LA Professor

DSC00954

Front of NAMM. Anaheim Convention Center.

So, this professor was in LA.

In truth, that is true. I went with Nick–he keeps me in line. He’s also a cowriter for TPL at times

It was rather beautiful there. Very sunny and just the perfect temperature. Since everyone has a different idea of the perfect temperature, the professor will not tell you the exact temperature. (This may be because I forget, but let’s not dwell on that, please.)

Anyways and a few, the professor was there for a conference to meet his editor.

But it was not to be.

I met other editors.

Also of note: the professor almost got crushed in the crowds at least thrice.

Disneyland was right across the street from the hotel. It wasn’t loud, only the people were.

B8Sl3cyIQAAcBR5.jpg-large

It was a little bit to the left of this shot. Nick’s a horrible photographer.

There was a bit of a walk from the hotel to NAMM (National Association of Music Merchants–the conference). Now, the professor did make a bit of a mistake: I brought shoes that really weren’t suited for long distances. They shouldn’t have the honor of calling themselves shoes, then, I say.

DSC00928

The shoes were horrible.

On the way home, the view was beautiful, but the wings were shaking rather violently. Beauty, you see, never comes without a price.

B8Slus1IAAAal79.jpg-large

From the plane. About 2400 miles from home.

195 Responses to “LA Professor”


  1. 1 Hazy February 15, 2015 at 07:01

    LA! I’ve always dreamed of visiting LA! … OK, maybe not dreamed, “wanted” would be a more accurate word, I suppose.

    Sorry about the shoes. Maybe you should’ve worn sandals instead? That seems the LA-y footwear to wear.

    Did you go sightseeing? Saw any celebrities, perhaps?

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke February 16, 2015 at 13:50

      It was beautiful there, Hazy! Especially this time of year. You should go sometime…with Weatherly.

      You know, it might have been a bit cold for that…you probably would have, though!

      I saw some finger style guitar players that I know! That was very cool.

  2. 3 Nancy Loderick February 4, 2015 at 16:42

    So what did you really think of LA? I would think that it wasn’t professorish enough for you. :)

    Nancy

    • 4 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2015 at 21:38

      It was packed! The weather was beautiful…and the food was okay! *laughs* Not a rave review is it?

      • 5 Nancy Loderick February 9, 2015 at 17:04

        Hey Professor,

        No, that isn’t the most enthusiastic review I’ve ever read. I guess this means you won’t be moving out West anytime soon then.

        Nancy

      • 6 Professor VJ Duke February 9, 2015 at 22:56

        *laughing* Oh come on, wouldn’t we just miss the snow?

  3. 7 Simply Skeptical February 4, 2015 at 12:13

    Oh my Professor an entire life can be ruined if your shoes are uncomfortable! It looks like lovely weather. Did you hop over to Disney Land? Gorgeous view from the air. Makes me have spring fever here.

    • 8 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2015 at 21:24

      Well, I didn’t hope over. The fence was too high, see. But we did admire it from afar. Especially at night…it was all lit up.

  4. 9 Micah Kipfer February 4, 2015 at 00:10

    Oh, the title is about being in LA. I innitially thought that the Professor was being all French with his words; and since “la” is a feminine article, I thought this could wind up being quite an interesting post.

    I still think he has something to hide, him and his sunglasses.

    • 10 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2015 at 21:23

      *laughing* Now that’s an interest. What did you hope it was about? I see the potential here.

      Aren’t the sunglasses awesome? He’s a secret agent, I think.

      • 11 Micah Kipfer February 5, 2015 at 03:56

        I suspected that he had been a French woman disguised as a Punchy Land resident as part of a foul sceme for all these years; and, overwelmed with guilt, he finally decided to reveal his identity to the world.

        My suspicians have mostly been cleared away; though I still think he must be caught up in some sort of sceme. You’re probably right about him being a secret agent.

      • 12 Professor VJ Duke February 6, 2015 at 00:32

        *laughing lots and lots and lots* Wow! Well…he was a spicy beast, then, wasn’t he?

        Definitely. Can’t you just see those mean eyes?

      • 13 Micah Kipfer February 7, 2015 at 20:18

        Yes, quite the eyes indeed. Wait – are YOU the Professor? Of course, all the signs were pointing to it: you use the same mannerism, you know exactly what the Professor does on a daily basis, you have the same name. It’s all coming together, now. I just can’t believe we didn’t work this out sooner.

      • 14 Professor VJ Duke February 8, 2015 at 00:05

        *laughing lots and lots and lots* Rats! I’ve been found out. So…what do you know about me? *fears*

  5. 15 The Lite Rider February 3, 2015 at 21:52

    All in all, shoes aside, sounded great. Love the photo with the background palms. Sort of PL-like (as related to desert) I suppose! :)

    • 16 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2015 at 21:12

      It is, you’re right! Yeah, the shoes were just an annoyance. It was an awesome time.

  6. 17 desertdweller29 February 3, 2015 at 18:48

    Professor, that picture of you is wonderful! I believe California suits you as well as your pants. Lose the shoes, however. They sound horrid.

    • 18 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:45

      Yes, I know! I should have take tennis shoes, huh? I’m in the LA sun there.

  7. 19 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister February 3, 2015 at 16:42

    What an amazing view! I bet you heard people screaming to their death, huh? I may have dropped everything and scooted on over there instead. I’ve never been to Disneyland. Now, those palm trees look as though it may have been about 74.5°. You look very distinguished, Duketh. Maybe you could wear some snappy red converse sneakers. I think they’d look perfect on you…very L.A. and extremely hip.

    Now, be kind. Nick was doing his most important job, which was taking care of you. Any photos taken are simply his trying to please you, which as a bodyguard he doesn’t have to do. You don’t pay him enough to spoil you, you know. Maybe you should hire me really cheap to take photos for you, so Nick can concentrate on making you a pop star.

    Is that your private jet? *shifty eyes* Are those my mountains? Looks like maybe just before my mountains, actually. Beautiful view… *reflects*

    • 20 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:44

      You’re right! Those sneakers would look cool. *imagines red sneakers* You must have a good eye for such things. You would have left for Disneyland? I believe it. *laughs* And you’d probably love it. *shocked face* That was the temp! How’d you know?

      I’m just picking on him. No! He insists on doing the pics. He likes it, you know. The professor…a pop star…that’s an interest! and scary, you know. You’d take photos of me?

      Are they your mountains? I hope so. They’re nice. It’s the professorish jet!

      • 21 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister February 3, 2015 at 22:44

        *high fives Duketh* I definitely how to dress men, well, for what I find attractive, that is. Yes, let me pick your shoes next time. *annoyed you didn’t ask* Well, at some point I would have, or you would have gotten tired of me. Yes, I would have loved Disneyland. Who wouldn’t? You? Fun hater..
        *wiggles her eyebrows* Oh, it was not.

        Okay, good. I think Nick does a great job taking pictures. Yeah, becoming famous would be scary. Well, no, not pictures of you. Your whereabouts, maybe, what would we do with pictures of you. I guess you could autograph them and hand them out! *laughs* Nick has another job now…handing out photos of you.

        Seems these mountains are of the Nevada topography, Duke. My mountains are Coloradians. And gorgeous. I like your jet. Tis cool!

      • 22 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2015 at 21:22

        I never thought about red sneakers before…that would look stylish. And dudish. You are good at that sort of thing! See, this professor can’t be worried about such matters. I’m not a fun hater! I’ve been to Disney World…so land…ah, not so much.

        Oh, he’d love that! *looks to see if Nick’s watching* The professor is a wild creature.

        Thank you! (Your mountains are way better.)

      • 23 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister February 5, 2015 at 04:24

        Yeah, colored sneakers are fun and cool. I think you have dudish covered. I know you can’t which is why women are good to have around. *smiles* I’ve not been to either.

        *laughs* Very wild, I’m sure.

        (Thank you. And I know they are…)

      • 24 Professor VJ Duke February 6, 2015 at 00:35

        That’s true. I worry about the arrangements see (music ones) and the cameras and audio. And all that jazzy stuff.

        Oh yes!!!

        I need to seem them some day.

      • 25 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister February 6, 2015 at 21:09

        And you’re very good at it, I’m sure. Jazzy stuff…haha. Fun.

        Yes, you do. A bucket list at the very least. They would inspire you.

      • 26 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2015 at 04:26

        I do okay, I think. I think. I think.

        *nods* Make a vacation of it.

      • 27 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister February 7, 2015 at 15:56

        Almost in agreement. Better than okay!

        Usually works best that way.

      • 28 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2015 at 23:51

        Better than…okay!

        True.

      • 29 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister February 8, 2015 at 02:22

        Yes, you’re way better than okay. Good. Thanks for agreeing.

        So do it!

      • 30 Professor VJ Duke February 9, 2015 at 01:23

        I’ve just practiced a lot, that’s all. And I love it.

        I should. But where would I go?

      • 31 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister February 9, 2015 at 04:08

        I love that you’re talking about it more.

        Well, my mountains are in Colorado.

      • 32 Professor VJ Duke February 9, 2015 at 22:43

        Practicing? Oh, the horrors of practicing.

        Denver then?

      • 33 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister February 10, 2015 at 04:42

        What’s wrong with a little practicing?

        Yes, Denver. Boulder Canyon, actually. I’m going again in June. In the name of research

      • 34 Professor VJ Duke February 10, 2015 at 21:41

        A little?!

        Research. What sort of research?

      • 35 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister February 11, 2015 at 02:36

        Or tons!! *giggles*

        My sort of research, Silly

      • 36 Professor VJ Duke February 11, 2015 at 21:47

        Makes the fingers die…

        Yes. That’s what I want to hear more about!

      • 37 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister February 11, 2015 at 22:31

        Don’t kill your fingers…

        Oh! Cool…

      • 38 Professor VJ Duke February 11, 2015 at 23:17

        Too late… *looks at them* Yep, they’re deceased.

        *taps foot*

      • 39 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister February 12, 2015 at 04:13

        I think their calloused is all… *pokes them with a needle*

        You would die of boredom. Trust me. Self discovery stuff. Nature, destiny and logic. Although, your foot tapping is mesmerizing.

      • 40 Professor VJ Duke February 12, 2015 at 21:24

        They could be. They’re feeling better today! Ow!!!!!!!!

        I wouldn’t die of boredom! That sounds interesting.

      • 41 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister February 13, 2015 at 04:35

        *seems satisfied* You’ll be fine in no time.

        Self discovery is important, I suppose. I’d like to think I could keep you from being bored.

      • 42 Professor VJ Duke February 13, 2015 at 19:23

        Bigger callouses on the way!

        I think you probably could.

      • 43 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister February 13, 2015 at 23:04

        Bigger? Why?

        I hope so.

      • 44 Professor VJ Duke February 14, 2015 at 18:13

        I suppose I needed them!

      • 45 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister February 14, 2015 at 22:10

        Oh, well, okay.

    • 46 Susan P February 3, 2015 at 22:01

      Yes, I agree! He needs red converse sneakers.

      • 47 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister February 3, 2015 at 22:46

        Yes, they would suit him with a pair of jeans or cargo pants (which are dandy), his professorish glasses and his Hipster blazer.

      • 48 Susan P February 3, 2015 at 22:58

        Perfect! He would look great.

      • 49 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2015 at 21:22

        Humph noodles. How do I look now?

      • 50 Susan P February 4, 2015 at 23:34

        Is that your white suit?

      • 51 Professor VJ Duke February 6, 2015 at 00:31

        Nah…it looks weird though, doesn’t it?

      • 52 Susan P February 7, 2015 at 00:12

        It looks um, it has been on the Star fleet.

      • 53 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2015 at 04:31

        Well, what should I wear then?

      • 54 Susan P February 7, 2015 at 12:54

        The usual dress uniforms.

      • 55 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2015 at 23:43

        Oh, I’ll look like an icecream cone then!

      • 56 Susan P February 8, 2015 at 00:17

        With ice cream on top?

      • 57 Professor VJ Duke February 9, 2015 at 01:18

        Yes, I fear so. And a cherry.

      • 58 Susan P February 9, 2015 at 14:46

        And whipped cream?

      • 59 Professor VJ Duke February 9, 2015 at 22:54

        Of course!

      • 60 Susan P February 9, 2015 at 23:40

        We had strawberry shortcake with whipped cream for dinner.

      • 61 Professor VJ Duke February 10, 2015 at 21:36

        *mouth drops open* No!

  8. 62 floridaborne February 3, 2015 at 16:07

    Funny!

    I’ve lived in California before. It’s a great place to live if you’re zillionaire or to travel to if you’re going to a convention. :-)

    • 63 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:42

      It sure is! Isn’t the weather something else?

      • 64 floridaborne February 3, 2015 at 21:50

        When it’s not the rainy season or there’s a cold front.

      • 65 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2015 at 21:12

        How much rain do they get in rainy season?

      • 66 floridaborne February 4, 2015 at 22:35

        The one thing I remembered about living in California was that the grass was brown in the summer and the trees had green leaves, but in the winter, the trees were brown and the grass was green. :-)

      • 67 Professor VJ Duke February 6, 2015 at 00:29

        *laughing* That’s so funny! But it makes sense.

  9. 68 Debbie February 3, 2015 at 15:30

    Professor, methinks you’re being a tad harsh on poor Nick. I mean, his photos turned out pretty good, and after all, as you said, he was there to keep you in line (which he obviously did!)

    Shoes — ugh! ‘Tis hard to find a comfortable pair for long-distance walking that can double as being “professorial.” At least you men don’t have to tolerate high heels!

    Glad your conference went well — nice to get out of the cold and snow for a bit, huh?? (Though a respite tends to make one that much gnarlier upon one’s return!)

    I’m with Nick — why be in front of the camera when there’s so many interesting things to capture with it?!

    • 69 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:36

      (You’re right…I just pick on him, ’cause he picks on me! Nick’s a great chap.)

      So right…I just figured this out, sadly. Well, why do you wear heels? I’m wondering. Now, be honest!

      Came back to lots of snow! But, hey, it’s okay. I love snow, really.

      I agree, mostly that is.

      • 70 Debbie February 3, 2015 at 19:45

        I avoid heels as much as possible (a benefit of working for oneself, you know, in that I can dress as I please!). That’s the honest truth. “Dress up” is another situation altogether. *winks*

        As for poor Nick, I’m inclined to side with him (though it really depends on who starts the picking, I guess!)

        You LOVE snow?? Must be a professorish thing. Next time we get some, I’ll pack it up and send it to you — I’m eager for Spring!

      • 71 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:49

        I say, I think that’s a good choice. You should wear slippers out…that would be great!

        Hey! And why is that?

        I do! Come on…you must like it a bit!

      • 72 Debbie February 3, 2015 at 19:52

        Nope, usually moccasins or Converse or (in this beastly weather) boots!

        I like snow between Dec. 15 and Jan. 30, not a day more! I want a white Christmas, then it can go away!

      • 73 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2015 at 21:10

        Boots are cool! But I think I’m starting to like Converse…believe it or not.

        I think I may agree. I’d like some sun now, too, I must be truthful.

  10. 74 Julie Harris February 3, 2015 at 15:18

    “Beauty, you see, never comes without a price” very true….sounds like you paid a price for your shoes as well!! Gorgeous pictures!

    • 75 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:35

      Thank you! Yeah…the shoes need dropped in Mount Doom.

  11. 76 L. Marie February 3, 2015 at 14:52

    I’m so envious of anyone in a warm place. It’s freezing here!
    Hope you found some decent shoes!!! Was Nick wearing good shoes?

    • 77 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:34

      I wish I could send you about 20 degrees…but that would make LA cold, you know.

      Nick was! He brought his tennis shoes (he told me to do the same, but I didn’t) so all trip he kept laughing me to scorn.

  12. 78 John W. Howell February 3, 2015 at 14:21

    Shoes by any other name become bear traps.

    • 79 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:33

      That’s a very good point. (About those…do you sell them? I need to catch me a bear.)

      • 80 John W. Howell February 3, 2015 at 20:09

        No. I’m a fiction writer. I don’t sell anything

      • 81 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2015 at 21:10

        *laughing lots and lots* This comment is tops!

      • 82 John W. Howell February 4, 2015 at 21:22

        Glad you like it. I got a million of em.

      • 83 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2015 at 21:41

        You should try and sell them, I”m thinking.

  13. 84 Bethy February 3, 2015 at 14:07

    I bet the temps were warm, but not to warm with a bit of a breeze in case it decided to get a little on the to warm side.

    And I totally understand about the shoes. You should be glad that you are not required to wear shoes with heels. Those really are torture devices.

    Oh and I hate crowds of any sort (crushing or not). Can you imagine trying to keep track of a Princess in a crowd of princesses *shudder*

    • 85 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:33

      That’s exactly it! And no humidity. It was perfect, for sure.

      Oh dear. I’ve always thought they hurt! Why do girls wear them, then?

      *laughs* That would be hard! Bet she runs off a bit, too.

      • 86 Susan P February 3, 2015 at 22:03

        Masochism. That is why we wear heals. But I gave it up awhile ago.

      • 87 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2015 at 21:13

        What’s mashochism?

      • 88 Susan P February 4, 2015 at 22:39

        Do you have a dictionary?

  14. 89 FictionFan February 3, 2015 at 13:57

    Dear Professor Duke

    It is with regret that I feel I must register my dissatisfaction with this, your latest post.

    Firstly, had the middle picture been portrait rather than landscape, we would have had an opportunity to judge whether your pants are in fact extraordinarily beautiful.

    Secondly, since the photos are great and yet you tell us Nick is a horrible photographer, then I must assume someone else was with you. Should it turn out that this mysterious third person was Amelia, I shall be forced to take steps…

    Thirdly, it is sad that you have omitted any pictures of the aforesaid Nick. We must assume therefore that his utter gorgeousness would put the Professor in the shade, and that you have allowed your extreme jealousy to rule your actions. I feel you should rectify this issue with a prompt edit.

    Lastly, it is disappointing that you weren’t wearing your Pats hat. What would Edelman think? He may set his pet squirrel on you.

    Sorrowfully yours,
    FF

    • 90 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member February 3, 2015 at 14:04

      I’m a superb photographer. I took the photos. But I never let photos be taken of me…

      • 91 FictionFan February 3, 2015 at 14:09

        Understandable, given how violently jealous the Professor gets. But we the people demand our right to make comparisons… I bet your pants are just as stunning as his…

      • 92 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member February 3, 2015 at 16:10

        Ha! I will not engage in flirting!

      • 93 FictionFan February 3, 2015 at 18:45

        Ah, it’s just that kind of grumpy statement that makes you so dablamed irresistible… *winks like the Professor, only prettily*

      • 94 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:45

        Yes, professor don’t wink prettily. They wink ugly!

      • 95 FictionFan February 4, 2015 at 16:11

        Impossible! I bet they wink heroically!

      • 96 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2015 at 21:37

        No, no, no!

      • 97 FictionFan February 5, 2015 at 13:57

        *chuckles*

      • 98 Susan P February 3, 2015 at 22:04

        That is exactly why I hide behind the camera, Nick.

      • 99 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member February 11, 2015 at 20:28

        I do like destruction….

        At any rate, if you expect me to come out of hiding…you have to pay a price.

        P.S. I’m hideous. I scare every one.

      • 100 FictionFan February 12, 2015 at 17:58

        That I believe!

        Well, I shall have to start saving…

        Ooh! That sounds like fun! Maybe you should post a picture next Hallowe’en!

    • 101 desertdweller29 February 3, 2015 at 18:46

      FF, I look forward to your replies as much as these posts! Should you ever tire of your own fabulous blog, maybe staff writer for PL??

      • 102 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:45

        Now that would be awesome.

      • 103 FictionFan February 4, 2015 at 15:10

        HahaHA! Thanks! But you know what they say about workplace romances, and I’m pretty sure my Schwarzy must be just on the point of realising I’m the woman for him…

        The thought of writing a storyline that would involve all kinds of hideous happenings to the Abominable Amelia has a certain appeal though, I must admit…

      • 104 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member February 7, 2015 at 01:02

        The fact that you want to see my picture so badly scares me… You don’t need a picture of me…

      • 105 desertdweller29 February 7, 2015 at 02:32

        Don’t be scared! I’m just messing with you. Stay behind your book. At least I think that’s a book.

      • 106 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2015 at 04:31

        Make him come out!

      • 107 desertdweller29 February 7, 2015 at 15:57

        He sounds like he has a chip on his shoulder, Professor. I think it’s best if you challenge him to a duel. Then when you win, damask him immediately!

      • 108 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2015 at 23:52

        What if I lose?

      • 109 desertdweller29 February 8, 2015 at 01:25

        Are you not a warrior, Sir? Besides, from the looks of it, he is hiding behind a book. Or a pamphlet. Shouldn’t be hard. Also, he scares easily. I just did the other day.

      • 110 Professor VJ Duke February 9, 2015 at 01:19

        Oh, I’ll try it…but if I die, you must do something special for my funeral.

      • 111 FictionFan February 7, 2015 at 17:15

        Oh, but I do! You see, the thing is, drummers are generally so much better-looking and more sophisticated than guitarists, don’t you think? And I just want to see if that’s so in this case… think of it as a scientific experiment…

      • 112 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2015 at 23:57

        Don’t know if I should cry or laugh. I think I’ll just sing.

      • 113 FictionFan February 8, 2015 at 19:09

        Ah, a singing guitarist! Now that’s extrememly cute! Nick could never be cuter than that! *stares at Nick challengingly*

        Unless he’s a singing drummer…

      • 114 Professor VJ Duke February 9, 2015 at 01:34

        *laughs* I’m not cute, just ugly, remember.

      • 115 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member February 8, 2015 at 20:27

        That is a book. But I’m not even in that picture.

        I refuse to see this your way, FF. My picture will not be posted *because* you are so interested. :p

      • 116 desertdweller29 February 8, 2015 at 21:22

        Boo!

      • 117 Professor VJ Duke February 9, 2015 at 01:41

        I wish I could be that mean.

      • 118 FictionFan February 9, 2015 at 17:22

        *sniffles* You just were!

      • 119 Professor VJ Duke February 9, 2015 at 22:58

        When?

      • 120 FictionFan February 10, 2015 at 17:53

        When you said you would like to be that mean to me…

      • 121 Professor VJ Duke February 10, 2015 at 22:01

        Oh… *looks real apologetic* Gee, I’m sorry!

      • 122 FictionFan February 11, 2015 at 17:23

        I can’t resist that apologetic look, dadblameit!

      • 123 Professor VJ Duke February 11, 2015 at 23:00

        *sigh of relief*

      • 124 FictionFan February 9, 2015 at 17:21

        Ah, well, I shall just have to imagine what you look like then… the Gronk comes to mind…

      • 125 Professor VJ Duke February 9, 2015 at 22:58

        *laughing*

      • 126 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member February 10, 2015 at 14:13

        Now I’m getting booed…

        Well, Gronk is a nice beefy boy. But I do hope I look a bit more intelligent. Here’s the deal then: I’ve heard that FF hasn’t ever read the best book ever written, The Count of Monte Cristo. If she reads that… I’ll let VJ post a pic of me on.

        So if you want to see a pick of me… She’ll have to read that…

      • 127 FictionFan February 10, 2015 at 17:56

        But…but…it’s 1300 pages long! What kind of guarantee can you give me that the picture is worth it? Or… how about I read Monte Cristo and we get a video of you of playing drums?!? Complete with swishy things, of course…

        PS How do you feel about me reading the abridged version…

      • 128 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member February 10, 2015 at 19:41

        Uh…I’ll have VJ post a picture once you review The Count of Monte Cristo. That’s the only grantee I can give you…

        But you’ve got to read the *entire* book, unabridged.

        Though of course, If you don’t want to, I’d be perfectly fine without any picture… And it *is* the best book. So…double loss there for you… (I read it in about 11 days…)

        Either way… I win. *evil laugh*

      • 129 Professor VJ Duke February 10, 2015 at 22:06

        Wow, that is cruel. See, FEF, he’s a reading monster, too.

      • 130 FictionFan February 11, 2015 at 17:29

        Did you just call me… a monster, dear Prof??

      • 131 Professor VJ Duke February 11, 2015 at 23:01

        *mouth drops* Uhh! No…rats…I didn’t mean it that way!

      • 132 FictionFan February 12, 2015 at 17:05

        *snorts and blows*

      • 133 Professor VJ Duke February 12, 2015 at 21:47

        Kenny!

      • 134 FictionFan February 11, 2015 at 17:28

        Hmm…I’m not sure even a signed picture of Rafa in his muscle man shirt would be worth 1300 pages and a review. Are you more adorable than that? After hearing that evil laugh, I’m thinking perhaps you look more like The Joker…

      • 135 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member February 12, 2015 at 21:12

        Yep well, I’m glad we could come to an agreement. :P Remember…I’m not trying to get you to read the TCMC, you’re trying to get my picture…

        *sighs* I wish I did look like the joker…

        https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CAcQjRw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fmoviepilot.com%2Fposts%2F2014%2F12%2F10%2Fthere-s-a-secret-hidden-behind-heath-ledger-s-joker-2494166&ei=ChfdVLjcJYXVggT4sIRg&bvm=bv.85970519,d.eXY&psig=AFQjCNFIIUwGdkG4yOBTv7HsBZpklPz8Vw&ust=1423861920645268

      • 136 FictionFan February 13, 2015 at 23:45

        Oh… I was kinda hoping you looked like Jack…

      • 137 Professor VJ Duke February 14, 2015 at 18:21

        “You can’t handle the truth!”

      • 138 FictionFan February 14, 2015 at 22:59

        *laughs*

      • 139 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member February 12, 2015 at 21:14

        That didn’t turn out the way it was supposed to…

    • 140 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:31

      *shocked face*

      I told you Nick was rotten with pictures! He took it. I was just looking at the yellow birds on the chimney.

      *laughs* I promise there was no Amelia. Promise. Just the professor and Nick. That’s all. No Amelia. Really, no Amelia. (What steps out of curiosity?)

      Not at all, madam! Allow me to explain, I begged Nick to let me post a few of his, and he said no! I spent half the morning begging. (I was lucky to be able to take any at the show in the first place.) Please go speak with him. As soon as I get his okay, you’ll see them!

      *Laughing* I need to get a pet squirrel like that… *rubs chin* Well…I took a bucket hat instead.

      • 141 FictionFan February 4, 2015 at 15:45

        What yellow birds? What chimney?? I think you just make these things up, you know, you know…

        I believed you the first time, but by the third my suspicions were aroused again… *glares balefully* (I can’t tell you as that would remove the all-important element of surprise. Suffice it to say, you might want to wear protective headgear…)

        Well, tell him from me that that’s simply not acceptable! He should bow to popular demand! I suspect that it’s because he secretly knows that the Professor’s hairdo is better than his…

        No you do not!!! There is the neat attractive little beard which can be quite charming… and then there’s the ridiculous bush that proves conclusively that men are less evolved than women!! You may, if you insist, have the former, but no squirrels!!

      • 142 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2015 at 21:31

        *laughs* Well…okay! There was no chimney, but I was hunting for yellow birds.

        Balefully…isn’t that what mooses eat? (I’ll get a hardhat and a straw hat.)

        I know. I tried! He wouldn’t even come close to agreeing. *sighs* I mean, the only other way is just to…post it.

        *laughs and gulps* But…all the guys would think it was cool!

      • 143 FictionFan February 5, 2015 at 13:16

        Did you find them? They could have banded together and flown you to the centre to take the weight off your shoes…

        Are you calling me a moose? *silkily dangerous voice* (I bet you’d look incredibly c&a in a straw hat…and raggedy trousers.)

        Yes!!! Just post it!!! And don’t worry about him killing you – it probably won’t hurt as much as you think.

        Huh! Guys! What do they know? Anyway even guys couldn’t possibly think that’s a good look, surely? *startled face*

      • 144 Professor VJ Duke February 6, 2015 at 00:44

        Nah, I didn’t. They should have! But it was fun walking. The breeze was awesome. And I enjoyed annoying the traffic.

        A silkily voice! Same something else, please. (Like Tom Sawyer!)

        I’m in it too, you know. He’d seriously kill me. Are you sure?

        Well…umm…uh…uhh…umm…uhh…well…I thought it was neatio!

      • 145 FictionFan February 6, 2015 at 15:14

        Did I mention that the idea of flying to LA to meet your editor sounds utterly, incredibly cool? Cooler than cool, in fact… *starstruck*

        My ballgown is made from silk, you know, you know… (Only cuter!)

        Hmm! Well, I do want to see it, but on the other hand I don’t want the Professor to die – it’s a tricky one! Couldn’t we bribe him with something?

        *shakes head sadly* *then shakes it again even more sadly*

      • 146 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2015 at 04:15

        Aw, thanks, FEF! It was awesome. I got to meet the CEO of my publishing company, too. *beams*

        I did not know that! *wonders what silks like* (He’s a mess!)

        I’ll ask him again…

        He looked tough!

      • 147 FictionFan February 7, 2015 at 17:12

        *beams too* Worth that plane trip, eh?

        They used to make parachutes out of silk… (But an adorable mess!)

        Kidnap his drumsticks and hold them to ransom!

        Yes, so do grizzly bears, but that doesn’t mean we should aspire to look like them! *knows he’s going to want to look like a grizzly now…and despairs*

      • 148 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2015 at 23:57

        It sure was!!

        I didn’t know that. What an interest. (He was probably smelly.)

        Ooo! Now that would be a war.

        *laughs* I would like to look like one! Imagine how mean I’d be then!

      • 149 FictionFan February 8, 2015 at 19:07

        (Hmm…yes, he probably was… *wrinkles nose*)

        But it might work…

        *laughs lots* I shall resist the desire to mention tummy-tickling…

      • 150 Professor VJ Duke February 9, 2015 at 01:34

        That’s because he didn’t shower.

        Yeah…and then again, what if he steals my guitar? Or thumb picks?

        I’ll resist the desire to say you did!

      • 151 FictionFan February 9, 2015 at 17:16

        Well, yeah – he was a boy!

        Tchah! As if my hero would let him do that!

        *chuckles*

      • 152 Professor VJ Duke February 9, 2015 at 22:57

        Everyone knows girls are dirtier!

        Well…

      • 153 FictionFan February 10, 2015 at 17:57

        *rude sound that she learned from the Professor*

      • 154 Professor VJ Duke February 10, 2015 at 22:01

        Oh yeah! The Kenny G sound. Bet you didn’t know that originated with him.

      • 155 FictionFan February 11, 2015 at 17:24

        *laughs* Well, no I didn’t – but actually it makes a sort of sense…

      • 156 Professor VJ Duke February 11, 2015 at 23:01

        No! Oh, dadblameit. I just went and ruined things. You should watch this, then: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bkA_pxHaNZQ.

      • 157 FictionFan February 12, 2015 at 17:04

        *laughs and snorts and chokes at the same time* That is just soooo funny! The tragic part is I’m not sure it was supposed to be! Every time he sniffed, I thought I might die of sheer joy! *wanders off chuckling and sniffing loudly*

      • 158 Professor VJ Duke February 12, 2015 at 21:47

        See how amazing he is? And notice ‘that lovely sound’? Now you know what I hear.

      • 159 FictionFan February 13, 2015 at 16:28

        *makes the sound – twice!*

      • 160 Professor VJ Duke February 13, 2015 at 19:39

        Now that’s adorable.

      • 161 FictionFan February 13, 2015 at 23:39

        *laughs* You’re such a man, honeybunch!

      • 162 Professor VJ Duke February 14, 2015 at 18:20

        *keeps listening to Counting on God*

      • 163 FictionFan February 14, 2015 at 22:54

        You’re just trying to mess with my youtube recommendations, aren’t you? Still, at least this one seems to have bumped Snorting Ken down the list…

      • 164 Professor VJ Duke February 16, 2015 at 13:47

        *laughs* I wonder what your recommendations are. Snorting Ken…I searched and couldn’t find it.

      • 165 FictionFan February 16, 2015 at 19:53

        Interesting I suppose would be the positive way to look at them… Really? Search for Silly Hairdo instead then…

      • 166 Professor VJ Duke February 16, 2015 at 22:19

        Now I’m really curious… I did…and I got some girl twirling her hair!

      • 167 FictionFan February 17, 2015 at 16:59

        *laughs so hard she fall of her chair and passes out* I can’t decide if you really don’t know what I’m talking about or if you’re winding me up! But in case – I meant Kenny G! However after your comment I also searched on Silly Hairdo – and oh! What a joy!!! Poor girl – but didn’t she just seem like she deserved it?!? *laughs till she chokes*

      • 168 Professor VJ Duke February 17, 2015 at 21:25

        *laughing too too much* Oh…wow. I had no idea what you were talking about, but looking back over…it’s dreadfully clear! The professor is so dull. And…how rude, madam! That’s Kenny we’re talking about! He’s the best saxophone…player ever! I’m not even sure what she was trying to do. Girls are so silly. *laughing*

      • 169 FictionFan February 18, 2015 at 16:15

        *still laughing* She was trying to curl her hair (like Kenny must do every morning) but she left the curler on too long and it burned a chunk of her hair off! The look on her face was just priceless! Like both her braincells had burned out simultaneously! I’m guessing she didn’t sell too much of the product she was promoting… *falls off chair again – a fitting punishment for being so mean*

      • 170 Professor VJ Duke February 19, 2015 at 00:17

        *laughing* Kenny does not! He has someone do it for him, I bet. Did you know he’s a small fellow? About 5’2″, I think. It did look like she was…rather stupid. Look what you just made me say!

      • 171 FictionFan February 19, 2015 at 18:00

        He probably wears curlers in bed. Pocket-sized, eh? That would be almost c&a… if we were talking about anyone other than the singing elf.. *laughs wickedly* But there are times when a euphemism simply won’t do!

      • 172 Professor VJ Duke February 20, 2015 at 02:25

        He probably does never did not! How can you be so cruel to Kenny. You know, I’ve yet to meet another fan. But I think he’s somewhat popular. Pat Metheny hates him.

      • 173 FictionFan February 20, 2015 at 18:30

        I’m jealous because the Professor likes the way he snorts! Hmm…having had a look at Pat Metheny, I have to wonder if eccentric hairdos are obligatory in jazz musicians. Please stick to classical, C-W-W!!

      • 174 Professor VJ Duke February 21, 2015 at 20:23

        He taught me how to circular breathe! Sorta. Well, yeah…I couldn’t see myself doing that. Maybe a Vin cut one day…but definitely not a hairdo like that! (They’re called Gorelicks.)

      • 175 FictionFan February 22, 2015 at 16:43

        No Vin cut!!! Just stick with a C-W-W cut! (Ah, yes, I thought they must be a different species! *nods wisely*)

      • 176 Professor VJ Duke February 23, 2015 at 12:21

        Fine! No fun for me!!!

  15. 177 Alastair Savage February 3, 2015 at 13:43

    You also forgot your stick/scepter, professor. What will the fine folk of LA think?

    • 178 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:29

      I know. But I couldn’t get it through security. (It’s a sword, you know.)

  16. 179 walt walker February 3, 2015 at 13:38

    That pic from the plane looks more like 2350 miles, I think. Did you see the movie stars?

    • 180 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:29

      *laughing* You could be right. Is that what your compass tells you? Do music stars count a bit?

  17. 181 PorterGirl February 3, 2015 at 13:05

    This is very exciting and I am so glad you told us a little about your LA adventure. I sympathise about the shoes, you know, I have had this problem with shoes myself. They call themselves shoes, they look like shoes and they even feel like shoes for a bit. But – after not very long at all, but too late to do anything about it, they become foot-traps that are some kind of torture device. Eeek!

    Some super pictures here, Professor, even if Nick’s photography skills are in question. Why no pictures of Nick? Is he frightening to look at? I want to see his haircut. Urgently.

    All in all – a most exciting post. Disneyland, editors and glamorous chaps – what more could a person wish for?

    • 182 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member February 3, 2015 at 14:03

      I take photos. No one takes photos of me. ;)

      • 183 PorterGirl February 3, 2015 at 14:19

        I think I speak for everyone, Nick, when I say that the world NEEDS a photo of you. To admire and stuff

      • 184 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member February 3, 2015 at 16:11

        There are no current photos of me on the internet. And I plan to keep it that way. A: because I can’t stand photos. And B: I must keep myself secret.

      • 185 walt walker February 3, 2015 at 18:08

        An excellent rule!

    • 186 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:29

      Absolutely! That’s right on, Lucy. And the center was so big…I think it was five miles across! *laughs*

      I begged him to let me put one of him on (the two of us) but he said no! You need to speak with him at once.

      Nothing more! Just food, I suppose.

      • 187 PorterGirl February 3, 2015 at 19:36

        It does look huge!
        I shall certainly speak with him. Send him here instantly. If he tries to run away, he will be spanked severely.

        Oh yes some food would be good. A sausage sandwich.

      • 188 Professor VJ Duke February 3, 2015 at 19:48

        It sure was. Great fun. Great fun.

        Okay… Nick! Come here this instant!!! (I hope he comes.)

        I’d love one.

      • 189 PorterGirl February 3, 2015 at 20:47

        *laughs* poor Nick! He can have a sausage sandwich. Sausage sandwiches all round

      • 190 Professor VJ Duke February 4, 2015 at 21:11

        And a beer–for Nick. Sausage solves everything.

      • 191 PorterGirl February 5, 2015 at 06:18

        Yes it does! Nick probably deserves a beer, I think

      • 192 Professor VJ Duke February 6, 2015 at 00:40

        And a cherry cigar.

      • 193 PorterGirl February 6, 2015 at 06:09

        Nice!

      • 194 Professor VJ Duke February 7, 2015 at 04:10

        *nods*

      • 195 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member February 3, 2015 at 23:59

        Speaking to me will do no good. I’m stubborn. And I don’t like sausage sandwiches. Too greasy…


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,873 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 115,253 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


