Tales of the Professor—Portuguese Pictures!

Punchy Family, this professor must admit something:

I’d like to visit Portugal one day.

In truth this is true.

I feel proud since I know a bit of the language. Would you say the following statement is true or false: “o professor é mau”?

Now for a few pictures. (Susan shared these pictures with the professor. If you’re interested in Portugal and would like to see more pictures, check out her blog, The Portugal Years.)

First, two water paint pictures of Alfama.

alfama alfama2

Second, a picture of the professor. I believe it’s called Galo de Barcelos. (What do you think of the professor?)

Galo de Barcelos

And, lastly, a picture of a Caravella.

Portuguese sailing ship (caravella)

I must admit something else:

I’ve dreamed about sailing on a ship just like that. It would so much fun. Of course, I might become a pirate.

This particular picture was painted on Portuguese azulejos (tiles) and the frame was made of cork. I know that sounds smart, but I’m just repeating what Susan told me.

That is all, gentlemen!

311 Responses to “Tales of the Professor—Portuguese Pictures!”


  1. 1 Susan P March 19, 2014 at 17:04

    Yes, she got the brunt of it.

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke March 19, 2014 at 22:40

      Indeed.

  2. 3 lifeconfusions March 14, 2014 at 20:06

    I wish all your wises come true Professor ! :)

    • 4 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2014 at 16:49

      Hi! Nice to see you, and many thanks! Professorish wishes, huh?

      • 5 lifeconfusions March 15, 2014 at 17:59

        You are most welcome. Wish you best :)

      • 6 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2014 at 20:19

        So many thanks. Don’t you think my mind is shot already?

      • 7 lifeconfusions March 16, 2014 at 17:17

        Nah, you are as good as it can get ! ;)

      • 8 Professor VJ Duke March 16, 2014 at 19:23

        :shock: Oh, that’s so nice of you!

      • 9 lifeconfusions March 17, 2014 at 11:24

        :) :)

      • 10 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 14:48

        ==[:-{)+

  3. 11 maryamchahine March 14, 2014 at 16:50

    Lovely pictures! The only one I was confused by was the one of the Professor – I pictured him as completely different, but the thing on his head probably gives him away ; )

    • 12 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2014 at 18:09

      :lol: How do you picture the professor?

      • 13 maryamchahine March 14, 2014 at 19:19

        At the very least, I expected a very curly mustache. Indeed, I was quite disappointed. There were a few other things too, but I’ll keep the rest to myself ;)

      • 14 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2014 at 16:48

        Oh, come on! I’m curious how I’m pictured….

      • 15 maryamchahine March 15, 2014 at 17:56

        I think it is better to keep the Professor guessing :D

      • 16 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2014 at 20:19

        But that’s what I’m supposed to keep you doing! You’ve spun this around. :mad: :)

      • 17 maryamchahine March 16, 2014 at 15:29

        Yes, indeed Professor ;)

      • 18 Professor VJ Duke March 16, 2014 at 19:22

        Well, dadblameit! Tis not fair, is it?

  4. 19 Gene'O March 13, 2014 at 14:44

    Nice images, Professor. I don’t know any of the language, but it’s a country I’ve always wanted to visit, too. If I were making a list of countries to visit, Portugal and Austria would be the first two on the list. Strange combination, I know, but I have strange taste.

    • 20 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 21:45

      I think the taste is perfect. The professor would love to visit Austria too. Is there a reason you’d want to visit Austria?

      • 21 Gene'O March 13, 2014 at 21:51

        I’d love to see the Habsburg crypt. Vienna fascinates me in a decidedly romantic way, I would like to and compare my idea of Vienna to the actually city. I’m a bit of an early 20th century buff. Not really an expertise, more a fandom.

        Rome has the same sort of attraction for me. I could list you a good dozen cities that I wouldn’t mind spending three months each in, but Vienna would probably be on the top of the list.

      • 22 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 22:12

        That’s cool, for sure. You’d have to take the professor along with you, you know.

        I’d love to see Rome, too. Wouldn’t it be cool to hear the Vienna Symphony live?

      • 23 Gene'O March 13, 2014 at 22:18

        Yes. That would be cool indeed.

      • 24 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 22:22

        You know, I’ve always wanted to interrupt a performance with a laster…but that’s because I’m wicked.

      • 25 Gene'O March 13, 2014 at 22:46

        hehehe. I so enjoy the way you think.

      • 26 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2014 at 17:51

        It’s wicked, I think!

  5. 27 L. Marie March 13, 2014 at 13:10

    Very nice! But do you crow early in the morning?

    • 28 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 13:18

      Not at all! :lol: The professor crows late in the morning!

  6. 29 Letty March 13, 2014 at 09:40

    I also would love to visit Portugal one day, and sail on grand ships. I think the former is more likely than the latter. But, you know, we must all have dreams!

    • 30 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 13:16

      Absolutely! Would you care to join the Punchy Family on our pirate excursion? I think we’re going to get a ship and sail the seven seas!

      • 31 Letty March 13, 2014 at 17:39

        Ahoy, matey! :)

      • 32 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 21:55

        And you sound excellent! Good deal. :D

  7. 33 icedmocha34 March 13, 2014 at 01:44

    I have nominated you for the Wonderful Team Membership Award. Congrats! View here: http://icedmocha34.wordpress.com/2014/03/12/wonderful-team-member-readership-award/

    • 34 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 13:11

      Aw, thanks so much! I’m honored, will take a look soon!

  8. 35 The Dancing Rider March 12, 2014 at 22:26

    I laughed when I saw the rooster bas relief with his pompadour! Is the pompadour which likens you to him?!?!?!?!?!?

    You’ll have to find a rooster plate where it has a patch over its eye – for the pirate part. Lol! :)

    • 36 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 13:08

      :lol: Well…no, not exactly. Maybe it’s a difference. But I do like it, don’t you?

      And a long black (or blue) beard. Don’t you think I’d look better with one?

      • 37 The Dancing Rider March 13, 2014 at 20:33

        Well, since I have no idea what you look like, it’s difficult to answer the question. But a beard is usually necessary for the pirate look. ;-)

      • 38 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 22:10

        I’ll get a fake one, then. You must picture the most professorish professor (it’s a new category) and you got me! Does that help?

      • 39 The Dancing Rider March 13, 2014 at 22:55

        Perhaps, perhaps. Fake is definitely the way to go here! :)

      • 40 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2014 at 17:52

        You know, absolutely!

  9. 41 Simply Skeptical March 12, 2014 at 19:40

    Dear professor I like your rooster hair-do. That’s quite a slick you have there. Thanks for the lovely pictures and intro to a beautiful language. This is such a fun place to visit….

    • 42 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 21:48

      Oh yes…thank you. You know, I didn’t even notice it. Do you suppose it’s professorish?

      Aw, thanks! I’m honored. They’re Susan’s pics.

  10. 43 Nancy Loderick March 12, 2014 at 18:10

    Hey Professor,

    I can just see it now, “The Punchy Lands and Portugal.” Oh the tales you can tell! :)

    Nancy

    • 44 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 18:15

      Crazy and Punchyish ones, huh?

      • 45 Nancy Loderick March 12, 2014 at 18:55

        Of course Professor :)

        Nancy

      • 46 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 21:48

        Thank you, Nancy. ;)

  11. 47 Amy Pinkrose March 12, 2014 at 16:17

    Now wait one goshdarn minute. “That is all GENTLEMEN”???????? Um, that is really sexist and I am really stamping my foot. I am a WO-man just letting you know.

    Love the thought of you as a chicken pirate. There you go. I combined the both! That is what YOU get for NOT including WO-men! HUH! 😁😡😤

    • 48 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 18:12

      :oops: :shock: So sorry! I must’ve forgot..the you know! Will you forgive me, Lady P?

      :lol: No! Not that chicken pirate. Doesn’t sound too mean, does it?

      • 49 Amy Pinkrose March 12, 2014 at 19:41

        With scrawn legs and big cowlick standing straight up in the air on your head. That is what YOU get for forgetting WO-man. Oh, don’t give me “I must have forgot” routine, cause I just don’t buy it. Not furr one moment. You are mean to forget Wo-man and I am going to make darn tootin’ sure you won’t furrget again. There! HUH!

      • 50 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 21:49

        Doesn’t that seem a bit insulting in some way?

        You mean you think the professor did it on purpose?

        How will you make me remember? (I love the furr…parts… :lol: )

      • 51 Amy Pinkrose March 12, 2014 at 22:03

        Hmmm…..I would never insult the Professor. If he said he furrgot, then he furrgot. OK. I am now beyond that. I have a way you can remember. When you are typing, you see TWO hands. Unless that is, you use only one hand. Now that would be a problem to what I am about to suggest.

        Anyways, let’s assume you use TWO hands. In order to remember WO-man, you look at BOTH hands to remind yourself there are TWO sexes. One just cannot go without the other. Two hands working together united for a single purpose. You coud say the same for some WO-men and men.

        OR you could think of your soft warm cat (do you have a cat?) and think FURR and relate that to a woman. Hehehehehehe That’s a little um (blush) I really didn’t mean it THAT way, but OK, a woman has FURR (as well as a man) so you can relate FURR to a woman.

        Have I got you more confused??? Hehehehehehe giggle… Does this help? Or have I worsened matters? LOL Love, Lady P

      • 52 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 13:07

        :lol: Well, LadyP, I think you’ve helped, but I am confused on the matter. Do you suppose Gentlewomen would work?

      • 53 Amy Pinkrose March 13, 2014 at 15:12

        Yes!

      • 54 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 21:45

        Thank you, LadyP. :)

      • 55 Amy Pinkrose March 13, 2014 at 22:00

        OK. I give up. And why are you thanking me? This new reader only shows your LAST comment and not the rest of the conversation. Since I have been out shopping, I have lost all track of this conversation. Sorry, Prof Frown.

      • 56 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 22:14

        I’m thanking you for…not yelling at me too badly?

      • 57 Jazzy Couldren March 12, 2014 at 20:37

        Hey, he should know better than to call women men…. :} But it’s good to be manly…

      • 58 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 21:53

        Was I wrong, MM?

  12. 59 Painting Pundit March 12, 2014 at 16:14

    Can we look forward to “The adventures of the pirate rooster” some time soon? I’m heading out to find some of that Victoria Sponge the Porter Girl was talking about. Sounds really yummy!

    • 60 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 18:10

      :lol: :lol: But it doesn’t sound warrior-ish does it? Rather like a comedy.

      Yes, get me some, please!

      • 61 Painting Pundit March 12, 2014 at 18:27

        It sounds very rooster-ish!

      • 62 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 21:48

        :lol: The professor is a warrior-ish rooster, you know.

  13. 63 Angeline M March 12, 2014 at 15:06

    Pirates and roosters and ships…oh my!
    Where would this pirate ship be going? I will join the brigade and set sail, but only if you leave me off at the nearest beach bar.

    • 64 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 17:55

      :lol: Well, we sail the seven seas! Of course, we’d stop at the bar…but you can’t abandon the crew! I mean, you wouldn’t want to, would you?

      • 65 Angeline M March 13, 2014 at 00:07

        Never!

      • 66 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 13:10

        That’s the spirit. I’d give you a free cutlass!

  14. 67 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 12, 2014 at 14:51

    El professor es muy guapo…. :lol:

    Did you know that I happen to adore chickens? I do. I grew up with them on our farm. My father is a bird cowboy of sorts. I should post a picture of my favorite rooster. :lol: You make me laugh and laugh and laugh.

    I love all of Susan’s pictures. Beautiful!!

    But wait…….

    That is my boat!!! Clearly!!! Tis!

    • 68 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 17:50

      :lol: Now what does that mean, Audith?

      :lol: See? You didn’t know the professor was a rooster, did you?

      They sure are…

      It can’t be! It has my name on it, I’m sure!

      • 69 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 12, 2014 at 20:00

        I have no idea. :)
        I had no idea..such a mystery.

        For sure.

        No clearly my name, but you can ride along.

      • 70 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 21:50

        :lol: :lol: :lol: Then I love it!

        Me neither, really.

        For double sure.

        Are you the captain of my boat?

      • 71 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 13, 2014 at 02:39

        Yeah, Audrey doesn’t teach bilingual children either.

        I am the Captian, capital C, of your boat. You can sit in my wheelhouse if you’d like. Does my boat have a wheelhouse??

      • 72 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 13:11

        That was still very coolio.

        It’s my boat! What’s a wheelhouse?

      • 73 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 13, 2014 at 17:10

        And still true.

        Okay..your blog..your boat. I get it.

        See? This is precisely why you don’t deserve the boat, Duke. :lol: Scoot over…make room….hand me your pipe…the wheelhouse is command central of the vessel. Where one sits and overseas :lol: the water and all upon them. Usually covered from the elements…

      • 74 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 21:49

        And my pipe!!!!!

        :lol: Now you’re laughing at me! I was going to direct from the crow’s nest. Wouldn’t that work?

        Maybe I’ll be the cook, then. Or the motorcycle guy.

      • 75 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 13, 2014 at 23:08

        You have your pipe… :lol: I can’t help it. I’m so sorry. Yes, it will work perfectly. Very smart, Duke!

        Motorcycle guy? There is a motorcycle guy on your boat? I’m so confused…we all know I’m the cook…

      • 76 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2014 at 17:53

        Well, I hope it is. I’ll need a loudspeaker or something.

        Yes, we’d have to have a motorcycle, don’t you think so? Yes, you can be the cherry muffin cook. :D

      • 77 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 14, 2014 at 21:30

        You’ll need a harness, as well. And a peg leg…has your hat come in yet? I want you to have a hat.

        I am okay with the cycle, but won’t we just be riding in circles? Our boat isn’t very big…unless you want to build us a rather nice plank? You know, one that likens itself to a track?? Then we’d feel like we were going somewhere. Or the motorcycle could be used only when at port. Choices…

      • 78 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2014 at 16:56

        Why a harness? :shock: What kind of hat?

        You mean you’d run my cycle off the plank with me on it? (Maybe we should only ride it in port. I’ll get you one, too. Heck, one per crew member.)

      • 79 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 16, 2014 at 05:11

        So you don’t fall off the crow thingy… umm a pirate’s hat…really? What other had does a pirate wear, Duketh?

        Never!! (So extravagant, Duketh. :) )

      • 80 Professor VJ Duke March 16, 2014 at 19:14

        A fisherman’s hat?

        Never? What huff-humerery!

      • 81 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 16, 2014 at 21:17

        Okay..well you need to decide. Are we fishing or not? :lol:

        Never to throw you and your cycle overboard, that is, Sir. :)

      • 82 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 14:44

        :lol: If you row, and fish, and sing!

        Well, thank you, Captain Audith.

      • 83 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 17, 2014 at 19:18

        Sing…oh no. What do I have to sing? What do you think I sing? And carry tea and muffins…? How many hands do I have again? I’m and octopus, Duke!!! Just look at me! :lol:

        You are very welcome, Cap’in Duketh. :D

      • 84 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 22:33

        :lol: :lol: Use your feet to row, madam! How about “Heat of the Moment?”

        Cap’in…does that have to do with me hat?

      • 85 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 17, 2014 at 23:08

        My feet?!!! Look who’s being rude…feisty man. Depends…the one sung by Asia or Candace Sosa? How about both!! Or did you have another in mind?

        It should since you keep sidestepping the subject.

      • 86 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 23:22

        The professor is feisty rude mean and sweet. There. You said it first, not me.

        Asia all the way! Belt it out, please. I’ll sing the guitar part.

        I’ll answer anything you’d like.

      • 87 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 17, 2014 at 23:29

        Yes, I think that about covers it, Duke! :lol: And I like you just as you are…

        Oh my…I seriously love that song…how did you know? I shall…but no laughing… you must play the guitar part, Sir. Plus your hands are free to hold a guitar. :lol:

        Now I’m a bit flustered. ..

      • 88 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 23:33

        :lol: Thanks, Audith…

        I do, too! I love Asia. You’ve copied from me yet again! (Steve Howe is one of my heroes.) Okay, I’d play it for you, then.

        About what?

      • 89 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 17, 2014 at 23:41

        Duke..!! I cannot believe it….truly. (He is? Why so?) Oh good…I’d prefer that to your rapping the beat…lol.

        Getting to ask anything I want to ask.

      • 90 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 23:44

        Rapping beat… :lol: (He’s–in my humble opinion–the best rock guitarist. Plays complicated stuff.) And then I like Carl Palmer too.

        Well, go ahead and ask it!

      • 91 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 17, 2014 at 23:48

        LOL…I couldn’t agree more, actually. I’m just shaking my head at you. See that? What is your fav Palmer song?

        I think I’ll wait for you to offer it.

      • 92 Professor VJ Duke March 18, 2014 at 12:35

        But why shaking thou head? Well…I like him best when he joined with Asia. Though some ELP isn’t bad. What about you?

        I offer.

      • 93 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 18, 2014 at 15:49

        Always a wonder about things, Duketh.Asia is a little before my music prime but I have always loved that song. Many songs from that time, actually. Do you know that I am a huge fan of big hair bands of the 80s. I can’t get enough of them. One of my favorites is ZZ Top. I know you’ll laugh but its the beards and the rockin guitars. Those boys have a gift…my favorite song of theirs is Rough Boy. I can’t say that there are many bands from that time I don’t like.

        I don’t know what to ask…you’ve put me on the spot.

      • 94 Professor VJ Duke March 18, 2014 at 17:08

        The professor is a wonder! I did not know this! ZZ Top…I like them too. The beards are what actually endears me, too… :lol: Do you like Yes?

        Well, dadblameit, then! :)

      • 95 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 18, 2014 at 19:20

        :lol: The beards are really something to admire!! LOL
        I do like Yes, Owner of a lonely heart has a great opening guitar bit. You and I is a source of wonder, as well.

        It’s your fault!

      • 96 Professor VJ Duke March 19, 2014 at 00:07

        Yes! The drummer’s name is Frank Beard and he’s beardless, you know.

        Good one, for sure. I agree!

        Well, then I’ll tell you something: the professor’s hair needs a cutting.

      • 97 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 19, 2014 at 01:25

        I do know…lol. Funny!

        Okay, because it is way to long or shabby because of the cold weather….

      • 98 Professor VJ Duke March 19, 2014 at 14:05

        Well, it’s not too long or shabby. It’s just longer than I keep it. What do you think I should do?

      • 99 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 19, 2014 at 15:49

        Well I don’t know? Do you have droves of humans following you as if your hair is a flute? Long is good to some degree, but reasons for that isn’t really spoken of in the PL. :lol: More so on my blog, I’d say.

        What do you prefer? How does it feel with your hat on?

      • 100 Professor VJ Duke March 19, 2014 at 22:29

        I’m really between a rock and a hard place. I think I’ll shave it all off!

      • 101 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 19, 2014 at 23:11

        Ahhh….wait. Don’t get crazy!!!

      • 102 Professor VJ Duke March 20, 2014 at 00:46

        I hope it’s not too late…

      • 103 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 20, 2014 at 02:03

        I didn’t even get to see it. :( :cry: I bet it was shabby fantastic, too!!!

      • 104 Professor VJ Duke March 20, 2014 at 12:19

        No, I still got it, but I’m crazy. You probably wouldn’t consider it long.

      • 105 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 20, 2014 at 13:38

        I think you’re right. I couldn’t imagine you with long hair. My guess is that it is normal length, which is unusual for you. I think you do wear it buzzed off, which is a source of interest.

      • 106 Professor VJ Duke March 20, 2014 at 22:20

        Why a source of interest? I went through a period where I liked it quite short. Never like a crew cut, but close. Now, it’s just longer than normal. Bangs and all that dadblamery.

      • 107 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 21, 2014 at 00:02

        Well I do wonder if there is a military connection…with the weapons and all…
        Bangs!!! I don’t even have bangs!

      • 108 Professor VJ Duke March 21, 2014 at 02:35

        No, no military connection. You don’t? I do! And help!!!

      • 109 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 21, 2014 at 02:44

        Pull them back…lol

      • 110 Professor VJ Duke March 21, 2014 at 02:51

        Ugg…cut them off, you mean!

      • 111 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 21, 2014 at 03:04

        Yes..cut them off, Duke. No one can see your eyes…

      • 112 Professor VJ Duke March 21, 2014 at 17:14

        Oh, they’re not that long.

      • 113 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 21, 2014 at 19:29

        Just long enough that one would have to swoosh them away to see your eyes?

      • 114 Professor VJ Duke March 22, 2014 at 01:00

        No, not that long. I’m always swooshing them now, though.

      • 115 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 22, 2014 at 02:50

        Haha…well that is ummm…interesting.

      • 116 Professor VJ Duke March 24, 2014 at 13:02

        You’re laughing me to scorn.

      • 117 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 24, 2014 at 15:41

        I’m laughing because you make me laugh. Not at you, I assure you!

      • 118 Professor VJ Duke March 24, 2014 at 19:44

        The professor is…well, okay, then! *smiles*

      • 119 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 24, 2014 at 21:32

        *smiles*

      • 120 Professor VJ Duke March 25, 2014 at 01:56

        *gurgles*

      • 121 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 25, 2014 at 03:52

        Must I rescue you, Duketh? Where is your life vest?

      • 122 Professor VJ Duke March 25, 2014 at 13:42

        I threw it overboard.

      • 123 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 25, 2014 at 14:02

        On purpose?

      • 124 Professor VJ Duke March 25, 2014 at 19:38

        Yes! How wicked of me…

      • 125 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 25, 2014 at 20:39

        Maybe I should pull you out by your hair…
        *ponders*

      • 126 Professor VJ Duke March 26, 2014 at 00:11

        How cruel! Just throw me a red rope.

      • 127 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 26, 2014 at 00:40

        I know. It was. :) The red one will smell like fish now. ..just great!

      • 128 Professor VJ Duke March 26, 2014 at 18:12

        Oh, please no!

      • 129 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 26, 2014 at 23:39

        Smell it! This is all your fault. Twill take me hours of washing.

      • 130 Professor VJ Duke March 27, 2014 at 14:20

        Which will build muscles.

      • 131 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 27, 2014 at 17:38

        :) You should take over…

      • 132 Professor VJ Duke March 27, 2014 at 23:33

        I don’t like building muscles that way!

      • 133 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 28, 2014 at 02:14

        Me either! Let’s go shopping for a new one.

      • 134 Professor VJ Duke March 28, 2014 at 18:29

        And I’d like to get a new red hat, please.

      • 135 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 29, 2014 at 12:55

        Hmm..red hat and red sunglasses? What sort of look are we going for, Duketh? Remember your boots are brownish. ;)

      • 136 Professor VJ Duke March 31, 2014 at 12:10

        *laughs* Audith! Fine, then… I don’t have red sunglasses as of now, just blue. And only boots in the winter! What sort of look should I go for?

      • 137 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 31, 2014 at 15:06

        *laughs alotta* You don’t have them because I cannot make a decision on which ones to buy you. Yes only in the winter. Are you wearing flip flops now?
        Not sure…I haven’t a picture to pull from Duketh!!! *argh*

      • 138 Professor VJ Duke March 31, 2014 at 20:40

        Of course you’ve got a picture! There’s the shrub…and then…don’t you have an imagination? I imagine the professor a certain way too.

        Flip flops? I hate those things.

      • 139 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 31, 2014 at 22:08

        Oh yes the shrub….so green. Clearly I have an imagination, Duke. How rude! *shakes her head as she realizes you’ve never met him either*

        LOL…we wear them a lot here…guess you can’t come to the tropics of Texas.

      • 140 Professor VJ Duke April 1, 2014 at 02:25

        I have so met him! And…didn’t mean it that way. *laughs* The professor has no imagination. Audith has a great one.

        Texas is coolio!

      • 141 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister April 1, 2014 at 04:04

        *tee hee hee* I know. Yes you do, Duketh.
        Or a overimaginative one…

        No. Tisn’t!

      • 142 Professor VJ Duke April 1, 2014 at 18:04

        I don’t know now! I’m highly confused.

        That’s true, I suppose.

      • 143 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister April 1, 2014 at 20:18

        As am I
        *cries uncle, but knows you never give up*

      • 144 Professor VJ Duke April 2, 2014 at 12:33

        *surrenders*

      • 145 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister April 2, 2014 at 20:09

        REALLY!? I shall miss this thread…such fun was had here.

      • 146 Professor VJ Duke April 3, 2014 at 02:14

        Yes! I am sweet. A lot of fun!

      • 147 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister April 3, 2014 at 02:39

        :)

  15. 148 ladycheetah7 March 12, 2014 at 14:17

    The art is beautiful. So PVJ are you the one carrying something on his head?
    Fancy being a pirate, eh? Will you be wearing an eye patch?

    • 149 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 14:42

      Well, maybe. You don’t seem to like it!

      No. How about a blackbeard?

      • 150 ladycheetah7 March 12, 2014 at 14:59

        What ever makea you happy.

      • 151 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 17:53

        What would you wear to look like a pirate?

      • 152 ladycheetah7 March 12, 2014 at 17:59

        I would glam it up a bit and put on black stilettos of course, a cute neck scarf, capris, and a light chiffon blouse. Of course my choice of head gear would be a bandana with baby cheetahs on it

      • 153 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 18:14

        :lol: The baby cheetahs would be amazing…but, you’d end up looking better than the professor! What would we do about that? And what sort of weapon would you carry?

      • 154 ladycheetah7 March 12, 2014 at 18:20

        We would do absolutely nothing because it is what it is. Choice of weapon….probably smith & wesson. A sword would be too big and it might scratch my legs.

      • 155 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 21:47

        How perfectly rude of you, Lady…. :lol:

        Good choice, I’d say. You might want a cutlass, too.

      • 156 ladycheetah7 March 13, 2014 at 14:19

        You sir are rude and crude. ……

      • 157 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 21:44

        I’m not sure what was rude about that. But I do notice you’re quoting your favorite. :)

      • 158 ladycheetah7 March 13, 2014 at 21:48

        There you go calling me rude and I respond In turn and am the rude one??? Lol…whatever. ..lol

      • 159 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 22:10

        :lol: Yes you are, young lady! But how come you respond with your favorite’s line?

      • 160 ladycheetah7 March 13, 2014 at 22:20

        PVJ I am just following your lead….lol

      • 161 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 22:22

        How does it feel?

  16. 162 walt walker March 12, 2014 at 14:02

    If you become a pirate, I will join you. Jake and the Neverland Pirates is constantly on in my house, so I feel prepared to swashbuckle. I would want a really good boat though. Something massive. With cannons. Lots of cannons.

    • 163 Susan P March 12, 2014 at 14:06

      I want to be a pirate, too, dadblameit.

      • 164 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 14:41

        Well, of course you’d have to come along. You’d be the captain.

      • 165 Susan P March 12, 2014 at 16:17

        *leaves to sharpen her sword and shine the cannons.

      • 166 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 18:12

        And we all must have katanas, he shouts after her.

      • 167 Susan P March 13, 2014 at 18:31

        I’ll stick with my meat cleaver and it can do double duty.

      • 168 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 22:08

        :lol: Are they sharp?

      • 169 Susan P March 13, 2014 at 22:31

        You best believe it.

      • 170 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2014 at 17:47

        I do!

      • 171 Susan P March 15, 2014 at 01:21

        It’s great for mincing vegetables for a Chinese dinner behind a Chinese Wall.

      • 172 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2014 at 17:07

        :lol: Now a Chinese dinner behind a Chinese Wall would be special.

      • 173 Susan P March 16, 2014 at 20:33

        Ah, so! Sweet and sour pork.

      • 174 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 14:26

        Or chicken.

      • 175 Susan P March 17, 2014 at 20:18

        Or, or, or vegan.

      • 176 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 22:39

        What is that, pray?

      • 177 Susan P March 19, 2014 at 17:00

        They don’t eat any animal products.

      • 178 Professor VJ Duke March 19, 2014 at 22:36

        Ohhh…

      • 179 Susan P March 20, 2014 at 15:39

        “Ohhh…” ?

      • 180 Professor VJ Duke March 20, 2014 at 22:34

        Oh, fooey! (spelled professorishly)

      • 181 Susan P March 20, 2014 at 23:16

        Why fooey?

      • 182 Professor VJ Duke March 21, 2014 at 02:18

        I’m not sure. Isn’t it a good word?

      • 183 Susan P March 22, 2014 at 20:16

        Just wondered why that word. Nothing bad that I know of, you know.

      • 184 Professor VJ Duke March 24, 2014 at 13:23

        The professor speaks all sorts of new words.

      • 185 Susan P March 24, 2014 at 16:35

        I can only begin to imagine.

      • 186 Professor VJ Duke March 24, 2014 at 19:53

        *smiles haphazardly*

      • 187 Susan P March 24, 2014 at 20:21

        You dadblame make them up.

      • 188 Professor VJ Duke March 25, 2014 at 01:46

        I do not! Why do you think so?

      • 189 Susan P March 25, 2014 at 02:35

        Methinks thee protesteth too much.

      • 190 Professor VJ Duke March 25, 2014 at 13:37

        Protesting is fun!

      • 191 Susan P March 25, 2014 at 22:05

        Practicing is, too.

      • 192 Professor VJ Duke March 26, 2014 at 00:21

        I hate practicing.

      • 193 Susan P March 26, 2014 at 11:02

        Now, see, you just have to find the thing that will make you smile when you practice it.

      • 194 Professor VJ Duke March 26, 2014 at 18:23

        Cherries make me smiles. And so does…summer!

      • 195 Susan P March 26, 2014 at 19:23

        Play a little Jimmy Buffet – that might help.

      • 196 Professor VJ Duke March 27, 2014 at 14:01

        Oh no! He’d ruin me.

      • 197 Susan P March 27, 2014 at 19:56

        How so?

      • 198 Professor VJ Duke March 27, 2014 at 23:51

        He messes with my head!

      • 199 Susan P March 28, 2014 at 11:56

        Only if you allow him to.

      • 200 Professor VJ Duke March 28, 2014 at 18:48

        It is my fault.

      • 201 Susan P March 28, 2014 at 19:49

        You can listen to Kenny G if you prefer – but it is a special dispensation.

      • 202 Professor VJ Duke March 28, 2014 at 22:30

        What does that mean?

      • 203 Susan P March 29, 2014 at 13:05

        That means I don’t grant that privilege to just anyone.

      • 204 Professor VJ Duke March 31, 2014 at 12:21

        Haha, well, then. I appreciate it!

      • 205 Susan P March 31, 2014 at 13:49

        Though KG is a worthy cause.

      • 206 Professor VJ Duke March 31, 2014 at 20:30

        *smiles bigger than the sun*

      • 207 Susan P March 31, 2014 at 21:17

        Susan beams when she sees the Professor smiling.

      • 208 Professor VJ Duke April 1, 2014 at 02:11

        Aw, that’s sweet of you!

      • 209 Susan P April 1, 2014 at 12:18

        I am not sweet.

      • 210 Professor VJ Duke April 1, 2014 at 18:12

        I like how you think!

      • 211 Susan P April 1, 2014 at 18:15

        ;)

      • 212 walt walker March 13, 2014 at 01:49

        Thank you for shining the cannons, Susan. It wouldn’t be proper to raise the Jolly Roger with a broadside of dull cannons.

      • 213 Susan P March 13, 2014 at 17:59

        The devil’s in the details, Mr. Walker. :)

    • 214 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 14:41

      A must. Do you suppose we could get those revolving cannons that Davey Jones has?

  17. 215 PorterGirl March 12, 2014 at 13:45

    Super, super fabulous! What a wonderful rooster, such colours! I would like to be on that boat. I would pirate my way to a far off land and build a hut and a cake shop. Big thanks to Susan for the cheery pictures :)

    • 216 Bethy March 12, 2014 at 13:48

      what kind of cakes would be in that cake shop?

      • 217 PorterGirl March 12, 2014 at 13:49

        All kinds! Cup cakes, banana bread, pastries, victoria sponges, walnut cake, pecan cake… oooh cake!

      • 218 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 14:41

        Ooo, what’s a victoria sponge?

      • 219 PorterGirl March 12, 2014 at 14:48

        A light sponge cake, with a layer of jam and clotted cream in the middle, dusted with icing sugar on the top. Hang on – I think what I call jam you might call jelly, possibly. Sweet spreadable stuff made from fruit, you know?

      • 220 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 17:49

        It could either be jam or jelly! :) Now that does sound very, very good! Is it fattening? :)

      • 221 PorterGirl March 12, 2014 at 18:12

        It is very high in sugar and is perfect on scones :)

      • 222 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 18:15

        Sounds too good! Do you make it?

      • 223 PorterGirl March 12, 2014 at 23:26

        I do. Although cakes are not my forte. I am better at pastry

      • 224 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 13:09

        That sounds fine to me! I’m even more impressed, actually. Pastries are hard, I think.

      • 225 PorterGirl March 13, 2014 at 13:41

        The key is to have very cold hands and use lard, not butter. Unhealthy, but yummy!

      • 226 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 21:41

        What’s the difference between lard and butter? See how dull the professor is?

      • 227 PorterGirl March 14, 2014 at 08:33

        Lard is fattier! So makes better pastry :)

      • 228 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2014 at 18:00

        That’s fine by me!

      • 229 PorterGirl March 17, 2014 at 13:44

        :D

      • 230 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 14:50

        ==]:-{)=

      • 231 Bethy March 14, 2014 at 14:31

        That sounds so awesome. I think English cake tastes better then American cake.

      • 232 PorterGirl March 14, 2014 at 17:14

        :D

      • 233 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2014 at 18:03

        Well, I hope so…but I know American cake is rather awesome!

    • 234 Susan P March 12, 2014 at 13:52

      Arrrrr…

      • 235 PorterGirl March 12, 2014 at 13:53

        :D

      • 236 Susan P March 12, 2014 at 15:56

        Together on three: 1, 2, ARRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!

      • 237 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 17:56

        I need to work on my pirate call. I tried and failed to do it.

      • 238 Susan P March 13, 2014 at 18:01

        Practice makes perfect… :D

      • 239 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 21:57

        Yes!

      • 240 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 14:41

        That’s a good one, Susan.

      • 241 Susan P March 12, 2014 at 16:16

        :D

      • 242 walt walker March 13, 2014 at 01:38

        Arrrr… is my favorite letter in the pirate alphabet.

      • 243 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 13:10

        :lol: I still can’t pronounce it.

      • 244 Susan P March 13, 2014 at 18:00

        :lol:

    • 245 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 14:40

      :lol: :lol: Lucy! A cake shop is a magnificent idea! You know what? We should all leave the PL, buy a ship and become pirates! I have a feeling Mr. Mark Twain would like it, too.

      • 246 PorterGirl March 12, 2014 at 14:47

        Let’s do it, Professor. Mr Twain would definitely approve. And then I could properly teach you about English muffins and scones and suchlike :)

      • 247 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 17:49

        :lol: And I would love to learn! And there’d be sea battles and all sorts of wonderful things.

      • 248 PorterGirl March 12, 2014 at 18:12

        Hurrah!

      • 249 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 18:15

        Sounds awesome! We’ll take the Dean. And Head Porter along.

      • 250 PorterGirl March 12, 2014 at 23:25

        Only if Head Porter promises to behave. The Dean would make an excellent pirate, I think!

      • 251 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 13:08

        He absolutely would. (It would be a good chance to get revenge on Head Porter–and I must admit, I sort of like the fellow. He and his teddy bear…I’m endeared now!)

      • 252 PorterGirl March 13, 2014 at 13:40

        I wouldn’t be surprised if Head Porter and I became friends at some point. Maybe not best friends, but… who knows what is round the corner? ;)

      • 253 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 21:41

        Me either. I think he’s a good chap overall, and he is humorous. Just a bit spicy, that’s all.

      • 254 PorterGirl March 14, 2014 at 08:32

        And you know he likes me really, I’m sure of it!

      • 255 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2014 at 18:00

        Oh, he definitely does!

  18. 256 Bethy March 12, 2014 at 13:40

    You know all those pictures are very familiar to me!
    And I somehow doubt that you are either bad or a rooster. I do think that you are silly though!
    I have always liked pirates…there’s something so interesting about them!

    • 257 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 14:36

      Now, why so?

      :lol: I think you could be right. Does that mean wicked or bad, Bethy?

      The professor is worse than blackbeard, you know.

      • 258 Bethy March 14, 2014 at 14:34

        erm. Not sure of the literal translation. I guess we should go with wicked because it’s more descriptive.

        Worse then blackbeard? Really? Does that mean that you’ve been to Amelia Island? I think he used to frequent one of the taverns there.

      • 259 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2014 at 18:04

        I like wicked better, too.

        Of course I have! I just can’t remember when…

      • 260 Bethy March 17, 2014 at 14:49

        ah ha. Well I probably would have forgotten too. I remember just sticking my head in that tavern and thinking it was not the place for a lady.
        I think our tour guide said it was the oldest still operating tavern in FL and they still want to allow smoking so they don’t serve food. (Restaurants in FL don’t allow smoking.)

      • 261 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 14:56

        I didn’t know that! I probably should have.

      • 262 Bethy March 17, 2014 at 15:45

        How would you know unless someone told you?

      • 263 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 22:27

        That’s a good point! :lol: See how dull I am?

      • 264 Bethy March 18, 2014 at 12:46

        I don’t think you are dull at all!

      • 265 Professor VJ Duke March 18, 2014 at 12:47

        Well, many thanks. I appreciate it. :D

      • 266 Bethy March 18, 2014 at 13:00

        welcome. :D
        It would be Punchalicioius if someone who wore a top hat were dull.

      • 267 Professor VJ Duke March 18, 2014 at 16:55

        I suppose that’s true. Never thought about it that way!

      • 268 Bethy March 18, 2014 at 18:32

        :D
        I know that from all the adjectives you’ve used to describe yourself (wicked, sweet, full of dadblamery, etc.) Punchalicioius hasn’t been one of them!

      • 269 Professor VJ Duke March 19, 2014 at 00:05

        It made me smile. I love being gardoobled, you know.

  19. 270 Jackie March 12, 2014 at 13:40

    The Professor appears to be rather cocky.

    • 271 Susan P March 12, 2014 at 13:52

      :lol:

    • 272 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 14:36

      :lol: Isn’t that the opposite of the professor?

      • 273 Jackie March 12, 2014 at 14:45

        As they say – looks can be deceiving. ;-)

      • 274 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 17:48

        Yes, yes, so true.

  20. 275 Susan P March 12, 2014 at 13:35

    Eu antes dizer que o professor é doce e mau. *The professor is sweet and wicked.

    • 276 Susan P March 12, 2014 at 13:37

      Wait…you are saying you are a rooster?

      • 277 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 14:35

        Well…maybe. Why? Is it bad to say? What’s it mean?

      • 278 Susan P March 12, 2014 at 16:16

        No, it’s not bad to say. But never call a woman a goat. In Portuguese.

      • 279 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 18:11

        Oh no, why not?

      • 280 Susan P March 13, 2014 at 18:27

        It’s the Portuguese version of the English appellation for a female dog.

      • 281 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 22:08

        Ooo…well, I wouldn’t know how, so I’d be safe. And then I’m rather sweet, too. :D

      • 282 Susan P March 13, 2014 at 22:31

        Watch those mamas. They think it’s great to have an American son-in-law.

      • 283 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2014 at 17:43

        Do they? :lol:

      • 284 Susan P March 15, 2014 at 01:20

        Yes, they do!

      • 285 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2014 at 17:07

        I definitely believe that. :D

      • 286 Susan P March 16, 2014 at 20:32

        It’s not been that long ago (as in several decades) that dating was an unknown activity. The whole family went along when sweethearts went for walks.

      • 287 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 14:25

        I like that way, I think. :)

      • 288 Susan P March 17, 2014 at 20:17

        There was an Italian movie we watched over in Portugal and they were doing just that. The couple walked at the head of the passeio and the rest of the family followed behind them.

      • 289 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 22:39

        The Godfather? :)

      • 290 Susan P March 19, 2014 at 16:59

        No. I don’t recall the title. It was interesting, though. Especially with the Italian conversation with Portuguese subtitles beneath. I learned a lot of Portuguese that way.

      • 291 Professor VJ Duke March 19, 2014 at 22:36

        That would be a good way to learn.

      • 292 Susan P March 20, 2014 at 15:38

        Italian is spelled differently from Portuguese but they sound very similar and I can understand some of it if they aren’t talking too fast.

      • 293 Professor VJ Duke March 20, 2014 at 22:34

        Coolio!!! I didn’t know that. Wowawee. You speak Italian, too. I’ve been trying to learn that for centuries.

      • 294 Susan P March 20, 2014 at 23:15

        No, I don’t speak Italian. I can hear it, though.

      • 295 Professor VJ Duke March 21, 2014 at 02:17

        That’s so cool.

      • 296 Susan P March 22, 2014 at 20:15

        Especially when it’s water ice.

      • 297 Professor VJ Duke March 24, 2014 at 13:22

        Haha.

      • 298 Susan P March 24, 2014 at 16:35

        :D

    • 299 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 14:34

      :lol: Aw, come on! That’s only half true. I am going to write it down, though.

      • 300 Susan P March 12, 2014 at 16:15

        You do that. I’ve heard that women like their men to be a little wicked. Just a little, mind you. No meth labs under the house or anything.

      • 301 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2014 at 18:10

        But professorish wicked!

      • 302 Susan P March 13, 2014 at 18:32

        Some of us prefer professorish instigator types. Others prefer someone like Rhett Butler.

      • 303 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2014 at 22:08

        I must say, the professor would have had to punch him–just once! And Scarlett, for that matter.

      • 304 Susan P March 14, 2014 at 02:36

        Now then, Professor. Gentlemen do not punch ladies. And if I recall correctly, Rhett had the last word.

      • 305 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2014 at 17:57

        He did, but is Scarlett a lady?

      • 306 Susan P March 15, 2014 at 01:31

        Was Hester Prynne?

      • 307 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2014 at 17:11

        Hmm…good question. Yes, I think so. Wasn’t she sorry about it?

      • 308 Susan P March 16, 2014 at 20:42

        Do you mean she repented? I think she did. But that minister did not.

      • 309 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 14:41

        Really? I can’t remember. He was quite wicked, then.

      • 310 Susan P March 17, 2014 at 20:39

        He got busted. Eventually.

      • 311 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2014 at 22:47

        I remember that. It was a good book. I felt bad for the little girl.


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,871 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,390 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


