The Adventures of Daddy Olmes…and Ratson, Episode #2: The Muskrat Ritual

78 Responses to “The Adventures of Daddy Olmes…and Ratson, Episode #2: The Muskrat Ritual”


  1. 1 krugthethinker October 2, 2013 at 16:02

    Hahaha! I am enjoying these so much! Brings back memories of reading these tales back when I was in school, but these are decidedly more funny. I love that little moment of role confusion too:)

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke October 2, 2013 at 17:25

      Many thanks! :D And more Punchyish too, I hope. Yes, there’s definitely a lot of confusion in the PL!

  2. 3 ladycheetah7 September 14, 2013 at 16:49

    Pretty awesome stuff here. Love the plot and music. What is more, the fact Schwartz made the riddle for Olmes, used the muskrat as bait to bury him. Brilliant! Waiting for the next installment. Don’t know who does the music but send him my compliments. I would like to listen to that on my drive to work. Wish these were stretched to half an hour. Something to enjoy while I work. I read executive complaints alot and have to come up with resolutions, identify proficiency errors, etc. so things like this really help cheer up the mood. ;-)

    • 4 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 21:23

      Many thanks! Yes, Schwarz can be brilliant sometimes, I think…

      All music is composed by the awesome Symphonist Sepperl. (He comments on these forums under the pseudonym of deanthefish.)

      You’ve made my day, Lady! That’s what these skits are for! Just curious: who was your favorite character in this episode?

      • 5 ladycheetah7 September 14, 2013 at 21:32

        Um..hard to say. I like the tension between Olmes & Ratson. But if I had to pick it would be in thus episode Schwarz for the simple reason he outsmarted Olmes and he Olmes did not see it coming.

      • 6 Professor VJ Duke September 15, 2013 at 01:03

        Great reason. One would definitely think that Olmes would have been ready or something. Just goes to show you that he’s not as smart as he thinks.

      • 7 Susan P September 15, 2013 at 19:59

        The problem was that Olmes relaxed his guard. One must never let down ones guard. I still like that he was caught off guard, however.

      • 8 Professor VJ Duke September 16, 2013 at 12:11

        Ah, interesting point! Maybe he is still brilliant, just let down his guard.

  3. 9 Anja September 13, 2013 at 23:49

    I quite enjoy these. :) Although I feel strange watching this at the same time watching season 2 of Sherlock……..

    • 10 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 00:36

      Great! ==]:-{)= Yes, that would be strange…which one is better? ;)

      • 11 Anja September 14, 2013 at 00:42

        Which one is better….really how do I compare? :D I adore the BBC version of Sherlock….brainy is the new sexy. ha But your videos are clever and refreshing. :) They have my heart…..for now……

      • 12 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 00:49

        It truly isn’t a fair comparison! Apologies! The professor is very honored! Thank you!!!

      • 13 Anja September 14, 2013 at 00:50

        Please no apologies. :P You are very welcome…thank you for offering such gifts Professor.

      • 14 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 00:52

        :D :D The professor is speechless!

      • 15 Anja September 14, 2013 at 00:53

        mmmmm I highly doubt that “word-professor” ;)

      • 16 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 00:53

        :lol: Very true. I always have something professorish to say.

      • 17 Anja September 14, 2013 at 00:54

        I would feel guilty if I somehow robbed you of your professorishish things to share.

      • 18 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 00:55

        How could you rob the professor?

      • 19 Anja September 14, 2013 at 00:57

        Not intentionally….no never. What if I somehow tripped, fell and somehow stole it…..I won’t even let my mind go there. It is just too sad.

      • 20 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 00:59

        :D We shan’t dwell there, then.

      • 21 Anja September 14, 2013 at 01:00

        No…please, we must avoid. Rather stick to happy place where the Professor is Professorising away and well I…..I show support. HA

      • 22 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 01:25

        Absolutely!

      • 23 Anja September 14, 2013 at 01:32

        Did I just sell my soul?

      • 24 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 03:02

        No!

      • 25 Anja September 14, 2013 at 03:10

        haha Are you sure? I was snuggled up in bed asleep and you woke me with a chiming entrance. :)

      • 26 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 21:23

        Then I’m greatly confused, I suppose. But the professorish mind usually is, you know.

  4. 27 The Dancing Rider September 13, 2013 at 23:12

    Oh. My. Word. Professor! Mrs. Muskrat?! Loved Schwarz’s idea here. But was perhaps irrationally shocked that he was married! Or, then again, perhaps that was just part of his act. Olmes’s chuckling, or mad derisive tittering, makes my skin crawl. And since I’m discussing the missus’s, what ever happened to poor Mrs. Salami?!

    By the way, so enjoyed the accompanying appropriate music!

    • 28 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 00:36

      Yes, just part of the act. Schwarz Tauptinker was playing Schwarz Muskrat. (The professor’s mind, you see.)

      That’s kind of neat. Is his laugh that unnerving?

      Well, this coming week, everything will be revealed about DS’s alleged wife. (Some say there never was a wife.) Would you like that?

      I’ll tell Sepperl!

      • 29 The Dancing Rider September 14, 2013 at 13:25

        Yes, I really, *really* need to know what happened to Salami’s wife! I would like that! Given that Ruber may not be Salami’s real son, perhaps there was NOT a wife!

        My reaction to Salami’s … laugh … is irrational I know. But it gives me the creeps. Probably because it appears there are no ends to which he won’t go. The plotting …. the laughter ….

      • 30 Susan P September 14, 2013 at 16:05

        Now, see? He gives me the chills, too, when he laughs!

      • 31 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 21:25

        :lol: I suppose so! You see, Susan, and Dancing Rider, I never thought that much about his laugh. This professor does try to practice his own version of it, though. Do you?

        And about Salami’s wife–all shall be made known. In a Punchyish way. Ruber could have been adopted too.

  5. 32 sonya solomonovich September 13, 2013 at 20:26

    DS is getting outright villainous! Who will stop him? Perhaps the heroic Mr. Ratherquite?

    • 33 FictionFan September 13, 2013 at 21:53

      (FF snorts with laughter…)

      • 34 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 00:31

        I do believe myself incapable of snorting…

      • 35 FictionFan September 14, 2013 at 14:00

        Oh, poor Professor!

      • 36 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 21:25

        You teach me, FEF!

      • 37 FictionFan September 14, 2013 at 23:43

        I’d love to, C-W-W, but I fear if the thought of Mr Rodentquite standing up to the Sausage doesn’t make you snort, nothing will…

        Unless… try reading an entire PL comments thread while drinking a hot cup of cherry tea and eating an ice lolly… that might work!

      • 38 Professor VJ Duke September 15, 2013 at 01:02

        The Sausage? Ruber would love that! :lol:

        I’ll have to!

    • 39 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 00:31

      Well, probably not. The professor will!

  6. 40 sknicholls September 13, 2013 at 18:27

    These just keep getting better. I must admit, I have trouble keeping up with all of the characters….especially when the characters are playing other characters :)

    • 41 Professor VJ Duke September 13, 2013 at 19:00

      Many thanks! Well, you’re welcome to look at the character profiles by hovering over the Hut–if that would help. Did you notice Salami’s poem? That was for you. I recall you wanting to hear a DS poem. Not very good, was it?

      • 42 sknicholls September 13, 2013 at 19:01

        He was fair…this is new to him.

      • 43 Professor VJ Duke September 13, 2013 at 19:07

        I think Ruber would appreciate if he didn’t try anymore.

  7. 44 Jackie September 13, 2013 at 16:42

    That is a humdinger of video! I love it. Did I read that right? You’re going to post about DS’s wife?

    • 45 Professor VJ Duke September 13, 2013 at 16:44

      :cool: Great! Yes. Well, Jazzy Couldren (Manly-Man) will. He was there. Why? Would you like to know all about it?

      • 46 Jackie September 13, 2013 at 16:49

        Yes!

      • 47 Professor VJ Duke September 13, 2013 at 18:58

        Great, then!

      • 48 Jackie September 13, 2013 at 19:05

        :-D

      • 49 Professor VJ Duke September 13, 2013 at 19:06

        :cool:

  8. 50 technophile9 September 13, 2013 at 16:09

    This was too funny! The riddle vexed me I’ll admit. There’s a reson why Daddy Olmes is the real botanical garden!

    The banter between Ratson and Olmes is also hilarious!

    • 51 technophile9 September 13, 2013 at 16:10

      *reaso

      • 52 technophile9 September 13, 2013 at 16:11

        No! I meant reason!

      • 53 Professor VJ Duke September 13, 2013 at 16:35

        :lol: No problem! The professor is constantly making errors. It’s a good thing the PF doesn’t call him out on it.

    • 54 Professor VJ Duke September 13, 2013 at 16:35

      Thank you! Yes, this professor too. Still have no idea what DS was trying to say. Any ideas?

      Awesome! The professor is thrilled.

  9. 55 L. Marie September 13, 2013 at 15:49

    Hilarious!!! And like FictionFan, my heart plunged with I thought Schwarz Tauptinker was married. So, there’s hope.
    Anyway, I love the music too!! This is a great series!
    P.S. With the number 88, I was thinking a piano was involved somehow. Silly me.

    • 56 Professor VJ Duke September 13, 2013 at 16:37

      :lol: Really? Do you like Schwarz too?

      You hear that Mr. Fish? Very happy that you are enjoying it. If you have a favorite Holmes story, just let me know.

      Hmm…no, that actually makes sense. But I fear neither Olmes nor Ratson would think like that.

      • 57 L. Marie September 14, 2013 at 18:59

        One of my favorites is the Adventure of the Red-headed League. Dunno why exactly.
        I’m also partial to the Peter Wimsey stories by Dorothy Sayers, if you’re considering the far future. :-)

      • 58 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 21:26

        Great. The professor will look into it.

        Always considering for the future. Will look into it. :)

  10. 59 Hazy September 13, 2013 at 14:17

    “When there’s a crime, it’s time to call Daddy Olmes — the real botanical garden!”

    That line cracked me up! xD

    • 60 Professor VJ Duke September 13, 2013 at 15:06

      :D One thing we can be sure of: Salami’s no poet, is he?

      • 61 Hazy September 14, 2013 at 04:06

        Indeed not. :D

        Has he been to a botanical garden?

      • 62 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 21:27

        :lol: We may hope for him, though. Maybe someday he’ll get better at it.

        I’m not sure. If he were, though, he probably didn’t appreciate it.

  11. 63 Susan P September 13, 2013 at 13:47

    I’m speechless. Simply speechless! Is there no end to what Daddy Olmes will do? I do think that his wife might keep him in check – perhaps that is the key to her disappearance. Just thinking out loud….

    • 64 Professor VJ Duke September 13, 2013 at 15:05

      :lol: Definitely no end! He’s a wicked one, you know.

      Okay, since the PF seems extremely curious about what happened to DS’s wife, I shall have a post posted about it this coming week. It should set everything straight, including the allegations against Salami’s sweet character. Does that sound good?

      • 65 Susan P September 13, 2013 at 15:29

        It might be good…yes, it might be. But I couldn’t say. Oh no, I really couldn’t say for certain. I will reserve the privilege to comment later. :)

      • 66 Professor VJ Duke September 13, 2013 at 16:40

        :lol: You’re right. It could be brutal. I’ll have to ask Jazzy Couldren all about. He was there in those early days, you know.

      • 67 Susan P September 15, 2013 at 20:03

        Maybe something like The Good, The Bad and the Ugly. Hmmmm…who would you find to be the good?

      • 68 Professor VJ Duke September 16, 2013 at 12:12

        :lol: That’s hard! Is there a good anywhere in the PL?

  12. 69 FictionFan September 13, 2013 at 12:50

    (What?!? My Schwarzy is….married???? FF is devastated!)

    Superb, Professor! Take a bow!! One of my favourite Holmes stories brought brilliantly to life and with two of the finest examples of the Salami chuckle yet heard! Not to mention a ‘No! No!’ from my new hero! I think the Olmes stories are the best yet – even better than Schwarz Hood…

    :lol: :lol: :lol:

    • 70 Professor VJ Duke September 13, 2013 at 15:03

      (No, no. Schwarz Tauptinker was playing the married Schwarz Muskrat. Only skits are actually real interactions, or shorts.)

      FEF is too kind! :D :cool: :D Next is to introduce that vexing fake professor. Many thanks! It makes the professor so happy that you enjoy them!

      • 71 FictionFan September 13, 2013 at 15:33

        (Oh, thank goodness for that! I was beginning to feel there were no eligible bachelors in the PL at all! No, Ruber does NOT count!)

        Not kind at all – just honest! :D

        Moriarty, do you mean? Ooh, who’s playing him? (I think perhaps the Professor himself could take on that role – he can be very wicked sometimes…)

      • 72 Professor VJ Duke September 13, 2013 at 16:39

        Oh no. There are. Like Mark Mallone. You’d probably like him best. There’s just so many characters to introduce!

        Then…then…you’re too sweet! :)

        Yes. MicP Studios hasn’t decided yet… :lol: But I’m not a good actor!

        Do you have a favorite Holmes story that you’d like to see included in the series? As you know, only ten episodes before the waterfall…

      • 73 FictionFan September 13, 2013 at 17:54

        Huh! Like I’d listen to you after you getting my hopes up over that creature Ratherwobbly! Just introduce me to this Mark Mallone and I shall be the judge of his eligibility…

        But it would give you an opportunity to twirl your moustaches sinisterly…

        My fave story (apart of course from The Hound) is The Dancing Men, but I’m not sure that would work (but then I’m not creative). The Speckled Band is wonderful as is The Red-Headed League, The Blue Carbuncle, The Man with the Twisted Lip, Silver Blaze…

        And check with me again when you’re ready to start the ones after the waterfall… ;)

      • 74 FictionFan September 13, 2013 at 22:02

        Huh!

        Yes, but I like some more than others. If you decide there’s not enough action in The Dancing Men, pretty please do The Red-Headed League?

        Oh yes, there are more stories after the waterfall than before. Due to popular demand Conan Doyle had to bring him back after killing him off…let that be a warning to you, C-W-W!

      • 75 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 00:33

        Of course. Just for you. ;)

        Oh dear. More after? That is vexing.

      • 76 FictionFan September 14, 2013 at 14:25

        :D

        Many, many more…

      • 77 Professor VJ Duke September 13, 2013 at 19:02

        :) The professor wouldn’t lie, you know.

        I think it’s safe to say that you like all the Holmes stories. Now the professor particularly wants to do The Dancing Men…

        Is there an after the waterfall?

      • 78 Professor VJ Duke September 14, 2013 at 21:28

        Goodness me…


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,875 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,820 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


