PL Reporter–5thE

PL Reporter

5th Edition
2 2014

~~~

Segment A
Punchy Proverbs

PP's

All proverbs are written by V. Shnodgrate, unless noted otherwise.

“NOTED OTHERWISE”

1. If you ain’t ever killed something, you ain’t ever lived. ~ Manly-Man

2. Everyone’s stupid. Just know that and you’ll be better off in life. ~ Albuquerque

3. Always pick the turtle that races the fastest. ~ Professor VJ Duke

Favorites? The first two are very insulting. I’m insulted. The third one is the sure bet, for sure.

~~~

Segment B
Severe Weather Report

weather

A severe drought has descended upon Prince Beef’s palace. We figure it’ll look like this in a few days if the rain doesn’t come soon:

dreamstime_19174370

~~~

Segment C
Featured Story: Smiles Riot and Frankie S.
by J. Freedwoppen

Renowned convict Smiles Riot has teamed up with Frankie S. The two have been seen together on numerous occasions.

It is assumed they’re planning some sort of robbery.

But that’s just a theory.

Professor VJ Duke has set off after them.

And so has Mark Malone.

~~~

Segment D
MicP Studios—Behind the Scenes
by Nicholas Warren

The Professor and I, and Mic, were all brainstorming. We thought and thought and thought. But nothing came. I don’t know what we were waiting for. I don’t even know why we were brainstorming. But we were. I think we wanted to figure out something new to produce.

It was the Professor’s idea.

He always wants to figure out something new to do. I think he gets tired of normal very quickly. So he dragged us together and made us sit in a cold basement to think. And we did it for hours.

Finally, it happened.

Nothing came.

~~~

Segment E
A Conversation

DANIEL H: Don’t you think it’s always great to drink?
MR. RATHERQUITE: Drink? Drink what, sir? And drink where?
DANIEL H: At parties. Everybody’s so annoying that you just drink to get rid of them all.
MR. RATHERQUITE: Sir! That is a very dirty thing to do. What would the ladies say?
DANIEL H: That’s why you drink. So you don’t have to hear what they say.
MR. RATHERQUITE: I’m cofounded!!!

~~~

Questions for Nicholas Warren? Comment here!
Need more information on any PL topic? Comment below to J. Freedwoppen!
Copyright 2014

192 Responses to “PL Reporter–5thE”


  1. 1 erinkenobi2893 June 6, 2014 at 14:23

    I like the third proverb. ;-)
    Oh, and Prince Beef is not nice. I don’t like him. So he deserves whatever he gets… though I think it would be funnier if he were flooded. :-P
    Also, Mr. Ratherquite is a snob.

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke June 8, 2014 at 14:57

      No, Prince Beef isn’t too nice at all. His wife is nicer. You might like her.

      How do you know?

      • 3 erinkenobi2893 June 9, 2014 at 16:07

        I have not met his wife yet! I would like to meet her, though. :-)
        He’s just snooty! He should be more worried about his own conduct than what the ladies would think of it. That’s true good form. ;-)

      • 4 Professor VJ Duke June 9, 2014 at 20:55

        She’s nice. Great, that’s her name, I think.

        It is, but he’s a bit silly in the head.

      • 5 erinkenobi2893 June 10, 2014 at 12:17

        Ah. :-)
        Probably he is. Maybe he thinks he is Mr. Darcy?

      • 6 Professor VJ Duke June 10, 2014 at 13:52

        I bet he does think he’s a great gentleman!

      • 7 erinkenobi2893 June 10, 2014 at 21:14

        He probably does… while he’s going around snobbing everyone. The hypocrite.

      • 8 Professor VJ Duke June 11, 2014 at 13:05

        He needs a few pies in the face, though he’d probably challenge you to a duel for it.

      • 9 erinkenobi2893 June 11, 2014 at 17:22

        Probably. :-P If he would fight a lady at all. :-P

      • 10 Professor VJ Duke June 11, 2014 at 21:26

        Good point. He probably would refuse. But I’m sure you’d dispatch him!

      • 11 erinkenobi2893 June 12, 2014 at 11:24

        Most likely. ;-P

  2. 12 Hazy June 5, 2014 at 13:14

    Haha, 2 is true. It makes me feel a bit better that I’m not the stupidest of all. Someone else could be. *grins mischievously*

    Oooh. A heist, perhaps? Interesting. Glad to hear about Smiles Riot again, though I’m not sure I should be glad he’s planning to steal something again.

    Brainstorming block, that is, I think. Y’all will get over it soon after nothing comes three times. Or so I’ve heard.

    That conversation between Mr. R and Daniel was fun! I’m confounded! haha

    • 13 Professor VJ Duke June 5, 2014 at 14:28

      *laughing* Of course you’re not! The Hazy mind is not stupid at all!

      He’s rather innocent, I think. He’s a nice fellow.

      I hope so! It is a dadblame dadblamery!

      Yes, me too! I think Daniel likes to be rude.

      • 14 Hazy June 9, 2014 at 11:49

        Aww, thanks, Professor sir! *curtsys* (because the Hazy mind is a bit close to the Professorish mind, yes?)

        *nods* I do like Smiles. He’s interesting. I think he’s mostly misunderstood by others in the PL.

        Why do you suppose Daniel likes to be rude? Though I must admit, it’s kinda fun to bait Mr. R. His reactions can be priceless.

      • 15 Professor VJ Duke June 9, 2014 at 13:37

        *bows professorishly* (I would say so, yes!)

        That’s exactly what’s up. I must change that somehow.

        I think that’s the exact reason! He likes to bait Mr. R. And I must admit, so do I!

      • 16 Hazy June 10, 2014 at 11:58

        How about going on some kind of excursion with Smiles,perhaps? To get to know him better (or something like that)

        *nods* Mr. R is so baitable!

      • 17 Professor VJ Duke June 10, 2014 at 13:50

        Yes, maybe you’re right. Like a…vacation?

      • 18 Hazy June 12, 2014 at 13:48

        Sure! Or a day trip, like camping or a field trip, maybe.

      • 19 Professor VJ Duke June 12, 2014 at 14:27

        Good point. I should do this.

      • 20 Hazy June 13, 2014 at 12:19

        Yes, you probably should! It would make a good anecdote.

      • 21 Professor VJ Duke June 13, 2014 at 17:08

        You’re right! Thank you for the suggestion!

  3. 22 Jackie June 3, 2014 at 14:36

    Proverb #3 is the winner!

    • 23 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 18:39

      Thank you, Jackie!

  4. 24 Bethy June 3, 2014 at 10:48

    I am a fan of the third proverb!

    • 25 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 12:32

      *smiles proudly* I came up with that one–without any help!

      • 26 Bethy June 3, 2014 at 18:36

        awesomesauce!

      • 27 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 18:48

        *laughing lots* That sounds like a Princess word!

      • 28 Bethy June 4, 2014 at 14:02

        haha! Nope. One of my friends that has a boy around the Princess’ age.

      • 29 Professor VJ Duke June 4, 2014 at 18:36

        Oh, rats and a heifer! Maybe I was close.

      • 30 Bethy June 5, 2014 at 10:32

        Well of course you were close! It is usually used in talking to the Princess!

      • 31 Professor VJ Duke June 5, 2014 at 14:20

        And I’m sure she likes it!

      • 32 Bethy June 9, 2014 at 10:30

        I think so. It reminds her of her bestest buddy, so I would safely guess yes. *smile*

      • 33 Professor VJ Duke June 9, 2014 at 13:30

        *laughing* Now that does make sense, I think.

  5. 34 Catherine June 3, 2014 at 02:07

    I’d agree with the professor- the first two ARE rather insulting…but the third one’s good advice!

    • 35 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 12:32

      It is! Would you race turtles, Catherine?

      • 36 Catherine June 3, 2014 at 17:35

        Probably! Never done it before, though.

      • 37 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 18:46

        Yes, me neither. But I think it might be fun.

      • 38 Catherine June 4, 2014 at 02:41

        Especially if the turtle is somewhat of the competitive nature. A slow turtle wouldn’t be as fun.

      • 39 Professor VJ Duke June 4, 2014 at 12:47

        That’s true. You’d have to plod it along.

  6. 40 bardictale June 2, 2014 at 22:09

    The best of luck, professor. Do not forget the second proverb!

    • 41 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 12:31

      Do you like it?

      • 42 bardictale June 3, 2014 at 13:25

        Indeed I do. It’s a proverb about perspective.

      • 43 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 18:37

        It is…it confuses me, you know.

      • 44 bardictale June 4, 2014 at 17:48

        Why?

      • 45 Professor VJ Duke June 4, 2014 at 18:48

        Well, can it be true?

      • 46 bardictale June 4, 2014 at 20:20

        Of course it can! Truth is a fluid concept in this day and age, as is stupidity.

      • 47 Professor VJ Duke June 5, 2014 at 14:11

        Bard, you always set my mind right. It’s true.

  7. 48 PorterGirl June 2, 2014 at 20:26

    Ah! The Monday proverbs, fantastic :) Well, it’s always good to hear from MM but I’m not sure I can totally agree… Number two has it’s merits but again, hmm… Which means yours wins hands down Professor! Hurrah :)

    Good to see Smiles out and about, I do adore him – even if he is insane.

    Loving the behind the scenes – how annoying no fabulous ideas emerged. Did you have enough food to nibble on whilst you were there? Try it again with sandwiches – I bet all manner of genius will occur!

    Mr R is brilliant! But I bet his parties are rather dull.

    • 49 Jazzy Couldren June 2, 2014 at 21:03

      :} I’s think it’s good…

      • 50 PorterGirl June 2, 2014 at 21:08

        It’s a fabulous attempt, certainly ;)

      • 51 Jazzy Couldren June 3, 2014 at 19:21

        I’s don’t know if I done likes to consider it an attempt…

    • 52 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 12:30

      *smiles proudly* I do win and it’s a wonder! Thank you, Lucy.

      He is a sweet chap. I’ll try to save him, you know.

      We didn’t have food at all! What a mistake! You’re right, Lucy. We’ll do it with sandwiches and something to drink for sure.

      You know, he never throws them. I think he just shows up uninvited at other parties.

      • 53 PorterGirl June 3, 2014 at 13:08

        I’m right about the sandwiches, I am sure of it ;)

        How rude, to just show up at other people’s parties and never throw one yourself. I bet The Ladies would like to throw a party :)

      • 54 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 18:35

        Yes, that’s very sensical. But what sort, would you say?

        Oh, I’m sure they would. But Mr. R would think it’s too much work, I think.

      • 55 PorterGirl June 3, 2014 at 19:59

        Oh, cucumber of course! Good for the brain. Or cheese and pickle :)

        How dull of Mr R!

      • 56 Professor VJ Duke June 4, 2014 at 12:46

        I’ve never had a cucumber one!!!!

      • 57 PorterGirl June 4, 2014 at 13:03

        Really? They are very popular here. Do try one :)

      • 58 Professor VJ Duke June 4, 2014 at 13:17

        Just cucumbers on it?

      • 59 PorterGirl June 4, 2014 at 14:43

        Sometimes a little mayonnaise or salad cream (salad cream is best), usually on white bread. It’s the only time I will eat white bread – for a classic cucumber sandwich!

      • 60 Professor VJ Duke June 4, 2014 at 18:40

        What’s salad cream? Sometimes my head is dull, you see.

      • 61 PorterGirl June 5, 2014 at 05:26

        It is a sort of dressing, kind of tangy and lighter than mayonnaise. It’s yummy!

      • 62 Professor VJ Duke June 5, 2014 at 14:19

        That sounds good! *wondering why he’s never heard of it*

      • 63 PorterGirl June 5, 2014 at 14:23

        I think it’s a British thing, you know. Should you visit these shores, I will make you sandwiches with it.

      • 64 Professor VJ Duke June 5, 2014 at 14:31

        Oh, I see. And I feel better. Yes, that’d be so fun! And thanks!

      • 65 PorterGirl June 5, 2014 at 14:43

        Anytime!

  8. 66 Julie Harris June 2, 2014 at 20:11

    Yes, proverb 1&2 are quite insulting! Like the Professor, I, too, get bored of things and like to change it up sometimes.

    • 67 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 12:29

      Yes! The same old is the same old, and must be dealt with in a timely fashion. Would you race turtles?

      • 68 Julie Harris June 3, 2014 at 13:07

        Perhaps racing a turtle is the only way I’d win!

      • 69 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 18:35

        *laughing lots* That’s an awesome comment.

  9. 70 Debbie June 2, 2014 at 19:44

    Oh, dear, it probably sounds awful, but I quite agree with #1. Of course, I’m not thinking of killing a human person, but really, one hasn’t lived if one hasn’t at least killed a bug. A spider. Perhaps a snake. Don’t you think? I mean, they’re everywhere!
    That said, the professor’s own proverb wins, hands down.
    The drought looks dry and awful. Maybe a rain dance is in order??

    • 71 Jazzy Couldren June 2, 2014 at 21:03

      You is smart. :}

    • 72 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 12:29

      Debbie! That is such an interesting take on it–and I agree. What a wonder. We should add wasp to that list. Those buggers need popped of at times, you know.

      I win! Now, you see, I think the professor is proud.

      *laughing* I think you’re right. Definitely a rain dance. But I do wonder how one’s done…

  10. 73 InfiniteZip June 2, 2014 at 15:31

    I’m betting on the turtle…is it a snapping turtle?

    • 74 Professor VJ Duke June 2, 2014 at 16:01

      It is! Aren’t they just spicy nice?

  11. 75 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 2, 2014 at 14:59

    Coming back to this…too much to sort!! Headed into a meeting. Fingers crossed, Duketh. This edition is….oh I’ll be back… *smiles*

    • 76 Professor VJ Duke June 2, 2014 at 16:01

      Have a great meeting, Audith! Oh dear… Now I”m nervous…

      • 77 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 2, 2014 at 17:42

        1. MM has a warped sense of reality, Duke. I’m scared for his gorilla, Big M.
        2. I must have met Alb this weekend, because he now thinks I’m stupid, as well. My guess is that he generalizes a lot and should consider taking a chill pill.
        3. Best wishes on choosing the right turtle. Drink heavily before doing so..I think it’ll help.
        I think V.S. should be left to the proverbs…

        Where’s Greta…she should tend to Prince Beef. *giggle* Sorry. Couldn’t help it.

        Smiles…well well well, I’m hoping you and Mark know what you’re doing. I think Smiles has edge and I like that, Duke. A robbery never ends well.

        Nick is as funny as Mic, Duke. *swoons* Then there’s Dean the Music Man…you surround yourself with awesomeness!! (This bit cracked me up!!)

        Daniel has been to many parties. Mr. R obviously has wisdom on his side. *smiles*

      • 78 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 12:26

        Haha! But…I bet Big M is just as fierce, wouldn’t you say?

        He does! You know Alb is a wicked sort of being.

        Drink? Drink what, madam? *laughing* Rats! And I thought I had a good one.

        Oh, she is. She has one of those cool clothes, you know. She handles it better than he does.

        Smiles is my cousin. He probably likes me, wouldn’t you say so?

        Hahaha! I’ve got a gifted studio, it’s true. And then there’s the useless professor.

        You should have splashed Daniel with your drink.

      • 79 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 3, 2014 at 16:53

        I suppose. I won’t worry then…

        I would have guessed as much, Duke.

        Whatever it is you need to drink in order to make your decision, Sir. *laughs* Pfft.

        Cool clothes? Tell me what that is… Does she? How? Explain yourself, Duke!

        Talks to me like he’s never met me before, how nice.

        Useless professor who is everthing.

        I’m too busy waiting to do it to you.

      • 80 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 18:42

        Yes, it would be silly to, I suppose.

        I need cherry juice for that, I’ll bet.

        I meant cloth! Rats. A cool cloth. Does that work?

        The professor is actually reminding himself. Sometimes I think he’s my nephew, you see.

        Everything dadblamerous!

        *laughing lots* How lovely! And wicked, mind you!

      • 81 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 3, 2014 at 19:31

        You need cherry juice for everything.

        Yes, that works.

        Yes, I know.

        *shakes her head in agreement*

        Someone should.

      • 82 Professor VJ Duke June 4, 2014 at 12:43

        Cherry juice is really goodly good.

        Someone should?

      • 83 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 4, 2014 at 17:09

        How about some cherry juice and a sit by the pool. It’s hot here…

        *pours this liquid on your head* It might have only been water… *smiles*

      • 84 Professor VJ Duke June 4, 2014 at 18:44

        It’s semi-hot hear, but no sun today. *sits by the pool* Thanks for asking!

        What liquid? My juice?

      • 85 Professor VJ Duke June 4, 2014 at 18:44

        It’s semi-hot hear, but no sun today. *sits by the pool* Thanks for asking!

        What liquid? My juice?

      • 86 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 4, 2014 at 20:12

        Isn’t it nice… *hands you sunscreen and switches your blue sunglass for these red ones*

        No, my water…this is your juice. *watches it slide down your face*

      • 87 Professor VJ Duke June 5, 2014 at 14:09

        I don’t like sunscreen. It smells funny. It smells like the ocean or a pool. Ah, such memories! Nice, and thanks. *dons the glasses*

        You’re picking on me!

      • 88 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 5, 2014 at 15:50

        Well the pool smell is already here…look around you’re sitting in it. *sips out of her red straw*

        I am!!

      • 89 Professor VJ Duke June 5, 2014 at 19:41

        Red straw…I need one!

        *jumps in the pool*

      • 90 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 6, 2014 at 00:14

        *hands you a cool beverage with an katana umbrella and red straw* You’re favorite..orange juice.

        *laughs at the big splash* *hopes he remembers to stand up because he can’t swim*

      • 91 Professor VJ Duke June 6, 2014 at 13:46

        *laughing lots* Orange juice? How…perfect! Many thanks.

        Oh, I can swim in pool…sometimes. I’m not very good at it. And I don’t make big splashes!

      • 92 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 6, 2014 at 14:37

        Well, we could ask the neighbors for their rum, if you prefer. *looks over the fence*

        Then I can take this whistle off? I’m glad I don’t have to worry too much about you sinking to the bottom. *laughs* OH! That wasn’t a cannonball you just did? *giggle*

      • 93 Professor VJ Duke June 8, 2014 at 14:59

        Rum? Well… Oh dear… Well…

        What’s a cannonball?

      • 94 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 9, 2014 at 04:07

        A bad idea.

        Haven’t you ever done one? You must have… Running and jumping into the pool while grabbing both knees into your arms so you look like a cannonball…? Seriously?

      • 95 Professor VJ Duke June 9, 2014 at 13:26

        *feared you found his stash in his suitcase*

        Umm…no! I’d bang my head on the pool floor, I know I would!

      • 96 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 9, 2014 at 14:06

        *laughs a lotta* *holds up both bottles and the flask* You really shouldn’t fly with rum in your suit pocket.

        You go in feet first, Duke! Head first…now you really worry me. You are willing to try anything, aren’t you? No normal person would try head first, but I suppose with your jumping ability the only way for you to stay entertained is to try things the hard way…first. Then if you survive try the other way just for fun.

      • 97 Professor VJ Duke June 9, 2014 at 20:44

        Well…no one was supposed to know, dadblameit!

        Hmm…I think you were talking about the tree… Oh well. I’ll just throw little missiles in the pool.

      • 98 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 10, 2014 at 00:48

        You hide yourself better than your rum, I’m afaid. *laughs*

        Hmm…? Was I? The tree and the ball moment? That’s not very nice of you…look at Charlie! He’s diving off the waterfall!

      • 99 Professor VJ Duke June 10, 2014 at 13:40

        *laughs*

        What a slug! Dadblame him.

      • 100 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 10, 2014 at 14:47

        You just don’t like how graceful he is… You are mean to Charlie.

      • 101 Professor VJ Duke June 10, 2014 at 18:42

        Slugs aren’t graceful!

      • 102 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 10, 2014 at 20:51

        But they slide so well…

      • 103 Professor VJ Duke June 11, 2014 at 12:55

        On their…mucous…. Yucketh!

      • 104 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 11, 2014 at 14:12

        Gag! Why’d you bring that up? Gross, growdie, yick!

      • 105 Professor VJ Duke June 11, 2014 at 21:14

        Well, it’s true. Kinda worm-like. Have you ever picked a worm up?

      • 106 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 12, 2014 at 03:17

        Of course I have….have you? Do you think me that girly, Duketh?

      • 107 Professor VJ Duke June 12, 2014 at 14:10

        They’re kinda a slimy, too. I was just wondering. Yes, I have.

      • 108 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 12, 2014 at 18:31

        They are gross, but I do like to watch them dig around.

      • 109 Professor VJ Duke June 12, 2014 at 22:48

        They are just…sweet!

      • 110 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister June 13, 2014 at 02:55

        *laughs*

      • 111 Professor VJ Duke June 4, 2014 at 18:45

        *sits by the pool* Thanks, Audith. Kinda hot here, but no sun.

        Goodness! Was it my juice?

  12. 112 Doug Thomas June 2, 2014 at 14:51

    Manly-Man’s saying definitely speaks buckets about him….!

    • 113 Professor VJ Duke June 2, 2014 at 16:01

      I know, right? He should be feared!

  13. 114 FictionFan June 2, 2014 at 14:39

    Well, proverb 1 kinda proves the partial truth of proverb no 2…but I’ll go with 3 just because it’s the Professor’s.

    Ooh…the Professor and MM2 teaming up to fight crime? Exciting!! Or…are the two of you planning on joining Smiles’ gang…?

    A question for Nick – do Mic and the Professor bear an uncanny resemblance to each other?

    Hmm… Daniel’s just plummeted down the league table of FF’s favourites…oh, my!

    • 115 Professor VJ Duke June 2, 2014 at 16:01

      *smiles bigly big* It’s nice to win such competitions. Maybe I cheated just a bit.

      No! We’re going to stop them, actually. Isn’t that better?

      I’ll make sure he sees that. But I don’t like it one bit, madam!

      No! But why?

      • 116 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member June 2, 2014 at 16:59

        To answer the question… I’m not really sure what to say. If they look alike, I don’t think I would really notice it. And if they didn’t, I’m not sure I would notice it.
        I notice things, but not this thing.

        You know what I mean?

      • 117 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 12:24

        I think I know exactly what you mean, Mr. Book.

    • 118 Jazzy Couldren June 2, 2014 at 17:19

      I doesn’t like your attitude. You know I done be telling the truth. :}

  14. 119 technophile9 June 2, 2014 at 14:28

    The first proverb is just plain wrong, and the second is kinda pessimistic, so third by process of elimination. It seems to me that you purposefully chose two other bad proverbs so your one would be the best. ;)

    It’s pretty hot most places I would say.

    How did Smiles Riot end up so insane? Or perhaps we’re the ones who are insane and he is the only normal person. o_O

    Maybe you should have made some mind maps – that could have helped.

    Poor Mr. Ratherquite, so cofounded! XD

    • 120 Professor VJ Duke June 2, 2014 at 15:59

      *smiling proudly* I win, then. Aren’t you proud of me?

      Yes, I would agree. What a pity.

      Oh no! He’s insane. You see, we all know the professor is sane, so that makes him insane. I’m not sure. I think he was born like that.

      What are mind maps? Sounds neatio!

      He is! Was it wicked of Daniel?

      • 121 technophile9 June 2, 2014 at 16:56

        Do I have to say yes? ;)

        Mind maps are… well it’s hard to explain. Google it. :P

        A bit, but not too mean-spirited.

      • 122 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 12:23

        Well…I’ll take it as one! *smiles bigly*

        I see. There’ll very neatio.

        I agree. He just likes to stir the soup.

  15. 123 walt walker June 2, 2014 at 14:27

    Surprised to hear that nothing came of the basement think tank session. I always do my best work in dank, musty places. Maybe a bright spotlight and the old good cop / bad cop would get something out of them.

    • 124 Professor VJ Duke June 2, 2014 at 15:58

      Now, Walt! It wasn’t musty. Don’t frogs live in musty places? I’m sure you’d do better in the sun. Or is that too hot?

      • 125 walt walker June 2, 2014 at 23:48

        Professor, I fear my comment came across gardoubled. I wasn’t going for sarcasm. I’m afraid that’s how you might have taken it, and I can see why having re-read it. I was smiling innocently when I wrote it, not smarmily. I would never smarm the Professor!

        As for me, I do great in the sun and great in the dank. And when I get tired of one, I go for the other. Some of my best friends are frogs. And some others are humped mooses.

      • 126 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 12:31

        Oh no! I don’t think I took it that way, but it’s a wonder.

        *laughing* Humped mooses… Schwarz would know all about that. Now, do you prefer frogs or the mooses?

  16. 127 Lesley June 2, 2014 at 14:12

    Sometimes you think, and think, and think, and think….and then voila….wait, what did I want to say?

    • 128 Professor VJ Duke June 2, 2014 at 15:57

      *laughing* Oh, Lesley! You see the wonder of it all, huh?

      • 129 Lesley June 2, 2014 at 18:34

        I actually do! It’s funny how much gets done in a whole day of brain-storming :-P

      • 130 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 12:27

        It’s a wonder. My brain hurts at the end of it, you know.

      • 131 Lesley June 3, 2014 at 13:25

        I bet!

      • 132 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 18:39

        Sometimes I wish I could massage it.

      • 133 Lesley June 3, 2014 at 18:46

        Now how would you do that???

      • 134 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 18:50

        I think it’s impossible, huh?

      • 135 Lesley June 3, 2014 at 18:55

        Nope! Only possible in a morgue hehe…

      • 136 Professor VJ Duke June 4, 2014 at 12:40

        Haha! Very true, very true.

  17. 137 Susan P June 2, 2014 at 13:51

    Those first two proverbs are quite disturbing. And I thought that PVJ had learned his lesson where Smiles is concerned. I have to admit that Daniel H has a valid point there. Personally, I try to avoid parties. Why is Nick whining? It’s hot outside. A nice cold cellar is clearly in order.

    • 138 Professor VJ Duke June 2, 2014 at 15:57

      Yes, they are. So…that means you like mine the best!

      Smiles is my cousin, dadblameit!

      I love parties!

      Yes, I’m not sure why. You should complain to him, please.

      • 139 Susan P June 2, 2014 at 16:01

        Why should I do that?

      • 140 Professor VJ Duke June 2, 2014 at 16:03

        He deserves it!

      • 141 Susan P June 2, 2014 at 16:09

        You’re on. I will get there some time today.

      • 142 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 12:22

        *bows* Many professorish thanks.

      • 143 Susan P June 3, 2014 at 17:17

        I has done gone there – yesterday. Nick must be scared ’cause he didn’t get back to me. Either that or he’s out swimming.

      • 144 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 18:45

        He’s such a problem. I’ll go holler at him. I’m sure he’ll be around. I’m always floating about, you know.

      • 145 Susan P June 3, 2014 at 19:39

        I thought that all of you old men spent your afternoons sitting in the square and dozing.

      • 146 Professor VJ Duke June 4, 2014 at 12:44

        Who says the professor is old?

      • 147 Susan P June 4, 2014 at 21:22

        You’ve been spreading that rumor from the first time I met you. Though it was hard to tell much when you were wearing the green shrub.

      • 148 Professor VJ Duke June 5, 2014 at 14:15

        I spread a lot of great rumors, don’t I?

      • 149 Susan P June 5, 2014 at 15:46

        Mmmhmmm. MPD

      • 150 Professor VJ Duke June 5, 2014 at 19:38

        Is that a rumor?

      • 151 Susan P June 5, 2014 at 22:02

        I saw someone from the Sheriff’s office looking for you in the PL.

      • 152 Professor VJ Duke June 6, 2014 at 13:42

        Oh, who?

      • 153 Susan P June 10, 2014 at 00:31

        A friend of mine. She’s a Deputy. She misses nothing.

      • 154 Professor VJ Duke June 10, 2014 at 13:37

        I bet the professor could confuse her!

      • 155 Susan P June 10, 2014 at 21:00

        I would not bet on that. :)

      • 156 Professor VJ Duke June 11, 2014 at 13:01

        It was a test!

      • 157 Susan P June 11, 2014 at 13:09

        She grew up in Bavaria in an orphanage during WW2.

      • 158 Professor VJ Duke June 11, 2014 at 13:13

        Wowawee! But…

      • 159 Susan P June 11, 2014 at 13:25

        But what?

      • 160 Professor VJ Duke June 11, 2014 at 21:12

        But…the professor is powerful!

      • 161 Susan P June 12, 2014 at 00:28

        I done been telling him that for a lot of months. Does he pay any attention to me? Noooooooooooooo.

      • 162 Professor VJ Duke June 12, 2014 at 14:01

        You have? Well, maybe I change my mind, then!

      • 163 Susan P June 12, 2014 at 18:06

        Now I am confused. You are saying the Professor is NOT powerful?

      • 164 Professor VJ Duke June 12, 2014 at 22:43

        Well, rats! You have me in a corner, huh?

      • 165 Susan P June 13, 2014 at 01:39

        Unless there is MPD in play.

      • 166 Professor VJ Duke June 13, 2014 at 16:52

        You’re not supposed to say that!

      • 167 Susan P June 13, 2014 at 18:02

        *smacks head* I keep forgettin’.

      • 168 Professor VJ Duke June 15, 2014 at 18:16

        Yes, yes!

      • 169 Susan P June 15, 2014 at 23:55

        One of these days someone is going to fetch up in the Porter’s room.

      • 170 Professor VJ Duke June 16, 2014 at 16:40

        Hmm…not me.

      • 171 Susan P June 16, 2014 at 19:06

        I rather thing so.

      • 172 Professor VJ Duke June 16, 2014 at 22:44

        I don’t see why!

      • 173 Susan P June 16, 2014 at 23:42

        Because the sun rose up this morning.

      • 174 Professor VJ Duke June 17, 2014 at 12:48

        It usually does…

      • 175 Susan P June 20, 2014 at 20:05

        Except when it doesn’t.

      • 176 Professor VJ Duke June 21, 2014 at 16:14

        Spit-tooey!

      • 177 Susan P June 21, 2014 at 16:59

        *Watches in amazement as the professor hit the cuspidor perfectly in the center*

      • 178 Professor VJ Duke June 22, 2014 at 19:08

        *laughing* *proud face*

      • 179 Susan P June 22, 2014 at 19:31

        You are talented, that’s all I can say.

      • 180 Professor VJ Duke June 23, 2014 at 13:27

        *smiles* That’s very nice of you to say.

  18. 181 The Dancing Rider June 2, 2014 at 13:28

    Ha, ha, ha. Laughing! Authors of the first two proverbs deserve a well-aimed slap! I like the third one, Professor. :)

    Prince Beef’s palace looks like where we live – drought!

    I feel an episode re Smiles and his accomplice coming on. Why on earth did the Professor set out after them?! MM I can see … but … hope the Professor is careful!

    Smirk. Professor! You didn’t make everyone sit in a cold basement, did you? Trying to come up with ideas?! ;-) Apparently, the exercise was not fruitful! But then I don’t know what was being looked for! ;-)

    LAUGHING! Great conversation with Mr. R, and in exposing “the reason why”!

    • 182 Professor VJ Duke June 2, 2014 at 15:56

      Thanks, DR! Yes, talk about dadblamery in proverbs! That’s what happens when Shnodgrate takes off, you see.

      It is now! It also rains violently there, I hear.

      But isn’t the professor a warrior? *maybe a growl or two*

      Well, it’s a nice cool basement. A beautiful basement. Nick’s very mean, you see. Yes, and I did do it. And we did–finally!–get an idea!

      *laughing* Daniel and Mr. R…firworks!

      • 183 The Dancing Rider June 3, 2014 at 18:42

        Well of course the Professor is a warrior … but choose one’s battles carefully!

        LOL, “cool basement”! Ah, and good on that torture reaping an idea! :)

      • 184 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 18:50

        That’s true, it always pays to do that. Very good point, DR. You make a lot of good points, you know.

        Haha!

  19. 185 L. Marie June 2, 2014 at 13:07

    Number 3 is the sure bet, but I have to go with Manly-Man’s quote, because, well, it’s Manly-Man’s quote.

    It’s scary that Smiles Riot is still at large. I hope someone is investigating.

    I think you should do something with superheroes, since there are so many superhero movies made.

    • 186 Professor VJ Duke June 2, 2014 at 15:54

      I told him to come up with something rather wicked to say. It was wicked, too.

      Well, I am. And he’s my cousin, I think. You’d probably like him, you know.

      That is an excellent point, Linda! We’ll give it some thought. Do you have a favorite superhero movie?

      • 187 L. Marie June 3, 2014 at 12:22

        I love all of the Marvel movies and a couple of the ones based on DC characters. My favorites are The Avengers, The Dark Knight, Batman Begins, Iron Man (the first one), and X-Men: Days of Future Past.

      • 188 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 12:35

        Oh yeah! Awesome picks. Can’t wait to see the new X-Men. I’ll see what the studio can do! Thanks, Linda!

  20. 189 Simply Skeptical June 2, 2014 at 13:00

    So glad to get updated on Punchy Land News. How can one be sure to have the fastest of the slow turtles? Maybe the turtles should brainstorm; never know what may come of it. :-)

    • 190 Professor VJ Duke June 2, 2014 at 15:53

      Haha. Now, madam, don’t you call the professor a turtle! You do have a great point, though. I’m not sure how to tell the differences between turtles. Any ideas?

      • 191 Simply Skeptical June 2, 2014 at 19:41

        It all depends on their mood on any particular day. You know moods dictate a lot. :-)

      • 192 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2014 at 12:27

        The professor has a clear, even mood, you know.


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,873 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,165 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


