An Interview With Daddy Salami

80 Responses to “An Interview With Daddy Salami”


  1. 1 MikeW August 30, 2013 at 19:01

    Should add that play writing, script writing is a perceived talent in this interview.

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke August 30, 2013 at 19:50

      The professor is a bit lost. What do you mean?

  2. 3 MikeW August 30, 2013 at 19:00

    DS reminds me of Ray Walston as Popeye’s father, the Commodore. Curmudgeon extraordinaire.

    • 4 Professor VJ Duke August 30, 2013 at 19:49

      Really? That is interesting. But you must agree, Salami is more vicious.

      • 5 MikeW August 30, 2013 at 20:53

        A coward, to berate his own son. Let’s cut to it.

      • 6 Professor VJ Duke August 30, 2013 at 21:28

        :lol: Yes, I think you’re right. But doesn’t Salami also seem to be very protective of his son?

      • 7 MikeW August 30, 2013 at 22:13

        Codependent you mean? Ruining him and hating him for it? Maybe so. Twisted however you put it. Maybe I missed it. Anyway, there are limits to speculation on fiction.

      • 8 Professor VJ Duke August 30, 2013 at 23:04

        Ah, another good point. But this is quite real, you know… ;)

      • 9 MikeW August 30, 2013 at 23:29

        Analogizing to real…

      • 10 Professor VJ Duke August 30, 2013 at 23:49

        :D

  3. 11 simply skeptical August 18, 2013 at 21:16

    Professor you are quite mysterious! I do believe that perceiving and hearing is not always believing. Especially in your case Sir and certainly the PL’ers case. Just what are you all about and this mystery place of fantasy (or is it) ? Totally befuddled; but intrigued…..

    • 12 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 11:55

      Really, it’s quite simple. I’m Professor VJ Duke…

  4. 13 The Dancing Rider August 17, 2013 at 20:43

    Erm, my first impression is that DS is quite creepy – self-entertaining apparently (smirk), and with an accent which drives me nuts.

    I do like his impatience, a trait I share! What is up with DS’s wife?! At first I felt sorry for Ruber, but my guess is that R is quite able to fend for himself.

    Credit is given to the Professor, who seems to tolerate this … interview … with aplomb. Good interviewing voice as well!

    Hope you never allow the tables to be turned. DS would be a terrible interviewer, and he might physically assault you! More importantly, you would not be able to retain your mysterious nature. And, Professor, that is part of your charm!

    • 14 Professor VJ Duke August 17, 2013 at 21:11

      Yes, he is quite creepy.

      DS’s wife is a matter of mystery, though there are plenty of theories circulating throughout the PL. Oh yes, Ruber is quite able to take care of himself!

      Thank you! It was tough. :)

      I shan’t! I completely agree with you! The mysterious professor is charming, right? ;)

      • 15 The Dancing Rider August 17, 2013 at 21:20

        Of course he is. And able to manage the punchy nature of those in the Punchy Lands!

      • 16 Professor VJ Duke August 17, 2013 at 22:27

        :D Very true! Thanks!

  5. 17 Elina August 17, 2013 at 15:39

    So nice to hear the Professor’s voice :) Great interview, I admire your courage! Daddy Salami is one unique and mysterious, and a bit creepy creature… I hope his son Ruber will not go missing like his wife did :( But I am sure life in PL has its own balance.

    • 18 Professor VJ Duke August 17, 2013 at 15:52

      Many thanks! Salami is creepy, but since he knew me, I was somewhat safe. :) So do I! But Ruber can take care of himself. Yes, it certainly does have its own balance!

  6. 19 sknicholls August 17, 2013 at 15:37

    I m really concerned about what might have happened to his wife? I wish he could find a way to get along with Ruber better.

    • 20 Professor VJ Duke August 17, 2013 at 15:51

      I know. Quite disconcerting. Don’t worry about Ruber. If I ever interviewed him, you’d see his meanness!

  7. 21 renxkyoko August 17, 2013 at 03:41

    Your voice sounds youngish.

    • 22 Professor VJ Duke August 17, 2013 at 15:50

      Thank you!!!

  8. 23 The Dancing Rider August 17, 2013 at 00:59

    My listening was interrupted at about 2:21. Will finish tomorrow. However, I have “liked” because I have enjoyed what I have heard thus far. Professor, you are a good interviewer. Will be back with impressions at a later time. I find DS interesting ….

    • 24 Professor VJ Duke August 17, 2013 at 15:50

      I look forward to hearing your impressions!

  9. 25 ladycheetah7 August 16, 2013 at 22:39

    I enjoyed that! How fun to hear Daddy Salami in an interview. Kind of reminds me of my mother…uhk. Anyway, love the part when he said his wife had been missing. ..and I was thinking and nobody looked for her?…Good times. I feel sorry for Rueben. He needs to be set free.
    P.S. your voice is very…um…deceptive? Not quite what I thought a professor would sound like. ;-)

    • 26 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 22:54

      Thank you! :D Yeah, I wonder what Salami was hiding about his wife! I know. Rueben (I like it)needs some sort of help, but I fear that Daddy would just follow him anywhere he went.

      Ah! No, this professor is the only of his kind–a rare breed. What impressions do you have of the professor now?

      • 27 ladycheetah7 August 17, 2013 at 01:55

        Well I think you do have hair… ,:-P don’t want to divulge too much detail. .might come off like i’m hitting on you. ..lol

      • 28 Professor VJ Duke August 17, 2013 at 15:50

        :lol: I understand!

  10. 29 L. Marie August 16, 2013 at 19:43

    That was everything I’d hoped it would be. Daddy Salami has inspired me to be all that I can be!!!

    • 30 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 20:05

      Thank you bunches!!! I hope he inspired you in a good way, of course!

  11. 31 Angeline M August 16, 2013 at 18:38

    I love Daddy Salami even more now. A lot of mystery still remains. It was interesting hearing your voice; I had no preconceived idea of what you sounded like, and voice is very deceiving as far as being able to tell age. … a lot of mystery remains :)
    Great interview!

    • 32 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 20:03

      I’ll have to mention it to D. Salami; I’m sure he’ll be pleased! :D The professor is timeless, you know, quite timeless–and mysterious? But you must have some ideas about the professor…

      • 33 Angeline M August 16, 2013 at 20:41

        Of course I do.

      • 34 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 21:06

        I do hope it’s all good!

  12. 35 krugthethinker August 16, 2013 at 18:27

    I loved this! Just the visual of the two of you sitting at a radio booth was enough to make me smile, but I also loved hearing everyone else’s questions. I shall beware of vicious gazelles!

    • 36 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 20:01

      Yes, definitely beware; the professor does. I’m so glad that you loved it!

  13. 37 Sonya Solomonovich August 16, 2013 at 17:57

    Great interview! Now Daddy Salami has been somewhat demystified, but the professor himself still remains something of an enigma. Perhaps one of the punchies should interview the professor?

    • 38 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 20:00

      Thank you! Oh yes, the professor is the Unknown. :) I’m sure that a Professor VJ Duke interview would bore the Punchy Family to the point of tears!

      • 39 Sonya Solomonovich August 16, 2013 at 20:30

        I’m sure you’re being too modest, professor. The Punchy Family would not be bored, though the Punchies themselves may be — they seem to have a rather short attention span :)

      • 40 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 21:08

        Ooo, I don’t know… The professor would be very nervous telling detail about himself. But…if the Punchy Family insists to another interview…well…

      • 41 FictionFan August 17, 2013 at 00:38

        Ah, good! Found the syringe! :twisted:

        Now to think of the questions…

      • 42 Professor VJ Duke August 17, 2013 at 15:50

        The professor refuses an interview.

      • 43 FictionFan August 17, 2013 at 16:38

        Is the Professor scared of Zez?? Or does the Professor have something to hide…??

        Even more intrigued now… :???:

      • 44 Professor VJ Duke August 17, 2013 at 17:28

        Both! ;) I could only imagine the questions…

      • 45 FictionFan August 17, 2013 at 21:03

        Oh we’d be very gentle…well, most of us would anyway. :twisted:

      • 46 Professor VJ Duke August 17, 2013 at 21:12

        But it just shan’t happen…

      • 47 FictionFan August 17, 2013 at 22:15

        Spoilsport! :razz:

      • 48 Professor VJ Duke August 17, 2013 at 22:27

        No, just very :cool:

    • 49 FictionFan August 16, 2013 at 20:18

      I vote Zez! I realise most people would be terrified to be interrogated by him, but our Professor would be wonderfully brave, I’m sure…

      Now, who’s got the truth serum?

      • 50 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 21:09

        Thank you, FF! You’re always making everything really easy for the professor! :evil:

        Certainly you wouldn’t use that on the professor, would you?

  14. 51 Susan P August 16, 2013 at 17:09

    Well, that was exciting. Yes, both the interview with D.S. (and I congratulate you for getting through it without being sent to the cave) and the succeeding interview with FF.

    Indeed. If your age is so unstable, why have you not tried to stabilize it a bit? ;) It has to be discombobulating at best.

    I feel it best to not look into the problem of vicious gazelles, however. It cannot end well.

    • 52 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 17:27

      The professor was close to getting sent to the cave, I feel! FF’s a sweet Punchy Family Member, but I feel she enjoys exaggerating. The professor is completely honest, though. ;)

      I love the word ‘discombobulating’! Must use it more often. The professor would like to stabilize his age, but how should he go about it? (Didn’t know I had this age disorder until recently. :) )

      Yes, I agree! Who knows what he would have said?

      • 53 Susan P August 16, 2013 at 17:39

        One might say, dear Professor, that being “ageless” is one of the boons on the web. I tend not to put a lot of stock in knowing ages. I much prefer to just enjoy people.

      • 54 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 17:53

        And, dear Susan, I quite agree!!!

  15. 55 weggieboy August 16, 2013 at 16:28

    Yes, villainry does have benefits over heroism. I believe more people remember your name for one, and they are less apt to take you for granted. Great interview!

    • 56 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 16:37

      I think I have to agree with you and Salami here. It does seem that the infamous are the more famous, and that they’re treated better. Thanks for the comment! (I’m sure your boys would like Salami!)

  16. 57 Jackie August 16, 2013 at 15:03

    You my dear Professor are a fantastic interviewer! It’s a shame Daddy Salami doesn’t feel the same about both his sons. I can now see more clearly why Ruber is the way he is.

    • 58 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 15:05

      Thank you, Jackie! The professor was quite worried about his first interview. :) Glad it worked.

      I know! But didn’t dare to tell him anything to his face!

  17. 59 The Hook August 16, 2013 at 14:29

    Yours is a brilliant soul, Professor.

    • 60 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 14:59

      Thank you, Mr. Hook. Mine is also a professorish soul.

  18. 61 FictionFan August 16, 2013 at 13:00

    :lol: How lovely to hear the Professor’s voice (and chuckle) – and you were very, very brave, especially at the end! Shame you didn’t manage to find out about his romantic ties though – any man who likes vicious gazelles is my kind of man!!

    Poor Ruber…and I’m deeply, deeply concerned about Daddy’s wife now – that evil chuckling doesn’t bode well, I fear… :twisted:

    • 62 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 13:41

      I would have questioned him further about the vicious gazelles, but Ruber and I, in the past, had already discussed it a bit. It’s not a pleasant subject!

      That question almost got me in big trouble! Had to move on–quickly.

      I felt bad for Ruber too. But Ruber takes care of himself!

      Did the professor sound like you thought he would?

      • 63 FictionFan August 16, 2013 at 14:07

        Yes, I have a better understanding now of why Ruber might want to nuke him…

        Well, I understand that he threatened you, and of course I’d be very sad if you were to get hurt, but that’s the risk a fearless adventurer must take in the pursuit of knowledge!

        The Professor’s lovely voice does sound more or less like I imagined, though perhaps even younger than I thought… ;)

      • 64 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 14:58

        But, on the other hand, Ruber can be quite mean to his dad.

        If D. Salami didn’t know me, the professor might have fetched it! Besides, I’m not sure I want to know anything about that ‘knowledge’. ;)

        :D What did you think?

      • 65 FictionFan August 16, 2013 at 15:21

        But I want to know about that ‘knowledge’ and…just so we’re clear, dear Prof…what I want is more important than what you want… ;)

        Well, originally I though you were about 82, but I’ve been gradually reducing that estimate by roughly a decade a week. By next week, you should be about 12! ;)

      • 66 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 15:52

        Yes, I figured that’s how you felt… :)

        And then…2!!! The professor is nimble, yet he’s wobbly at the knees; the professor is timeless, yet he has an age…

      • 67 FictionFan August 16, 2013 at 15:54

        It’s the week after that which really worries me… ;)

      • 68 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 16:00

        Don’t you think it just might…reset…?

      • 69 FictionFan August 16, 2013 at 16:03

        What? Back to 82? I’d quite like that – I preferred it when you were older than me… ;)

      • 70 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 16:06

        :) Is the professor older than you now?

      • 71 FictionFan August 16, 2013 at 16:08

        Oh, no, the professor has suddenly become young enough to be my son… :cry:

        No, that emoticon doesn’t begin to describe my utter despair…. ;)

      • 72 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 16:12

        Next week the professor turns 12; this week he’s 22–according to FF’s timeline. ;)Then…82…

      • 73 FictionFan August 16, 2013 at 16:26

        Much better! All professors should be elderly and eccentric anyway…and you’ve certainly got the second part sorted… ;)

      • 74 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 16:37

        But professor means something entirely different than it normally does. If a 22 year old is old enough to be FF’s son…what’s that mean? ;)

      • 75 FictionFan August 16, 2013 at 16:39

        :cry:

        But I’m terribly well preserved… ;)

      • 76 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 17:23

        :lol: Don’t worry! Age is but a number, and if you’re anything like the professor you’ll be young again in a few weeks!

      • 77 FictionFan August 16, 2013 at 17:40

        :lol: No I think it’s happening the reverse way with me – I started young and have aged a decade a week. Would you like to come to my 100th Birthday Party next Tuesday? DON’T bring Mr Ratherquite…

      • 78 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 17:54

        :lol: The professor would be thrilled to attend! He’d only bring himself too. (We really must stop playing these age games; we end up being much more confused than before!)

      • 79 FictionFan August 16, 2013 at 19:07

        I absolutely agree! I think I’ll stop the next time I pass…say…21…

        You can bring Bob though…Tuppence and he can have a chat about their relative ages. ;)

      • 80 Professor VJ Duke August 16, 2013 at 20:05

        And I’ll stop at 82.3…

        I will! :lol: (I’m not really sure how old Bob is, though.)


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,875 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,930 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


