Punchy Proverbs and MicP Studios

(1) A contradiction for contradiction’s sake borders on wickedness.
(2) The mind is a tricky beast; it believes what you tell it.
(3) Sometimes a lie is the best motivation.

~ Punchy Proverbs of the Week

Favorites?

Something you should know about the professor:

The professor never misses something; he just overlooks it.

Also, dear Punchy Family, I’d like to talk with you about MicP Studios very quickly. You may have noticed by now (or not, depending on your disposition; this professor probably wouldn’t have noticed) that MicP Studios produces three different features.

(1) Skits. Skits are normal, everyday happenings in the PL.
(2) Shorts. Punchy Shorts are as their name implies: short.
(3) Videos. Videos are more major productions.

The professor mentioned this mainly so he could tell you about the upcoming Videos. Until the videos are ready, Skits and Shorts will be posted.

So, update:

Les Miz is in production, as is Sherlock Holmes. (Mic is still working on a title for this one.)

And the newest Video idea, which is in pre-production, is The Great Gatsby…

68 Responses to “Punchy Proverbs and MicP Studios”


  1. 1 deepbluesandseafoamgreens March 17, 2014 at 23:18

    Professor, VK, Sir Awesome, hello!
    Videos? “MicP Studios?”
    Please elaborate for the newbie round here! What is this? :)

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 23:27

      Hi, VQ! I didn’t know you’d pop up here. Cool.

      Well, this blog is about a world: The Punchy Lands. My job is to chronicle that world. So I tell stories every so often about the PL (Punchy Lands). MicP Studios is a studio that makes Punchy “skits” audio excerpts. So you get to read about the characters and hear them. A skit is shown every Friday.

      I hope that makes sense! Keep asking if you’ve got questions.

      • 3 deepbluesandseafoamgreens March 17, 2014 at 23:28

        Cool! Is this a job, or a hobby? And punchy lands…are there more professors??Sorry don’t mean to sound nosy, this is just a new concept to my feverish little brain! :)

      • 4 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 23:31

        Well…that’s part of…well…a job! Sort of. But I can’t say much more without revealing too much. We foster a community sense here. So, the PF (Punchy Family, followers) are great friends.

        No, there is only one professor! The dullest, wickedest, sweetest one. Me.

        I love getting questions!

      • 5 deepbluesandseafoamgreens March 17, 2014 at 23:32

        Brilliant stuff! And thanks for answering all you could :)
        I like the community…I’ve been scanning through other punchy comments, and it’s impressive to see such a happy bunch of people.

      • 6 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 23:39

        Aw, thanks! No problem. It will be come more clear with time. Just ask away if the questions arise.

        It’s a great family. I’ve been blessed. :D And I’m so excited about you joining! It will be great introducing you. It’s not scary like it sounds either.

      • 7 deepbluesandseafoamgreens March 17, 2014 at 23:41

        Thanks! And it’s nice to have met an awesome professor.
        And on that note, I must fly. Night-time’s a calling (of course..not my…not my homework..heavens no…..) :)

      • 8 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 23:43

        I’m always thrilled when I meet an awesome person like you, too!

        Good luck! (Homework is gag worthy. But you’ll get through it!)

      • 9 deepbluesandseafoamgreens March 18, 2014 at 07:05

        Homework is “gag-worthy”
        That is the best description (plus I laughed) I’ve ever heard in my life.

      • 10 Professor VJ Duke March 18, 2014 at 12:46

        :lol: Now you’ve made the professor proud!

  2. 11 Barefoot Baroness December 13, 2013 at 03:44

    Fabulous collection of proverbs, and some great oxymoron’s .I came to thank you for visiting my Barefoot Music blog and was delighted to find such a intriguing blog.

    • 12 Professor VJ Duke December 13, 2013 at 15:46

      Thanks for visiting! Punchyish?

  3. 13 krugthethinker August 27, 2013 at 04:16

    Ahhhh, I am just getting back from Seattle and came to see what I had missed in the Punchy Lands, and I found all of this awesome! I actually really love all three of the proverbs. It really aggravates me when people argue just to argue, so I like number one. I know number two to be true as well, from many varied mental adventures. And number three rings true as well. Also, so excited for the videos! The Great Gatsby! I can hardly wait!

    • 14 Professor VJ Duke August 27, 2013 at 12:28

      The professor is thrilled. You’re the first Punchy Family member to like all three! Yes, Gatsby! Should be an adventure.

  4. 15 ladycheetah7 August 27, 2013 at 03:19

    Can’t wait for the video. This should be interesting. As for the proverb hands down #2 is the winner.

    • 16 Professor VJ Duke August 27, 2013 at 12:26

      That’s great! (Love the new gravatar. ;) ) Yeah, #2 rings true, I think.

      • 17 ladycheetah7 August 27, 2013 at 15:18

        Yes and thank you. Thought a picture of a cheetah would go nice with my jungle theme :-)

      • 18 Professor VJ Duke August 27, 2013 at 15:38

        Very nice!!!

  5. 19 Sonya Solomonovich August 26, 2013 at 22:40

    I’m excited about the upcoming videos!
    As for proverb #3, it is rather confounding so I guess for that reason it is my favorite.

    • 20 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 22:45

      Thank you, Sonya! That makes the professor even more excited!

      It is confounding, and I don’t like it! I think Shnodgrate was telling a lie in writing the proverb!

  6. 21 The Dancing Rider August 26, 2013 at 21:18

    Number Two of course. It’s insidious! Awaiting any skits, shorts, and looking foward to vids (like the sujbects, too….).

    • 22 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 22:40

      It is! Thank you! They should be coming soon.

  7. 23 Andra Watkins August 26, 2013 at 18:35

    I’m a fan of number 2.

    • 24 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 22:37

      The professor’s mind is always fighting against him, I think. I just need to find a way to turn it around. :)

  8. 25 mknunu August 26, 2013 at 18:13

    Please accept my nomination of your awesome blog, Professor. Check it out at http://mknunu.wordpress.com/2013/08/26/1455/ Cioa! :-)

    • 26 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 22:36

      Thank you. The professor shall take a look!

      • 27 mknunu August 26, 2013 at 23:36

        Sure thing :-)

      • 28 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 23:42

        :D

  9. 29 technophile9 August 26, 2013 at 17:54

    My favourite’s #1. ;)

    • 30 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 22:35

      Ooo, the professor finds himself contradicting all the time!

  10. 31 weggieboy August 26, 2013 at 16:57

    This one’s a bit tougher than usual. I like No. 2, but No. 3 is no less true. Both involve delusion, sometimes the best way to deal with reality.

    (Now that I am retired, I can make statements like that and not feel paranoid or endangered! Freedommmmmm! Woohoo!)

    • 32 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 17:04

      Ah, a very good point!

      :lol: The professor will never be free–from the PL!

  11. 33 Jackie August 26, 2013 at 16:17

    They are all good this week – #2 is my favorite! Thanks for the update! :-D

    • 34 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 17:03

      The professor is flattered–honored! (I won’t give V. the credit!) Absolutely.

      • 35 Jackie August 26, 2013 at 19:09

        :-D

      • 36 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 22:41

        I wish there was a smiley for the professorish smile…

      • 37 Jackie August 26, 2013 at 23:42

        That would be awesome! I wish they had one too.

      • 38 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 23:47

        I would use it all the time and you’d probably get sick of it. How’s this?

        == ]:-{)=

  12. 39 MikeW August 26, 2013 at 16:08

    I missed this one but hope to emulate the professor and graduate to overlooking as soon as possible! Good prescriptive proverbs Prof!

    • 40 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 17:02

      :lol: Tis always better to overlook, right? ;) Thank you!

  13. 41 Elina August 26, 2013 at 15:52

    I really like the second proverb, I think it is quite true. When your mind repeatedly hears something it sooner or later starts to believe it :)

    • 42 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 17:01

      I agree. That is the way some specific liars (no names mentioned here!) can live with themselves! :) Like Salami…and Schwarz?

      • 43 Elina August 27, 2013 at 10:30

        I suppose so :) Although on my mind was that when you tell yourself repeatedly that you can do/achieve some goal you will start to believe it which motivates you to do it also.

      • 44 Professor VJ Duke August 27, 2013 at 12:34

        That’s very true too–the positive side. You are right on.

  14. 45 L. Marie August 26, 2013 at 15:50

    Number 2 is my favorite. And I’m very excited about the upcoming videos!

    • 46 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 17:00

      The professor tries to speak to his mind all the time, but he never listens. Thanks! Les Miz or Gatsby?

  15. 47 I Am Jasmine Kyle August 26, 2013 at 12:39

    Sometimes a lie is the best motivation… MY FAVORITE!

    • 48 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 13:52

      Thank you! But you don’t really put this proverb to use, do you? ;)

      • 49 I Am Jasmine Kyle August 26, 2013 at 14:04

        I am a sponge my dear friend. It all gets in weather we want it to or not.

      • 50 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 14:40

        :lol: Even the unscrupulous things?

      • 51 I Am Jasmine Kyle August 26, 2013 at 14:57

        Yes I am the ABSOLUTE wrong person to have a music career…

      • 52 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 16:55

        And I am the absolute wrong person to have a professorish career. But by disqualifying ourselves we are, in fact, qualifying ourselves! See the power of the professorish mind?

      • 53 I Am Jasmine Kyle August 26, 2013 at 19:03

        Yep! I DO!!!

      • 54 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 22:41

        :D That is just plumb great.

  16. 55 Susan P August 26, 2013 at 12:35

    “A contradiction for contradiction’s sake borders on wickedness.diction for contradiction’s sake borders on wickedness.”.

    I’ve been trying unsuccessfully for years to impart this wisdom to my husband.

    • 56 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 13:55

      :lol: I know a few people who do that too! Maybe you should write this proverb on a few notes and put it everywhere that your husband goes..? :)

      • 57 Susan P August 26, 2013 at 14:35

        Not a good time right now, but I’ll keep that in mind. :)

      • 58 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 14:41

        Absolutely. (This professor is still trying to learn that proverb!)

  17. 59 FictionFan August 26, 2013 at 12:16

    (1) Oh no it doesn’t!
    (2) Oh no it doesn’t!
    (3) Oh no it isn’t!

    #1 is my favourite… :twisted:

    I dread, dread, dread to imagine who is going to play Gatsby…(or Daisy for that matter)…I warn you, if it’s Mr Ratherqueasy, there will be repercussions…

    PS As you may recall, I quite like Shorts… ;)

    • 60 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 13:58

      Hmm…FF is getting quite wicked with the Punchy P’s. I wonder if you’ll ever like another one. The professor is going to mention you to V. Shnodgrate…

      But #1 isn’t :cool:

      We’re still casting, BUT…I assure you, the choice will be much better than Leonardo da Vinci.

      I did not! Really?

      • 61 FictionFan August 26, 2013 at 15:15

        I doubt if V Shnodgrate could be scarier than the Katana-wielding Professor…could he?

        No, but it’s :twisted: which is better than :cool: …

        :lol: Schwarz van Gogh, perhaps? Or Manly Monet?

        The US Open starts today – shorts will be very important to me for the next couple of weeks…

      • 62 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 16:57

        The professor isn’t scary but rather sweet–I always thought. Shnodgrate, though, has a horrible temper. And I will tell him… :evil:

        :cool: is always better. Just like a Vette is always better than a Jaguar.

        Monet is the professor’s personal favorite. I really like the sound of Manly Monet, but would he be able to paint?

        :lol: That’s what you meant! Oh, you are a silly! Who are you rooting for?

      • 63 FictionFan August 26, 2013 at 19:57

        The sweetest knife-throwing, giant-worm-hunting, Samurai Professor I’ve ever known…except when he’s trying to get me in trouble with the mysterious Shnodgrate!

        For the purposes of starring as Gatsby, he doesn’t need to be able to paint…just to change his shirts a lot.

        Rafa! No…Andy!! No, no…Rafa!!! NO…Andy!!! Oh, I don’t know…

      • 64 Professor VJ Duke August 26, 2013 at 22:43

        Fine. I won’t mention you to Shnodgrate. But it would have made a very interesting post… Besides, you were being wicked–as is your wont.

        :lol:

        But isn’t Rafa from Spain and Andy from Scotland? Should the decision be easy?

      • 65 FictionFan August 27, 2013 at 00:17

        Me? Wicked? Never! I’m as sweet as the Professor! :twisted: Anyway if memory serves me right, you’ve been less than complimentary about some of Mr Shnodgrate’s proverbs too in the past…but I wouldn’t dream of telling him…probably.

        You see, that’s the problem…hero-worship or patriotism? Too difficult to choose – though Andy’s becoming a bit of a hero himself these days…

        How are you at Giant Moth hunting? Tuppence has abandoned me and Tommy’s great at chasing but not so good at catching – and if he bounces on me one more time as he passes, I’m going to phone the taxidermist…

      • 66 Professor VJ Duke August 27, 2013 at 00:50

        Hmm…FF seems to remember all types of things that she really shouldn’t, and it vexes the professor greatly. I’ve only praised Shnody. (FF must be related to an elephant…) If you told him, I’d retire.

        Well, in my opinion, you should get a better hero. Perhaps Jim Caviezel?

        Never really tried it. I usually let them fly about at their own pleasure. The professor feels bad for Tommy–in that house with two beasts! I might send Bob.

      • 67 FictionFan August 27, 2013 at 01:46

        Oh, I promise I won’t tell him then! Please don’t retire – 82 is far too young for that!

        Now, I’d never heard of Mr Caviezel but Google shows me he’s really quite lovely…until he smiles, when sadly it all goes horribly wrong. Anyway, can he play tennis?

        The Professor is truly brave and I’m very impressed. One moth is enough to send FF shrieking for cover – and as for daddy-long-legses (sorry, don’t know the American transl.) they have been known to make me abandon the house…

      • 68 Professor VJ Duke August 27, 2013 at 12:26

        77, actually. :)

        Yes, when he smiles everything becomes creepy. I don’t think he plays tennis, but I wouldn’t know.

        A moth, really? They’re quite harmless. The professor views them as flying dust. (You should get a Katana and swing it about madly the next time a moth invades.) I’ve always called them daddy-long-leggers. But that could very well be the professorish version. (No word from Tiffany; the professor just might get out of this!)


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,871 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,371 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


