A Proverb Dissected

Unknown

The truth may be vexing and disappointing, but it doesn’t evolve. You see, it made up its mind long ago, and has stuck with it ever since.

~ V. Shnodgrate

“Yeah, no,” Schwarz Tauptinker said, shaking his head. “What I get from this is that truth is a person. I never figured on that before, chickit.”

Fats Henry mumbled something, then said: “I think this refers to the fact that once you make up your mind, you shouldn’t change it.”

V. Shnodgrate seemed disappointed. He looked at the next student:

Amelia.

“Well…” she began, fluttering her eyelashes (she always does that; must have a bug in there). “I’d say that if the truth is vexing you, there’s nothing you can do about it. It’s his fault in the end, not yours.”

Shnodgrate nodded. “A bit better.”

Then his eyes fell on me.

So, this professor said: “I don’t feel like thinking about this one today, but I say: It’s probably good. Can we leave it at that?”

I was thrown out of the poetry school.

What’s the proverb mean to you, PF? Would you have been thrown out of the school?

121 Responses to “A Proverb Dissected”


  1. 1 erinkenobi2893 March 24, 2015 at 15:30

    I think it’s means that there’s a difference between truth and falsity and always will be.

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke March 24, 2015 at 20:16

      *high-five* Right on, Erin!

      • 3 erinkenobi2893 March 26, 2015 at 01:20

        Thank you! *bows and sweeps hat off, spilling hair all over the place* *stands back up and pushes my hair back* Oops. :-P

      • 4 Professor VJ Duke March 26, 2015 at 12:00

        *laughing* Maybe you need a buzz cut?

      • 5 erinkenobi2893 March 26, 2015 at 12:11

        Nah, I got my hair cut short last August, and it’s just grown out a bit since then.

      • 6 Professor VJ Duke March 26, 2015 at 20:16

        Hair is so vexing.

      • 7 erinkenobi2893 March 27, 2015 at 00:29

        Always growing.

      • 8 Professor VJ Duke March 27, 2015 at 12:52

        *nods* Dadblameit!

  2. 9 Hazy March 11, 2015 at 12:21

    I think Shnodgrate has a point. I’ve heard that the truth sucks, or stinks, or will set you free. I haven’t heard that it evolves, so maybe it doesn’t? Maybe Darwin would know, do you think?

    • 10 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 21:55

      Darwin might know, then again, he barely knows about himself. Did you know he had trouble trimming his beard?

      • 11 Hazy March 15, 2015 at 11:09

        Oh, did he? *laughs* Maybe he used the wrong thing for trimming?

      • 12 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2015 at 23:45

        I bet he did. I think he used a parrot. At least, that’s what Schwarz tells me.

      • 13 Hazy March 16, 2015 at 12:54

        Well, that parrot probably needs some beak sharpening or something, don’t you think?

      • 14 Professor VJ Duke March 16, 2015 at 18:25

        Exactly! A beak sharpening would’ve worked wonders.

  3. 15 Susan P March 7, 2015 at 00:27

    Poor Amelia! The Professor talks way too much about that poor dear for him to be indifferent.

    • 16 Professor VJ Duke March 9, 2015 at 00:15

      I do feel for her, since you beat up on her, you know.

      • 17 Susan P March 9, 2015 at 11:49

        Oh, so now you are talking smack on me?

      • 18 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 01:02

        Talking smack! I love that. What’s it mean? Is it an expression?

      • 19 Susan P March 10, 2015 at 14:45

        It IS an expression. In this case, it means “gossip, talkin’ (word deleted )about one another,
        Example: That girls talkin’ smack about everyone!

        There is more on Urban Dictionary if you want to look it up.

      • 20 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:27

        I love it! I’m talking smack for sure! I’m always doing it, too.

      • 21 Susan P March 11, 2015 at 00:02

        Is that good or bad? :D

      • 22 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 21:40

        Good, I think. Means I’m spicy.

      • 23 Susan P March 11, 2015 at 22:15

        I thought you were prickly. You had that photo of you looking kind of prickly.

      • 24 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 16:11

        The one under the water?

      • 25 Susan P March 12, 2015 at 18:52

        Yes, that one.

      • 26 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 20:29

        Yes, that’s me; in a business suit.

      • 27 Susan P March 12, 2015 at 21:18

        I knew that.

      • 28 Susan P March 10, 2015 at 14:46

        But I don’t advise it.

      • 29 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:27

        Why not?

      • 30 Susan P March 11, 2015 at 00:03

        Well, because you are a gentleman, are you not?

      • 31 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 21:40

        But is that what the ladies think?

      • 32 Susan P March 11, 2015 at 22:17

        How would I know?

      • 33 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 16:11

        You’re a lady, of course. Ladies just know.

      • 34 Susan P March 12, 2015 at 18:51

        Now none of that nonsense. That is called “fishing.”

      • 35 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 20:28

        And this professor can’t fish, so…

      • 36 Susan P March 12, 2015 at 21:18

        Hurumph

  4. 37 The Lite Rider March 6, 2015 at 21:21

    Poetry school is not all it’s cracked up to be. However, don’t return with your katana. Be good! As for the proverb, it is in and of itself vexing.

    • 38 Professor VJ Duke March 6, 2015 at 21:36

      It is! Mind vexing, true. How’d you know I was going to take revenge? I was also going to bring DS…

      • 39 The Lite Rider March 6, 2015 at 23:27

        (Evil cackling….) Oh, by all means bring DS. He’ll set them straight! Hope you write about the outcome! :)

      • 40 Professor VJ Duke March 9, 2015 at 00:14

        Okay…just did! DS is an interesting specimen. He makes all things great.

  5. 41 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 5, 2015 at 20:28

    Shnoddy really is someone special, isn’t he? I find him very wise and he is spot on with his proverb. I’m saddened by the proverb, but it doesn’t make it any less true. I would take every class he has, Duketh. Yep. Seems you would have been a little better behaved in his class, if not for him, then for me so I could learn via your notes. How inconsiderate of you. I hope you were tossed out on your bottom.
    *Audrey’s stink eye*

    • 42 Professor VJ Duke March 6, 2015 at 21:18

      You’re saddened by the proverb? How come, Audith?

      *laughs and then growls* I was, thank you very much! I’m planning revenge on him, too, you should know. What should I do to him?

      • 43 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 6, 2015 at 22:04

        Well, because truth didn’t ask my opinion and if it had maybe things would be different in a better way, Duketh.

        *more stink eye* NO, you weren’t. *shy lady sigh* You best leave Shnoddy alone…he’s teaching me important things and I miss him enough already. You should allow him to speak and teach more often!! *guess with a wink*

      • 44 Professor VJ Duke March 9, 2015 at 00:11

        Oh…what things, for instance?

        He teaches all the time. I just don’t go all the time. But I’ll sneak in just for kicks and giggles and just for you…how’s that?

      • 45 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 9, 2015 at 03:53

        I suppose it can be hard to explain.

        I was thinking you’d go back and apologize for being so rude…

      • 46 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 00:56

        *kicks the dirt* I don’t wanna apologize!

      • 47 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 10, 2015 at 20:51

        Your decision, for sure. Shan’t allow me to have any say. No fun in that whatsoever.

      • 48 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:39

        Can you apologize for me, please?

      • 49 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 11, 2015 at 03:23

        No, but I will hold your hand if you’d like, little warrior. *pushes you into the classroom* !!!

      • 50 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 21:46

        *laughing* Hey! I’ve got a…sword!

      • 51 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 12, 2015 at 01:20

        Well, la tee da *laughs*

      • 52 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 16:19

        And it’s sharp!

      • 53 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 12, 2015 at 19:53

        I have no doubt! *looks closely*

      • 54 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 20:31

        Don’t worry; I cleaned all the blood off.

      • 55 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 12, 2015 at 21:10

        What?! Oh no…

      • 56 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2015 at 11:39

        *laughs triumphantly*

  6. 57 Julie Harris March 5, 2015 at 17:50

    I have to agree with the professor, so yes, I would be thrown out as well! It isn’t truth that evolves- but our understanding of it!

    • 58 Professor VJ Duke March 5, 2015 at 19:07

      Very good point, Julie. Very good point.

  7. 59 desertdweller29 March 5, 2015 at 16:22

    I’m flouncing off with FF. I’ve always wanted to flounce out of a place. Also, it seems there is an infestation of bugs in that classroom. I suggest Amelia wear goggles next time.

    • 60 Professor VJ Duke March 5, 2015 at 19:00

      Ew! Now you’re saying they creep out of her eyes…that’s awful.

      Can I flounce too?

      • 61 desertdweller29 March 5, 2015 at 21:18

        I’m not sure warriors are good at floucing. Weaponry tends to get in the way.

      • 62 Professor VJ Duke March 6, 2015 at 21:23

        True. And I bet it’s a thing only ladies do. I was just testing you, DD.

  8. 63 LadyPinkRose March 5, 2015 at 16:21

    *chewing* uh, I don’t think I quite agree, Professor, with the quote. Everything evolves, even truth, for it can not be any other way. All is in movement here in 3D so for truth to stay where it is at, not so. The more a person evolves, technically speaking, the truth which was truth one day, changes as well. T’is like an onion with many layers. When one layer no longer suffices, one peels it off. The closer you get to the center of that onion, the closer you get to the core of ALL THAT IS. Now this is a comment that is rather profound, me thinks. And as for LadyP she is cheating right now, cause she is supposed to be in the darkroom not at PL. *bye now as she runs quickly before anyone suspects she is not in the darkroom* Love, LadyP

    • 64 Professor VJ Duke March 5, 2015 at 18:59

      Lots of editing to do, LadyP?

      That’s cool then! ‘Cause I was hoping for this. See, I was hoping that one day it the grass would quit being green (that’s a truth) and maybe try purple. Do you suppose it will do that one day? We can but hope.

      • 65 LadyPinkRose March 5, 2015 at 21:22

        Been procrastinating and putting that darkroom off. Grrrrrr……. But once in, I won’t stop. As for purple grass, I like grass green. Just doesn’t set right with me to be walking on purple. *throws that idea out*

      • 66 Professor VJ Duke March 6, 2015 at 21:24

        But we all know it’s only what the professor wants that matters…right, LadyP?

      • 67 LadyPinkRose March 6, 2015 at 22:10

        Don’t tell me you are one of those kind who will throw a fit when or it your way is ignored. REALLY? Takes all kinds, I suppose ….

      • 68 Professor VJ Duke March 9, 2015 at 00:13

        I’m the kind that has a katana, madam! Do you believe it?

      • 69 LadyPinkRose March 9, 2015 at 02:35

        I do I do I really do. But ask me if I care. I do not, Sir!

      • 70 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 00:52

        You’re not scared?

      • 71 LadyPinkRose March 10, 2015 at 01:38

        No. Not a’tall. Tell me, pray thee, why I should be scared? Hummmm …….??????

      • 72 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 10:55

        Because the professor is a cool samurai!

  9. 73 Debbie March 5, 2015 at 16:18

    Professor, I fear you’ve written this deliberately in an attempt to stir up a hornet’s nest from your readers, right?? Didn’t anybody tell you that taunting someone to the point of a flounce or tantrum is just mean? *grins bigly* But golly, I love watching and reading the interactions!

    As to the proverb, of course it’s spot on. Shnoddy means, I think, that while we might not like to hear the truth, the truth will come out; it will never change from being the truth. There might be a lot of grey in our world, but some things hold fast to themselves and don’t need to change.

    Now, as for that bug-infested Amelia. . .well, at least she came up with an answer. You, sir, took the easy way out, preferring to play Scarlett O’Hara and “think about it another day.” *frowns* How is that contributing to class discussion, hmm??

    • 74 Professor VJ Duke March 5, 2015 at 18:56

      *laughing* You know, Debbie, I always pride myself on this fact: I love dropping little hints or comments (or posts), causing a ruckus, then running away and watching. Isn’t that tops?

      That’s it exactly! Well, you would have got an A+. Hey, do you suppose you can get me back in class?

      *laughs embarrassed* Well, in truth, I wanted to see Shnody’s face. I wasn’t expecting to have him throw me out!

      • 75 FictionFan March 5, 2015 at 21:43

        *makes notes*

      • 76 Professor VJ Duke March 6, 2015 at 21:24

        *rips up note* None of that, young lady!

  10. 77 L. Marie March 5, 2015 at 15:35

    I have to agree with FictionFan on this one. It’s like you want to live dangerously by bringing up Amelia. I find that aspect fascinating. I also like what Porter Girl would have done to Amelia.
    Though I agree with the proverb, I probably would have been thrown out of the school, because I would have been too busy watching everyone else interact, instead of analyzing the proverb. My vote, by the way, is for the head smacking.

    • 78 Professor VJ Duke March 5, 2015 at 18:50

      Does that mean you find the professor fascinating? Or, do you find fascinating the point that I’m a warrior who always puts myself in harms way? (You have to feel just a bit bad for Amelia, don’t you? Poor thingy…)

      *laughing lots* I bet you’d make it in the school. Shnod would probably make you leader of the students. See, then it would your job to put an end to all of that…and you tell me you’d hit Amelia! Oh huff-hum!

      • 79 L. Marie March 6, 2015 at 15:14

        Um, if I say I meant the latter, will you flounce off like FictionFan flounces off when Amelia is mentioned? (Always very funny by the way.) ‘Cause there’s no harm in being fascinating for being someone who throws himself in harm’s way.

      • 80 Professor VJ Duke March 6, 2015 at 21:35

        Oh no, that’s the better option! I don’t flounce (I’ve tried, but FEF’s too good at it) I just rampage about, you know.

  11. 81 FictionFan March 5, 2015 at 15:01

    The truth? The truth?!? The truth is, sir, that you are the ficklest philanderingest Professor who ever… professed!! You only go to these poetry classes so you can sit next to that insect-eyelashed creature, tempting her with your bewitching pants!! Don’t feel like thinking about it, eh?? What you mean, sir, is that you are so gardoobled at the sight of all that eyelash fluttering that you CAN’T think!! Well, let me tell you, sir, that if I should ever meet that mantrapping little minx, she shall have something worse than bugs in her eye!!! *practices left hook*

    The truth?? Pah! You can’t handle the truth!! Ain’t that the truth?? *flounces off, accidentally knocking Shnoddy out of the poetry class window as she goes*

    *flounces back for a moment* And another thing! Isn’t Schwarzy just adorable? And sooo insightful! *sticks tongue out at Professor and flounces off again*

    • 82 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member March 5, 2015 at 15:14

      Wow…

      • 83 FictionFan March 5, 2015 at 15:20

        *laughs lots* Don’t make me laugh while I’m flouncing…!!

      • 84 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member March 5, 2015 at 16:04

        I’ll try. I was just impressed with the tantrum.

    • 85 Professor VJ Duke March 5, 2015 at 18:47

      *mouth drops open in shock* But…but…but…I was ripping her, what with the insects in the eyes and all… I thought I was doing a glorious job to. This reminds me of an Alan Parsons song–the sudden, I’ll have you know! Now that you mention it, she did want to go to tea…but I said no! Aren’t you proud of me?

      *laughs* I can’t handle the truth. Who’s going to do it? You? You, Lieutenant Weinberg? We used words like… Sorry. I couldn’t help it. Shnod! *laughs* Oh dear. He’ll be in a messy fit, you know!

      Wow. That was so hurtful. And deliberate! That makes it deliberately hurtful.

      • 86 FictionFan March 5, 2015 at 21:51

        Oh, don’t you try your Mr Innocent act on me, sir! You shouldn’t have been looking at her eyes!! *quickly youtubes then gasps* “I Wouldn’t Want To Be Like You”?!? Well, that’s just mean!! *sobs brokenly* Well… I might be – depending on what you said next. For example “No, but I’d love to have dinner with you on Saturday” would not be good, but “No, go away and leave me alone, bug-eyes!” would make me very proud!

        *laughs despite herself* Did you like my Jack impersonation then? Oh, if Shnoddy landed on his head, he won’t have damaged anything important…

        *excessively proud face*

      • 87 Professor VJ Duke March 6, 2015 at 21:25

        Well…what do you look at when you look at a person? Hmm? *laughs* No, not that one. The one I meant is: Damned if I do, Damned if I don’t. Well, I just smiled and said, “begone, wench”. How’s that?

        I loved it! You’re good at it, I’d say. Very good. His neck?

        *cries*

      • 88 FictionFan March 7, 2015 at 17:28

        Are you implying I’m a… Cassie?!? You shouldn’t have looked at her at all!! You know you can’t resist her! “Begone, wench” is very good – excellent, in fact!! But did you have to smile? That will just encourage the little minx…

        *curtseys* Oh, he’ll be fine! His head might be a bit wobbly for a while but that could be cute…

        *huffy face* OK. You win. I apologise. *stomps off*

      • 89 Professor VJ Duke March 9, 2015 at 00:23

        I can’t help it, FEF! I’m always smiling. It’s a good way to get people to think you’re sweet. I’m a troll, remember.

        *laughs* Sure. He’ll be cute with a broken neck. Girl-logic.

        I don’t accept! You need a z in there…

  12. 90 walt walker March 5, 2015 at 14:06

    They can’t throw you out Old Sport, I won’t stand for it. How can I help? Do you need me to bring you some weaponry?

    • 91 Professor VJ Duke March 5, 2015 at 18:43

      *nods* I think you may need to. Do you suppose that’s what it requires? You know, Walt, I’m a peaceful man…but if that’s what needs to happen…

  13. 92 Frederick March 5, 2015 at 13:17

    You were thrown out of poetry school!? So was I, such a shame

    • 93 Professor VJ Duke March 5, 2015 at 18:36

      Were you? Did you get thrown out quite rudely, too? We should do something about it, Frederick.

  14. 94 PorterGirl March 5, 2015 at 13:16

    Now, this is a very deep and demanding thing, Professor. I read it twice and my head hurt a little each time. The proverb seems to suggest that the ‘truth’ is an ancient and unchanging thing that we cannot influence, however much we would like to. As my old nan would say – “It is what it is”. The truth is stoic.
    I would be thrown out of poetry school for smacking Amelia in her stupid head. Also, I am very bad at poetry. If there is a tea & cake school, I would like to go there instead, please.

    • 95 Professor VJ Duke March 5, 2015 at 18:36

      *laughs* A tea and cake school–you’d excel there, but I still would thrown out, I fear. On my rear probably. And that makes me want to rampage. (I just want to rampage the sudden…bet you can tell.)

      Your nan is very wise. I love that saying.

      Smack Amelia? Hope you do! But why?

      • 96 PorterGirl March 5, 2015 at 20:21

        You are so rampage-y all of a sudden! Which is quite cool. Do you want me to grab a couple of batons and come over?
        Amelia! Well. I wpuld have thought that was obvious. Pah!

      • 97 Professor VJ Duke March 6, 2015 at 21:17

        Yes, please! It’s always more fun to rampage with someone. Well, that’s because she’s a baddy, I suppose. Which is a good reason.

      • 98 PorterGirl March 8, 2015 at 21:11

        Rampaging is always better in twos. Or, hundreds. That is effective *grabs batons*. Yes – because she is a baddy. That’s the reason. *eye roll*

      • 99 Professor VJ Duke March 9, 2015 at 00:29

        *laughing* Good then! Let’s rampage at Amelia’s house! Bring The Dean. Foul language always helps.

      • 100 PorterGirl March 9, 2015 at 05:59

        It’s a plan! The Dean will love it. He will invent some new curses especially for the occasion.

      • 101 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 00:57

        *laughing* I’d love to hear his new ones!

      • 102 PorterGirl March 10, 2015 at 06:16

        You should hide his whiskey. You will hear them then!

      • 103 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 10:57

        *laughing* Good plan! I shall do this. Especially if it’s cherry.

      • 104 PorterGirl March 10, 2015 at 11:07

        I will arrange for Head Of Catering to order some cherry whiskey for The Dean immediately.

      • 105 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:18

        And I think I’d like to taste just a bit…never heard of it before, after all.

      • 106 PorterGirl March 11, 2015 at 06:07

        I don’t know if it exists even. Cherry brandy is a thing. That could work.

      • 107 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 21:48

        Ohhhhhh…that sounds tempting. Pour me a glass, please!

      • 108 PorterGirl March 12, 2015 at 08:13

        Okay-dokey. Just a little one, though. It is rather potent.

      • 109 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 16:21

        Can’t say I’ve ever had it… *drinks a bunch*

      • 110 PorterGirl March 12, 2015 at 16:31

        *shocked face* I would go easy on that, if I were you. It might make you dance.

      • 111 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 16:33

        *laughing* You set me up!

      • 112 PorterGirl March 12, 2015 at 16:46

        Teehee!

      • 113 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 20:21

        *sticks tongue out* Oh rats! Now I’m acting like a girl.

      • 114 PorterGirl March 12, 2015 at 21:12

        That’s what cherry brandy will do for you! Aha.

      • 115 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2015 at 11:40

        I should blame you!

      • 116 PorterGirl March 13, 2015 at 12:38

        *looks around innocently to see who he could possibly be referring to…*

      • 117 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2015 at 20:29

        Terry won’t help you know! I’ve caught you!

      • 118 PorterGirl March 14, 2015 at 09:02

        *laughs* Dadblamit!

      • 119 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2015 at 19:05

        That is such a good word. It’s actually brightened my mood.

      • 120 PorterGirl March 15, 2015 at 08:56

        The very best word. Everyone should use it often as a mood-brightening technique.

      • 121 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2015 at 23:44

        I think I agree with you: 105.5%.


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,873 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 115,330 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


