Sharing Dinner

Nothing is as intimate as sharing a family dinner with another. ~ V. Shnodgrate 

We sat around a table.

That’s where you always sit when you’re getting to know someone–or, in this case, some-family.

Now, here’s the thing: It’s hard to eat with other people, just because. See, you’re expected to have manners. Not to say the professor doesn’t have manners, but it’s better not to think about manners until you want to think about them. That way, you won’t be vexed. If that didn’t make much sense, I’m not sure why.

Anyways and some, this professor was sitting with a family around a table. But I already said that.

They’d invited me, see.

You don’t want to know what we were chewing on.

“So,” Mr. said. (See, there was a Mr., Mrs., and Miss–and a dog, but he isn’t worth mentioning since he was outside.)

I looked expectantly over at Mr., waiting for the question.

But I was disappointed; it wasn’t a question.

“I notice,” he continued, “that you don’t wear your glasses while you’re eating.”

It was true. I flip them up, see. Here’s the thing: Glasses are good–if you need them–for details, but if you don’t want to see details–which you usually don’t when conversing with people–you flip them up. That’s the story, that’s the way of it.

“Quite right,” this professor replied. “How interesting you noticed. Now I should notice something. I notice that you all–all of you–don’t have glasses.”

Mrs. laughed. “But you’d be wrong,” she said.

Miss didn’t look happy. But then again, her parents chose what the conversation was all about–not this professor.

“Now how’s this?” I asked.

Mr. was chortling himself. “We all have contacts!”

So, this professor didn’t really care, but then again, I suppose it was good to know in a useless sort of way.

I stared at their eyes in turn.

Miss and Mrs. looked uncomfortable; Mr. didn’t mind.

“One good thing,” I announced. “One would never be able to tell that you’re wearing them.”

They all laughed at that, though I’m not sure why. See, what else could I have said? Nothing, I tell you. Nothing. Nothing sweet, that is.

Then we lapsed into silence–which is always an interest. I thought about complimenting the dinner, but I only lie every so often, so I put that out of my mind rather quickly. I thought about asking them for their life story, but all the times I’ve tried that (3 in all, you should know) it didn’t turn out too well. Took them hours to finish.

The professor wasn’t sure what to say, so I said the first thing that popped into my mind:

“Sometimes we forget things, and it is at that incident that we should remember.”

This confused them. But you wouldn’t believe how we went on and on just having speaks about that.

Moral: When you go to dinner, make sure you have many things to say. Topics, if you will. Write them down on a pad or something.

130 Responses to “Sharing Dinner”


  1. 1 erinkenobi2893 October 7, 2015 at 02:32

    Who were they, I wonder?
    I’m afraid I have far too many snappy things to say. Some of them people call fibs. Some of them people call simply absurd. Others are true, but people call them absurd. How odd!

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke October 7, 2015 at 12:06

      *laughs* I like that. You know, they would’ve benefited from hearing that.

      • 3 erinkenobi2893 October 7, 2015 at 12:36

        Perhaps.

  2. 4 Susan P May 13, 2015 at 19:33

    If you have some interesting questions to ask it can be an interesting time.

    Question: Do you think that people who can’t read get all there is to eating it?

    Question: Would you drink tea if you worked for Tetley?

    Question: Have you ever been taken to jail?

    Anyway, you get the idea…right?

    • 5 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:55

      Now I love those questions. Especially the jail one. How about: “Have you ever been to a Turkish prison?”

      • 6 Susan P May 13, 2015 at 20:47

        It would either start up an interesting conversations or start a fight. Which seems more like it when we are talking about the PL.

      • 7 Professor VJ Duke May 15, 2015 at 15:44

        Aren’t fights grand, though?

      • 8 Susan P May 16, 2015 at 21:23

        No. Let it be…

      • 9 Professor VJ Duke May 18, 2015 at 21:42

        That reminds me of Paul…what’s his name.

      • 10 Susan P May 19, 2015 at 00:51

        I think it was someone else, actually. John someone or other.

      • 11 Professor VJ Duke May 19, 2015 at 20:16

        I always get them mixed up, you know.

      • 12 Susan P May 19, 2015 at 20:31

        That is understandable. The elderly often have memory lapses.

      • 13 Professor VJ Duke May 20, 2015 at 21:25

        How old is the professor again?

      • 14 Susan P May 20, 2015 at 22:51

        Older than the hills. Or the Dogwood trees. Or Treebeard.

      • 15 Professor VJ Duke May 22, 2015 at 12:18

        Treebeard isn’t as old as he let on.

      • 16 Susan P May 22, 2015 at 12:42

        Have you been talking to those gad-a-bout Ent Wives? They keep trying to make Treebeard look bad. He was just doing his job.

      • 17 Professor VJ Duke May 22, 2015 at 20:01

        What ever happened to those Ent Wives?

      • 18 Susan P May 22, 2015 at 23:06

        We doesn’t know, Precious, do we?

  3. 19 Angeline M May 12, 2015 at 00:14

    So………I hate when sentences start with that. It always means there’s something I’m not going to like that’s coming at me for speaks. You should have told the family you had laryngitis and conducted your speaks in pantomime, now that would make for an interesting dinner no matter what you were chewing on, and I was going to ask what it was, but I’m not.

    • 20 Susan P May 13, 2015 at 19:17

      That is brilliant!

    • 21 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:53

      Now that is an idea. Raise my hands about. I think they would’ve been terrible at it, you know.

  4. 22 John W. Howell May 11, 2015 at 22:07

    I have found topics written on the inside of my glasses (very small like) saves me from the lack of speaks at dinner. Of course, I have used the wrong fork at times since seeing well is not a side benefit

    • 23 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:52

      *Laughing lots and lots* You know I’m going to have to try this! Who cares about the forks anyway! They’re just for decoration.

      • 24 John W. Howell May 13, 2015 at 22:06

        Print very small other wise people will believe there is some kind of insect in your glasses.

      • 25 Professor VJ Duke May 15, 2015 at 15:46

        *laughs* I wonder if they usually say something about it.

      • 26 John W. Howell May 15, 2015 at 17:06

        No but when you leave the room it will be a lively topic

      • 27 Professor VJ Duke May 16, 2015 at 18:23

        *laughs* And I’d give anything to hear that conversation.

      • 28 John W. Howell May 16, 2015 at 19:28

        It would be rich.

      • 29 Professor VJ Duke May 18, 2015 at 21:40

        I wonder if it would make me cranky…!

      • 30 John W. Howell May 18, 2015 at 21:54

        With out a doubt.

      • 31 Professor VJ Duke May 19, 2015 at 20:13

        *gets cranky in anticipation*

      • 32 John W. Howell May 19, 2015 at 20:31

        Don’t leave the room

      • 33 Professor VJ Duke May 20, 2015 at 21:25

        I might have to rampage out, though.

      • 34 John W. Howell May 20, 2015 at 21:41

        I would Bogart out. A little more sophisticated.

      • 35 Professor VJ Duke May 22, 2015 at 12:15

        *laughing lots* I love that. I’m going to use it. People will thing I’m swearing at first.

      • 36 John W. Howell May 22, 2015 at 12:28

        In a sentence: “Excuse me while I Bogart my way out of here.”

      • 37 Professor VJ Duke May 22, 2015 at 20:01

        That…is awesome. When I get TPL back online we have to do a story together.

      • 38 John W. Howell May 22, 2015 at 21:33

        I’ll be waiting.

      • 39 Professor VJ Duke May 26, 2015 at 18:54

        Sweet.

  5. 40 Simply Skeptical May 11, 2015 at 21:57

    Oh so true. If you’re ever in a silent situation enjoy it. Why does everyone always feel so uncomfortable and awkward? Poor professor shouldn’t have opened that can of worms.

    • 41 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:52

      We could’ve stayed all silent. That would’ve been an interest, I admit. But…oh dear.

  6. 42 Nicholas Warren--MPS staff member May 11, 2015 at 21:55

    I’m not sure why everyone always thinks VJ has a girlfriend…

    • 43 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:51

      Yes, please tell me why…

  7. 44 Julie Harris May 11, 2015 at 19:47

    I am not great at small talk…and moments of silence can be awkward, too. And how can you have a conversation when you are chewing food?

    • 45 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:50

      That’s so true! Now if you were there, you could’ve sang. That would’ve helped the mood.

  8. 46 Lady Dunamis May 11, 2015 at 19:30

    Yes PVJ. Be prepared to talk about religion, politics, legalizing marijuana, and sports and I guarantee you will always be remembered. Lol!

    • 47 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:50

      You’re so right, LadyD! I should do this next time. All the controversial topics of today.

  9. 48 Debbie May 11, 2015 at 17:37

    Golly, Professor, I could feel the awkwardness, just reading your post! That said, yes, it does sound very much like a Meet-the-Parents type of event, and those can be uncomfortable any way you look at it. I’ve always found that that sort of meeting goes much better if the parties are otherwise occupied (say, playing cards, playing tennis, whatever). ‘Tis most difficult carrying on a conversation with strangers, especially if YOU are the only stranger — I’m assuming that Mr., Mrs., and Miss all knew one another, you know.

    Is it serious?? Regardless, Miss should have helped smooth things out. Especially if she wanted you to feel comfortable in her home. And she should have, you know. I don’t want to sound judgmental, but Southern misses typically learn such things early in their lives, so by the time they’re able to have young suitors meet their parents, they know how to act! Probably one reason why so many young men from the north marry Southern gals, ha!

    • 49 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:49

      You know…odd as this is…I think they were all strangers,relatively. Tennis! You still have to teach me, you know. I’m so horrid at it. And it looks so fun.

      *laughing* Now I like this. So, there’s differences between southern misses and northern ones? Of course it makes sense.

      • 50 Debbie May 13, 2015 at 22:55

        Okay, now I feel stupid for jumping to the wrong conclusion here, PVJ (and I’m just going to blame you for misleading me — ask Warby if that isn’t one of the writing rules!). So scratch what I just wrote and we’ll try again.

        I’ve been in that same predicament, you know, and it’s not fun. Eating with total strangers and trying to have speaks to drown out the sound of chewing and swallowing, yuck! Perhaps it’s best to have a list of topics the strangers might respond to — things that don’t take a yes/no response, you know.

        Tennis is a wonderful sport — yes, if I were closer, I’d definitely teach you. Pretty hard to do from this far away! I bet you’d be good at it, too!

        Yes, definitely. Plenty of them!! (By the way, I’m assuming you’re busy practicing lots, right?!?)

      • 51 Professor VJ Duke May 15, 2015 at 15:47

        *laughing lots* I’m so sorry! Don’t feel stupid. You’re right: it’s all Warby’s fault. He’s a bad chap.

        Yes, you’re right. Perhaps…one should start talking about black tulips and their rarity? Do you suppose that would work?

        I’d love to learn! I find it so tricky. I can run fine…and all…but serving? Oh dear. Distance is a bad excuse!

        (*laughs* Yes and arranging! How did you know?)

  10. 52 desertdweller29 May 11, 2015 at 16:34

    I wear contacts, but if I don’t want to see detail, I don’t wear them. It levels the playing field when you see everyone blurry and the same. Kinda like the “everyone one in underwear” deal. Also, it makes bad food taste better. That way you don’t see the dryness or the brussels sprouts. Easy speaks and better food, Professor. Try it full blast next time.

    • 53 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:48

      *laughing* Not brussels sprouts! Really? Oh dear goodness me. That’d be horrid now.

  11. 54 walt walker May 11, 2015 at 16:06

    It is good to have notes handy at such times. Best to have them on paper, too. Because if they’re on your phone, well they might find that rude, or some such. Can you do that thing where you yank the tablecloth out from under the dishes? That’s a good trick that can get speaks going.

    • 55 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:48

      I’ve never even tried that. How are you with it? You know, we should try this together. That way, if something happens, you’ll get blamed.

      • 56 walt walker May 13, 2015 at 21:53

        I have tried it. And I can’t do it. If we tried it together, I fear your plan would succeed. And that would be a bit wicked of you.

      • 57 Professor VJ Duke May 15, 2015 at 15:46

        We could make a living off stealing table clothes…that’d be something, you must admit.

  12. 58 Heartafire May 11, 2015 at 16:04

    I totally get this. I used to be nervous when dining with people I am not very familiar with so when I am having guests for the first time (or any time) I like to serve cheese and crackers with a good bottle of wine or cocktails to take the edge off any anxiety that they might be suffering. Hopefully it does not get “sloppy”. Thank you for sharing this experience Prof. I enjoyed!

    • 59 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:47

      Quite right, Hollie! I like your approach too. I should do this. Now what if you just serve crackers and wine? I wonder if they’d miss the cheese.

      • 60 Heartafire May 13, 2015 at 19:48

        Omgosh, why didn’t I think of that…no cheese, I hardly know these people!! Thank you Prof!!

      • 61 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:56

        *laughing* I bet you could use mustard cheese.

      • 62 Heartafire May 13, 2015 at 19:58

        After a couple of bottles of wine, who’s to know?

      • 63 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:59

        No one will! That’s the beauty of your plan, madam!

      • 64 Heartafire May 13, 2015 at 20:01

        I can’t take credit for this genius, it is all yours!

      • 65 Professor VJ Duke May 15, 2015 at 15:41

        But the professor is dull…and we have to credit someone!

      • 66 Heartafire May 15, 2015 at 15:42

        We are quite a pair, I was counting on your for the brains.

      • 67 Professor VJ Duke May 15, 2015 at 15:55

        I only have a katana.

  13. 68 L. Marie May 11, 2015 at 15:32

    Like Audrey mentioned, this seems like a meet-the-parents meal. Those can be awkward. Perhaps if the dog had been allowed in, the conversation might have taken a different turn.

    I’m glad you guys at least could talk about the confusion of your last statement. I find that when things get awkward, shouting, “Look over there!” and running away usually alleviates the awkwardness.

    • 69 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:46

      Well…it wasn’t exactly that. But, yes, the dog would’ve been a great distraction.

      It sure does. It’s such a great technique.

      • 70 L. Marie May 15, 2015 at 14:55

        Next time, be bold and bring your own animal to a dinner party. See what happens.

      • 71 Professor VJ Duke May 15, 2015 at 15:54

        Like a gecko for instance!

  14. 72 FictionFan May 11, 2015 at 14:24

    If they fed you mice, tongues and bears on rocks, I’m surprised you couldn’t think of things to say about that! I hope the pudding was nicer…

    • 73 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:45

      Haha! No pudding, I fear. None at all. Shouldn’t there be something sweet after every meal?

      • 74 FictionFan May 13, 2015 at 19:51

        Definitely! Unless the company is so sweet no extra sugar is required…

      • 75 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:58

        Now how could company possibly be that sweet?

      • 76 FictionFan May 13, 2015 at 20:02

        Well, say, for instance, if one were dining with a sweetie pumpkin pie… *smiles sweetly*

      • 77 Professor VJ Duke May 15, 2015 at 15:42

        I don’t know any of those things…do you? *professorish eye*

      • 78 FictionFan May 15, 2015 at 17:56

        I know one – and he’s so sweet I might even be able to resist the chocolate fudge pudding… *FEFish eye*

      • 79 Professor VJ Duke May 16, 2015 at 18:24

        The professor eye is scarier than the FEF eye, you know, you know! Chocolate fudge pudding? You make this stuff up!

      • 80 FictionFan May 17, 2015 at 19:15

        Then I shall utilise the truly terrifying FEF quizzical eyebrow! Ha! Beat that, sir! You’ve never had chocolate fudge pudding?!?!? Oh, poor Prof! That’s the saddest thing I’ve ever heard in the whole world! Your entire life has been an empty wasteland – but think what you have to look forward to!! With hot fudge sauce and vanilla ice-cream… *dreamy face*

      • 81 Professor VJ Duke May 18, 2015 at 21:45

        *closes one eye and then the other* Yeah…I think I just missed it! I’ve had pudding…but…don’t see how that would go with ice cream!

      • 82 FictionFan May 19, 2015 at 01:03

        *preens because the Professor just winked at her twice* Tut! Hot chocolate fudge sauce and vanilla ice-cream were made for each other – like Lizio and Darby!

      • 83 Professor VJ Duke May 19, 2015 at 20:18

        But…didn’t you know? Later on in their happily married life, Darby asked Lizio if she’d mind if he married another lady (one that was a bit wealthier and wore nice dresses and all that jazz). Of course, Lizio didn’t mind sharing Darby. I think her name was Irina. *gets two eye patches* I don’t wink!

      • 84 FictionFan May 20, 2015 at 12:33

        *tries so hard not to laugh and ends up snorting Kennily by mistake* But… but… well, OK, you have a valid point! But the difference is that Lizio wore nice dresses too! And at no point did she drink her own bodily fluids!! Oh, you’re allowed to wink at me – just not anyone else! *growls warningly*

      • 85 Professor VJ Duke May 20, 2015 at 21:30

        I think I won, you know. Chani did not drink her own bodily fluids! She just drank…well…it’s not the same! Not even at Amelia? I’m tempted to try it out next time I’m in church.

      • 86 FictionFan May 21, 2015 at 01:22

        Humph-noodles!! *eats a green starburst* You mean she drank someone else’s?!? Especially not at Amelia!!! I didn’t know you went to church with her *glowers*. John Knox would not be pleased with you if you did that, you know, you know… and I would tell him!

      • 87 Professor VJ Duke May 22, 2015 at 12:21

        Ew! I think you’re making the whole thing up. *eats a purple starburst* I’m quite curious about those ones, you know. *laughs* I don’t! I could. The church is so big I wouldn’t know exactly.

        Very true. It’d be awful of me…but I’d be doing it to rile them up, so it has to count differently.

      • 88 FictionFan May 22, 2015 at 16:33

        Where did you get that? Tuppence better not be taking my sweets over to you! I think they’re blackcurrant. Hmm… you have not succeeded in allaying my suspicions…

        *chuckles* So naughty! You should then! And if John comes after you, you could just pull his beard…

      • 89 Professor VJ Duke May 22, 2015 at 20:07

        She is! It’s so nice that you’re sharing, too, you know. Blackcurrant?! What in the PL is that? Ew! *laughs* It’s okay, I’m so scary, everyone runs away.

        You know, we’d have got on well, John and I. First thing we would’ve done: fist thingy.

      • 90 FictionFan May 23, 2015 at 17:49

        Goodness! I couldn’t believe you didn’t know blackcurrants so I googled to see what you call them. Apparently when they were introduced to N. America they damaged your forests, so there are restrictions against growing them! Poor America!! Don’t believe you…

        You’d have punched him? My hero!! *swoons*

      • 91 Professor VJ Duke May 26, 2015 at 18:59

        See! They’re little dadblameries! Everyone thinks we’re destroying earth…but it’s really those dadblame blackcurrants.

        *laughing lots and lots* You do make me laugh! No! We’d have done…the fist thingy, you know what I mean!

      • 92 FictionFan May 26, 2015 at 20:33

        Not Earth – just America! They’re probably communists!

        I do! And the thought of Mr Knox doing such a thing makes me chuckle greatly…watch you don’t get tangled up in his beard!

      • 93 Professor VJ Duke May 27, 2015 at 19:55

        *laughing* Now…I badly want to taste one. I hope they’re sweet…unlike blueberries!

        You know, I bet he’d have me burned, for doing that.

      • 94 FictionFan May 27, 2015 at 23:27

        Tart, if I recall correctly. We used to find wild ones but either they’re not as common as they used to be or I haven’t been going to the right places recently.

        I suspect he would! But that was probably just his way of showing affection…

      • 95 Professor VJ Duke May 28, 2015 at 20:20

        Oh, you used to explore and adventure, I see! That’s a goody.

        *laughs* You really do hate the man!

      • 96 FictionFan May 28, 2015 at 23:50

        *laughs* I suspect he’d have hated me more…

      • 97 Professor VJ Duke June 1, 2015 at 00:21

        I’d bust him up if he hurt you.

      • 98 FictionFan June 1, 2015 at 12:47

        Awwww! That’s so sweet! Can I watch?

      • 99 Professor VJ Duke June 3, 2015 at 14:18

        *laughs* Of course…but it’ll get bloody!

      • 100 FictionFan June 3, 2015 at 19:22

        *jumps up and down and claps hands in girlish glee*

      • 101 Professor VJ Duke June 7, 2015 at 18:12

        *laughs* Control your killing instincts, young lady!

  15. 102 Bethy May 11, 2015 at 14:18

    I completely agree about it being hard to eat with people! You completely said what I’ve always felt. I’d much rather eat when I wasn’t being stared at or trying to make some speaks.
    And your manners are probably some of the best especially since I’ve been eating with the Princess for 5 years and manners…well they are definitely a learned skill!

    • 103 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:45

      *laughing* Oh, I’m sure the Princess…does fine! I think. Especially if one is starving. Then there is no time for manners.

      • 104 Bethy May 13, 2015 at 19:51

        That’s true. Starving does mean manners go out the window.
        The Princess doesn’t do too badly, but I remember being quite shocked at the barbarism that I was being subjected to when trying to teach her to eat. I should have known better, but it was quite shocking.

      • 105 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:58

        *laughing lots and lots* And she’ll keep getting better and better, I’m thinking. Manners were invented to vex, you know.

      • 106 Bethy May 14, 2015 at 13:14

        I wouldn’t doubt it although I hadn’t heard that before!

      • 107 Professor VJ Duke May 15, 2015 at 15:53

        Me neither….I just…came up with it, I think.

  16. 108 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister May 11, 2015 at 13:58

    You were off meeting Miss’ parents, I assume. We’re they Amelia’s parents? Just so you know, when one is nervous we’ll forget just about everything we know and learn nothing new, since we can’t truly retain much when our minds are so busy thinking. I’m sorry the dinner was awkward. Miss should have helped keep the conversation going. It’s her job. Don’t you think? I enjoyed Shnod’s proverb. I personally love dinners with people. Family or not. I personally don’t think having a paper to refer to while having speaks sends the right message, Duke.

    • 109 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:45

      They were her parents? Really? You’re joking! The more I think on it, the more I assume they weren’t related at all. See, I was at this food place…where they put you at tables with strangers, imagine.

      • 110 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister May 14, 2015 at 02:55

        Well, I truly have no idea. I was….guessing… *hangs head* Ahh, yes, I’ve been to such places. You have to point someone out in the room, who isn’t at your table, and rip them to shreads. It’s the only way to keep the conversation going.

      • 111 Professor VJ Duke May 15, 2015 at 15:52

        *laughing* Rip them? You mean like…abuse them horribly? Sounds like a good plan. What were you guessing?

      • 112 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister May 15, 2015 at 22:28

        *giggles* Yes, like critic them and their knowhow. Guess upon what it is they are doing, like in the movie Date Night. I was guessing over what you were doing with a Miss and her parents.

      • 113 Professor VJ Duke May 16, 2015 at 18:26

        Oh, I think that Miss hates me, so don’t worry. Plus, I’m heartless. So, that’s that, see.

      • 114 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister May 17, 2015 at 16:00

        Yes, that’s that. I could change her mind for you, if you’d like.

      • 115 Professor VJ Duke May 18, 2015 at 21:44

        How could you do that???

      • 116 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister May 19, 2015 at 19:41

        Not sure, actually. Forget I offered.

      • 117 Professor VJ Duke May 19, 2015 at 20:20

        Oh come on!

      • 118 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister May 20, 2015 at 11:22

        My writing hand is broken the sudden. You’ll have to try…you can do it.

      • 119 Professor VJ Duke May 20, 2015 at 21:29

        Oh no! Is it really?

      • 120 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister May 20, 2015 at 22:29

        No *giggle*

  17. 121 PorterGirl May 11, 2015 at 13:21

    Some excellent dining advice here, Professor, I have made notes in fact. Getting to know people over a meal is always a pest – I am only interested in the food, most of the time! People have to be jolly interesting to distract me from that. So well done on your marvellous execution of beautiful manners. Good technique with the spectacles, too.
    It’s a shame the dog didn’t make an appearance.

    • 122 Professor VJ Duke May 13, 2015 at 19:44

      *laughing* Yes…but in this case, the food should’ve been forgotten. I bet even Terry wouldn’t have wanted it! Imagine. How horrid. Very horrid.

      • 123 PorterGirl May 13, 2015 at 20:12

        Terry is very rude when he doesn’t like food. He might hiss at the hosts! Then bring in a dead mouse to eat instead.

      • 124 Professor VJ Duke May 15, 2015 at 15:43

        Ew! Does he leave the heads about? My cats never eat the heads.

      • 125 PorterGirl May 15, 2015 at 15:49

        He leaves various bits of his victims under my trampoline. That area is his little killing fields. Cats are so charming, are they not? *laughing lots*

      • 126 Professor VJ Duke May 15, 2015 at 15:56

        *laughing* I wonder why he puts them under there!

      • 127 PorterGirl May 15, 2015 at 15:57

        I suppose it keeps them out of the way. You needs must have words with him, when you see him. I’d rather he put them in the compost.

      • 128 Professor VJ Duke May 16, 2015 at 18:22

        Yes, that would be much more sensible. Maybe he just wants you to congratulate him on them?

      • 129 PorterGirl May 16, 2015 at 19:47

        Oh yes, that could be it. In the interest of good manners I shall certainly congratulate him *laughing lots*

      • 130 Professor VJ Duke May 18, 2015 at 21:40

        *laughs* Yes, yes, exactly!


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,872 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,156 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


