A Collector

So, here it is: this professor decided that I wanted to be thought of as a collector.

Why? I’m not sure. But I did.

Now, once that was decided, the hard part had truly come.

You see, I now had to decide what I was a collector of.

After about years of thinking (thought some say I didn’t think consistently that whole time) I finally found something that will maybe probably maybe let me say I’m a collector.

Here it is:

DSC00979

It’s nice, true, but what worries is me is the amount of time it took me to find it. You see, it’s been hanging on my wall for some time, and it took me some more time to find it—if that makes any sense, which it probably doesn’t.

But there’s an explanation.

I began collecting these when I was a goose-nubbin. Yes, that was years and years and years ago.

By the time the last quarter came out…I was maybe a bit disinterested in the process. Now, it was the fault—solely—of the minters that I lost interest. (They should have had these all out at once. Then again, you couldn’t call yourself a collector, then. You’d just be a buyer. But they could have sped up the process, I’m thinking.)

But here’s the heart of the matter.

Since they took so long finishing these, I lost interest. Since I lost interest, I didn’t care. Since I didn’t care, I forgot. Since I forgot, it took me lots of time to finally realize I was a collector—of sorts.

How about you, PF? Do you collect anything remarkable or junky?

180 Responses to “A Collector”


  1. 1 erinkenobi2893 March 24, 2015 at 15:26

    I know what you mean! It took far too long.

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke March 24, 2015 at 20:16

      It sure did. Did you do it, too?

      • 3 erinkenobi2893 March 26, 2015 at 01:19

        Yes, I did. But I ended up spending my quarters, especially because they’re not so special any more, as the government is releasing LOTS more for no good reason. I’m not too engaged in it, you see. I’m more interested in collecting snail shells, which, I believe, are a form of currency in Atlantis, as well as in Ancient China.

      • 4 Professor VJ Duke March 26, 2015 at 11:59

        Much better pastime, I agree. Maybe I should take it up? I’d hunt for red shells.

      • 5 erinkenobi2893 March 26, 2015 at 12:10

        Ohhh, that sounds like a good idea… Red shells are cool.

      • 6 Professor VJ Duke March 26, 2015 at 20:16

        They must be!

      • 7 erinkenobi2893 March 26, 2015 at 21:21

        Indeed.

  2. 8 Louis from VA March 14, 2015 at 12:52

    Hey, a fellow coin collector! *high five*
    I like collecting holy cards too, and I guess one might call all my CD’s a collection.

    • 9 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2015 at 19:06

      *high-five* That’s cool! Do you like a particular…nation’s coins? Or just old ones?

      CD’s are definitely a collection as are holy cards. I collect CDs to, I must admit.

      • 10 Louis from VA March 16, 2015 at 09:40

        Old ones mainly, but foreign coins are neat too. :) What about you?

      • 11 Professor VJ Duke March 16, 2015 at 18:22

        I do mostly foreign, and I’m not sure why.

      • 12 Louis from VA March 16, 2015 at 20:36

        It’s neat to see coins from different cultures. And to see what they put on them.
        Are you much of an expert? Because I’ve got a few whose origin I’ve never identified.

      • 13 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2015 at 03:38

        I agree! Sometimes they’re thicker. Well, lots of times. And cooler!

        I fear I’m not. I just collect. You should do a post on them!

    • 14 erinkenobi2893 March 24, 2015 at 15:26

      I collect holy cards as well! :-D

      • 15 Louis from VA March 24, 2015 at 15:53

        :D. I started not long ago, but I’m enjoying it so far. Fun to look for saints you don’t have yet.

      • 16 erinkenobi2893 March 24, 2015 at 17:16

        I know, right?!

      • 17 Professor VJ Duke March 24, 2015 at 20:18

        Collecting is just tops.

      • 18 Louis from VA March 24, 2015 at 20:24

        ‘Tis!

      • 19 Professor VJ Duke March 25, 2015 at 11:42

        That word is always so appropriate.

      • 20 Louis from VA March 25, 2015 at 11:43

        XD. ‘Tis!

      • 21 Professor VJ Duke March 25, 2015 at 11:57

        *Laughs*

  3. 22 samaborder March 11, 2015 at 21:17

    I am not quite sure why you spend so much time collecting coins to play your connect 4.
    It is very pretty though.
    Sam

    • 23 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 22:06

      That’s a good point. Well…see, they were state quarters. You mean you wouldn’t collect them?

      • 24 samaborder March 11, 2015 at 22:09

        not my bag professor, i’m more of a bone collector you see.

      • 25 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 16:11

        What sort of bones?

      • 26 samaborder March 12, 2015 at 22:37

        Hey gives me deer legs and beef shin once a week and if they are still meaty i bury them for a bit. I have a little collection stashed by the shed .

      • 27 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2015 at 11:44

        Wow. I didn’t know that. But it’s cool.

      • 28 samaborder March 13, 2015 at 12:08

        I eat a raw meat raw veg raw fish diet and have done for years.

      • 29 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2015 at 20:27

        No way! You don’t cook the meat at all?

      • 30 samaborder March 13, 2015 at 21:39

        of course not I am a dog! tell you what I’ll post something on the subject and we can discuss it further
        Sam

      • 31 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2015 at 18:54

        Now it makes sense, Sammy. Do you mind if I call you Sammy?

      • 32 samaborder March 14, 2015 at 23:11

        Not at all professor, all my friends call me Sammy.

      • 33 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2015 at 23:43

        Well, then, Mr. Sammy!

  4. 34 Hazy March 11, 2015 at 12:33

    That’s a fine collection, professor! Even had it framed and all with a caption thingy. Does it have a specific order? (like based on when it became a state or something?)

    I wouldn’t call myself a collector, but I do keep some coins from a country I’ve visited. More like souvenirs, I suppose.

    Oh, I do collect books! But only those I really, truly, absolutely enjoyed reading. I that still a collection even if it’s selected? Selective collection?

    I do

    • 35 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 21:57

      *smiles lots* Thanks, Hazy! Well, I think there’s an order. The coins were released based on when they became states in the Union.

      Coins make the perfect souvenirs. I love them to bits. Does Weatherly guard them for you?

      It definitely is. Selected works of favs. That would be a great name for it.

      • 36 Hazy March 15, 2015 at 11:13

        Oh, nice. Very well-thought out order indeed.

        Weatherly doesn’t bother guarding ’em because they’re cheap coins ,mostly cents *laughs*

        Ooh, good one. I can’t frame the selected works of favs though, haha. Maybe I’ll put that title on the shelf or something.

      • 37 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2015 at 23:46

        But still priceless! There the kind I collect too.

        *laughs* Yes…that would be a bit difficult to frame…

  5. 38 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 10, 2015 at 21:02

    You have a nice set of coins, Duke. Maybe you could sell them and get your money back. I don’t have a set of these. Might I steal yours? *wears all black and a mask* I don’t have the patience to collect them, plus half of them are probably on the bottom of a wishing well now.

    Once again, your writing makes me smile. Genius in its random exactness…or something like that. Brilliant.

    • 39 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:41

      Thank you! *laughing* You’re right about being at the bottom of a wishing well. You don’t know how many times I was tempted to dip into the wishing wells I ran across and steal the coins I needed for the collection. But I was a good boy, ’cause I didn’t want to get wet. What warrior doesn’t like to get wet? Steal them?! You can have them if you like.

      Aw, thanks! It is pretty nuts, isn’t it? I just read it again. It’s amazing any of you guys read this junk.

      • 40 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 11, 2015 at 03:37

        You’re a warrior who doesn’t like to get wet, I think. One could steal them from the wishing well, but it didnt work out so well for the Goonies when they tried. Best you hunted them down like everyone else. My dad collected enough for eight grandkids…tons of commitment there. Have them?! I prefer to take them by force…

        You know how to entertain, Duketh. Smiles…
        JUNK?! How dare you. *burns down the neighborhood*

      • 41 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 21:47

        By force? But they’re guarded. By a spell, nonetheless. Did your dad? He’s awesome. *laughs* Did he have a hard time of it?

        The neighborhood? Dear me. Look what I’ve caused…

      • 42 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 12, 2015 at 01:18

        A spell…now that is seriously cool. Who did the spelling…? *giggles* Yeah, he had a pretty tough time. Had a lot of friends helping him.

        I know. You should be ashamed.

      • 43 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 16:19

        Well…some witch, I guess. Maybe a lizard witch. That sounds like fun. You should set him about collecting thumb picks next!

        I know what to do! *burns down neighborhood over here so Audith isn’t alone*

      • 44 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 12, 2015 at 19:52

        A lizard witch? I’ve never seen one. We have loads of lizards here and not one whose a witch. At least I don’t think so… Thumb picks? He wouldn’t know what that was, Duketh.

        *waves to Duketh on the 5 ‘ o’clock news*
        Thanks for sitting with me. *smiles sweetly*

      • 45 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 20:30

        But you can’t be sure. Lizards are such baddies. Really? It’s just for a guitar is all!

        *waves back* Do you suppose we’ll both go to jail?

      • 46 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 12, 2015 at 21:09

        I think they’re facinating! He wouldn’t have a clue, probably.

        Yes. Won’t that be fun! *side ways smile*

      • 47 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2015 at 11:38

        Really? YOu must needs get him a guitar.

        Your fault!

      • 48 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 13, 2015 at 16:17

        He wouldn’t want one…it would sit and collect dust.

      • 49 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2015 at 20:31

        That’s the cowboy in him.

      • 50 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 13, 2015 at 22:11

        Yes, he prefers to listen and dance to the music while you play. He taught me to dance.

      • 51 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2015 at 18:55

        Oh! Well, that’s just as good, I’m thinking.

      • 52 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister March 14, 2015 at 22:13

        Yes, should be fine.

  6. 53 Debbie March 10, 2015 at 17:16

    Nice collection, Professor. Funny, Domer collected these quarters, too. But then, he also collected rocks, Pokemon cards, Beanie Babies, McDonald’s toys, and the list goes on!

    I don’t collect much, other than memories. They’re relatively easy to move from place to place, I can bring them out and enjoy at will, and nobody can take them from me!

    • 54 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member March 10, 2015 at 20:16

      I like your style of collecting!

      • 55 Debbie March 10, 2015 at 20:21

        Thanks, Nick — the nice thing about memories is, The longer you live, the more you collect!

    • 56 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:36

      I’ve got a huge collection of rocks! I was so into that for a time, as well as Pokemon (still have a few) and McDonald’s toys! This is unbelievable!

      Debbie, that is very smart. And cool. I should do that more. No one can mess with your mind. Except a Nandi bear. I hear they eat brains.

      • 57 Debbie March 10, 2015 at 23:58

        It’s scary how much like Domer you are, Professor. Positively scary! He still has some of his special Pokemon cards, too (some holographic ones, I think).

        A Nandi bear? Never heard of that! I’m off to visit Google and see what one looks like — eating brains sounds like a zombie!

      • 58 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 21:39

        Yeah! I know the holographic ones. I kept the one for Eevee.

        It is a zombie bear! Needs hunted.

      • 59 Debbie March 11, 2015 at 23:13

        Aw, I always liked Eevee! I think Domer has a Charizard, possibly more.
        Yikes, I looked that thing up, and it’s plainly ferocious! Not something I’d want to encounter, especially in the dark!

      • 60 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 16:16

        Really? That was my fav. one!

        I know what you mean. But I’d kill it dead.

    • 61 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member March 11, 2015 at 00:16

      I agree. They are a much more intelligent thing to collect…than useless items.

  7. 62 Nancy Loderick March 10, 2015 at 17:14

    Hi Professor,

    Remarkable is in the eye of the beholder, I think. I collect exercise DVDs and little exercise balls. I think they are quite remarkable, but others may beg to differ. :)

    Nancy

    • 63 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:35

      That’s cool you collect that sort of thing! For sure. Do you have a red exercise ball?

      • 64 Nancy Loderick March 14, 2015 at 21:29

        Hi Professor,

        Actually no! I have a white, a blue, a yellow and a purple exercise ball. Mmm, maybe I will get a red one this year. Red is such a cheerful color, isn’t it?

        Nancy

      • 65 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2015 at 23:41

        It is! But…hey, so is yellow! That’s the one I’d use.

      • 66 Nancy Loderick March 16, 2015 at 20:00

        Well Professor,

        Being a yellow brick just goes to show that you are a person of many levels.

        Nancy

      • 67 Nancy Loderick March 16, 2015 at 20:02

        Hi again Professor,

        Oops, I got confused between my exercise balls and your bricks from another post. My last reply about being a yellow brick didn’t make much sense, did it?

        Nancy

      • 68 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2015 at 03:37

        *laughing* Well, it made me think, which is always a good thing. Now a yellow brick is an interest.

      • 69 Nancy Loderick March 17, 2015 at 19:49

        Well Professor,

        Perhaps you could include a yellow brick in an upcoming blog post. Just make sure you describe it as yellow. :)

        Nancy

      • 70 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2015 at 22:15

        I will have to. That’d be super cool.

  8. 71 John W. Howell March 10, 2015 at 16:32

    I collect words. I have millions of them. They are not on display but now and then I will bring some out to look at and admire. Some are antiques and some modern, but I love them all.

    • 72 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:34

      That’s a good thing to collect, I think. Millions? I’m impressed. Are the antique ones grouchy at all?

      • 73 John W. Howell March 11, 2015 at 00:20

        They tend to be misunderstood. So yes, they are grouchy

      • 74 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 21:41

        *nods* I can’t think of one thing that doesn’t get grouchy when misunderstood.

  9. 75 FictionFan March 10, 2015 at 15:59

    Hmm… I left a message but it doesn’t seem to have come through. And now I don’t really remember what rubbish I said. So I’ll just wave hi, and go…

    • 76 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:33

      Thanks for telling me! You never say any rubbish (love that word) and everyone enjoys what you say. (Me more than all.) And you’re not allowed to just go! *grabs FEF* I found John Carter on TV Saturday night, and I thought of you. That’s like my favorite movie–ever!

      • 77 FictionFan March 11, 2015 at 17:58

        Awww, thanks, C-W-W! *smiles like Woola* I hope you were looking at Dejah Thoris when you thought of me, and not a thark!

      • 78 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 22:04

        I was actually looking at Woola…

      • 79 FictionFan March 12, 2015 at 15:20

        Awww! It’s odd that I should find that quite flattering… *wags tail and grins*

      • 80 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 16:32

        Well, that’s ’cause you like him so much!

  10. 81 FictionFan March 10, 2015 at 15:45

    Interestingly enough, I collect Professors! I have a special net to catch them with and I’ve found that prompt feeding of cherry pie induces a trance-like state. This allows me get them on the board and stick the pin through (they don’t seem to like that bit much, but they stop protesting after a while.) There’s still room on my board for a few more – currently I’m hunting for the Greater Red-Shoed Professor – a rare breed, with peculiar markings that make it look as if it’s wearing extraordinarily beautiful pants…

    • 82 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:31

      *laughing lots and lots and more lots* Why am I suddenly picturing myself like a blue-footed booby? A pin? Goodness…how many professor do you have? Should that make me just a bit jealous?

      *can’t stop laughing* The Greater Red-Shoed Professor…that sounds dreadfully scary! Does he have a katana?

      • 83 FictionFan March 11, 2015 at 17:57

        *googles* Awww! The blue-footed booby is adorable! Only 23 so far – but you shall be the pride of my collection!

        He does! And the cutest little kiss-curl!

      • 84 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 22:04

        They are tops! Well…wait a minute here…23?! Where do you catch them all at?

        Humph-noodles. Bet he has an edelman, too!

      • 85 FictionFan March 12, 2015 at 15:20

        I have a special arrangement with trees – whenever a Professor goes past, they bash him over the head to stun him, and then send tree vibes to let me know. Only some Professors have harder heads than others…

        I hope not! I fear I would have to shave him then *sharpens cut-throat razor*

      • 86 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 16:32

        *laughing lots* But aren’t THE pants resistant to tree bashing? That’s why I bought them. I think I’ve got the hardest head ever.

        *grabs throat* Goodness me. Is that Tuppence’s razor?

      • 87 FictionFan March 12, 2015 at 17:43

        Wait! Let me get this straight! You wear THE pants on your head??? *considers swooning but is frankly too gardoobled*

        Tchah! Tuppence doesn’t shave!

      • 88 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 20:26

        *laughing lots* Of course I do! It’s like a wig of sorts. Oh dear…look what you make me do!

        Well, then it must be Hector’s! A girl couldn’t have one like that.

      • 89 FictionFan March 13, 2015 at 00:57

        *laughs and laughs and laughs* Oh dear! I’m so sorry, but you know that one is now about to be incorporated into every comment for the next two months, don’t you? I can’t help it…

        You assume I use it for shaving… *gnome face*

      • 90 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2015 at 11:47

        No! We must stop this before it gets out there. And you must do it! Or…or…or…I’ll growl…and not bring you any rubies!

        Is it a weapon? *wide professor eyes*

      • 91 FictionFan March 13, 2015 at 16:44

        Sadly, I like when you growl… more than rubies!

        In the right hands…

      • 92 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2015 at 20:35

        More than rubies? I think I should be honored. But growls are supposed to inspire fear.

        Ooo…let me have a go at it!

      • 93 FictionFan March 14, 2015 at 01:50

        You should! But the Professor is sparklier than the brightest ruby and his nose in the snow is redder! *apologises in advance*

        Well… perhaps… but only if you promise not to grow an Edelman…

      • 94 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2015 at 19:01

        *laughing* Your nose would’ve been too! It was deathly cold out there. *shivers*

        Naw…I’ll only do that if you tell me…

      • 95 FictionFan March 15, 2015 at 15:53

        (*laughing* I’ll tell you if you send me a copy of the warrior-babe pic…)

      • 96 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2015 at 23:53

        Do you really want to see that?

      • 97 FictionFan March 16, 2015 at 16:25

        Do you really want to know…?

      • 98 Professor VJ Duke March 16, 2015 at 18:38

        Of course!

      • 99 FictionFan March 16, 2015 at 22:18

        *chuckles and runs off*

      • 100 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2015 at 03:43

        I thought not. I wouldn’t want to see it either.

      • 101 FictionFan March 17, 2015 at 17:04

        Oh, but I do…

      • 102 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2015 at 22:14

        *laughing lots* I wish I could show you.

    • 103 L. Marie March 11, 2015 at 01:11

      Your comments always make my day.

      • 104 FictionFan March 11, 2015 at 17:59

        Haha! Thanks, L. Marie! The Professor inspires my inner lunatic…

  11. 105 Susan P March 10, 2015 at 15:07

    I’m in the process of un-collecting. To wit, I am dismantling my collections and giving or selling my collections. I’m working to almost minimalism.

    • 106 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:29

      Good for you! But you can’t get rid of your swords, Susan.

      • 107 Susan P March 11, 2015 at 00:07

        Gracious no! Nem pensar!

      • 108 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 21:41

        Nem Pensar is a good name.

      • 109 Susan P March 11, 2015 at 22:18

        It means, Don’t even think about it.

      • 110 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 16:12

        Even better of a name! Isn’t it?

      • 111 Susan P March 12, 2015 at 18:49

        Well, the advantage of it, you see, is that it has multiple purposes.

      • 112 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 20:28

        I think it could be the name of a planet, too.

      • 113 Susan P March 12, 2015 at 21:32

        How did you guess? *looks at him wide eyed*

      • 114 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2015 at 11:42

        Professor power!

      • 115 Susan P March 13, 2015 at 22:35

        You must be…magical.

      • 116 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2015 at 18:56

        Definitely!

      • 117 Susan P March 14, 2015 at 19:31

        *smiles big* I knew it!

      • 118 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2015 at 23:39

        *shoots fireworks from his fingers*

      • 119 Susan P March 15, 2015 at 23:58

        Ooooo…are you practicing for the Fourth of July?

      • 120 Professor VJ Duke March 16, 2015 at 18:18

        I definitely am!

      • 121 Susan P March 16, 2015 at 18:29

        *wicked grin* Betcha get a bang out of it! :D

  12. 122 desertdweller29 March 10, 2015 at 14:47

    I collected these same blasted coins, and like you, lost interest towards the end. I think I ended with Puerto Rico. Now I collect dust bunnies. It’s an easy hobby that thrives on neglect.

    • 123 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:28

      *laughing* Dust bunnies…gosh…do you have many different colors?

      • 124 desertdweller29 March 11, 2015 at 03:17

        Yes, I do. But they tend to be shades of gray.

      • 125 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 21:43

        No red ones? DD!

  13. 126 Julie Harris March 10, 2015 at 13:04

    “Goose nubbin” has me cracking up! I used to collect things…until I realized that the more things I collect, the more things there are to dust!!

    • 127 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:26

      *laughs* Isn’t that an awesome word? That’s so true! I’m the world’s worst duster.

  14. 128 L. Marie March 10, 2015 at 12:45

    Wow. A goose-nubbin. Is that better than being a doe-crumb?
    Congrats on finishing the state quarters collection. Good on you. At one point people kept giving me stuffed sheep. I’m not really sure why. I have a quite the herd on my bookshelves. (Well, they’re actually in a box now since those shelves recently collapsed.) After that, people kept giving me those faceless angel figurines with the metal wings. Nowadays, I mostly collect books and skeins of yarn.

    • 129 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:25

      *laughs* A doe-crumb! I never heard of that. What is it, Linda?

      A collection of sheep sound cool. What were they stuffed with? Yeah, you know, it’s pretty cool what you do with yarn!

      • 130 L. Marie March 11, 2015 at 01:12

        A doe-crumb is the same as a goose-nubbin, only bigger.

      • 131 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 21:43

        *laughs* Yes, I’m a goose-nubbin, still, I think.

  15. 132 sonmi upon the Cloud March 10, 2015 at 12:23

    I’m liking ‘goose-nubbin’ a great deal *laughs*. sonmi collects old books and has a collection of over 350 of them at present. There are some wonderful ye olde bookes on her shelves. She also collects blogger nuts of the highest quality – of which you are one. *puts him back in the glass cabinet and adjusts his bow-tie*.

    I could not find a phrase to ‘coin’ to add to this, but I like said coins all the same. One should move wall pieces and decorations once a year so that we still see them methinks. *smiles*

    – sonmi collecting away upon the Cloud

    • 133 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:25

      Isn’t that a great word for me? 350?! My goodness! Have you read them all? Are they dusty? And how did Sonmi know the professor wears a bowtie?

      That’s a very good point. Would you like the quarters?

      • 134 sonmi upon the Cloud March 10, 2015 at 23:59

        I have read almost all of them, some are dusty *laughs*, some have inscriptions, some have other secrets.
        I know you have a bow-tie because I am sonmi.
        I would like the quarters yes, but I would not take them from you.
        As four quarters make a whole, how many holes do you have in that frame now?

        – sonmi winking upon the Cloud

      • 135 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 21:39

        About 50 holes, I think? Or a bit more, maybe.

        Does one of the books contain a secret code?

      • 136 sonmi upon the Cloud March 14, 2015 at 10:58

        One of them contains all your future in precise detail, but it is written with an invisible pen. Which is a bit crap.

        – sonmi laughing upon the Cloud

      • 137 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2015 at 19:05

        It certainly is! Could you possibly crack it for me, and let me know my future?

      • 138 sonmi upon the Cloud March 14, 2015 at 19:37

        ‘Could it be? Yes it could. Something’s coming, something good’ – that’s all I got Prof.

        – sonmi done her best and everything upon the Cloud

      • 139 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2015 at 23:40

        Well, Sonmi! Thank you bunches. That’s good news overall.

  16. 140 Jackie March 10, 2015 at 11:29

    I collect vintage cameras and photos.

    • 141 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:24

      No way! That is sooooooo cool, Jackie! What’s the oldest camera you have?

      • 142 Jackie March 11, 2015 at 09:35

        A Vest Pocket Kodak from 1902.

      • 143 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 21:51

        Wow!! That is so cool. I bet it looks really neatio.

      • 144 Jackie March 11, 2015 at 21:54

        It does!

      • 145 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 22:07

        Does it still work?

      • 146 Jackie March 11, 2015 at 22:28

        Here is what it looks like http://tinyurl.com/o7dyzym and I think it does but I would need to get film for it and find a place to develope the film to be sure. It can be costly so I’m not sure I want to get into all of that.

      • 147 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 16:13

        Wow. That is the coolest, and I completely understand. It’s enough to know that it would probably work. So cool.

      • 148 Jackie March 12, 2015 at 18:42

        That’s the way I look at it too! I’m glad you think it’s cool. :-D

      • 149 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 20:26

        I sure do. I think your whole hobby is tops.

  17. 150 Simply Skeptical March 10, 2015 at 11:22

    Professor I see your point. To be a collector one must muster patience something I’ve never had. I can’t think of anything I’d like to collect over buy so there you have it – An avid non-collector in the truest form.

    • 151 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:23

      *laughs* That’s a good point. Now that you mention, I can’t think of anything either. Maybe butterflies?

  18. 152 PorterGirl March 10, 2015 at 11:16

    *laughs* a goose-nubbin! Oh, that is my favourite word now. I think I may call you that at times I am feeling feisty. I really like that, lots and lots.

    I like your point about collections taking rather too long to be collected. But if a thing is interesting enough then you might not get bored collecting it. The coins are nice, though. But a bit same-y. As you know, I collect hats! I tried collecting cakes but I kept eating them *hangs head in shame*

    Maybe you could be a collector of collections! Then, if one collection becomes tiresome you could always start another.

    • 153 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:21

      *laughs too* I think the professor is still a goose-nubbin. Come on, you know I am!

      I never heard of a cake collector! But it’s a novel idea. I imagine that sort of collection keeps moving…after all, you don’t want them to go bad. They are same-y! But they do have different backs…for whatever it’s worth. Which isn’t much. Hats! Do you have a red one?

      *laughing* I’ll take you up on that!

      • 154 PorterGirl March 11, 2015 at 06:11

        You are a goose-nubbin, yes indeed! It shall be your new name. Professor Goose-nubbin *squeals with delight*. I have been calling Terry My Little Goose-nubbin all day and night. He likes it. Then I rub his tummy.
        I certainly do have a red hat. And a purple one – a girl’s colour!
        *laughs too* you simply must!

      • 155 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 21:50

        *laughing* Anything to forget about the…you know! Terry likes it. That’s a good thing. Means it a warrior-ish name. I kinda like the nickname, I must admit. Reminds me of John Wayne, you know. Does he claw you when your rub his tummy?

      • 156 PorterGirl March 12, 2015 at 08:16

        Very well, Goose-nubbin, I shall use the moniker liberally. Yes, rather warrior-ish – Terry knows about these things. He never claws me, he bats me with his soft little paws, claws hidden away. And he makes a noise like a little lawnmower when I do it. I think that is a good sign.

      • 157 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 16:22

        I think that’s a great sign. Did you know lawnmowers make a loud noise so you can’t hear the bugs screaming for mercy?

      • 158 PorterGirl March 12, 2015 at 16:37

        Is that why they do that? Poor bugs. I went over a frog once. Messy. My lawn always looks like a meadow anyway, I don’t know why I bother. Still, the grass has to be short for croquet.

      • 159 Professor VJ Duke March 12, 2015 at 20:16

        *laughing* Yeah, this professor lives more out in the country, so…I have a field. Not much grass! A field. I ran over a snake once!

        Croquet…I’ve never played. But it sounds like fun.

      • 160 PorterGirl March 12, 2015 at 21:07

        I live in the country too, but without coyotes and snakes. The buggers! Croquet is silly but lots of fun. Especiallyif you cheat.

      • 161 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2015 at 11:37

        I’d try and cheat! But it would probably backfire. *laughing* Of course you’d cheat a bit… No snakes? There’s no fun in that, I say.

      • 162 PorterGirl March 13, 2015 at 12:35

        It’s quite easy to cheat a bit, you just have to distract your opponants! And kick them. Ha! No snakes – but there was a masive worm, once. Like in Dune. Almost.

      • 163 Professor VJ Duke March 13, 2015 at 20:27

        *laughing* Well, I’ll be ready for you tricks if we ever play, madam! A worm is just as cool! I hope you picked it up and inspected it.

      • 164 PorterGirl March 14, 2015 at 08:59

        *laughs too* I shall have to be at my most cunning, then! I did – it was sort of an orange colour in the middle. I couldn’t work out which end was it’s face and which end the bottom, so I said hello to both.

      • 165 Professor VJ Duke March 14, 2015 at 19:03

        *laughing* Well, it was quite nice of you to say hi to the worms bottom! I would’ve tried to catch a fish with him, but I’m rubbish at that.

      • 166 PorterGirl March 15, 2015 at 08:54

        If ever in doubt, I find it best to greet both ends, just in case. Even with people. Sometimes with the ugly ones it can be hard to tell which end is which.
        Fishing is an elusive art form, certainly. (Terry caught a bee!)

      • 167 Professor VJ Duke March 15, 2015 at 23:44

        *laughing too much* Lucy! That is so hilarious. And you’re wicked, you know.

        Did he? I’m impressed. Bees scare me.

      • 168 PorterGirl March 16, 2015 at 05:43

        I am a very good girl and you know it.
        Bees are okay. They are fat and fuzzy. Also difficult to tell which end to say hello to, though.

      • 169 Professor VJ Duke March 16, 2015 at 18:21

        A very good and wicked girl! *laughing lots* Very true about bees. I’m always confused by them myself. That’s why they stink: so you know.

      • 170 PorterGirl March 16, 2015 at 19:23

        *laughing lots too* I say, I rather like that description of me! I shall make it my official moniker. They are very nippy creatures, I must say. I wonder what it is they get up too all day long?

      • 171 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2015 at 03:34

        It’s a great description. We should wish it true of everyone–that would be an interesting world. Collecting honey? Or…wait…making honey?

      • 172 PorterGirl March 17, 2015 at 05:59

        It certainly would. That must be what they are up too. The fuzzy buggers.

      • 173 Professor VJ Duke March 17, 2015 at 22:02

        I love honey, though.

      • 174 PorterGirl March 18, 2015 at 06:02

        Honey roasted cashews. .. mmmmmm! Yummy!

      • 175 Professor VJ Duke March 18, 2015 at 18:25

        *mouth drops* I need some!

  19. 176 Alastair Savage March 10, 2015 at 11:10

    I never thought of you as a numismatist, but it all makes sense now. What will you do if another state joins the USA? There won’t be space in the frame.

    • 177 Professor VJ Duke March 10, 2015 at 23:20

      That’s a very good point. I think I might go on strike, then. Wouldn’t you?

      • 178 Alastair Savage March 11, 2015 at 07:28

        No, I’d just buy another coin.

      • 179 Professor VJ Duke March 11, 2015 at 21:50

        *nods* I probably would end up doing that, too.


  1. 1 I Am A Carnivore After All Is Said And Done | It's All Just Noise To Me Trackback on March 14, 2015 at 00:36

Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,869 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,261 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


