Punchy P’s

(1) The first sentence of a novel seems to tell one all about it; the last sentence confirms that one was quite mistaken.

(2) Anger is an emotion which is rarely needed; but when it is, it can’t be found.

(3) The best way to extricate yourself from an embarrassing situation is to play ignorant—and laugh.

~ Punchy Proverbs of the Week

Favorites?

Just a quick note, dear Punchy Family:

I would like to inform you that—contrary to what the professor had supposed—Daddy Salami enjoyed being interviewed. I hope that you were able to understand that specific PL’er better. And thank you for sending in your questions!

Also, if you’d like to interview any other character in the future, let the professor know!

45 Responses to “Punchy P’s”


  1. 1 Jackie August 20, 2013 at 14:07

    I’m so sorry I’m late! I’ve fallen very far behind but I hope to catch up today. Anyway – #3 is my favorite. I happy to hear Daddy Salami liked being interviewed. :-D

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke August 20, 2013 at 14:35

      That’s fine, don’t worry about it! Yes, #3’s my favorite too. The professor puts it to use every single day–mostly.

      So was I!

  2. 3 Elina August 20, 2013 at 10:43

    None of the proverbs really speaks to me this time but I would go for 1st one if I had to. Although I can’t agree with it totally. Nice to hear D. Salami enjoyed being interviewed :)

    • 4 Professor VJ Duke August 20, 2013 at 11:48

      I was worried that he was going to take some offense to the interview, but he enjoyed it. Salami’s a strange one! ;)

  3. 5 Angeline M August 20, 2013 at 04:49

    What? hahahaha…..oops, I’m sorry. I must take my leave now.

    • 6 Professor VJ Duke August 20, 2013 at 11:46

      #3? :lol:

      • 7 Angeline M August 20, 2013 at 16:58

        Absolutely

      • 8 Professor VJ Duke August 20, 2013 at 18:55

        I loved that!

  4. 9 krugthethinker August 20, 2013 at 03:32

    Oh, I love the last one! And it is so very true. I have laughed my way out of many a predicament. I am so happy Daddy Salami enjoyed being interviewed! I was hoping that would become a regular feature, it was so much fun! Maybe next can be Mr. Ratherquite (with his ladies!!) or Mr. Magi? Or Ruber? I don’t know, I love them all!

    • 10 Professor VJ Duke August 20, 2013 at 11:46

      Yes, me too! They are all good options… The professor will have to schedule another interview, then. :)

  5. 11 Sonya Solomonovich August 19, 2013 at 21:18

    It’s amazing how well #3 works!

    • 12 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 22:28

      Isn’t it, though? I do this every opportunity I get!

  6. 13 L. Marie August 19, 2013 at 16:29

    The first is my favorite.
    I’m dying to know more about Mr. Ratherquite and his ladies!!!!! That would be quite the interview.

    • 14 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 17:40

      It definitely would! But I’m not sure that I could stand all the…the cackling!

  7. 15 sknicholls August 19, 2013 at 13:59

    Being a novel writer I really like the first one. It is so often true, even in writing not reading, that you start out with a simple idea and it evolves into something entirely unplanned.

    • 16 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 14:41

      I agree completely with you! It is so true in writing–much more than reading. I suppose it could be likened to life as well. The professor is always facing the unplanned!

  8. 17 ladycheetah7 August 19, 2013 at 13:54

    Can’t decide between one and two but if I had to choose it would be #1. Some people don’t know the difference between righteous anger that brings about justice and an anger that breeds wrath and destruction so they confuse the two believing both are the same.

    • 18 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 14:40

      Yes, exactly! Righteous anger is usually misinterpreted! (I bet it’s those corporate rats who do it, too!)

      Great insights, Lady!!!

  9. 19 FictionFan August 19, 2013 at 13:10

    Hmm…don’t agree with any of them this week, Prof. If I had to choose, I’d go with no.1, but I suspect not for the reason implied.

    • 20 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 14:37

      Oh, FF! You’re just being difficult–as is your wont. Shnodgrate doesn’t like it when his proverbs aren’t liked. I suspect you’re still sore over not getting to interview the professor and the Baskervilles ripio. :)

      Shnodgrate makes many implications in every proverb.

      • 21 FictionFan August 19, 2013 at 15:33

        Difficult, am I?? If you think I’m difficult now, just wait till you rip my Darby… :twisted:

      • 22 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 15:55

        Oh yes, very soon. I might make it a series or rippings–just for you. ;)

      • 23 FictionFan August 19, 2013 at 16:01

        Super – can’t wait! ;)

        I was kindly given an audiobook of it (P&P) by Amazon last week, so rather than reading along, I’ll be listenting along.

      • 24 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 16:05

        Should be real soon… :cry:

        I wish I had such friends at Amazon!

      • 25 FictionFan August 19, 2013 at 16:09

        You’ll get no sympathy from me, Chicky-the-Ripper!

        Amazon are only my friends sometimes…basically, when they’re giving me free stuff… :D

      • 26 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 16:12

        Ooo, that sounds like Jack-the-ripper… (The professor never gets sympathy, so he’s quite used to it. Only Bob. Only.)

        I see why!

      • 27 FictionFan August 19, 2013 at 16:35

        OK – the jury found him not guilty, mainly because of a brilliant performance by the defence barrister. But he was guilty…guilty as sin! Lived to be 84 and died incredibly wealthy, due to inheritances from his victims plus libel suits against the newspapers.

      • 28 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 17:42

        Wow. Can’t believe he actually got away with all that. I bet Bob had something to do with it.

      • 29 FictionFan August 19, 2013 at 18:50

        Don’t you mean Wowawee? Even Bob wouldn’t have been that evil to poor old widows – unless one of them electrocuted him, of course…

      • 30 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 20:35

        Dadblameit, yes I do! Maybe the professor is a bit like an old widow…

      • 31 FictionFan August 19, 2013 at 21:50

        Maburnit, that is a disturbing thought…

      • 32 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 22:29

        But you like it when the professor is old…

      • 33 FictionFan August 19, 2013 at 23:03

        :lol: I was thinking more old and professorial, though – with a beard and a distinguished manner!

      • 34 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 23:12

        Wobbly at the knees, a cane, and a long white beard. Yes, I like that–in a white suit, like Twain.

      • 35 FictionFan August 19, 2013 at 23:28

        But with your moustache more neatly trimmed…

      • 36 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 23:40

        Of course, of course.

  10. 37 The Dancing Rider August 19, 2013 at 13:07

    Oh I imagine DS did loved being interviewed. He definitely entertained himself during same … what with his … erm … ego?

    The last one is my favorite. It works almost every time, too. :)

    • 38 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 14:36

      Yes, you are completely right! I do think that he entertained himself. He was even a little bit cranky when it was over!

      I know! It always works for the professor. And when that fails…time to get really mean! :D

  11. 39 Susan P August 19, 2013 at 13:07

    Personally, I prefer to not be in situations in which I find it necessary to extricate myself. Unfortunately, they tend to happen when the exit is locked. How does the Professor manage this?

    • 40 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 14:34

      Good for you, Susan! And I agree. But the professor usually finds himself in those kind of situations all the time.

      Well…in that case…sort of like you did–the perfect example. Force. Untamed force. Sometimes the shock of physical contact will save the day!!!

      • 41 Susan P August 19, 2013 at 21:20

        :D

  12. 42 technophile9 August 19, 2013 at 13:00

    Ah! They’re all too good! I can’t decide. :P

    • 43 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 14:32

      One of the most vexing things is a mind that can’t make itself up! I know because the professor suffers from it all the time–just like Mr. Twain. :)

  13. 44 weggieboy August 19, 2013 at 12:45

    I especially enjoyed the interview with Daddy Salami. I learned a lot about him, and felt he enjoyed the opportunity to put his agenda out!

    • 45 Professor VJ Duke August 19, 2013 at 14:31

      That’s great. I wanted the interview to ‘reveal’ the character more. And I think you’re right. He loved–maybe too much–putting his agenda out there!


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,873 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 115,330 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


