Blatherings: Discovery and the dadblame Postal Service

The professor made a very odd discovery while he was about this past week. He was pleasantly tending his strawberry patch when he found this:

DSC00133

DSC00136

Odd, isn’t it? I think that it is a gift from somebody, but it’s all very vexing. Any ideas?

Now, I must share with you…a…something.

The professor has been finding his mail strewn about the street as of late. You see, his mailbox rests close to the road.

Now, of course, this is an interest. After all, it’s either an accident or prank or curious happenstance. So, the professor waited around for the mail truck.

Sure enough the beast came by, but when he stopped at my mailbox, and took a quick look inside, he grimaced, then growled. And then he did the unthinkable:

He dropped the professor’s mail straight onto the road. The beast was about to drive away, when the professor jumped from hiding, and confronted him.

“Sir, I say wait!”

The beast craned his neck out of his mail truck. “What you want?”

“You’ve just dropped my mail onto the road instead of putting it where it belongs, and you’ve been doing this for the better part of a week!”

The beast laughed. “Once you clear the hornet’s nest from your mailbox, I’ll put mail in it. Once you care about me, I’ll care about you. I’ve been stung twice by that nest, and I won’t be stung again!”

With that, he drove off.

Of course, I looked into the mailbox, and…lo and behold…the largest hornet nest ever! Definitely too big to tackle now—maybe in the winter.

So, the professor got a new mailbox and put it five feet away from the other one. I really hope that the beat will be nicer now.

I suppose the moral of this tale is to watch and see if your mailbox is inhabited…

Now, I’d like to say one more thing, dear Punchy Family, before the photo.

If you can tell me what PL’er is on the header, all the way to the right, you can decide what characters you’d like to see interact in a future skit. Up to three characters, preferably.

Now, that dadblame disturbing picture:

dreamstime_14617601

I have said that that shrub reminds me of me, but do you notice what else is there? Humdinger! (You may need to zoom in!)

 

51 Responses to “Blatherings: Discovery and the dadblame Postal Service”


  1. 1 Carl D'Agostino September 22, 2013 at 12:40

    Hornets ? Sheesh. In Miami we have alligators in mailboxes.

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke September 23, 2013 at 00:07

      Seriously? Wowawee!

  2. 3 naomimgruer September 11, 2013 at 21:32

    The mailbox story is so funny!

    • 4 Professor VJ Duke September 11, 2013 at 23:17

      :D The professor laughed too! But I don’t think the postal worker found it too funny!

  3. 5 Uzoma September 7, 2013 at 17:44

    Oh my word! How did the hornet get into your box … quite rare I must say. I love the moral behind this tale, Prof.

    You’ve a style of writing which I find attractive and humorous. Will be reading more of your blog from now on.

    • 6 Professor VJ Duke September 7, 2013 at 17:53

      I’m really not sure how the dadblame hornet got in there! Just to spite the professor, I think. Thank you!

      It will be great seeing you around. The professor will be enjoying your blog too!

  4. 7 The Dancing Rider September 5, 2013 at 14:22

    DS, The Professor, and Schwarz…..

    • 8 Professor VJ Duke September 5, 2013 at 17:10

      The professor? Surely you’re not serious?!

      • 9 The Dancing Rider September 5, 2013 at 21:05

        Of course I am not serious….. ;-)

      • 10 Professor VJ Duke September 5, 2013 at 21:11

        Oh, that’s good. I fear the professor isn’t a good actor.

  5. 11 The Dancing Rider September 5, 2013 at 14:06

    What?! How did it get there (under water?). As for the hornet’s nest, scary! Can you blame the post person?

    • 12 Professor VJ Duke September 5, 2013 at 17:07

      Well, it’s a bit of a…sticky wicket. I’m not really sure how it got there but it did. :) Does that help?

      Oh, yes, hornets are rotten little dadblameries. Yes,I think I can. Don’t you think he should have taken care of it for the professor?

      • 13 The Dancing Rider September 5, 2013 at 21:05

        Hmmm, perhaps, if he were a gentleman.

      • 14 Professor VJ Duke September 5, 2013 at 21:11

        But he wasn’t, dadblameit.

  6. 15 Elina September 5, 2013 at 10:35

    Those hornets really found a great place for their nest. I can imagine their surprise when getting the Professor’s mail :)

    • 16 Professor VJ Duke September 5, 2013 at 12:18

      :lol: But why they would be surprised is beyond the professor! Hornets are dadblamery!

      • 17 Elina September 6, 2013 at 08:42

        :)

  7. 18 krugthethinker September 5, 2013 at 06:35

    You always make me laugh! I love your pretty rock, whether it is in the ocean or in your strawberry patch! And I applaud your new mailbox! That is what I would have done, certainly. No hornets for me!

    • 19 Professor VJ Duke September 5, 2013 at 12:16

      :D Thank you! And no hornets for the professor either!

  8. 20 weggieboy September 5, 2013 at 02:21

    How bizarre. Mail is a sacred right, no matter what the penny pinchers tossing billions around in Congress say. If it goes in one end, it must come out again, only at the proper end.

    • 21 Professor VJ Duke September 5, 2013 at 12:16

      I agree. That dadblamed postal worker was just plumb wrong.

  9. 22 sonya solomonovich September 5, 2013 at 01:47

    Lol I like how you dub the postal worker “the beast.”
    Why does the underwater plant remind one of the professor? You always offer such difficult dadblame puzzles for us to ponder!

    • 23 Professor VJ Duke September 5, 2013 at 12:15

      He was! :)

      Well, it all depends on how you picture the professor… ;)

  10. 24 ladycheetah7 September 4, 2013 at 17:11

    Soooo you are green and fuzzy? Hmmmm. Okay. So, I have a few theories. You are excellent at Photoshop by inserting the little fuzzy rock with a teddy bear on it at the bottom of the ocean. Second theory, you went to the Dollar Store and took one of the rocks in your strawberry patch and glued it together. Third theory after your arts & craft creation you went deep sea diving and neatly placed your creation next to the big, fuzzy, and green plant. As for the headline either I am blind or I can’t tell on my phone so I would select Daddy Salami, Robin Hood, and Manly John. That poor ole postal worker….

    • 25 Professor VJ Duke September 4, 2013 at 21:44

      :lol: The third one all the way! It is DS. Don’t feel bad for the postal worker; he deserved it!

  11. 26 technophile9 September 4, 2013 at 16:33

    I’ve nominated you for some awards! Feel free to take them or leave them. The instructions are here… http://coatechnophile.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/rise-of-the-awards/

    • 27 Professor VJ Duke September 4, 2013 at 16:42

      Many thanks! I’ll take a look. The professor is honored.

  12. 28 Susan P September 4, 2013 at 14:22

    Wowawee, Professor. We had problems with the mail delivery in our woods. Some of it, some of the time mysteriously disappeared, and never surfaced. There were no hornets in the box, nor other creatures, and the neighborhood bear was not in our neighborhood at the time. So we inconvenienced our selves by renting a small box at the Post Office that is seven miles away. But we get all of our mail. Eventually. Later we discovered that the substitute mail carrier was burying the mail in her back yard. I suspect that DS may have been involved.

    As for your question, Professor, Daddy Salami and Kirk Kirkpatrick.

    • 29 Professor VJ Duke September 4, 2013 at 16:42

      Wowawee! That is an interest. I wonder why she was burying the mail… :D Definitely could’ve been DS, or PeZ.

      Great. DS stars in Les Miz (coming soon) and in Holmes (coming this Friday). I think Kirk is in Les Miz II.

      • 30 Susan P September 4, 2013 at 18:18

        The story I heard about the delinquent mail carrier was that she wasn’t working fast enough to get the mail done on time. She was invited to resign in lieu of being fired, so grace was shown. Is a puzzlement.

      • 31 Professor VJ Duke September 4, 2013 at 21:44

        Definitely a puzzlement.

      • 32 Susan P September 4, 2013 at 18:21

        Looking forward to future skits and such.

      • 33 Professor VJ Duke September 4, 2013 at 21:44

        :D The professor is looking forward to sharing!

  13. 34 sknicholls September 4, 2013 at 13:27

    We used to go hunting for Geodes in the North GA mountain s and would occasionally find them I have many in my LR setting about. I have never found one in the strawberry patch though. My grandmother’s mailman actually asked her to remove the flowers around her box because he was getting bee stung repeatedly. OUCH!

    • 35 Professor VJ Duke September 4, 2013 at 16:39

      How interesting! The professor would love to go and hunt for Geodes. They’re just so beautiful.

      Seriously? :D But he didn’t throw the mail on the street, did he?

      • 36 sknicholls September 4, 2013 at 16:41

        No, he brought it in to her, but said she was slowing down his route, so she pulled the Confederate Jasmine vine away and planted it elsewhere.

      • 37 Professor VJ Duke September 4, 2013 at 16:44

        Now that’s interesting. What kind of bees does a Confederate Jasmine vine attract? (Sorry for the professorish question, but I am curious!)

      • 38 sknicholls September 4, 2013 at 18:01

        honey bees…it is a sweet smelling flower

      • 39 Professor VJ Duke September 4, 2013 at 21:44

        Thank you.

  14. 40 Jackie September 4, 2013 at 13:21

    Interesting find in the garden! I think I saw something similar in a gift shop I visited years ago. I have an appointment this morning so I do not have time to rant about the dadblame postal service! They are hideously bad in so many ways. :twisted:

    • 41 Professor VJ Duke September 4, 2013 at 16:38

      Yes, the professor thinks so! Ah, it does look like a gift item.

      :lol: Love the face. And the professor is so curious as to know what they did to you!

      • 42 Jackie September 4, 2013 at 22:18

        Let’s see, they have misplaced/lost certified letters that were sent to me, they have crushed packages, bent large envelopes with photos in them that were clearly marked “DO NOT BEND”, and the worst thing that happened was one of the carriers at my old apartment building was delivering a package to me that needed a signature. I was not home at the time so the guy forged my signature because he got it in his mind that we were somehow friends and by doing this he was doing me a favor. I have no idea where the hell he got this idea! It totally creeped me out. I discovered he had done it when I looked up the tracking and it showed that I had signed for it. I complained and wrote letters to the proper people about it but NOTHING was done.

        So there you have it! :-D

      • 43 Professor VJ Duke September 5, 2013 at 00:21

        :lol: Jackie, we should beat your postal service over the heads with their shin bones! (Worst insult this professor knows.) Goodness! I just can’t get over the part about forging your signature. He could go to court for that! And then, they didn’t even answer your complaints! Manothunder. We should send DS after them, definitely.

      • 44 Jackie September 5, 2013 at 00:27

        Absolutely! Sending DS – that’s a brilliant idea! :-D

      • 45 Professor VJ Duke September 5, 2013 at 12:10

        That’ll teach them a lesson!

      • 46 Jackie September 5, 2013 at 12:11

        ;-)

  15. 47 FictionFan September 4, 2013 at 13:08

    Are you sure it’s not a voodoo doll? It seems to have cast a blight over your strawberry patch…

    I’d have thought you could have dealt with the dadblamed hornets if you donned your protective worm-hunting gear?

    Zez!

    • 48 Professor VJ Duke September 4, 2013 at 16:37

      You laugh at the professor’s patch now, but you’ll see next year! Indignant face.

      Hmm, I suppose so…but the stinger could’ve penetrated…

      Zez actually stars in Les Miz II. It was hard getting him!

      • 49 Professor VJ Duke September 4, 2013 at 16:42

        I mean Les Miz III! :)

      • 50 FictionFan September 4, 2013 at 17:08

        Ooh, I’ll look forward to that!

      • 51 Professor VJ Duke September 4, 2013 at 21:43

        :D


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,874 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 115,063 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


