is one of the professor’s favorites. (It is supposedly toxic, though.)

weed 1

Below is a tall, skinny weed. It’s supposedly great in soup.

weed 2

I’m rather sure at this point that most of you are trembling with jealousy, but wait until you see this!

strawberry

The professor’s strawberry patch! (If you think it’s glorious now, wait until you see it next year!)

Moving on…

I would like to inform the Punchy Family that the professor has processed your questions for Daddy Salami and everything is progressing. The interview should appear Friday. Wish the professor well; he’s a bit nervous about interviewing D. Salami!

Also…a disturbing picture from the PL—as is my wont:

dreamstime_19029951edit

43 Responses to “Blatherings: The Professor’s Garden is Wonderful”


  1. 1 Nancy Loderick August 15, 2013 at 17:16

    Hey professor,

    Is there anything you can’t do? You can write, you can garden, you can make people laugh!

    I used to have a wonderful herb garden; I spent hours planning and planting. Overnight the stupid Japanese beetles came and ate everything, down to the stalks. I was so traumatized that I haven’t tried gardening since!

    Nancy

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke August 15, 2013 at 18:21

      Many thanks!

      I understand that. The professor fears Japanese beetles above all other pests!

      There’s plenty the professor can’t do. He’s tried–really, really hard–to grow cucumbers. But it just never works out…

  2. 3 krugthethinker August 15, 2013 at 16:45

    Your garden trumps mine, since all I have are dead plants! And one tree and one succulent. These two things alone give me hope that my black thumb may someday turn green…

    • 4 Professor VJ Duke August 15, 2013 at 18:18

      Well, you wouldn’t want the professor’s green thumb. It only grows weeds…

  3. 5 Elina August 15, 2013 at 16:39

    What a great garden the Professor has, looks like a perfect place to have a picnic! The strawberry plants look great, as do the weeds :) Good luck with the interview. I wonder how does D. Salami react to so many questions.

    • 6 Professor VJ Duke August 15, 2013 at 18:17

      Thank you! That strawberry patch will be nice in a year–you’ll see! But it will never match the weeds! ;)

      Salami is tough to interview–tell you what! Tomorrow is the day!

  4. 7 Jennifer August 15, 2013 at 12:08

    You totally need totem poles! and if it were allowed, a pet Tassie devil wandering the yard like a guard. Because into would be a good guard.

    • 8 Professor VJ Duke August 15, 2013 at 12:38

      Yes, absolutely! The professor definitely needs totem poles and a few Tassie devils! :D The devil would save the professor from the mountain lion!

      • 9 Jennifer August 15, 2013 at 20:07

        May be….

      • 10 Professor VJ Duke August 15, 2013 at 21:07

        You’re right it probably wouldn’t work…unless I had a couple.

  5. 11 e1aine August 15, 2013 at 09:07

    My weeds are taller, but I am struggling with the envy. You have such a range, I just have a (large) bindweed patch.

    • 12 Professor VJ Duke August 15, 2013 at 11:41

      You should do a post about them! Thank you. The pink flowering ones are the professor’s favorites. :)

  6. 13 Angeline M August 15, 2013 at 05:52

    Strawberry Fields forever………..not!
    Look forward to the D. Salami interview.

    • 14 Professor VJ Duke August 15, 2013 at 11:40

      It will be soon! ;)

      Great! Tomorrow!

  7. 15 Jackie August 14, 2013 at 22:44

    You have a lovely garden Professor! Jealous? Nope – I have weeds much like yours all around me so no need to be jealous. Best of luck with the interview – I can’t wait to read it! The photo is awesome with a slight scary edge to it. Excellent work – I like it a lot. :-D

    • 16 Professor VJ Duke August 14, 2013 at 23:23

      Coming from you that means a lot! Pretty good photographer, I guess. ;)

      The weeds are just lovely, aren’t they?

      All you have to do with the interview, actually, is listen…

      • 17 Jackie August 14, 2013 at 23:52

        Yes of course – silly me. I can’t wait to hear the interview. ;-)

      • 18 Professor VJ Duke August 14, 2013 at 23:53

        Well, I guess you’ll be able to read a little too. Hope it goes well! :)

  8. 19 ladycheetah7 August 14, 2013 at 21:59

    I am green with envy:-P

    • 20 Professor VJ Duke August 14, 2013 at 23:21

      :D

  9. 21 The Dancing Rider August 14, 2013 at 20:31

    Oh! My favorite is “below is a tall skinny weed”. Yes! We love those! ;-)
    The weeds *are* brilliant!

    • 22 Professor VJ Duke August 14, 2013 at 21:17

      Aren’t they just gorgeous? :D Thank you much!!

  10. 23 Sonya Solomonovich August 14, 2013 at 18:05

    As you’ve seen from my recent post, I only have a few basil plants to my name (though I am very proud of them). It’s hard to contain my jealousy when the professor has all this green space to run around in or throw knives or hang out with punchies.

    • 24 Professor VJ Duke August 14, 2013 at 19:35

      I told you that you might get jealous! But those basil plants…the professor doesn’t have those!!!

  11. 25 L. Marie August 14, 2013 at 15:43

    I am jealous. You know me too well. But I’m not ashamed to admit it.

    • 26 Professor VJ Duke August 14, 2013 at 16:01

      :D And the professor is quite proud!

  12. 27 FictionFan August 14, 2013 at 14:01

    Don’t call them weeds – call them wildflowers and then people will be really impressed… ;)

    • 28 Professor VJ Duke August 14, 2013 at 16:00

      It sort of reminds the professor of what Ruber’s garden would look like–if he had one.

  13. 29 technophile9 August 14, 2013 at 13:00

    At one point, our back garden was densely packed with weeds. One was even more than a metre high. No joke.

    • 30 Professor VJ Duke August 14, 2013 at 13:41

      Are you serious? My goodness. Did you snap a photo of it?

      • 31 technophile9 August 14, 2013 at 13:44

        I’ll check…

      • 32 technophile9 August 14, 2013 at 13:58

        No, we didn’t take a photo. I think we just cut it and left it to fade away. Sorry! It’s fine if you don’t believe me. :3 I feel Iike an opportunity was wasted. It could have been a pic I showed to my grandchildren. Back in my day, the plants were big! I promise I’m not a fraud.

        P.S. Your garden is flawless!

      • 33 Professor VJ Duke August 14, 2013 at 16:00

        Oh no, the professor believes you completely! :lol: Back in my day, the plants were big! is a great line!

      • 34 Professor VJ Duke August 14, 2013 at 16:02

        Oh, and thanks for the garden compliment!

  14. 35 Susan P August 14, 2013 at 12:46

    I’ve been trying to have a garden in Florida for 14 ears, and have not succeeded as well as you have, dear Professor. In comparison with my garden, yours looks like Hyde Park.

    • 36 Professor VJ Duke August 14, 2013 at 13:41

      Thank you! (The professor has been trying to have a garden too.) You are too kind, but I must admit: the weeds are brilliant. ;)

  15. 37 Jennwith2ns August 14, 2013 at 12:00

    Makes me feel delighted with our garden–stuff grows here, but if the ducks don’t trample it, the crows throw it, if the crows don’t throw it, the rabbits eat it, if the rabbits don’t eat it, the chipmunks eat it, and if the chipmunks don’t eat it, the leaf-cutter ants eat it. Those leaf-cutter ants sawed radishes in half this spring. Maybe we should call them radish-cutter ants.

    • 38 Professor VJ Duke August 14, 2013 at 13:40

      :lol: Oh dear! That is a predicament! I haven’t dealt too much with leaf-cutter (I mean, radish-cutter) ants and I wouldn’t want to–they sound like horrid pests.

      • 39 Jennwith2ns August 14, 2013 at 15:36

        They ARE! They also turned my basil into skeletons . . . Zombie basil. And radish-cutter ants. What will they think of next?

      • 40 Professor VJ Duke August 14, 2013 at 16:01

        It’s funny, but I know it’s horrible!!! Zombie basil and radish-cutter ants…I think you’ve got a really neat post there.

      • 41 Jennwith2ns August 14, 2013 at 17:35

        Yes, I think you may be right…

      • 42 Professor VJ Duke August 14, 2013 at 17:57

        Absolutely!!!


  1. 1 That's a Jenn Story Trackback on September 7, 2013 at 00:23

Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,875 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,930 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


