Blatherings: About the professor and His Lovely Bookshelves

There is a strange rumor going about.

And I must make you aware of it, dear PLF.

The rumor is that the professor is an enigma.

But he’s not.

You see, the professor is none other than Professor VJ Duke.

I fear, however, that that may not be too satisfactory. So, the professor shall tell you a little about the professor today.

Dear PLF member, Hazy (check out her awesome blog!), nominated me for an award, and the professor is much honored. I don’t usually participate in awards, but the professor thought this a great opportunity to tell a bit more about himself.

Below are Hazy’s award questions, and the professor shall answer them!

1. Are you a night owl or an early bird?

I think the professor is somewhere in between—if that’s possible. It’s definitely professorish, though.

2. What is your favorite quote or favorite book (or both)?

What a hard question! Well, Innocents Abroad and The Prince and the Pauper are the professor’s favorite books.

Now, a quote… Well, this is my favorite quote, by V. Shnodgrate: Practicality is only practical when the practicality of life is practical.

3. If there was a movie about your life, which actor or actress would you want to play your role?

The professor definitely wouldn’t want an actress… An actor? Hmm…I fear none could do the professor justice. Wait. I’ve got one. Yes. Definitely John Wayne.

4. What is/was your favorite subject in school?

The professor was a very wicked student. But I liked Physics a lot.

5. What do you like about blogging?

The people. The professor loves interacting with people, I think.

6. How would you describe yourself in one word?

Unimaginable.

7. What’s your favorite film adaptation of a book?

I think I’ve been stumped. The professor is trying to think… Let’s see. I’m quite sorry: None come to mind.

8. What is/are your favorite movie(s) or TV show(s)?

The professor will have to say Grizzly Falls just because I love bears.

A TV show… Probably Person of Interest, but I can’t say for sure since I’ve never watched it. The professor would suppose, however, he might like it a bit, bits, and little bits.

9. Who is/are your favorite band/musician/artist(s)?

Definitely Yes, I think.

My top three favorite songs as of now—they change quite often—are:
(1) So Close
(2) Mr. Bojangles
(3) Hello Dolly

10. What is the farthest you’ve ever traveled?

Does the PL count? I think it should.

Now I’m sure you know much more about the professor. (Probably even more than he does.)

Okay.

Now a few disturbing pictures.

The professor’s other bookshelves.

Hope it’s not too scary.

DSC00184 DSC00183 DSC00182 DSC00180 DSC00179

 

75 Responses to “Blatherings: About the professor and His Lovely Bookshelves”


  1. 1 Hazy October 18, 2013 at 14:18

    The professor is very obliging. Thank you for answering the award Qs! You answers are quite informative. :)

    I haven’t read Innocents Abroad yet, but I remember liking The Prince and the Pauper when I read it. Nice choice! The quote is very good (and a good tongue twister too).

    John Wayne! You’re not just joshing, are you? Unfortunately (or oddly), I’ve never seen any of his movies. Any recommendations? I kinda picture you as more of a Jimmy Stewart… He seems like a real nice and stand-up guy.

    Wow, Physics! I usually just got a passing mark in physics, never any higher. :lol:

    So Close… nice song! I like Mr. Bojangles too! It’s been sung by lots of artists. Which version is your favorite?

    Your bookshelf is amazing! So much stuff in there. Even vinyls! (are they?) I see The Who (nice!). And a nicely varied collection of books! I’m pleased to see Science Encyclopedia, Ancient Egypt, Little Lord Fauntleroy, and Agatha Christie on your shelf.

    I haven’t read much of Ms. Christie’s work, but I do seem to favor Poirot when I do. What about you? Any favorites?

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke October 18, 2013 at 20:06

      Thank you for the great questions!

      I think you might like IA.

      :lol: I think you’re right. The professor is more like Stewart. Let’s see…how about True Grit? (The old one.)

      Haha. Yes, the professor loved physics–even thought about becoming a physicist.

      Sammy Davis Jr.!!! What’s yours?

      Yes they are! The professor is so timeless, you know. (The Who is awesome.) Aren’t you proud of the professor? :D

      Yes, the professor has always liked Endless Night and Death on the Nile. Ever read those?

      • 3 Hazy October 21, 2013 at 14:47

        I’ve heard good things about True Grit, though never saw it. Might give it a try someday. I tend to prefer Jimmy Stewart movies and a bit of Cary Grant. :D

        Physicist! Nice. Always impressed with people who are good in physics and chem! (I’m in the life sciences department)

        Sammy Davis Jr’s version is good! Very classic! I also liked the version by Robbie Williams.

        Yes, proud of the professor indeed! :D

        Not yet! I shall bump those up in my to-read list. I liked The Murder of Roger Ackroyd. Have you read it?

      • 4 Professor VJ Duke October 21, 2013 at 16:32

        Of course! Cary Grant is wonderful. The professor agrees.

        Neat! The professor liked chem a lot too.

        I’ll have to watch it, definitely.

        :D He is honored!

        No, I haven’t. But the professor does have it. I’ll have to read it next.

  2. 5 Nancy Loderick October 17, 2013 at 20:17

    Hey Professor,

    All I can say is “your bookshelves look very professorish.”

    Nancy

    • 6 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 23:33

      And I’m proud about that!

  3. 7 technophile9 October 17, 2013 at 15:02

    Your bookshelves are very interesting…

    • 8 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 19:43

      What do they tell you?

      • 9 technophile9 October 17, 2013 at 20:18

        That you have good taste in books? ;) Also that you’re American. I assumed you were British because you don’t talk about alternate Punchy Lands America much, but there seem to be an awful lot of American history books in your shelf. Am I right? Or would you rather not reveal which side of the pond you live in? Sorry if I appear nosy. :)

      • 10 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 23:34

        Thank you! Not at all. The professor is American. Very good deduction, sir!

  4. 11 Jennifer October 17, 2013 at 10:03

    And yet, you are still an enigma.

    • 12 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 19:37

      That’s too bad. Was really hoping this would clear things up.

  5. 13 krugthethinker October 17, 2013 at 04:17

    Ahahahaha! Well this interview made me laugh, so I would say it was very professorish indeed! I love the glimpse into the bookshelves! I should take pictures of ours, crammed to the gills (if bookshelves have gills) with books and knick knacks from all our travels. Perhaps your bookshelves need some souvenirs from the PL?! Mayhaps you should keep this in my for any upcoming trips!

    • 14 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 19:37

      Awesome! :cool: Yes, definitely take a few pics! The professor would love to see them. You’re right: I should. I think I shall. (Love “mayhaps”)

  6. 15 Jackie October 16, 2013 at 22:36

    You have very eclectic bookshelves, Professor! Thanks for the tiny window looking into you. It didn’t really reveal anything but the vagueness was fun so it’s all good. 8-)

    • 16 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 01:26

      I think I do, yes! Dadblameit! It was supposed to completely reveal the professor. Oh well. What to do?

      • 17 Jackie October 17, 2013 at 01:54

        I would say nothing. I think vagueness and mystery suit you quite nicely. :-D

      • 18 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 19:34

        Thank you! I think the professor has to agree.

  7. 19 Anja October 16, 2013 at 21:45

    All I can say is I noticed Dr Seuss….the rest does not matter :)

    • 20 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 01:25

      The professor might rip Seuss one day, you know. (How’s the 4th story coming?)

      • 21 Anja October 17, 2013 at 01:37

        Ohhhh you better not rip on the amazing Seuss…he is my favorite author!!
        4th story is coming…had some delays due to friends health issues.
        It will be here soon enough. Promise….unless you rip Seuss then it may get ugly.

      • 22 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 01:45

        It might be impossible. He’s very deep, you know. Really, favorite? Interesting…

        Oh dear. Hope everything’s okay now. Fine! No ripio on Seuss!

      • 23 Anja October 17, 2013 at 01:46

        Seuss and Poe are my top two authors. :) You really have to understand how Seuss changed the world and opened up reading, imagination to so many young minds with just fun!
        Things are better….now trying to get myself back together. :)

      • 24 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 01:52

        Twain didn’t like Poe, you know.

        Awesome! Can’t wait for the story.

      • 25 Anja October 17, 2013 at 02:03

        And I do not base my likes on some other author :) Twain didn’t know Poe lol

      • 26 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 19:35

        True. :D

  8. 27 Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister October 16, 2013 at 21:41

    I don’t even know where to start, professor. Congratulations on the award!

    I could write a short essay on how I feel about your bookshelf. The Jesus puzzle is my favorite piece.

    I wonder if you like red or green tractors…

    John Wayne? He’s pretty liked at this house, too. Maureen O’Hara is such a fiesty one in The Quiet Man, it is my favorite.

    So Close… very surprised by that one. Very.

    • 28 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 01:25

      It’s a bit professorish, isn’t it? Thank you!

      You know, the professor would be highly interested in reading that essay!

      Definitely red! Red all the way. How about you?

      The professor loves that movie!!! Anytime, the Duke and O’Hara appear in a movie, it’s good–great.

      Now, why surprised?

      • 29 Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister October 17, 2013 at 11:28

        Oh, I’m sure he would. :)

        Red, red, red! Professor, you know your stuff, don’t you? The Green cannot be trusted. :D

        Oh really! A great one!
        The Duke has a way with her, doesn’t he?!!! :)

        I don’t know. It’s a lovely song…You seem so insistent on scaring all of us…

      • 30 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 19:38

        Of course the professor does! ;)

        He does indeed!

        Well…what can I say?

      • 31 Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister October 18, 2013 at 03:09

        Then I’d get a ripping review. Am I ready for that? Not so sure…

        :)

      • 32 Professor VJ Duke October 18, 2013 at 19:59

        Well, the professor isn’t ready for every ripping himself, you know.

  9. 33 ladycheetah7 October 16, 2013 at 19:30

    That’s a pretty awesome book case ;-)

    • 34 Professor VJ Duke October 16, 2013 at 21:27

      Thank you! Do you have a favorite part? ;)

  10. 35 Jazzy Couldren October 16, 2013 at 16:44

    Hey, Johnny Wayney was my buddy. Does you know that?

    • 36 sonya solomonovich October 16, 2013 at 17:24

      I guess manly men gotta stick together :) I like your choice of John Wayne for an actor. Unless it was an ironic answer?…

      • 37 Professor VJ Duke October 16, 2013 at 18:30

        It was both, I think. But the professor would do a better job acting, I think.

    • 38 Professor VJ Duke October 16, 2013 at 18:30

      Really? :lol: Why didn’t you ever play in one of his movies?

      • 39 Jazzy Couldren October 16, 2013 at 18:52

        Hey, Manly ain’t an actor. He’s just buddies with manly men.

      • 40 Professor VJ Duke October 16, 2013 at 21:25

        That’s good. How about Robert Mitchum, then?

  11. 41 Kaela Moore October 16, 2013 at 15:21

    Your bookshelves! One can always tell so much about a person based on their bookshelves alone.
    Dr. Seuss! Tolkien! Ted Dekker!!! Sheldon! Alcott!

    Love the diversity.

    I’m afraid I haven’t read either of your favorite books. Adding them to Goodreads now.

    • 42 Professor VJ Duke October 16, 2013 at 18:29

      Oh dear! What can you tell? Hopefully, you’ll know a lot about the professor now.

      The professor likes diversity too, I think.

      Awesome! Twain is the best. Let me know what you think.

  12. 43 L. Marie October 16, 2013 at 14:42

    I had the same question as deanthefish!!! Love your bookshelves and your answers. John Wayne. Way to dodge the bullet there, Profesor. :-)

    • 44 Professor VJ Duke October 16, 2013 at 18:27

      And they are records! Thanks! Haha. Well, wouldn’t you rather see the professor play the professor?

  13. 45 deanthefish October 16, 2013 at 14:24

    Are they records in the top photo??

    Cool.

    • 46 Professor VJ Duke October 16, 2013 at 18:26

      Yes, Mr. Fish. Yes, they are.

  14. 47 Susan P October 16, 2013 at 14:20

    That is an interesting interview. I never read one that had so much information without really telling one anything. ;) Oddly enough, we have one of those Jesus puzzles on our bookshelves (and if you want disturbing, you should see our shelves). It might surprise you that we have a great many books in common. Or, perhaps not. I would say I’ve read at least 2/3 of those books on your shelves. John Wayne, of course. Because he’s the Duke! This was great fun today.

    • 48 Professor VJ Duke October 16, 2013 at 18:26

      Many thanks! :lol: That’s the sure sign of a professorish interview, isn’t it?

      How interesting! It would be neat to see your shelves for sure! 2/3? That’s an awesome number.

      :lol: Yes! Though the professor really likes him too.

      • 49 Susan P October 16, 2013 at 22:47

        I am a lifetime reader. I have an eReader, but still prefer ink and paper. And I homeschooled for 19 years and still have some leftover books from that. One that I treasure is my grandfather’s Matthew Henry.

      • 50 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 01:27

        The professor must agree with you. Ink and paper the whole way. Really? That is awesome. The professor was, in fact, homeschooled hiself way back in the day. Neat! I enjoy reading Matthew Henry as well! :)

      • 51 Susan P October 17, 2013 at 06:10

        I was the homeschool teacher. We had a lot of fun – most days.

      • 52 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 19:37

        And then there was those darker days… Sorry. Just being a bad professor.

      • 53 Susan P October 21, 2013 at 07:42

        Those were the days I threw my plastic bowls across the kitchen and threatened to put them all in school – any school – tomorrow. The best days were the DEAR (Drop Everything And Read) days.

      • 54 Professor VJ Duke October 21, 2013 at 16:22

        Haha! DEAR days sound awesome to this professor.

    • 55 ladycheetah7 October 16, 2013 at 19:29

      Right! He said so much and revealed nothing…lol

      • 56 Professor VJ Duke October 16, 2013 at 21:27

        Rats! I was hoping that this would reveal everything the PLF wanted to know…

      • 57 Susan P October 16, 2013 at 22:49

        Professorish types tend in that direction. :D

      • 58 ladycheetah7 October 16, 2013 at 23:29

        Yah…lol. I told him how deceptively clever he is.

      • 59 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 01:31

        I think you’ve got something there! Deceptively clever. Must put that on my name tag.

  15. 60 MissTiffany October 16, 2013 at 14:19

    Oh, I loved looking through your bookshelves. I am pleased to see Dr. Suess’s works included there. :) Would your favorite song at the moment, “So Close” be the Hall and Oates version, or the Jon McLaughlin version?

    • 61 Professor VJ Duke October 16, 2013 at 18:25

      Very professorish, isn’t it? Now you should understand me perfectly, I think. Oh yes! I’ve given thought to ripping one Suess…

      The McLaughlin one. Do you knows it?

      • 62 MissTiffany October 16, 2013 at 18:43

        Quite so! Haha! That would certainly be an interesting rip…

        Oh yes! I adore that song. I was hoping that was the one you were talking about. In fact I’m singing it right now. It’s impossible not to. The words just magically appear in my brain…

      • 63 Professor VJ Duke October 16, 2013 at 21:25

        But I’m still wondering if it’s possible…

        Yes, it’s very nice. Very. But not professorish, mind you.

      • 64 MissTiffany October 17, 2013 at 12:55

        I would be curious to see it done.

        Haha, not professorish? But all great men should have a softer side, methinks. I thoroughly approve.

      • 65 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 19:38

        It could backfire, though.

        The professor doesn’t!

      • 66 MissTiffany October 17, 2013 at 20:24

        Indeed it could. That’s the risk!

        That’s too bad.

      • 67 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 23:34

        Haha.

        But it’s true, I fear.

  16. 68 sknicholls October 16, 2013 at 13:57

    I love interviews like this one. :) Well done.

    • 69 Professor VJ Duke October 16, 2013 at 18:23

      Thank you! Hazy asked great questions. :)

  17. 70 FictionFan October 16, 2013 at 13:17

    How fascinating other people’s bookshelves are! And yours contain some mysteries that merely add to the enigmatic nature of our dear Professor – Little Men? The Illustrated History of Tractors? But delighted to see so many of Ms Christie’s works there – Tuppence will be thrilled!

    John Wayne is all wrong for the role – Bruce Willis, definitely.

    Not The Shining, then?

    Yes???

    • 71 Professor VJ Duke October 16, 2013 at 18:23

      And the professor’s is infinitely more so. Rats! I was hoping that you’d understand the professor completely. Oh well…

      Yes. Do you like Little Men? Tractors are neat, I think. The professor has always liked Christie–every so often.

      From what I’ve seen of Willis, I’m not sure I like that too much… Don’t you think the professor would be a better fit to play himself?

      You mean favorite movie?

      Yes, Yes the band. I like them.

      • 72 FictionFan October 16, 2013 at 19:57

        Oh, I fear I will never understand the Professor completely, particularly where his very ageless taste in music comes from…

        I do like Little Men – it may have been my favourite of the ‘Little Women’ series. I identified with Jo very much as a child/teenager. I didn’t identify quite so much with tractors, though…

        You see, what you don’t seem to understand is that I love Bruce Willis and think he is/was gorgeous! So it’s a major compliment. I’m not sure about the Professor playing himself – I think it’s much more fun when the Professor plays someone else…

        Favourite movie adaptation of a book.

      • 73 Professor VJ Duke October 16, 2013 at 21:30

        Oh, that’s easily explained, I think. One day you may know. :D (But the true answer has to do with timelessness. ;) )

        The professor didn’t mind it. It would have been better if there was some action, though. Tractors? They can be neat, I suppose. There’s a lot of different things on the professor’s shelves. Hopefully, you understand him a bit more now.

        Very interesting! Willis… Well, what a twerdlit! Anyway, maybe the professor is played by someone else… Dadblameit! What am I saying?

        It’s definitely the most comical!

      • 74 FictionFan October 16, 2013 at 23:25

        Of course, if you are in fact 82, then it would make complete sense…

        I wouldn’t have thought it would have been the kind of book that would have appealed to the Professor, I must admit. Nope, enigmatic as ever…

        How dare you call my Bruce a twerdlit! Unless it means something nice, of course, in which case thanks. (It would be a great kindness of you were to define twerdlit…). No, really no-one else could play the Professor – he is too unique.

      • 75 Professor VJ Duke October 17, 2013 at 01:30

        OR…

        I think I enjoyed when a little man, but I can’t remember for sure. Well, that’s too bad. I’m not quite sure what to do, then.

        Your Bruce? :lol: Yes, I must define it for you, definitely.

        Too unknown. I like that.


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,873 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 115,253 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


