Blatherings: Scary Tea and Practice

The professor still gets the spooks just thinking about it.

But the professor is getting ahead of himself.

Here’s what happened:

On one fateful day, this professor was walking down his long driveway to check his mailbox, when the mailman suddenly appeared.

“Here you are, Professor Duke,” he said, placing only one envelope in my hands.

“It this all?” I asked, for the professor was a expecting a bit more than just one envelope.

“Yes, it is. But look at it. That envelope is from a tea company. Maybe they sent you a free sample of tea?”

“Really? How would you know?”

The mailman seemed to get a bit bashful. “Well, you see, I frequently get such packages myself!”

“Oh.”

And the professor proceeded to rip open the envelope.

(I should say, the professor was never a patient sort of professor.)

“See?” the mailman said, pointing to the small, square package inside the envelope. “There’s your free tea sample. Now, what flavor did they send you?”

“It seems to be Watermelon tea.”

“Watermelon?” The mailman made a face. “Well, no harm done. Sometimes you just gotta practice liking something. And liking that…may take a bunch of practice.”

“Not at all,” I said defensively. “I’m sure the professor will love this flavor–without practicing to like it.”

In truth, though, I don’t think the professor was being too honest.

“Good luck, then.”

The professor returned to his house.

Needless to say, the professor brewed the tea and tried it.

I shouldn’t have.

It came very close to ending my life.

You see, the professor wasn’t the one who needed to practice liking the stuff, the company needed to practice coming up with less deadly flavors.

Just so we’re clear, PF, the professor does not endorse Watermelon tea–of any sort, that is.

A question now, faintly related to the rest of this post. What are you currently practicing, PF? The professor was practicing the art of throwing knives, but now that it’s getting quite cold, the activity has ceased.

And a picture.

This is what the professor looks like when he gets angry–or drinks Watermelon tea.

dreamstime_198952

161 Responses to “Blatherings: Scary Tea and Practice”


  1. 1 krugthethinker November 7, 2013 at 01:18

    Hahaha, I am late to the party, but this is entirely hilarious! That is one of the yuckiest tea flavors I can think of! However (and I am NOT) kidding, one tea company has now come up with what they call savory teas, and the flavors are spinach and carrot and such. Perhaps the Professor should start ripping teas?

    http://shop.numitea.com/Savory-Tea/c/NumiTeaStore@Teabag@Savory

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke November 7, 2013 at 02:23

      :lol: I really can’t believe it! You’re right, a ripping is in order, for sure. Yucketh!

  2. 3 The Fourth Continent November 5, 2013 at 22:15

    hahahah =) My favourite tea is called ‘hairdresser’s tea’ in Aarhus, Denmark. Watermelon is so watery I guess it could be a tea if warmed in the sun! =)

    • 4 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2013 at 23:44

      Really? What’s it taste like?

      :lol: You are exactly right! But would you try it–warm?

      • 5 The Fourth Continent November 6, 2013 at 21:36

        Hehe I am up for trying most things – once ;)

      • 6 Professor VJ Duke November 6, 2013 at 23:02

        Like Watermelon tea. Though methinks you’re a very adventurous person, aren’t you?

  3. 7 bardictale October 31, 2013 at 21:16

    Watermelon tea? You jest!

    • 8 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 22:23

      Not at all! It was a shock! Would you try it?

      • 9 bardictale November 1, 2013 at 08:21

        No, but then again, I’m not a fan of fruit teas.

      • 10 Professor VJ Duke November 1, 2013 at 15:26

        Well…dadblameit! I must convert you…somehow.

      • 11 bardictale November 2, 2013 at 17:02

        Good luck with that. Many good men (and women) have tried and failed.

      • 12 Professor VJ Duke November 2, 2013 at 17:25

        But the professor is powerful, you know.

      • 13 bardictale November 2, 2013 at 18:21

        The professor may try, if that is what he desires. T’was merely a warning on my part.

      • 14 Professor VJ Duke November 2, 2013 at 18:53

        Hmmm…I’d like to try…

      • 15 bardictale November 2, 2013 at 20:21

        Good luck then^^
        How were you planning on converting me to the love of fruit teas?

      • 16 Professor VJ Duke November 2, 2013 at 22:34

        I’m really not sure. Any suggestions?

      • 17 bardictale November 3, 2013 at 04:13

        Not any that I’m likely to suggest, professor.

      • 18 Professor VJ Duke November 4, 2013 at 14:06

        You must have one?

      • 19 bardictale November 4, 2013 at 16:51

        Indeed, but it wouldn’t be of any use.

      • 20 Professor VJ Duke November 4, 2013 at 18:16

        Well, doesn’t cherry green tea sound tasty?

      • 21 bardictale November 4, 2013 at 20:05

        Hmm, I’ll have to say no. I like cherries, but they taste better off a tree, not in a tea.

      • 22 Professor VJ Duke November 4, 2013 at 22:13

        But this is a special kind of cherry tea.

      • 23 bardictale November 5, 2013 at 04:40

        Perhaps, but it does not sound tasty to my mind.

      • 24 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2013 at 13:59

        Seriously? Well, then, dadblameit!

      • 25 bardictale November 5, 2013 at 17:14

        Apologies, dear professor.

      • 26 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2013 at 18:03

        Oh, don’t worry about it. I wish I could send…http://www.republicoftea.com/Blueberry-Green-Tea/p/V00659/ Here! Now doesn’t that look tasty?

      • 27 bardictale November 5, 2013 at 18:55

        That looks better than cherry-green-tea, but I wouldn’t call it tasty either. Would you count cinnamon tea as fruity? Even though it’s a spice?

      • 28 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2013 at 20:07

        No, probably not. Should I?

      • 29 bardictale November 5, 2013 at 21:59

        If you did, then you’d have me converted.

      • 30 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2013 at 23:40

        I suddenly do!

      • 31 bardictale November 6, 2013 at 04:53

        Then what’s stopping you, dear professor?

      • 32 Professor VJ Duke November 6, 2013 at 12:45

        The professor now considers cinnamon tea to be a fruit tea of sorts! How’s that? (I must say, you’ve interested me: How does cinnamon tea taste?)

      • 33 bardictale November 7, 2013 at 12:54

        Well, it tastes…like cinnamon. It’s slightly spicy, and has a deep earthy flavor. It’s also a bit sweet, which makes it all the more awesome^^

      • 34 Professor VJ Duke November 7, 2013 at 13:02

        That does sound awesome. You must send some over.

      • 35 bardictale November 7, 2013 at 15:25

        With pleasure, professor! Shall I do it through the post?

      • 36 Professor VJ Duke November 7, 2013 at 16:44

        Yes! (And you should write a post about it, too.)

      • 37 bardictale November 7, 2013 at 16:45

        What would you like me to say in said post? That I’m converted?

      • 38 Professor VJ Duke November 7, 2013 at 16:55

        Wouldn’t that be cool? (Say anything, the professor would love to read it.)

      • 39 bardictale November 7, 2013 at 16:56

        Okay! I’ll get to work then.
        Drop you a link when I’m done?

      • 40 Professor VJ Duke November 7, 2013 at 17:01

        Nice!

        Would be great, yes. (I should get it anyway since the professor follows you, but just to make sure…)

  4. 41 Hazy October 31, 2013 at 14:39

    That picture made me remember Finding Nemo… “Fish are friends, not food.” (or something to that effect) I liked that movie. :)

    Does the professor have such sharp teeth too when angry?

    I have tried brewing strawberry tea. Apparently, this herbal infusion had some pineapple in there too. The concoction tasted bleh!!! Just a few sips and I had to empty the teacup onto the sink. I’ve tried a blueberry latte, it was surprisingly good, but a little too sweet for me.

    I am trying to practice eating more vegetable salads and vegetables. There’s a a leafy one called arugula, which I’m having some difficulty eating. It’s supposed to be good for you, but has a bit of a weird taste.

    • 42 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 17:17

      You know, the professor has never seen the movie. Does Weatherly (and yourself, of course) recommend it?

      Oh yes! :D

      You should try cherry green tea!

      The professor knows about argula. Good for you! That would probably get stuck in my throat. (Too bad spring rolls aren’t considered healthy.)

      • 43 Hazy November 2, 2013 at 13:25

        Yes, we recommend it! We like Pixar movies. Weatherly likes Finding Nemo because of the fish… He likes The Incredibles too.

        You do?! The professor must be scary when he’s angry.

        Cherry green tea sounds great! Any brand in particular? I shall try some when I find any.

        Thank you! (I think fried vegetable spring rolls are healthy! At least in my book. :D )

      • 44 Professor VJ Duke November 2, 2013 at 17:24

        :lol: The professor did enjoy The Incredibles. Great movie for Weatherly.

        But the professor never gets too angry.

        Well, the professor likes cherry green tea (super fruit.) I think you’ll like it.

        (Yes!!)

      • 45 Hazy November 5, 2013 at 14:53

        Yeah, Weatherly even wants a sequel. :lol: I liked Toy Story. We enjoyed Brave, too!

        Does the professor have some kind of relaxing chant to avoid getting angry (or too angry)?

        I probably would!

        (One day when we visit PL, Weatherly suggests that we make all kinds of fried spring rolls! In the professor’s kitchen?)

      • 46 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2013 at 16:32

        Now the professor hasn’t seen Brave. How about Tangled?

        No, I should have one though. Any suggestions?

        (Sounds awesome! But the professor has no clue how to make them…)

      • 47 Hazy November 7, 2013 at 15:15

        Tangled is pretty good too! The chameleon there was charming.

        I dunno… maybe chant soothing words, like your favorite things? Like maybe spring rolls, twain, cashews… Weatherly suggests breathing in and out slowly as you quietly say your soothing words.

        (It’s not too difficult! Weatherly and I can teach you. I don’t think spring rolls go well with tea, though. Does it?)

      • 48 Professor VJ Duke November 7, 2013 at 16:43

        :lol: The chameleon was!

        Just tried this, and it works! Thank you, Hazy, and tell Weatherly the professor appreciates him.

        Ooo, maybe not. But who cares! Spring Rolls are fine by themselves!

      • 49 Hazy November 10, 2013 at 12:22

        Glad to help! Weatherly says thank you.

        Yes they are! They are also quite tasty when dipped in sweet & sour or sweet, sour & spicy sauce!

      • 50 Professor VJ Duke November 10, 2013 at 19:33

        Definitely yes! Now the professor really wants some. :D

  5. 51 Jennifer October 31, 2013 at 09:10

    You’re a shark. I really thought an angry devil would be more befitting a Professor such as yourself? Remind me to not get you angry.

    • 52 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 17:11

      :D That’s true. An angry devil would be much better. But you won’t send me any, so I can’t take any pictures. It’s really vexing.

      (The professor usually never gets angry, you know.)

      • 53 Jennifer October 31, 2013 at 19:08

        I’m sorry, have I made you angry… Angry devil on its way, pronto.

      • 54 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 22:20

        Not at all. The Punchy horror vid has made me a bit angry though. Yes, yes!

  6. 55 sonya solomonovich October 31, 2013 at 00:59

    Yes, I’m not a fan of fruity teas either. I prefer black tea or rooibos.

    It seems I haven’t been practicing anything lately! I am on the lookout for a new hobby.

    • 56 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 17:09

      What?! You must like cherry and blueberry green teas!!!

      I love rooibos too.

      I’m sure you’ll find one. New hobbies are always floating about.

  7. 57 Jackie October 30, 2013 at 23:45

    Watermelon tea sounds interesting! I would try it given the chance but not lukewarm – iced. I love iced tea. As for practicing – I’m practicing the art of doing nothing. I’m always doing something so I figure I should balance things out by spending more time doing nothing. 8-)

    • 58 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 17:06

      Yes, I think the professor made a mistake, but it was still yucketh!

      :lol: I love the idea!

  8. 59 Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister October 30, 2013 at 20:56

    I like your picture (you need sunglasses) and the tags used today.

    Coffee would never come in a watermelon flavor. FYI :D Go Cardinals!

    • 60 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 22:15

      Yes! Perfect idea, ODRS, sunglasses are a must! But what color? Perhaps fiery red! What’s wrong with the tags?

      • 61 Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister October 30, 2013 at 22:31

        Of course! I couldn’t have chosen a better color!

      • 62 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 17:03

        Blue?

      • 63 Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister October 31, 2013 at 17:44

        Feisty Red, Professor VJ

      • 64 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 22:13

        Much better!

  9. 65 The Dancing Rider October 30, 2013 at 20:34

    Wow, one lousy tea bag in an envelope – and in a life-threatening flavor no less. Grrrrrrr.

    Well, I am practicing eating some Halloween candy at the moment. So far I’ve lived, so that’s a plus. I look on the bright side: am testing it for the kids. Have not come across anything watermelon-flavored yet…

    I love sharks, and wolves. That’s a really cool pic of watermelon tea-filled professor! I note the “smile”. Lol.

    • 66 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 22:13

      It burns, you know?

      :lol: Testing it for the kids! Too bad the professor can’t come and do some testing too. (Thanks heavens!)

      Really? Sharks? They’re kind of spooky. Doesn’t he look perfectly wicked?

      • 67 The Dancing Rider October 30, 2013 at 22:49

        Oh yes he does, but he can’t help his expression…. :)

      • 68 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 17:05

        That’s true.

  10. 69 ladycheetah7 October 30, 2013 at 18:24

    Yuck! That is as disgusting herbal chocolate tea. Gross. I am practicing how to exit this job to go to the next.
    :-P

    • 70 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 19:03

      Yucketh indeed!

      Sounds like a great exercise. Make sure you give everyone a friendly beating on the way out.

      • 71 ladycheetah7 October 30, 2013 at 19:07

        The plan is to contact via social media after I leave the last day. Wouldn’t want to be robbed of the satisfaction and feeling of cashing in my get out of jail card.

      • 72 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 19:20

        :lol: It can’t be that bad!!!! (Make sure to say something really mean.)

    • 73 Susan P October 31, 2013 at 17:49

      I hope you find something satisfactory. I would like a low key part time job.

      • 74 ladycheetah7 October 31, 2013 at 17:58

        I hope so as well and welcome that great day.

      • 75 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 22:16

        Me too!

  11. 76 ilovegeekology101 October 30, 2013 at 16:40

    Definitely supportive of a ban on watermelon tea! Just the thought is cringe-worthy.

    • 77 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 18:56

      Thank you for your support! You mean, you wouldn’t even try a sip?

      • 78 ilovegeekology101 October 30, 2013 at 20:27

        No, not a sip, not even a drop. Watermelon tea may even spook me more than Frankenstein. :)

      • 79 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 22:12

        :lol: I think you’re right! Definitely will effect the professor for the rest of his life.

  12. 80 MissTiffany October 30, 2013 at 16:20

    ^_- Watermelon tea. Now you know I love tea, but that just sounds awful. Though I am interested – how can I get some free samples of tea (not watermelon)?

    It’s been a while since I’ve been able to practice my archery – I really need to get my own bow instead of always using my boyfriend’s (perhaps Santa can bring me one). But I have been practicing my sewing (a proper for every lady) and as always, honing my writing skills.

    • 81 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 18:56

      Love the face. Well, buy something from Republic of Tea. Then, every month or so, they’ll send out a catalogue and a free tea sample–different every time. The professor just got some type of black chai tea.

      Ooo, sound so neat! (Just take his forever.) The professor might do that, you know. (DS believes in Santa, you know.)

      Sewing seems like a vexing process, in truth. But writing–that’s a bit more interesting, I’d say.

      • 82 MissTiffany October 30, 2013 at 19:01

        Sweet. I’ll look that up.

        Haha, I won’t say I haven’t considered it…I’m sure he would give it to me if I asked to, you know, borrow it. Indefinitely. DS should believe in Santa. I know I do.

        It is a vexing process at times. Just this past weekend I had spent a couple hours sewing, only to realize after getting so far that I had sewed it wrong. So I had to take it all apart and start over. Things are easier to sew together rather than take apart, just so you know.
        Ah yes. Writing is more interesting – but still, there is a certain satisfaction to holding a finished project in your hand and knowing you sewed it. You made it. But I guess I feel that way about my writing too…

  13. 83 weggieboy October 30, 2013 at 15:24

    Watermelon tea makes me pleasantly happy. I’m surprised at any alternative result…!

    • 84 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 18:50

      You mean you’d try it?!

  14. 85 Susan P October 30, 2013 at 14:06

    I am going to pass on the watermelon tea. It seems a bit of an awkward flavor. It might be an artificial flavoring. I cannot abide artificial watermelon and strawberry.

    And, the professor might consider hiring someone to test any food that is to be consumed. Especially if he is in the PL.

    • 86 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 15:12

      Yes, yes! You must. The professor has blacklisted it. I agree, but the package said all natural flavors. And that’s the horrid part. Imagine the most watery watermelon taste ever…ah!

      It sounds like a good idea. But who should I hire? Maybe Schwarz…

      • 87 Susan P October 30, 2013 at 17:34

        Some of the ladies may be put out if anything should happen to Schwarz. I think you may have been hoodwinked. I can think of any number of “natural” flavors that would never get anywhere near my mouth.

      • 88 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 18:57

        Really? You wouldn’t, would you?

        I think so too. (But we mustn’t admit. The professor never gets hoodwinked.)

        That’s a good point. Like spruce–that’d be bad.

      • 89 Susan P October 31, 2013 at 17:52

        Oh, I don’t know. Live and let live.

        I just can’t get my head wrapped around the concept of watermelon tea. *shudder* It borders on eating in Ruber’s restaurant.

        Yes, spruce would not be good. But dogs are not so picky, which is why George’s litter box is where the dogs can’t get to it.

      • 90 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 22:15

        It would be a real trip–it was a real trip!

        :lol: Do you have dogs?

      • 91 Susan P November 1, 2013 at 01:16

        I have two Shih Tzu mix 13 and 14 years respectively. They almost as good as Tassie devils.

      • 92 Professor VJ Duke November 1, 2013 at 15:22

        Oh boy. That’s neat. Are they as vicious, though?

      • 93 Susan P November 1, 2013 at 15:56

        Only if they think another dog is going to hurt me. Really. They have NO idea that they are not Big Dogs.

      • 94 Professor VJ Duke November 1, 2013 at 18:42

        :lol: Great dogs, then. The professor has two Shepherds. Do they get along with George?

      • 95 Susan P November 1, 2013 at 19:58

        Yes, they all get along together. In fact, they really don’t acknowledge that they are not all of the same species. The day I took the dogs to the groomer, George was frantic because they were gone and greeted them with cat rapture when I brought them home.

      • 96 Professor VJ Duke November 1, 2013 at 21:46

        Haha, that’s hilarious. George is a cute guy.

      • 97 Susan P November 2, 2013 at 00:39

        :D

      • 98 Professor VJ Duke November 2, 2013 at 17:22

        :)

  15. 99 sknicholls October 30, 2013 at 13:43

    I have had my pleasure with watermelon, and I don’t think I could drink it hot, maybe iced.

    • 100 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 15:11

      Well, that’s the funny thing. Twas supposed to be iced. But the professor still wouldn’t be brave enough to drink it now. I like watermelons too, but this tea has ruined the market for them, I assure you!

      • 101 Susan P October 30, 2013 at 17:44

        How is it you didn’t drink it cold?

      • 102 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 19:01

        Well, I brewed it, then waited until it was room temperature, because the professor’s a bit impatient at times. It was dadblamery!

      • 103 Susan P October 30, 2013 at 21:34

        Must_not_say_anything.

      • 104 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 22:16

        Why?

      • 105 Susan P October 31, 2013 at 00:05

        Biting tongue.

      • 106 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 17:07

        Rats!

  16. 107 FictionFan October 30, 2013 at 13:42

    I’m practicing coffee-drinking – I’ve nearly mastered it, another two cups should just about do it. Flavoured teas ought to be banned by law – there shall be no such thing in PL Scotland once I’m queen…

    I think the picture of the Professor looks quite sweet, and not nearly as leprechaunish as I’d have anticipated…

    • 108 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 15:10

      Haha! Of course. Well, the professor–this might surprise you–enjoys a cup of coffee with desert–sometimes, on very rare occasions, when the blue moon is high in the sky.

      All flavors? What about the professor’s favorite cherry and blueberry green teas? You wouldn’t ban them, would you? Goodness.

      You’re right. He needs a green bow tie.

      • 109 FictionFan October 30, 2013 at 15:24

        I might make an exception for the Professor…if he behaves. Alternately I could just make sure there is a constant supply of dessert (which would fit in quite nicely with my own inclination) and always a blue moon (all that should take is Ruber, a tin of paint and a very long ladder…)

        :lol: Don’t forget the shillelagh! Though quite how he’s going to hold it, I’m not sure…

      • 110 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 18:49

        Oh, he’ll behave. You just tell him when he’s not.

        You must want the professor to drink coffee. Ruber on a ladder? :lol: How funny that would be!

        The professor would like to hold a sword cane instead–in his mouth.

      • 111 FictionFan October 30, 2013 at 20:39

        I will!

        I thought tea-drinking was un-American anyway? Wasn’t it because you all objected to being forced to drink tea that you over-reacted with that little rebellion thingy? ;)

        :cool: That will certainly be a new look for a leprechaun!

      • 112 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 22:14

        Oh dear. The professor could be in trouble.

        :lol: The professor likes tea, though. If I’d been there (I was in France at the time) the professor would have taken the tea to his house–all of it.

        Crazy look!

      • 113 FictionFan October 31, 2013 at 01:53

        Goodness! Were you doing a tour of Revolutions or something? Or were you perhaps stirring up Revolutions and then moving on…?

      • 114 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 17:09

        :lol: The latter! I particularly enjoyed France’s. (You would have too apparently.)

  17. 115 technophile9 October 30, 2013 at 13:41

    I’m a very fussy eater, but I think maybe I could give watermelon tea a try. :D

    • 116 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 15:09

      Surely you’re joking! How could you try such a thing after the professor cursed it? (It’s a very scary flavor.)

      • 117 technophile9 October 30, 2013 at 15:43

        I don’t know, considering I don’t even like the taste of watermelon. Maybe I’m in an adventurous mood today. :)

      • 118 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 18:51

        That’s a good thing. An adventurous mood is something the professor wished took hold of him all the time.

  18. 119 L. Marie October 30, 2013 at 13:37

    Is it anything like Sotsiz tea? Perhaps the Professor needs more practice liking it as the mailman suggested. I dunno. What flavor does the Professor think would be less deadly?

    • 120 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 15:08

      Not at all! Sotsiz tea actually tastes good. Imagine a watery watermelon with more water and water. Yucketh, yucketh! Would you try it, do you think?

      Lemon tea, might. The professor definitely would try lemon tea. Hasn’t been done yet, I think.

      • 121 Susan P October 30, 2013 at 17:47

        Lemon tea is a favorite breakfast tea in Portugal. Chá de limão. They make it by pouring boiling water into a cup which has lemon zest cut up into it.

      • 122 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 19:01

        Really? How interesting. Is that all there is to it?

      • 123 Susan P October 30, 2013 at 21:35

        You let it steep for about five minutes. It can be all there is to it unless you want it sweetened. Lots of lemon trees, so it’s easy to get hold of them.

      • 124 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 22:17

        Interesting! I think the professor would need lots of sugar, though…

      • 125 Susan P October 31, 2013 at 00:06

        The zest is not as sour as the juice.

      • 126 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 17:07

        I’ll have to try it. Sounds excellent.

      • 127 Susan P October 31, 2013 at 17:53

        Let me know how you like it.

      • 128 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 22:15

        I will!

  19. 129 Anja October 30, 2013 at 13:35

    I’m simply practicing to practice. :) yes? Ummm watermelon tea? I do love watermelon but as a tea??? I do have recipe for lemonade and watermelon schnapps…..

    • 130 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 15:07

      I love it! The professor really must start practicing to practice as well. How’s it turning out?

      Not as tea, I assure you. It didn’t work. It was dadblamery. It was a scare.

      The schnapps sound good. You’re welcome to make some and send them to the professor’s abode.

      • 131 Anja October 30, 2013 at 15:57

        I think will all my practice I will be able to practice soon :). I recommend it.

        Hmmm mail liquid…with alcohol….is that allowed?!

      • 132 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 18:52

        Haha! :lol: Seems unprofessorish, though, now…

        Sure! The professor gets Tassie Devils in the mail.

      • 133 Susan P October 30, 2013 at 17:48

        I will stay with my Port wind.

      • 134 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 19:02

        I like the mailing idea, though.

      • 135 Susan P October 30, 2013 at 21:36

        Port wine it was supposed to be. And I though I had corrected it. Of course, it is Portuguese wine.

      • 136 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 22:17

        Is it really tasty?

      • 137 Susan P October 31, 2013 at 00:06

        It’s sweet, and a little goes a long ways.

      • 138 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 17:08

        I would think so, yes!

      • 139 Susan P October 30, 2013 at 21:38

        I dunno, Professor. The Tassie Devils might make a great deal of mess if they are mailed.

      • 140 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 22:17

        In a box or cage, they’re just fine.

      • 141 Susan P October 31, 2013 at 00:07

        If you say so…

      • 142 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 17:08

        :D

  20. 143 Angeline M October 30, 2013 at 13:34

    I would fear the PLers would run for their lives if they saw you coming in this mood. Maybe watermelon tea is best brewed, and then chilled and served over ice. Oh, and don’t forget a squeeze of lemon. And lots of sugar.

    • 144 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 15:07

      Yes, it would show them that the professor has a vicious side when provoked. As of now, they don’t really fear him at all. You see, the picture lends me credence.

      Well, interestingly enough, it was supposed to be iced tea. But the professor drank it warm. It tasted like watery watermelon. Yucketh! It needed lots of sugar, honey, and raisins, I think.

      • 145 Susan P October 30, 2013 at 17:48

        Ah, the dark side of the Professor.

      • 146 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 19:02

        It’s the majority, I fear.

      • 147 Susan P October 30, 2013 at 21:42

        That could be said of most of us.

      • 148 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 22:20

        Definitely not you, though!

      • 149 Susan P October 31, 2013 at 00:07

        Even myself.

      • 150 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 17:08

        Then I suppose even the professor too.

      • 151 Susan P October 31, 2013 at 17:54

        Alas. It can be vexing to be human.

      • 152 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 22:16

        Extremely vexing, dadblameit!

      • 153 Susan P November 1, 2013 at 01:17

        :D

      • 154 Professor VJ Duke November 1, 2013 at 15:22

        :cool:

      • 155 Jazzy Couldren October 30, 2013 at 18:18

        Hey, ain’t no Manly-man scared of no shark.

      • 156 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 19:02

        But he is scared of Peaches…

      • 157 Susan P October 30, 2013 at 21:39

        The raisins are a good idea.

      • 158 Professor VJ Duke October 30, 2013 at 22:18

        I thought so!

      • 159 Susan P October 31, 2013 at 00:07

        :D

      • 160 Professor VJ Duke October 31, 2013 at 17:08

        :cool:


  1. 1 Cinnimon Tea | Silver Village Trackback on November 7, 2013 at 19:08

Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,873 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,165 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


