A Friend Of The Dean–by PorterGirl

The professor had the greatest adventure a few times ago, when I visited England. In fact, I visited with a professorish friend.

PFM, Portergirl, was there and wrote about the whole thing. (Check out her blog, very entertaining!)

Here tis!

***

There is a crisp chill in the air as I make my way, at some considerable speed it must be said, to The Dean’s rooms. I have been summoned. I am silently wracking my brains for some recollection of a minor misdemeanor or faux pas I may have committed recently, to warrant being called at such haste to the formidable man’s rooms. I cannot think of one, but that does not necessarily mean that I haven’t done something of an unsatisfactory nature.

I hurry up the staircase towards the surprisingly small and unassuming wooden door with a carefully painted sign bearing the legend: ‘The Dean’. In my rush I almost trip over a Bedder, who is diligently scrubbing a skirting board. She gives me a ferocious look as I mumble an apology and continue my assent up the rickety staircase.

I reach The Dean’s door somewhat flustered. I am probably about to be shouted at for no discernible reason and I have just about given a Bedder a bit of a kicking. This is not an auspicious start to my day. I take a deep breath and bravely knock on The Dean’s door.

“Who is it? What do you want?” comes the booming reply from behind the door.

“It’s me, Sir. Deputy Head Porter,” I reply, wincing. “You asked me to come and see you right away?”

A pause.

“Oh! Yes! Of course…” There is some commotion, then The Dean throws open his door and beams at me magnificently whilst striking a gallant pose in today’s mis-matched outfit of a pink jumper, purple trousers and a yellow shirt. “Do come on in, Deputy Head Porter!” He is almost being charming. This is even more disconcerting. Why on earth is The Dean being nice to me? Well, I had better go in.
I follow The Dean into his rooms, which are in their usual repose of being grandly chaotic. Huge books are scattered across every surface; some open, some propping up other books, some being used as coasters. His desk looks like a small war is being fought on it.

I do like his fish tank. It should be a little corner of calm in this otherwise anomalous environment, but quite frankly even the fish look rather annoyed.

“Thank you for coming so quickly, Deputy Head Porter, I appreciate your time is precious.”

Thank you?! I think to myself. My time is precious?! He’s being far too nice. He wants something.

“It is my pleasure, Sir. What can I do for you on this fine day?”

“Well now you mention it, there is one little thing.” The Dean licks his lips, which makes me think he is nervous. The Dean is never nervous. “You see, I have a very eminent guest arriving from America and it’s all rather short notice I’m afraid. But he is incredibly important and will need rooms here for a few days, I hoped you would be able to arrange something suitable for such a respected gentleman?”

Oh, this isn’t too bad. I’m sure I can sort something out with Head Of Housekeeping.

“I’m sure that will be fine, Sir. When is your friend arriving?”

“Ah, well. He has just telephoned me from the train station so I would say in about half an hour.” Half an hour?!

“Sir, that is rather short notice…”

“I know, I know. Truth be told I thought he was coming on Wednesday but it appears I was wrong,” I half expect The Dean to implode at the point of admitting he was wrong. “I know this is an unusually unreasonable request, Deputy Head Porter, but it is essential it is carried out. And I would like you to greet him personally, make him welcome, you know.”

I sigh. I don’t really have much choice, do I? I wonder who this friend is and quite why he is so important.

“Very well, Sir,” I say as confidently as I can. “May I ask, who is the guest?”

“Oh, he is a very well respected man. We met at a conference in Dubai some years ago and have conversed in academic internet forums ever since. He is on his way to conduct business in London next week, but thought he would visit Old College beforehand. You will recognise him by his immaculate dress sense and his top hat. He is Professor VJ Duke.”

“I look forward to meeting him, Sir. Now – I really should be getting on with the arrangements Sir. If you would excuse me?”

“Of course, Deputy Head Porter.” The Dean seems relieved and delighted “I do thank you for this rather last minute request.”

The moment The Dean’s door closes behind me, I break into a panic and run as fast as I can to see Head Of Housekeeping. She will not be best impressed, I am sure. Having to find a suitable room and prepare it at such short notice is bound to be an unwelcome request. Indeed, she laughs in my face when I explain the circumstances, but takes pity on me and promises to arrange something as urgently as possible. I take a few moments to hurriedly straighten myself up and try to look appealing to our expected guest.

I do not have to wait long. I see the hat bobbing down the street towards The Porters’ Lodge, resting elegantly upon the head of a striking looking gentleman, beautifully attired and carrying an enormous suitcase with such ease I almost think that it must be completely empty. I straighten my tie and put on my very best smile. As he walks through the door, I move to greet Professor VJ Duke.

“Good morning, Sir!” I announce, brightly. “You must be Professor VJ Duke. Welcome to Old College.”

The Professor returns my smile with his own mega watt grin, characterised by a shiny set of perfect American teeth.

“Happy, happy morning!” His voice is wonderfully clear and deep and his eyes even more so. “I am P.VJ, it’s a trip to meet you. I mean that in a good way, I hope you understand.”

We shake hands and I reach out to take his bag. Porters would not usually carry the bags of guests, even important ones, (Porters are the keepers of keys, not the carriers of bags) but he is a friend of The Dean so I feel I should. The Professor looks uneasy for a second, but allows me to take his bag. To my surprise, it is incredibly heavy. He walked along the street, brandishing it as if it were paper and I can barely lift the thing. I drag it a few inches towards the desk, a token gesture, and assure him that a Porter will bring it to his room in due course.

“Would it be alright to show me to my rooms directly?” asks The Professor. “I have been traveling for quite some time and could benefit from some rest before I meet up with The Dean. This professor is a bit baggy about the eyes.”

I pause. I smile. I do not even know what room is to be allocated to Professor VJ Duke and I am certain it won’t be ready.

“Yes… Sir,” I reply slowly, trying to give my mind time to think of something. “If you would like to follow me?” I surreptitiously instruct the Porter on duty to notify me the second the Professor’s room becomes available, before leading my guest out of The Lodge.

I have no idea where I am going to take him, but Old College has any number of interesting diversions with which I hope to distract Professor VJ Duke. As we approach the bridge, I cannot resist any longer.

“May I say, I do like your hat, Sir,” I say as politely as possible. My love of wearing a bowler is well documented, but I must make it clear also that I simply adore a gentleman in a fine hat.

“Many thanks, Deputy Head Porter!” Professor VJ Duke replies. “The professor is fond of your hat as well. Do you like wearing a hat?”

“I do, Sir. The bowler is my favourite, but I should love to be able to carry off a top hat, like yours. I fear that I am not tall enough, though.”

“Height doesn’t matter!” the Professor says. “A top hat actually adds to one’s stature, you know. You should get one. But one thing about top hats…if you wear one, you may be in danger of becoming professorish. Of course, you’d need the white suit, too.”

“I cannot help but agree with you, Sir!” I exclaim. What a fascinating chap this friend of The Dean’s is. I walk as slowly as I can, partly because I have no ultimate destination in mind and partly because I want to talk further with the Professor. “I must say, you seem to be a very interesting gentleman, Sir. Won’t you tell me a little about yourself?”

“Well, this professor is highly secretive about matters like that. You see, there are some dastardly fellows who would give their left thumbs to catch up with me. It’s all very hush-hush—and quite dadblame dangerous.”

“Well!” is all that I can think to say. I can see why The Dean likes Professor VJ Duke so much, but I cannot for the life of me fathom out what the Professor would see in The Dean. Maybe it is his celebrated whiskey collection? As I am pondering this, I feel a faint rumble in my pocket. It is my College phone. I excuse myself briefly while I take the call. It is the call I have been waiting for.

Professor VJ Duke’s room is ready and it is one of the finer rooms in Old Court. I turn to the Professor and apologise;

“I am sorry, Sir, with all our chattering and wandering, I quite forgot that I was supposed to be taking you to your rooms.”

“You know, it totally skipped my mind as well,” says the Professor. But I am sure he is only being polite.

“I will take you there at once.”

Old Court is a beautiful part of College and I am grateful to Head Of Housekeeping for ensuring her team did such a wonderful job in the presentation of the Professor’s room. There are even fresh flowers in a little vase by the bed. I recognise them as having come from by the riverbank. I do hope Head Gardener doesn’t see them, he is very particular about his flowers being picked.

“What a stellar room!” says the Professor. “I shall be very comfortable here, I’m sure…”

But then we both stop in our tracks. I am horrified to see, there, nestled amongst the pillows, my arch nemesis – The Master’s Cat! The malevolence in his spiteful green eyes is evident. He has done this on purpose. He mews and hisses at us as he squirms and wriggles on the bed, marking his territory.
“Oh no… I am sorry, Sir,” I apologise again to the Professor. “This is The Master’s Cat, he is a damned nuisance. I can’t imagine how he got in here… I shall get rid of him.”

Nervously, I approach the demon Cat as he watches me intently from his cosy vantage point. As I drawer nearer to the bed, he flattens his ears against his head and bares his pointy white teeth, hissing like a furry snake. I see him extending and retracting his impressive claws, in readiness to tear me to ribbons, no doubt.

“Umm…” I try to think of something to say to the blasted creature, but I am quite unnerved by his vicious stare. Professor VJ Duke is watching me with some amusement, I notice. He has the look in his eyes of a man with a plan.

“Deputy Head Porter, you should leave this to me!” The Professor removes his hat and places it carefully on the dresser. He adjusts his jacket and brushes me gently aside as he approaches the beast, quite unafraid. To my amazement, The Master’s Cat remains silent; the malevolence has drained from his now watery eyes and I would say the creature was afraid.

Professor VJ Duke leans down towards The Master’s Cat and places his lips close to the feline’s ears. I do not hear what he says, his voice is far too soft and I suspect he is speaking in a language I wouldn’t understand anyway. Whatever he says, though, has the desired effect. The Master’s Cat squeals in terror and streaks like hairy lightening off the bed, out of the door and out into the College beyond. Professor VJ Duke turns and smiles broadly to me.

“Sir! How did you..?”

“Simple! When you know how.”

I return the Professor’s smile and stand for a few moments in awe and, I admit, a little smitten.

“I learned the trick in Dubai. Now, Deputy Head Porter, you must excuse me while I get some rest before I pay my dear friend The Dean a visit.”

“Oh! Quite. Yes, Sir,” I really did forget myself for a moment there. “I hope you enjoy your stay…and I do hope our paths cross again.”

“Absolutely! The professor would be quite disappointed if he didn’t get to see you again.” Professor VJ Duke smiles, and gives me a friendly wink. “Have a stellar, stellar—and professorish—day.”

181 Responses to “A Friend Of The Dean–by PorterGirl”


  1. 1 Hazy February 5, 2014 at 13:24

    Well done, Portergirl! Such a fun adventure you had. :)

    And what a smile the professor had. Was his mega watt grin not too bright and blinding? :D

    The professor seems quite chipper on his trip. I trust you had a great time. I wonder what was whispered to the cat…

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke February 5, 2014 at 19:45

      Magic words. :) The professor was a bit exuberant, you know.

      • 3 Hazy February 13, 2014 at 05:34

        Haha, I bet! I wish I had teh professor’s ability saying such magic words. A stray cat always poops around in our yard!

      • 4 Professor VJ Duke February 13, 2014 at 14:47

        You should catch it!

      • 5 Hazy February 23, 2014 at 04:43

        I can’t. Too scared of cats :lol:

      • 6 Professor VJ Duke February 24, 2014 at 14:47

        :lol: Weatherly’s a cat!

      • 7 Hazy February 25, 2014 at 12:52

        But he’s a ninja cat! :lol:

      • 8 Professor VJ Duke February 25, 2014 at 17:58

        :lol: That’s true…but that means he’s more scary!

      • 9 Hazy March 2, 2014 at 12:29

        :lol: Good point!

        But he likes me so I know he won’t hurt me. ;)

      • 10 Professor VJ Duke March 2, 2014 at 23:18

        That’s true!

  2. 11 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister January 31, 2014 at 04:06

    Great job PorterGirl, you write the professor well. :)

    • 12 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 16:05

      But how do you know?

      • 13 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister January 31, 2014 at 16:11

        I don’t. I just think her version was done well.

      • 14 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 16:12

        I do, too. But, after all, I was there, and she did hear me…

      • 15 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister January 31, 2014 at 16:17

        And I’m sure it was a great visit.

      • 16 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 18:47

        It sure was. Very riotish.

      • 17 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister January 31, 2014 at 20:16

        Riotish lol

      • 18 Professor VJ Duke February 1, 2014 at 00:11

        That’s me.

  3. 19 Susan P January 31, 2014 at 00:21

    Well written PorterGirl. Delightfully fun.

    • 20 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 16:02

      Twas was.

      • 21 Susan P January 31, 2014 at 17:57

        :)

  4. 22 bardictale January 30, 2014 at 21:52

    Wonderful! I had wondered what had happened in England.

    • 23 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 15:55

      It was a real trip!

  5. 24 ladycheetah7 January 30, 2014 at 21:24

    I think Porter Girl may have made you a celebrity. Help us Lord.

    • 25 Professor VJ Duke January 30, 2014 at 21:26

      :lol: What’s wrong with that? :lol:

      • 26 ladycheetah7 January 30, 2014 at 21:28

        The big head syndrome.

    • 27 Susan P January 31, 2014 at 00:16

      I know, right? Sheesh.

    • 28 Susan P January 31, 2014 at 00:17

      So, do you think he will need a larger size top hat?

      • 29 ladycheetah7 January 31, 2014 at 00:20

        Absolutely.

      • 30 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 16:01

        Granddadblameit to you ladies!

  6. 31 ladycheetah7 January 30, 2014 at 21:22

    Immaculate dress, mega watt grin, and friendly wink? PVJ your such a flirt. Lol
    ;-)

    • 32 Professor VJ Duke January 30, 2014 at 21:25

      *clears throat* Who? This professor?! :shock: I’m sure everyone would say that’s not true, dadblameit!!!

    • 33 Susan P January 31, 2014 at 00:17

      Flirty flirt indeed.

      • 34 ladycheetah7 January 31, 2014 at 13:47

        I tries to tell him that but as always he flat out denied it and get this, accused me of trying to ruin his reputation. I was totally flabbergasted Susan (snickering).

      • 35 Susan P January 31, 2014 at 15:41

        Uh-huh. He tells you something one day then denies it the next. What do we have here?

      • 36 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 16:09

        A professor. You ladies wouldn’t pick on me if this Hector ran riot!

      • 37 Susan P January 31, 2014 at 17:58

        Hector doesn’t have to run riot. The professor is a riot. Smiling or not.

        :D

      • 38 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 19:01

        :lol: It’s got nothing to do with Smiles Riot!

      • 39 Susan P February 1, 2014 at 17:26

        Who said anything about Mr. Riot?

      • 40 Professor VJ Duke February 1, 2014 at 23:58

        You?

      • 41 Susan P February 2, 2014 at 16:55

        I do not see riot anywhere in that response.

      • 42 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2014 at 14:19

        Vexation and malediction!

      • 43 Susan P February 3, 2014 at 14:55

        Laws, Professor, that bad?

      • 44 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2014 at 18:40

        Mostly, yes.

      • 45 Susan P February 3, 2014 at 19:12

        Mmmm :D

      • 46 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2014 at 23:59

        Indeed.

      • 47 Susan P February 4, 2014 at 19:38

        I thought you’d see it my way. :D

      • 48 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2014 at 21:37

        When you put it like that!

      • 49 Susan P February 4, 2014 at 23:32

        :D

      • 50 ladycheetah7 January 31, 2014 at 16:24

        SMH….

      • 51 Susan P January 31, 2014 at 17:46

        Uh-huh.

      • 52 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 18:49

        Does that mean so much hate?

  7. 53 deanthefish January 30, 2014 at 20:23

    Very well written and entertaining!! But I would never EVER dress like that.

    Respectfully submitted,
    Dean

    • 54 Professor VJ Duke January 30, 2014 at 21:20

      Like what, Mr. Fish?

  8. 55 Debbie January 30, 2014 at 18:50

    Nothing short of amazing to be able to handle a demon cat that way — Professor, I’m impressed!!

    • 56 Professor VJ Duke January 30, 2014 at 21:20

      :D Many thanks! He was a mean sucker for sure!

      • 57 Susan P January 31, 2014 at 00:18

        I think the cat was framed.

      • 58 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 15:59

        You think the professor wicked, don’t you?

      • 59 Susan P January 31, 2014 at 17:55

        The professor has identity issues. He can’t be wicked and sweet. Or can he?

      • 60 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 18:59

        Oh yes he can! And he can run riot. (Wicked is sweet, and sweet is wicked.) Dancing is wicked, but it can’t be sweet. There’s the issue right there.

      • 61 Susan P February 1, 2014 at 17:23

        Well, then. I’m glad you got it all straight. :D

      • 62 Professor VJ Duke February 1, 2014 at 23:57

        Mostly…

      • 63 Susan P February 2, 2014 at 16:52

        Bwahahaha

      • 64 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2014 at 14:18

        That’s right. Laugh me to scorn.

      • 65 Susan P February 3, 2014 at 14:53

        You are giving your permission?

      • 66 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2014 at 18:38

        Well, no…

      • 67 Susan P February 3, 2014 at 19:10

        Okay then. :D

      • 68 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2014 at 23:57

        Woof!

      • 69 Susan P February 4, 2014 at 19:37

        Did you have Wu do the sound for that woof?

      • 70 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2014 at 21:35

        Who’s Wu?

      • 71 Susan P February 4, 2014 at 23:31

        My little dog. He is my faithful friend.

      • 72 Professor VJ Duke February 5, 2014 at 00:55

        That’s right! I’m not sure how he woofs though.

      • 73 Susan P February 5, 2014 at 13:24

        He has quite a repertoire, actually. There is the quiet but persistent “woof.” Then there is the I need to go outside immediately if not before BARK repeated as necessary. The food bark is similar, but more insistent.

      • 74 Professor VJ Duke February 5, 2014 at 19:44

        That’s rather varied for a dog, I think. Give him a pat for me.

      • 75 Susan P February 6, 2014 at 02:29

        I will. He’s under the weather right now.

      • 76 Professor VJ Duke February 6, 2014 at 13:57

        Aw! Poor chap.

      • 77 Susan P February 6, 2014 at 21:30

        Today he seems to be better. Tomorrow he will get his teeth and mouth cleaned – hopefully that will do the trick.

      • 78 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2014 at 01:16

        Poor soul. Give him another pat tomorrow.

      • 79 Susan P February 7, 2014 at 01:31

        Will do. He’s never lacking in cuddles and pats. Sometimes George takes pity on him and curls up beside him to keep him warm.

      • 80 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2014 at 01:47

        George, what a great guy. Give him a rub on the nose. He’s such a pretty fellow.

      • 81 Susan P February 7, 2014 at 18:45

        He is – he even slept on my head last night knowing I was concerned about Wu’s trip to the vet today.

      • 82 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2014 at 21:13

        How’s Wu doing?

      • 83 Susan P February 7, 2014 at 22:59

        He is indignant — they took out all four or five of his remaining teeth. Poor little fellow. I think he will be all right. Thank you for asking.

      • 84 Professor VJ Duke February 8, 2014 at 14:51

        Oh dear. Just make sure to comfort the little guy.

      • 85 Susan P February 8, 2014 at 15:10

        I’m feeding him his ground chicken and broth from a spoon, and love on him every moment I can.

      • 86 Professor VJ Duke February 9, 2014 at 19:28

        :D That’s great. How’s George feeling about the matter?

      • 87 Susan P February 9, 2014 at 19:59

        He seemed to think he was okay, but I’m not sure. He’s not eating much.

      • 88 Professor VJ Duke February 10, 2014 at 17:00

        Probably stressed out a bit.

      • 89 Susan P February 10, 2014 at 17:19

        I can understand that.

      • 90 Professor VJ Duke February 10, 2014 at 19:53

        Poor guy. Bob disappeared, sadly. I should’ve never let him out.

      • 91 Susan P February 10, 2014 at 21:09

        Uh…

      • 92 Professor VJ Duke February 10, 2014 at 23:08

        Yes?

      • 93 Susan P February 11, 2014 at 12:26

        Yes!

      • 94 Professor VJ Duke February 11, 2014 at 14:07

        I’m hopelessly lost.

      • 95 Susan P February 11, 2014 at 15:16

        See if this helps: http://youtu.be/50xGa0rQ3s4

      • 96 Professor VJ Duke February 11, 2014 at 19:47

        Haha! I feel suddenly silly in the head…

      • 97 Susan P February 11, 2014 at 19:53

        Laughing. Couple of good old boys, say what?

      • 98 Professor VJ Duke February 11, 2014 at 20:36

        :lol: Definitely…

      • 99 Susan P February 11, 2014 at 22:55

        I blinked when I saw how young they were when they did that. I was a toddler that year.

      • 100 Professor VJ Duke February 12, 2014 at 00:06

        Then I was probably an adolescent.

      • 101 Susan P February 12, 2014 at 13:36

        No way you are older than I am. :D

      • 102 Professor VJ Duke February 12, 2014 at 16:27

        And how do you know?! It is said of the professor that he’s older than the mountains yet younger than the stars.

      • 103 Susan P February 13, 2014 at 02:30

        However old you are, that is a beautiful piece of writing.

      • 104 Professor VJ Duke February 13, 2014 at 14:36

        *mutters* I’m old…

      • 105 Susan P February 13, 2014 at 14:48

        My dad’s catch phrase was: “I’m old enough to know better and young enough to get away with it.” Unfortunately, he never explained what “it” was.

      • 106 Professor VJ Duke February 13, 2014 at 15:02

        What a great phrase! But that’s the beauty of it.

      • 107 Susan P February 13, 2014 at 19:09

        :D

  9. 108 Painting Pundit January 30, 2014 at 17:32

    Would love to know what was actually whispered?? And can you post a photo of the top hat?

    • 109 Professor VJ Duke January 30, 2014 at 21:20

      My top hat?

      I really do forget what I whispered.

  10. 110 L. Marie January 30, 2014 at 16:46

    Great story! Love the cat whispering. :-) That’s got to be a super power.

    • 111 Professor VJ Duke January 30, 2014 at 21:19

      :D It must be! I should try it on a tiger now…

  11. 112 Bethy January 30, 2014 at 15:33

    What a lovely story! Just the right thing to start off a cold Thursday morning. :D

    • 113 Professor VJ Duke January 30, 2014 at 21:18

      Indeed! The professor was in tip-top shape, wouldn’t you say? ;)

      • 114 Bethy January 31, 2014 at 14:44

        Well of course! You would have to be to be in the running with a pink jumper, purple pants, and a yellow shirt!!! :D

      • 115 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 16:09

        I actually might wear something like that you know!

      • 116 Bethy January 31, 2014 at 16:23

        Really?
        The Princess probably would too. She likes interesting outfits. :D

      • 117 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 18:49

        We’d do it together, then. :)

      • 118 Bethy January 31, 2014 at 19:26

        You’d better bring your own clothes…she has a vast collection of pink tutus and princess dresses as you might imagine.

      • 119 Professor VJ Duke February 1, 2014 at 00:04

        :lol: Now that’s one thing the professor would not wear!

  12. 120 walt walker January 30, 2014 at 14:21

    We’ll done, PorterGirl. Didn’t know he was a cat whisperer, too. I still fear him, though.

    • 121 Professor VJ Duke January 30, 2014 at 14:21

      Because of the cat thingy? :)

    • 122 PorterGirl January 30, 2014 at 14:25

      It’s a spooky talent, isn’t it?

  13. 123 FictionFan January 30, 2014 at 14:00

    Haha! Very good, Portergirl! But I suspect that was probably Mic impersonating the Professor…

    • 124 Professor VJ Duke January 30, 2014 at 14:20

      No, twas me.

      • 125 Susan P January 31, 2014 at 00:20

        Me who?

      • 126 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 16:01

        Me the professorish professor.

      • 127 Susan P January 31, 2014 at 17:57

        Well, I’m glad we sorted that out. :D

      • 128 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 19:01

        Yes, yes, for sure.

      • 129 Susan P February 1, 2014 at 17:25

        Dadblame needing sorted out stuff.

      • 130 Professor VJ Duke February 1, 2014 at 23:58

        That’s how I feel.

      • 131 Susan P February 2, 2014 at 16:54

        With it being so cold I’m surprised anything can feel.

      • 132 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2014 at 14:19

        It was 60 degrees here, and now it’s snowing and in the 20’s.

      • 133 Susan P February 3, 2014 at 14:54

        Well, at least you are not lacking for variety.

      • 134 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2014 at 18:40

        It’s dadblamery. I want it 70 and sunny on my BD!

      • 135 Susan P February 3, 2014 at 19:12

        Now then, Professor, everything will be all right. Just chill. :p

      • 136 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2014 at 23:59

        I am chilling!

      • 137 Susan P February 4, 2014 at 19:38

        SMH! Of course you are. Stop with the icy stare right now.

      • 138 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2014 at 21:36

        Does that stand for So Much Hate?

      • 139 Susan P February 4, 2014 at 23:32

        Smack My Head. Or so they tell me.

      • 140 Professor VJ Duke February 5, 2014 at 00:56

        :lol: Oh no! It means I’m frustrating someone to the point of tears. Goodness! Now I know what Lady meant a few days ago! I feel so bad.

      • 141 Susan P February 5, 2014 at 13:26

        LAUGHING! Do not feel bad. I had to ask someone myself.

      • 142 Professor VJ Duke February 5, 2014 at 19:46

        I’m a bit backwards with that sort of thing.

      • 143 Susan P February 6, 2014 at 02:30

        It’s the Y chromosome.

      • 144 Professor VJ Duke February 6, 2014 at 13:58

        Was that an insult! :lol:

      • 145 Professor VJ Duke February 6, 2014 at 13:58

        Was that an insult! :lol:

      • 146 Susan P February 6, 2014 at 21:35

        Perhaps it is just a human weakness. (Susan just put that in to see if you were paying attention. ;) )

      • 147 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2014 at 01:17

        The professor studied medicine, you know.

      • 148 Susan P February 7, 2014 at 01:31

        You worked in a pharmacy?

      • 149 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2014 at 01:47

        No, actually, I did not.

      • 150 Susan P February 7, 2014 at 18:45

        I did.

      • 151 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2014 at 21:14

        How was it?

      • 152 Susan P February 7, 2014 at 23:05

        Very interesting. I should write a blog post some time.

      • 153 Professor VJ Duke February 8, 2014 at 14:52

        Definitely! Would be very interested.

    • 154 PorterGirl January 30, 2014 at 14:20

      He had the hat, so that was good enough for me!

  14. 155 PorterGirl January 30, 2014 at 13:57

    Hurrah! Great to have you in Old College, Professor! And what a splendid time we had. Thank you once again :)

    • 156 Professor VJ Duke January 30, 2014 at 14:20

      Thank you, Lucy! Was fantastic. The Dean’s a great chap, you know. Now the Head Porter has me thinking!

      • 157 PorterGirl January 30, 2014 at 14:22

        You know I totally love The Dean really. He is my favourite.

        That Head Porter is a tricky one, I can see all sorts of trouble ahead with him

      • 158 Professor VJ Duke January 30, 2014 at 21:08

        Yes, I think so. Is he nice to you?

      • 159 PorterGirl January 31, 2014 at 12:20

        He is really, although he does have a terrible temper sometimes. I seem to escape the worst of it for some reason!

      • 160 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 16:05

        He just needs a spanking.

      • 161 PorterGirl January 31, 2014 at 16:06

        Everyone needs a jolly good spanking

      • 162 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 16:11

        Except the professor and you.

      • 163 PorterGirl January 31, 2014 at 16:11

        Of course. Not us :) Well, maybe you :D

      • 164 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 16:12

        Me? Why????

      • 165 PorterGirl January 31, 2014 at 16:52

        Haha – maybe just for fun! But really, you are too wonderful to deserve a spanking :)

      • 166 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 18:53

        :) For fun? But I’ve got a katana. I mean, what can be fun about a spanking?

      • 167 PorterGirl January 31, 2014 at 19:17

        Eek! A katana? I shall withdraw with dignity, Professor…

      • 168 Professor VJ Duke February 1, 2014 at 00:03

        Isn’t a spanking just as bad?

      • 169 PorterGirl February 3, 2014 at 14:47

        Perhaps!

      • 170 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2014 at 18:33

        ;)

      • 171 PorterGirl January 31, 2014 at 12:38

        Or did you mean Head Porter? Because he is mean. He makes me do car park duty in the rain :(

      • 172 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 16:05

        Is he wicked?

      • 173 PorterGirl January 31, 2014 at 16:07

        He is indeed. Well, he is to me, anyway

      • 174 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 16:11

        What does he do?

      • 175 PorterGirl January 31, 2014 at 16:53

        Ungentlemanly things. Things that will be revealed before too long :)

      • 176 Professor VJ Duke January 31, 2014 at 18:53

        Good, good. Eagerly awaiting another movie!

      • 177 PorterGirl January 31, 2014 at 19:18

        Will be filming this weekend! A two day shoot – rather ambitious – let’s hope I can pull it off :/

      • 178 Professor VJ Duke February 1, 2014 at 00:04

        You’ll do fine, I’m sure! Good luck–I know how nerve-wracking those kind of things can be!

    • 179 ladycheetah7 January 30, 2014 at 21:25

      Nicely done PorterGirl. Splendid story.

      • 180 PorterGirl January 31, 2014 at 12:20

        Thank you so much! That means a lot :)

      • 181 ladycheetah7 January 31, 2014 at 13:44

        Your welcome!


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,875 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,935 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


