Author Spotlight: Jaimie M. Engle

So, here’s the thing: the professor lies every so often. As Mr. Howell pointed out yesterday, this professor rarely does interviews and whatnot. And this is a truth.

But TPL is off schedule. Next week, that won’t be the case.

Still, that doesn’t count for good friends. Today, this professor has a very special guest. I first met Jaimie M. Engle when I won Clifton Chase and the Arrow of Light–which is an awesome book, by the ways.

CliftonChase_6x9_FullCoverFINAL_Ebook

Awesome cover!

Ms. Engle has recently written a novella entitled, The Dredge. (You can check it out by clicking on the link.)

 Sean Marrok lives in the Dredge under the controlling thumb of the Regime. His magic power to forsee events gives him the edge to win a two-million to one bet. But at what cost? Framed for destroying Regime property, Marrok finds himself on a commuter ship to the prison on Roan which gets ambushed, landing at the secret base of the Network. There Marrok again runs into Ambrosia, the exotic woman who believes he is destined to be the Savior of the people, and Chantelle, the sexy charmer who saves his life…again. Will Marrok see what’s to come? Or will his third eye be blinded by his own decisions? 

So please welcome Jaimie!

Backstory

Jaimie says: “I remember my Pop-Pop would tell me these elaborate Hulk stories, which he made up on the spot. Orange hulks and purple ones. Red hulks and of course, the green hulk who started it all. Pop-Pop would finish one, and I’d beg for another. My ear for storytelling was being crafted: the cadence of words, the beat of the story, and the pacing from start to finish. He would use clipped sentences approaching the story’s climax, pushing it along as an accelerating train. And as everything slowed to happily ever after (even hulks need some down time), I remember the satisfaction those stories gave me.

“When I was in the third grade, I was home sick with pneumonia for several weeks. Bored, I decided to write. First, I put my boom box (come on people, don’t judge the 80s technology) beside the television. I recorded Grease, Alice in Wonderland, and The Wizard of Oz. Starting with Grease, I’d play a couple words, then write down the characters name and what they said. I transcribed the entire movie.

“My first screenplay.

“I moved on to The Wizard of Oz, but became well enough to go back to school, so I only made it out of Munchkinland. To this day, I can quote the movie up till that point. If we ever meet, I’ll prove it.

“These weren’t my stories, but I still wrote down the words, learning a little bit about dialogue. It sounds different in real life than it does on the page, if you’re not careful. I think this exercise helped me to grasp that subconsciously. Of course at the time, I just felt incapable. Looking back, I realize I was practicing.

“I would spend my alone time reading and writing short stories. I wanted to write a novel, even that young, but I lacked the discipline to finish one. Instead, I wrote dozens of short stories and twice as many poems, in different colored crayons, about candy cane mansions and pet monkeys and Betty Brown Bikini Bear’s trip to the beach.

“From a young age, I studied the craft of storytelling. I used other author’s characters to learn character. I mimicked their style, recycled their settings, and mastered true dialogue. I trained my ear by listening to Pop-Pop’s stories, and I understood plot by watching the same movies over and over again. Storytelling defines me. It satisfies my soul and helps me to understand the wonders of the world around me, and especially its inhabitants. I write mainly speculative fiction, that is horror, science fiction, and fantasy, and mostly in the young adult or middle grade genres. Although my stories are varied, it is my mission to always create books that inspire, empower, and educate the next generation of leaders.”

Bio PicJaimie M. Engle is an award-winning author and the owner of A Writer For Life, an editing and coaching service for aspiring writers. She has written professionally since 2003 with publications in Space Coast Living Magazine and Florida Today Newspaper along with Writer’s Digest and the Dr. Laura Program. Follow her at http://www.jaimiengle.com and hire her at http://www.awriterforlife.com.

40 Responses to “Author Spotlight: Jaimie M. Engle”


  1. 1 Susan P November 7, 2015 at 17:00

    Such busyness. A girl spends a week working hard and everything changes…

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke November 8, 2015 at 21:26

      *laughs* How was your week, Susan?

      • 3 Susan P November 8, 2015 at 23:20

        It was a busy week in the editor box. And I had Lily. And my grandson was sick and staying with us. I missed a lot of my blogger friends.

      • 4 Professor VJ Duke November 9, 2015 at 19:12

        I missed you lots, too! But wow. You were busy! I do hope your grandson is getting better. And I’m sure you enjoyed having Lily! I do hope, too, that George behaved himself.

      • 5 Susan P November 9, 2015 at 20:14

        Thank you. Not sure about grandson his dad works all day. I will ask before I go to sleep. How do you expect George to behave when he is my cats?

      • 6 Professor VJ Duke November 10, 2015 at 13:41

        Hmmm….to behave wickedly, but sweetly at the same time. I’m sure he likes the grandkids.

      • 7 Susan P November 10, 2015 at 21:45

        He loves Sam.

      • 8 Professor VJ Duke November 11, 2015 at 21:47

        George is a good chap.

      • 9 Susan P November 12, 2015 at 03:07

        He is for a fact. He brrrs quite cozily.

      • 10 Professor VJ Duke November 12, 2015 at 14:15

        I think he’s a cool color.

      • 11 Susan P November 13, 2015 at 01:43

        He is. And he keeps it impeccable.

      • 12 Professor VJ Duke November 13, 2015 at 16:47

        Always cleaning, I suppose.

      • 13 Susan P November 17, 2015 at 01:33

        Sometimes he sleeps.

      • 14 Professor VJ Duke November 17, 2015 at 14:05

        And plays soccer.

      • 15 Susan P November 18, 2015 at 22:42

        And he pouts sometimes.

      • 16 Professor VJ Duke November 20, 2015 at 14:35

        That’s because he wants out.

      • 17 Susan P November 29, 2015 at 18:20

        Now he sits at the window all of the time.

  2. 18 Simply Skeptical November 6, 2015 at 12:12

    Wow! This is such a creative story. All the Best!!

    • 19 Professor VJ Duke November 6, 2015 at 14:09

      Why thank you, SS.

  3. 20 erinkenobi2893 November 5, 2015 at 20:59

    That pretty much defines it, I think.

    • 21 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2015 at 21:16

      Yeah, something, isn’t it?

      • 22 erinkenobi2893 November 5, 2015 at 22:27

        Yup. It looks a bit like my journey too. (Was there an Ultramarine Hulk?)

      • 23 Professor VJ Duke November 6, 2015 at 14:04

        Ultramarine? What’s that?

      • 24 erinkenobi2893 November 6, 2015 at 17:00

        Kind of a very deep oceanic blue. ;-P

      • 25 Professor VJ Duke November 6, 2015 at 22:59

        Oh nice. Cool color!

      • 26 erinkenobi2893 November 7, 2015 at 04:15

        It is indeed. :-D

  4. 27 FictionFan November 5, 2015 at 18:39

    Good luck to Jaimie with the book and novella! Great covers! And so good to know the Professor actually enjoyed reading a book… *chuckles naughtily*

    • 28 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2015 at 21:14

      *laughs* Now, now. I don’t enjoy any books. I’ve decided it has to do with my heartlessness, see.

      • 29 FictionFan November 6, 2015 at 01:49

        Cause and effect! If you read all the books on this list I’m preparing *turns another page* then your heart will be restored in perfect working order!

      • 30 Professor VJ Duke November 6, 2015 at 14:08

        But we don’t want the heart to be restored. Otherwise, I’d be romantic, then, see.

      • 31 FictionFan November 6, 2015 at 18:05

        You are already way, way, wayyyyyyyy more romantic then me, you know, you know – and you must admit it! *listens to the Kenny G song again and laughs*

      • 32 Professor VJ Duke November 6, 2015 at 23:00

        More romantic than you? Haha, I think not, madam! Girls are always more romantic. *laughs* Well, just forget the lyrics and it’s normal, see.

      • 33 FictionFan November 7, 2015 at 18:14

        Definitely more than me! Boys are tough on the outside but mushy underneath! Like… like… Darby!!

      • 34 Professor VJ Duke November 8, 2015 at 21:27

        That’s only what girls think, see. It’s a myth. Just like the Yeti. But I believe in him.

  5. 35 Heartafire November 5, 2015 at 18:19

    I look forward to reading Ms. Engle, I am pleased to find that she is published at the Space Coast, my own little corner of the world.

    • 36 Professor VJ Duke November 5, 2015 at 21:14

      Isn’t it a wonder? And…did you notice the chat room?

      • 37 Heartafire November 5, 2015 at 22:42

        no, I didn’t notice that…I must return and take a look see!

      • 38 Professor VJ Duke November 6, 2015 at 14:06

        Oh, I’m so excited about it and I don’t know why.

      • 39 Heartafire November 6, 2015 at 14:33

        It’s fabulous, Not everyone has that. I want one.

      • 40 Professor VJ Duke November 6, 2015 at 22:55

        Now just to schedule chats for TPL. It’ll be awesome!


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,871 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,390 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


