His Revenge (Author Interview)

Punchy Family! Please welcome Mr. John W. Howell to TPL today. Today is much like other days, but it really isn’t. Today we have an author interview! Mr. Howell is here to have speaks about his book, which has just launched.

ProfVJDuke3

That’s me.

Now I must say, the professor does not normally do interviews, but this chap talked me into it–he offered many cherry suckers, see. But he hasn’t shipped them in yet, I fear.

Anyways! Onwards.
Photo by Tim Burdick
Professor: “Good morning, Mr. Howell.”

Mr. Howell: “Good morning, Professor VJ Duke, sir.”

Professor: “Tell us what you do for a living, if you don’t mind.”

Mr. Howell: “I write books but have yet to make a living.”

Professor: “Pray tell–I love saying that!–pray tell, why not?”

Mr. Howell: “For one thing, my standard of living is higher than book earnings.”

Professor: “Can’t you cut back?”

Mr. Howell: “To saltines and water?”

Professor: “I see what you mean. So why do you write?”

Mr. Howell: “There are few jobs available for a retired bombmaker.”

Professor: “You made bombs?’

Mr. Howell: “No. If I did, though, I would be retired and there aren’t many jobs available.”

Professor: “What do you write?”

Mr. Howell: “Besides my name, I write novels. In fact, I’m launching my second one right now.”

Professor: “What is its title and what is it about?”

Mr. Howell: “It is titled His Revenge and is about a character’s desire to get back at a guy who killed a friend of his and sunk his boat.”

Professor: “My goodness. It sounds like it might be exciting.”

Mr. Howell: “I think it is, but I’m supposed to think that way. The story moves from a barrier Island off the coast of Texas to Washington DC, then to Northern California, and finally to Ecuador. John Cannon, the hero, is on the receiving end of an offer he cannot refuse. His avowed enemy, Matt Jacobs, now wants John to help him shake the reputation of the US in the world political arena. If John refuses, Matt plans to murder innocent Americans including John’s latest relationship. John’s only way out is to pretend to go along with the plan and hope for a miracle.”

Professor: “Sounds like a thriller.”

Mr. Howell: “Yes that’s its genre.”

Professor: “Genre sounds like something good to eat.”

Mr. Howell: “It does. Maybe on toast with peanut butter. Peanut butter and genre.”

Professor: “Now that is funny. Where can we buy this book thingy?”

Mr. Howell: “His Revenge can be bought on Amazon and KDP Select. Here is a photo of the cover as well. Thank you so much for the visit, Professor.

His Revenge front final

46 Responses to “His Revenge (Author Interview)”


  1. 1 Simply Skeptical November 7, 2015 at 00:36

    The plot sounds absolutely riveting and the picture all the more. Best of Luck to the author!

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke November 8, 2015 at 21:23

      Thanks bunches, SS.

  2. 3 erinkenobi2893 November 5, 2015 at 18:57

    Oooh! Now this sounds like a thrilling book of excitement and plot twists! :-D

    • 4 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2015 at 21:14

      Definitely! John is the best.

      • 5 erinkenobi2893 November 5, 2015 at 22:27

        :-D

  3. 6 Jan Hawke November 4, 2015 at 20:26

    Neat interview Prof VJ and John! :-D Thanks for having us over :-)

    • 7 John W. Howell November 4, 2015 at 20:28

      Thanks for coming Jan.

    • 8 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2015 at 14:01

      Absolutely! It was great and good to meet you, madam.

  4. 9 FictionFan November 4, 2015 at 18:52

    Congratulations, Mr Howell! May I suggest you spend the proceeds on chocolate? Or cake? Or if it’s as successful as I hope – chocolate cake with chocolate fudge sauce!

    A fine interview, Professor!

    • 10 John W. Howell November 4, 2015 at 20:30

      I can only hop I will have enough proceeds for cake. If not saltines and chocolate will do nicely. Thanks for the good wishes

      • 11 John W. Howell November 4, 2015 at 20:30

        *hope*

      • 12 FictionFan November 5, 2015 at 19:12

        Hopping sounds like more fun…

      • 13 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2015 at 21:15

        *hides laughing* Wicked…

    • 14 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2015 at 13:59

      What about the cherries, FEF? Need something to go against the chocolate, see.

      *bows* I do thank you!

      • 15 FictionFan November 5, 2015 at 19:13

        Yes! Add some cherries and then it counts as health food!

      • 16 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2015 at 21:16

        Have you ever noticed how horrible health food is? *gags*

      • 17 FictionFan November 6, 2015 at 01:54

        Yes!! And I don’t believe it makes you healthy either! Just miserable… *pops open a tube of Smarties*

      • 18 Professor VJ Duke November 6, 2015 at 14:08

        I love smarties! *steals a whole tube from FEF* They’re very tasty, thank you.

      • 19 FictionFan November 6, 2015 at 18:06

        *gasps and stamps on the Professor’s foot* Give me those back!! You’d better not have eaten all the red ones… *glares*

      • 20 Professor VJ Duke November 6, 2015 at 23:01

        *laughing* You share, you mean thing! Of course I ate the red ones…they’re the best.

      • 21 FictionFan November 7, 2015 at 18:15

        Share with you, you Smartie pilferer?!! I shall have my revenge… *steals all the cherries*

      • 22 Professor VJ Duke November 8, 2015 at 21:27

        But…you don’t even like cherries! Give them back. Be a sport, FEF!

      • 23 FictionFan November 9, 2015 at 17:12

        Oh, I’m sorry! I accidentally tramped all over them! Cherry wine?

      • 24 Professor VJ Duke November 9, 2015 at 19:19

        Oh okay. I’m sure cherry wine might be good.

  5. 25 Heartafire November 4, 2015 at 17:07

    Wonderful interview, fine work Professor, without which I would not have met Mr. Howell or been introduced to his exciting thriller “His Revenge” I like the cover. I hope to read your book soon. May I suggest you trade off genre for ketchup (they come as handouts at your nearby Denny’s), meanwhile I hope your book is a raging success! Cheers!

    • 26 John W. Howell November 4, 2015 at 20:34

      Thank you for the comment. I have often used the hunting and gathering method of survival. I find McDonalds to be an easy mark for mustard, ketchup, and mayonnaise (ahhhhh, divine)

      • 27 Heartafire November 4, 2015 at 20:54

        Oh, thank you for the heads up, I like the idea of a drive through! :D

    • 28 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2015 at 13:59

      Ketchup and peanut bugger, Hollie? Are you sure?

      • 29 Heartafire November 5, 2015 at 14:29

        don’t knock it if you haven’t tried it. yummy.

      • 30 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2015 at 21:09

        Oh no. Have tea instead, please.

      • 31 Heartafire November 5, 2015 at 22:43

        tea…long Isand maybe.

      • 32 Professor VJ Duke November 6, 2015 at 14:06

        If it’s tasty.

  6. 33 desertdweller29 November 4, 2015 at 15:37

    Love the interview! I must say, you two make a good team — almost as if you spent a lot of time together on a deserted island after a failed three-hour tour… hmmm… Now I fear for Mary Ann’s pigtails.

    Funny stuff and the book sounds exciting. Congratulations, Mr. Howell! I wish you much success and hope it will lead to caviar and cocktails instead of peanut butter and genre. I’m currently eating peanut butter and genre and I can tell you it tastes like cat food. Cheers!

    • 34 John W. Howell November 4, 2015 at 16:43

      Thank you so much. I hope to get a little something to put on the saltines after it’s all over.

      • 35 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2015 at 13:58

        Like a fish or a few.

      • 36 John W. Howell November 5, 2015 at 14:03

        Maybe a fish egg or a few.

      • 37 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2015 at 21:08

        An egg? *dies*

    • 38 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2015 at 13:57

      *laughing* Of course we’ve never done that…

      Oh come one, DD! Genre isn’t too bad, once you get past the smell.

  7. 39 Debbie November 4, 2015 at 15:36

    Nicely done, Professor…and John, too! Love how your subject’s cleverness and humor come out here. You know, PVJ, ’tis the mark of a good interviewer (and friend) to showcase the other person in the best possible light, which you’ve done. Hope he sells a BUNCH of books so I don’t have to keep picturing him dining on saltines and water!!

    • 40 John W. Howell November 4, 2015 at 16:44

      Thanks, Debbie. I’m the only one in the world who can’t lose weight on that diet.

    • 41 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2015 at 13:56

      He’s very clever, the beast. Outsmarts this professor all the time, don’t you know.

  8. 42 PorterGirl November 4, 2015 at 15:31

    This book sounds very thrilling indeed! I am delighted this fine fellow talked you in to doing an interview. I shall let my friends know about his book at once.

    • 43 John W. Howell November 4, 2015 at 16:45

      I kind of like the term fine fellow. Makes me smile. Thanks you.:-)

      • 44 PorterGirl November 4, 2015 at 16:48

        My pleasure! ;)

    • 45 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2015 at 13:55

      It was a fab interview. Full of great back and forths.


  1. 1 Thank you Professor V.J. Duke for the Assist on the His Revenge Launch | Fiction Favorites Trackback on November 4, 2015 at 18:01

Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,872 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,168 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


