179 Responses to “THE PL Newsletter X”


  1. 1 erinkenobi2893 December 18, 2014 at 13:51

    Write about fighting the pirates! (Also, can I be a midshipman on board Schwarz’s flagship? Please? @_@ I’m bored and my “real” job is not very interesting. I’m getting paid for standing around with next to nothing to do most of the time.)
    Scintillating… It means shining or sparkling, like a disco ball. For instance, we love the Professor for his scintillating conversation! ;-)

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke December 18, 2014 at 20:17

      I need to! Pirates…that’d be awesome. Sure! Maybe we could do a story with that in the new year? You and Schwarz on the ship! With a crew, of course.

      *bows* Many thanks! Aha…still can’t pronounce it, though.

      • 3 erinkenobi2893 December 19, 2014 at 01:39

        Yes! :-D I need to finish up the poetry class one… get you to approve it, then post it… would that be an acceptable Christmas present? :-)

      • 4 Professor VJ Duke December 19, 2014 at 15:42

        Sure would! Would it be okay to come out in the new year, though? We’re on break till then!

      • 5 erinkenobi2893 December 20, 2014 at 16:14

        That would be good. :-)

  2. 6 Me, Myself and DIY November 26, 2014 at 18:59

    #1. I’m late to this post. But it was worth waiting for. ;)

    • 7 Professor VJ Duke November 26, 2014 at 20:48

      It’s always best to be late, don’t you think?

      • 8 Me, Myself and DIY November 26, 2014 at 21:04

        Not always but sometimes yes

      • 9 Professor VJ Duke November 30, 2014 at 19:41

        That’s a good point.

  3. 10 Catherine November 26, 2014 at 17:33

    Oh, my. The proverbs are all rather more confusing than usual this week, but I think that means they are very wise and profound. I think I like number 1 – I’ve found it to be true from personal experience.

    So Sandra WAS in the tower…I always had a suspicion, you know. A small one.

    And I think Mr. Magi might have a hard time…I know I would if I had to choose between pickles!

    • 11 Professor VJ Duke November 26, 2014 at 20:42

      I think I’ll choose that one, too. It’s safe to go with what Catherine chooses, you know.

      But you were right. Would you like to go up there?

      Yes, me too. It’s so dadblame hard.

      • 12 Catherine November 30, 2014 at 00:41

        Aw, I’m honoured. :)

        If there’s a way to get down! It looks a little…dangerous. And small. And I don’t see any stairs.

      • 13 Professor VJ Duke November 30, 2014 at 19:59

        *bows*

        We’d have to use a rope! How good are you at climbing up a stiff tower?

      • 14 Catherine December 2, 2014 at 04:46

        Well, I’ve never really…tried…so I hope I’m able to do it!

      • 15 Professor VJ Duke December 2, 2014 at 20:13

        I’m sure you will be able to! You could train first: do 10 pull-ups a day.

      • 16 Catherine December 4, 2014 at 04:35

        Oh, dear. Pull-ups? I’m starting to wonder if it’s really worth it…

      • 17 Professor VJ Duke December 4, 2014 at 19:13

        *laughs* Daunting, isn’t it?

      • 18 Catherine December 6, 2014 at 23:56

        Very! But maybe I could start small, like with one pull-up a day, and then slowly (very slowly) work my way up to ten.

        But that might take a while, and by that time the tower may have crumbled.

      • 19 Professor VJ Duke December 8, 2014 at 14:29

        Yes! Do it, and let me know how it fares. Well, I’ll keep watch on the tower. It might just sag a bit is all.

      • 20 Catherine December 10, 2014 at 02:44

        Let’s hope that’s the worst that will happen during the years I’ll be training!

      • 21 Professor VJ Duke December 10, 2014 at 15:24

        Yes, let’s hope. I won’t let any catapults near it.

      • 22 Catherine December 13, 2014 at 16:39

        Good idea. Catapults would definitely destroy it.

      • 23 Professor VJ Duke December 13, 2014 at 18:13

        And I’ve always wanted to fire one.

      • 24 Catherine December 16, 2014 at 21:54

        …I think now would not be the best time to try, what with us trying to preserve the tower and all. But after I learn pull-ups, you can fire a catapult.

      • 25 Professor VJ Duke December 17, 2014 at 14:55

        Okay! How’s it going?

      • 26 Catherine December 22, 2014 at 03:50

        I..haven’t…really…started yet *nervous laughter*. It’s a process. I’m still trying to mentally prepare myself.

      • 27 Professor VJ Duke December 23, 2014 at 19:00

        I know exactly what you mean!

      • 28 Catherine December 25, 2014 at 14:53

        Maybe it will be my New Year’s Resolution. then I can push it off even more.

      • 29 Professor VJ Duke December 26, 2014 at 15:41

        *laughing* You do have a point there.

      • 30 Catherine December 31, 2014 at 04:48

        …and then, since I always forget about New Year’s Resolutions, I might not even get to it at all!

      • 31 Professor VJ Duke January 1, 2015 at 20:38

        This is not acceptable, madam!

      • 32 Catherine January 8, 2015 at 04:46

        *laughing* I’ll try my best to remember, don’t worry!

      • 33 Professor VJ Duke January 8, 2015 at 13:14

        *skeptical eye*

      • 34 Catherine January 17, 2015 at 21:50

        I did one pull-up yesterday! So there! Now I just need to get better… (I wasn’t ever notified of this comment! I’m terribly sorry!)

      • 35 Professor VJ Duke January 18, 2015 at 02:14

        Don’t worry about it! Wow!!!! Awesome job. *high-five* They’re hard, huh?

      • 36 Catherine January 20, 2015 at 03:48

        *high fives back* YES! *laughs* I’m still sore.

      • 37 Professor VJ Duke January 20, 2015 at 13:08

        I’m so proud of you, though. I hate them with fierce passion.

      • 38 Catherine January 22, 2015 at 02:26

        *beams* aww, thanks. And I do too! They’re killer.

      • 39 Professor VJ Duke January 23, 2015 at 02:36

        They are! (I think it’s probably easier for guys–which says even more for you!)

      • 40 Catherine February 3, 2015 at 03:02

        Well, I do feel rather proud of myself now! Have you got around to doing any?

      • 41 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:19

        Well, Catherine, I’ve been doing them everyday for some time now. *sore*

      • 42 Catherine February 6, 2015 at 04:19

        You have? Well, congratulations! (I did three on Monday and I’m sore too, but not as sore as the professor, probably.)

      • 43 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2015 at 04:07

        Well, once you do it for some time, your muscles get used to it. It smarts on the back, huh?

      • 44 Catherine February 9, 2015 at 03:24

        true – and that’s the one motivation I have (besides climbing that tower). Yes! Ouch.

      • 45 Professor VJ Duke February 9, 2015 at 22:34

        The tower! I remember. Glad you remember, too. Yeah…but I like when the muscles burn a bit!

      • 46 Catherine February 12, 2015 at 02:44

        It took a while, though. I’d almost completely forgotten why I had to do pull-ups! It feels nice – up to a point. And then it just hurts.

      • 47 Professor VJ Duke February 12, 2015 at 21:20

        *laughs* I know! Just do a couple after it starts to heart. Remember: burning means muscles are building, I think.

      • 48 Catherine February 20, 2015 at 02:43

        Yes! *smiles proudly* I did five more!

      • 49 Professor VJ Duke February 21, 2015 at 20:01

        *high-five* That is tops!

  4. 50 Simply Skeptical November 25, 2014 at 00:29

    Well….? So, what’s YOUR favorite? Have you had time enough to decide? You first….. Professor you wouldn’t per chance have an interior picture of that tower room would you. I think it would be rather cold up there or hot depending on the season.

    • 51 Professor VJ Duke November 25, 2014 at 14:07

      Oh yes, I’m sure the temp in that room isn’t regulated too well. I’ll pick after you!

  5. 52 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister November 24, 2014 at 20:44

    Hi, Duke. Proverb #3 for me please with a side of eggs on my face. Shnoddy’s proverbs are all spot on. I had to resist claiming number 1 as my favorite. I believe nothing Mr. Innocent says, but he is always forgiven.

    Sandra and I could play chess together when I get up to the top of that building.

    My Magi is only hunting the perfect pickle so he can kill it for me and slowly rid the earth of the foulest fake vegetable ever created.

    You know I love pirates! How fun for you guys.

    Scintillating doesn’t even begin to describe how warm water feels after playing in the snow.

    • 53 Professor VJ Duke November 24, 2014 at 22:13

      Eggs on your face? You can’t be serious, madam!

      I bet you’d win. Are you good at chess?

      *laughs* You don’t like cucumbers?!

      I’m not going, dadblameit!!!!!

      It thaws then?

      • 54 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister November 25, 2014 at 02:46

        I was being very serious, Sir!

        Isn’t she going to medical school? I don’t stand a chance. No, but I can stand my ground for awhile. Are you? We’ve discussed this before…

        I love cucumbers. I loathe pickles. Mostly warm pickles found on sandwiches, but in general…say no way to the pickle.

        What??????? Why are you yelling at me and cursing???? Why not????

        Indeed it is so

      • 55 Professor VJ Duke November 25, 2014 at 14:12

        Well, over easy eggs?

        She sure is! I know we have. *laughs* Just seeing if you remember. I’d like to catch you once, you know. Well…I’m somewhat good–when I can cheat.

        You give them a bad rap! they’re just flavored cucumbers!

        Dadblameit, dadblameit, dadblameit!

        Well, that’s a good thing…to thaw. Unless one’s brain is frozen.

      • 56 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister November 26, 2014 at 06:02

        No. The kind that are thrown at someone. Raw.

        I remember everything, Duketh. I remember you. You wouldn’t let me cheat, so you shouldn’t either.

        umm…they do not taste like cucumbers. I can’t believe you like them!!

        Cursing!!?! Is left to those who can’t think of the right intelligent words to form…or done elegantly by wicked professors. Or by Audrey.

        like your heart.

      • 57 Professor VJ Duke November 26, 2014 at 14:07

        That might be fun. But, still, not sure why you want them thrown at you, you know.

        Good point. Well, then, I can’t cheat. Rats.

        Pickles are harmless, if you treat them nicely.

        The first reason, that’s for me. *hangs head*

        Some say it was frozen before it was cut out.

      • 58 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister November 26, 2014 at 16:49

        Isn’t that what is done to the person who deserves punishment for being a fool?

        You should sign a document and add it to your chess game, so your opponent knows.

        Can’t think of one way to treat a pickle nicely.

        Hate that.

        Yes, but I think you have to get that fixed.

      • 59 Professor VJ Duke November 26, 2014 at 20:34

        But you’re not a fool, so you can’t have any.

        *crosses arms and huffs*

        Pet it?

        *laughs*

        No!

      • 60 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister November 26, 2014 at 22:25

        You’re denying me eggs? I am the fool. Proven, already, however I can still stand.

        Shall I make sure Nick checks? Do it… *wink*

        I shan’t! ! Ewwww!! Yucketh!!

        I don’t find that funny, Mister.

        Yes! Yep. Yes!

      • 61 Professor VJ Duke November 30, 2014 at 19:45

        It was not proven!

        No, he’s such an apple.

        *laughing lots*

        *stops laughing*

        It’s died.

      • 62 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 1, 2014 at 04:15

        ‘Tis! I will fight you on this all day. I packed a lunch.

        An apple…do you think he likes being fruit?

        *whimper*

        *sad face*

        And lost.

      • 63 Professor VJ Duke December 2, 2014 at 20:00

        Tis not!!!!!!!!!!!

        Probably not, but I don’t care!

        In the Land of the Lost.

      • 64 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 3, 2014 at 03:53

        Tis!!!! Tis!!!! Tis!!! (We’re fighting, you know.)

        How mean of you, Duketh.

        Have you ever been there? I’d like to go. Will you take me…I’m bored.

      • 65 Professor VJ Duke December 3, 2014 at 15:44

        We are? Naw…squabbling!

        I am mean, unrepentantly.

        I have been there. There’s battles there…would you still like to go?

      • 66 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 3, 2014 at 22:04

        Yes, a squabble…about time I wrote one of those.

        You should repent.

        I think I would, Duke.

      • 67 Professor VJ Duke December 4, 2014 at 19:04

        You should. I’d have to be in it.

        Why?

        But…there’s blue tanks.

      • 68 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 5, 2014 at 02:46

        But you’re always in them. *sparkles*

        Seemed like the right turn to make, I suppose.

        No red tanks? Could you make them red tanks? I will still go with you, Duke. I have my backpack and flashlight. *smiles*

      • 69 Professor VJ Duke December 6, 2014 at 20:02

        Really? Aha! I sorta thought maybe it was possible…

        It was the left turn, dadblameit!

        No, I can’t sadly. There’s blue, tan, green, and gray!

      • 70 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 7, 2014 at 04:49

        Does that bother you? Sometimes I can’t help it. Most of the time, actually… I’m not sure how a squabble would go if you had the control over his lines. My guess is I’d be swimming with sharks. And eaten.

        Right would be quicker…less traffic, you know.

        Dang.

      • 71 Professor VJ Duke December 8, 2014 at 14:34

        It does not! It’s very…I’m honored, actually. We would be swimming with the sharks, yes, but you wouldn’t get eaten! We’d kill the whole lot!

        Let’s do it, then.

        Yes! I agree. You don’t know how many times I’ve wished for a “red army”. It’s actually a real computer game I used to play, long time ago.

      • 72 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 8, 2014 at 19:59

        Honored…thank you for saying so, Duketh. Yeah, I knew sharks would be involved. I’m okay with that, but I’ll be a weak link and could possibly die. Prove it. *smiles*

        Okay, go first, please.

        Oh! What was it called?

      • 73 Professor VJ Duke December 8, 2014 at 21:15

        *smiles bigly* You will not! *hands Audith a axe* There you go. That’ll fetch them. Now, you do it. Kill them all.

        *goes*

        It was called Army Men World War.

      • 74 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 9, 2014 at 02:54

        *sparkles brightly* *spins it like a baton and dios her toe in the cold watet* ….but I don’t want to swim in bloody waters. *hides her eyes* No way, I’m going to kill them, Duke. Not even possible, you know. Far too girly for that sort of business.

        *passes you and speeds away*

        I’ve not heard of it.

      • 75 Professor VJ Duke December 9, 2014 at 21:31

        Well, then, we should give up on it.

        I was tricked.

        It’s so old.

      • 76 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 9, 2014 at 21:51

        (I should give up typing on my phone too late at night, I think. *embarrassed face* Nice typos, Aud.) Give up? *shocked face*

        Excuses, I think.

        How old?

      • 77 Professor VJ Duke December 10, 2014 at 15:04

        *laughs* That’s okay. I make typos all the time. I should probably get a smartphone once upon a time.

        Always!

        Late 90’s? Old for a computer game.

      • 78 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 10, 2014 at 21:25

        I have to do so much from mine…I am often on my phone than a regular computer.

        Knew it!

        Haha… *jumps off a cliff*

      • 79 Professor VJ Duke December 11, 2014 at 19:07

        It makes sense.

        Oh no…why did you do that?

      • 80 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 11, 2014 at 22:45

        Multitasking has to be done some days. Get a smartphone…you have one, don’t lie.

        *smiles* Sigh. Felt right, I guess.

      • 81 Professor VJ Duke December 13, 2014 at 18:07

        Not lying. I just never though I needed one…

        Might be a hard landing…

      • 82 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 13, 2014 at 19:08

        Well, maybe you don’t, Duke…

        Yes, well, I’m used to that, so no worries.

      • 83 Professor VJ Duke December 15, 2014 at 03:54

        I don’t know…is yours pink?

        *laughs* Good one! *goes with her*

      • 84 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 15, 2014 at 06:23

        Pink? Seriously? No, Sir, it is not, thank you very much! Tis black. Do you want a pink one?

        *wonders if he expects her to catch him*

      • 85 Professor VJ Duke December 15, 2014 at 21:05

        No!!!! Black is awesome. It’s the best. Red and black.

        *nah*

      • 86 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 16, 2014 at 20:21

        Can you find one in red and black? Will you buy it?

        Sure?

      • 87 Professor VJ Duke December 17, 2014 at 14:52

        I don’t know! Should I?

        You couldn’t catch the professor!

      • 88 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 17, 2014 at 20:58

        Yes, make the phone your Christmas present to yourself. Then I can prank call you! *laughs*

        No, I couldn’t because you’re fast. But….I could find a way to distract you so I could come close.

      • 89 Professor VJ Duke December 18, 2014 at 03:33

        You probably wouldn’t even give me your number!

        That’s probably true. Plus, my knees are so wobbly.

      • 90 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 18, 2014 at 05:18

        Yes I would!

        You have wobbly knees? What have you done to your knees?

      • 91 Professor VJ Duke December 18, 2014 at 20:08

        You would??? *shocked face*

        Well…they’re kinda…well…nothing!

      • 92 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 18, 2014 at 23:03

        Yes *blank stare*

        Spill it! What? Tell me…

      • 93 Professor VJ Duke December 19, 2014 at 15:27

        Wow. Well, that’s awesome!

        It’s just that I don’t run as much as I used to.

      • 94 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 19, 2014 at 18:21

        That’s what you think!

        Me either…tennis seems to work for you, but again with the knees..

      • 95 Professor VJ Duke December 19, 2014 at 22:00

        Why? *nervous–the sudden*

        Well, when you get my age, you just start to fall apart. (Seriously, nothing wrong with my knees. Promise!)

      • 96 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 20, 2014 at 05:26

        No reason…just wanted to worry you a bit, but you won’t get the phone. Something tells me you’d rather defy phone advancement. *laughs*

        Such an old man, huh? (…..suspicious…. Your promises make me want to believe you, but I shan’t, I don’t think.)

      • 97 Professor VJ Duke December 20, 2014 at 15:29

        I think so…everyone is always buried in their phones! It’s a wonder. I was backstage once…and all the performers were staring at their phones! Of course I beat them all on the head.

        You think I’m an enigma, don’t you?

      • 98 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 20, 2014 at 18:27

        I try very hard not to be that person. I cannot stand a head buried in it’s phone. You know that you’ll have to get one at some point.

        Maybe. I know you better now, I think.

      • 99 Professor VJ Duke December 21, 2014 at 23:05

        I think it’s fine sometimes. I will?

        Rats.

      • 100 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister December 23, 2014 at 00:26

        Yes, but not when you could be talking to the people around you, I think. Of course.

        However, it doesn’t change anything.

  6. 101 masgautsen November 24, 2014 at 19:21

    As entertaining as always!

    • 102 Professor VJ Duke November 24, 2014 at 22:13

      *bows* Many thanks! How’ve you been?

  7. 103 desertdweller29 November 24, 2014 at 17:53

    Number 1 most definitely! But you probably knew I’d pick that after my rant on the publishing waiting game. I leave for a few months and come back to find Schwarz is now Commodore Schwarz? What ghastly things I have missed! You sure he is up for it?

    • 104 Professor VJ Duke November 24, 2014 at 22:12

      I don’t know for sure! Do you suppose he might be? I’m scared of it, you know.

  8. 105 L. Marie November 24, 2014 at 17:34

    I have to go with proverb 1. No. Wait. No, I’m going with number 1 unless I change my mind.
    Glad to know that Sandra is alive. I wonder who will win the chess game.
    Love the word scintillating. It’s so . . . scintillating.

    • 106 Professor VJ Duke November 24, 2014 at 22:12

      *laughs* That’s a good approach. I should try it sometime, if you don’t mind.

      I bet Sandra…don’t you?

      • 107 L. Marie November 25, 2014 at 14:26

        I’m thinking Daddy Salami will win, because he will cheat.

      • 108 Professor VJ Duke November 25, 2014 at 20:44

        *nods* He would try, but I bet Sandra will catch him!

  9. 109 FictionFan November 24, 2014 at 17:30

    Ooh! Commodore Schwarzy! I hope he gets a lovely uniform…

    • 110 Professor VJ Duke November 24, 2014 at 22:12

      It will be…dinky! (You look scintillating this evening, FEF. Hope I used that rightly right.)

      • 111 FictionFan November 25, 2014 at 00:44

        Ooh, Schwarzy in a dinky little uniform – with gold braid on the sleeves – I think I might die! *orders extra smelling salts*

        (*blushes and curtseys* Aww, thanks, C-W-W. It must be because I’m wearing my new red flamenco dress… Yes you used it rightly, of course, and feel free to use it often – but never to Amelia!!!!)

      • 112 Professor VJ Duke November 25, 2014 at 14:10

        And one of those hats, you know. With the feathers. Of course, we have to feel bad for the bird he stole those from, right?

        *laughs* Of course it is! I do love red, you know. I’ll try…but I fear it’s one of those words I can’t keep straight. I can’t spell it at all times, and I rather forget what it means the sudden.

      • 113 FictionFan November 25, 2014 at 17:46

        *swoons* He’ll look so sweet! Even sweeter than usual, which is barely possible! He’s so adorable the birds probably pulled their own feathers out to give to him…

        Just think of it as a synonym for FEF in future, and then you’ll remember… *preens modestly*

      • 114 Professor VJ Duke November 25, 2014 at 20:49

        Is Schwarz above Rafa on the list or below? Very curious, you know.

        What’s an antonym for FEF?

      • 115 FictionFan November 25, 2014 at 23:33

        Oh, Schwarzy without a doubt! I mean, Rafa might have amazing biceps, but does he sound adorable when he sings? *decides to mull that one over at more length later*

        I shall leave that to you to decide – choose carefully!

      • 116 Professor VJ Duke November 26, 2014 at 14:05

        *laughs* Fickle is a good synonym for FEF–I’ve come to this conclusion, the sudden.

        Umm…how about…Trex?

      • 117 FictionFan November 26, 2014 at 17:27

        I am so not fickle! I’m entirely loyal to the couple of dozen or so men that I adore!! Can I help it if they’re all scintillating? (You’re right – that is tricky to spell!)

        Well… I googled Trex and it seems to be some kind of wooden decking, so I’m not sure how flattered I feel by that…

      • 118 Professor VJ Duke November 26, 2014 at 20:41

        What if Schwarz suddenly gets jealous and refuses to sing for you?

        I meant T-Rex!!!!!!!! *laughing lots and lots and lots*

      • 119 FictionFan November 27, 2014 at 02:48

        *shocked into (temporary) silence*… *recovers the power of speech* He wouldn’t! He couldn’t! He wouldn’t!! He couldn’t!! He wouldn’t!!! He couldn’t!!! (This could go on for a while – you may want to go make yourself a cup of tea…)

        *laughing* Ah, that makes (marginally) more sense! But I think the answer is actually Amelia. *spits a bit*

      • 120 Professor VJ Duke November 30, 2014 at 19:54

        *laughing* But if I tell him about all the beaus you have…

        Yes…maybe…I mean, probably…but we better stick with T-Rex.

  10. 121 InfiniteZip November 24, 2014 at 16:56

    Number one most for sure!

    • 122 Professor VJ Duke November 24, 2014 at 22:11

      But are you definitely sure?

      • 123 InfiniteZip November 25, 2014 at 00:20

        Yes of course…why, do you think I am wrong perhaps? Now I am stymied….humph….

      • 124 Professor VJ Duke November 25, 2014 at 14:06

        You must admit, though, sometimes it’s fun to be stymied.

      • 125 InfiniteZip November 25, 2014 at 14:08

        Sometimes I visit stymie-Ville a lot…..I think they eat SPAM there too….what is it I wonder about meat in a can….

      • 126 Professor VJ Duke November 25, 2014 at 14:17

        *laughing* Are the people nice?

      • 127 InfiniteZip November 25, 2014 at 16:49

        of course….they eat SPAM after all and smoked SPAM is especially good.

      • 128 Professor VJ Duke November 25, 2014 at 20:46

        Ew! Is it?

      • 129 InfiniteZip November 25, 2014 at 21:52

        Surprisingly yes, very!!!

      • 130 Professor VJ Duke November 26, 2014 at 14:00

        *holds ears* Don’t believe it!

  11. 131 Jackie November 24, 2014 at 15:59

    #1 is my favorite. Everyone is waiting for something but in reality they are waiting for nothing.

    • 132 Professor VJ Duke November 24, 2014 at 22:11

      Hi Jackie!!!!!!!!! That’s a good point. A bit vexing, isn’t it?

      • 133 Jackie November 25, 2014 at 19:15

        It’s only vexing if you’re an idealist. For cynics like myself it comes as no surprise.

      • 134 Professor VJ Duke November 25, 2014 at 20:50

        *laughing* A cynic! That’s cool. How does one become a cynic?

      • 135 Jackie November 26, 2014 at 12:21

        I think it depends on your outlook and how you see the world. How do you see the world, Professor?

      • 136 Professor VJ Duke November 26, 2014 at 14:11

        I think it’s trying to attack me at all times.

      • 137 Jackie November 26, 2014 at 14:41

        I’d say that makes you a cynic!

      • 138 Professor VJ Duke November 26, 2014 at 20:32

        Nice! Like that guy from that rat movie.

  12. 139 John W. Howell November 24, 2014 at 15:43

    Number one is the best. My original. If one asks for something that is unreasonable it is reasonable for another to ask for something that is as unreasonable or ask for a reasonable something from the unreasonable one who asked in the first place.

    • 140 Professor VJ Duke November 24, 2014 at 22:10

      That is just brilliant! Should we use it next week?

      • 141 John W. Howell November 25, 2014 at 00:01

        If you wish.

      • 142 Professor VJ Duke November 25, 2014 at 14:04

        *bows* I’m very thankful to you, sir.

  13. 143 Angeline M November 24, 2014 at 15:38

    Proverb II is most interesting to me, for there is no Mr. Innocent, but did you know that there was a Pope Innocent? From what I can gather on Wiki, there were Pope Innocents the I, III, and VIII; what happened to II, IV, V, VI, and VII? Now there is something the Professor can sink his teeth into.
    Were Sandra and DS eating pickles as they played chess? Better to keep an eye on her or she will next be sailing off with the Commodore. It will be hard waiting to find out what happens to her.

    • 144 Professor VJ Duke November 24, 2014 at 22:10

      *laughing* Aha! Do you suppose they were pirated away?

      I know. She seems not to take care of herself, huh?

  14. 145 walt walker November 24, 2014 at 15:29

    Number 1 is the correct best choice. Pirates…that should make for some excitement! I hope at some point there will be a mighty cannonade across someone’s broadside.

    • 146 Professor VJ Duke November 24, 2014 at 22:09

      *laughing lots* I bet Mr. R’s broadside wouldn’t count, would it?

      • 147 walt walker November 24, 2014 at 22:41

        I guess it depends how broad his side is?

      • 148 Professor VJ Duke November 25, 2014 at 14:03

        *laughing* Now…I probably shouldn’t say too much. He’d get real mad.

  15. 149 Susan P November 24, 2014 at 15:18

    I’m with Lady Cheetah.

    • 150 Professor VJ Duke November 24, 2014 at 22:09

      You’re waiting for Mr. R, too?

      • 151 Susan P November 25, 2014 at 00:44

        Ýes, sir.

      • 152 Professor VJ Duke November 25, 2014 at 14:11

        I think you like him.

      • 153 Susan P November 25, 2014 at 21:06

        Like who?

      • 154 Professor VJ Duke November 26, 2014 at 13:59

        Mr. R.

      • 155 Susan P November 26, 2014 at 14:17

        Ewe

  16. 156 Debbie November 24, 2014 at 15:12

    Whoo-Hoo, the Newsletter returns! I hate to follow the crowd, but I like #1 best, too. Something about waiting that’s hard — waiting and anticipating (or dreading, as the case may be).

    Glad Sandra was found. Did she win??

    Pirates?? Arrr!

    Scintillating is a great word — bubbly and happy-sounding. We should probably look for opportunities to use it more.

    • 157 Professor VJ Duke November 24, 2014 at 22:08

      *smiles bigly big* True…waiting is horrible. All waiting. You know, I can’t think of one waiting that is not horrible!

      Probably. Don’t you think she would? I do.

      *laughs*

      We should. “The professor’s katana is scintillating.”

  17. 158 Lady Cheetah November 24, 2014 at 15:06

    #1 for sure. Sometimes I wonder what is it that I am waiting for. Ah, I thought I knew until I started waiting. ….

    • 159 Professor VJ Duke November 24, 2014 at 22:07

      You’re waiting for Mr. R to ask you out?

      • 160 Lady Cheetah November 25, 2014 at 03:25

        Gawd. Never.

      • 161 Professor VJ Duke November 25, 2014 at 14:14

        *laughing lots and lots* You mean, you wouldn’t want to sit down and have a turkey with him?

      • 162 Lady Cheetah November 25, 2014 at 14:34

        Would never happen. I am vegan now!

      • 163 Professor VJ Duke November 25, 2014 at 20:45

        Well, I wouldn’t have a turkey either. Yucketh.

  18. 164 Julie Harris November 24, 2014 at 14:35

    I like proverb #1- waiting and then being disappointed by the outcome is no fun!

    • 165 Professor VJ Duke November 24, 2014 at 22:06

      Yes. What should we do about it, Julie?

  19. 166 PorterGirl November 24, 2014 at 14:15

    Excellent proverbs, as ever. I like number two. It is very pertinent.

    Thank goodness Sandra has been found! You did say DS would be taking good care of her. I wonder who won?

    I hope we find out what the perfect pickle is.

    Pirates! Oh my. But Schwarz is the man for the job. Maybe he should recruit MM to help him – the pirates would be terrified!

    (I have been in deepest, darkest Berlin, Professor. I will catch up on any missed posts. There will be a new one from Old College tomorrow huzzah!)

    • 167 Professor VJ Duke November 24, 2014 at 22:06

      Pertinent is a great word. Underused though.

      Probably Sandra. Don’t you suppose DS would be rubbish at it?

      Me too. And then, Lucy, we’ll have to test them a bit.

      They sure would! Unless…DS is a pirate!

      Huzzah indeed! Berlin! Nice….was it cold?

      • 168 PorterGirl November 25, 2014 at 08:20

        Most underused. I will try and use it many time today.

        Maybe she was teaching him how to play? I imagine he would find it difficult, poor chap.

        Yes! A pickle test would be super.

        DS would be a super pirate, but scary. Hopefully Sandra would talk him out of anything too pirate-y

        It was very cold. Brrr. But it’s cold here too. The ground is twinkly with frost!

      • 169 Professor VJ Duke November 25, 2014 at 14:16

        Yes, and I shall try to use it three times today. I shall report back.

        (I find it difficult!!!!!!) DS just isn’t made for that sort of thing.

        Dill or sweet?

        Yes, like scalping…or was that the indians? Can’t remember. I paid attention in history class, you see.

        It was cold here, but now it’s gotten a bit warmer. Berlin would be awesome.

      • 170 PorterGirl November 25, 2014 at 14:24

        I have managed to use it once so far… I will keep trying to slip it into conversation. Please do report back!

        Chess is quite hard. I can play it easily enough but I’m not really very good.

        Both! It depends on the situation. Right now I fancy dill.

        The indians did a bit of scalping, I believe. Also Brad Pitt in a film I saw awhile ago. Scalping isn’t very friendly, but it saves on haircuts.

        Berlin is a very cool city. The people are very friendly. I made friends with two Austrian ladies. I met no Americans at all, which I was sad about. I must come to America for New Year to make up for it.

      • 171 Professor VJ Duke November 25, 2014 at 20:44

        Good for you! Okay, I shall. But, I hope I do use it enough!

        Same here. I once was better than I am now, though.

        Me too. Sweet is for summer!

        See, that’s a good point. One that’s scalped would never need a haircut.

        *laughs* Do you like meeting Americans?

      • 172 PorterGirl November 26, 2014 at 08:27

        Practice is the thing with chess. I only really play it at Christmas these days. I had better get in training so I can beat my younger brother.

        Sweet is for summer – I like that!

        I am very fond of Americans. They don’t mind that I am noisy.

      • 173 Professor VJ Duke November 26, 2014 at 14:10

        *laughs* Does he make you play at Christmas?

        Me too! Besides the wasps.

        Yes, I wouldn’t mind. But then, the professor isn’t all American. I’m a bit Punchyish.

      • 174 PorterGirl November 26, 2014 at 14:22

        My Grandad always wants to play, then we all have a game or two. Actually, it’s quite nice. But I hate to lose.

        I imagine Punchyish people would mind even less. Which bit of you is Punchyish, may I ask?

      • 175 Professor VJ Duke November 26, 2014 at 20:27

        Yes, losing is hard, especially if you think you’re close to winning–which I usually do in chess.

        Umm…33%?

      • 176 PorterGirl November 27, 2014 at 08:26

        33% – that’s like a leg and a bit. Cool.

      • 177 Professor VJ Duke November 30, 2014 at 19:54

        My leg is Punchyish!

  20. 178 The Lite Rider November 24, 2014 at 14:07

    Proverb #1! Because the chagrin is in the fact that even though one has arrived at that conclusion, one has *still* waited all that time! ;-) Liked the idea of “Mr. Innocent”……

    Ah….suddenly appearing in the Tower with DS……now we all know where she is — but where *was* she before that?

    Mr. Magi will find out that making a “bread and butter” pickle will sort of combine the two. Spicy a bit, yet still sweet — and not too dill-like.

    Now that Schwarz has a new title, look out PB! And why wouldn’t the Professor be able to find them? He knows all, having invented the PL!

    It was a scintillating issue! :)

    • 179 Professor VJ Duke November 24, 2014 at 22:05

      Aha! Great point. Now, I know what’s vexing about it. You got it right on.

      Umm…that’s true. Do you suppose they went right towards the tower?

      Oh! This professor never knew that. Is it true?

      I did not, dadblameit! I just live there…sorta like a lotus, you know.

      *laughs* I’m not sure how to say it.


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,876 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,739 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


