Professor Speaks: New Things & Chatroom

professor speaks

Hello, PF!

A few things this professor should mention.

One, we’re off to brand new things. New schedule, posts, and whatnot.

Two, this is the entrance to TPL:

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 11.34.31 AM

Three, we have a chatroom! Now, some of you might be intimidated by such a thing, but it will be great. I’m thinking about scheduling Punchy chats about various topics and just interacting more as a community. We shall see. What think you?

And fourthly fourth, I’m thinking about doing videos on Wednesday and maybe audio things. Scary stuff, see. Older PFM’s remember the voices and I must admit, I miss them.

All good things!

Also, this is me:

Dor_beetle

It’s even got my red eyes!

Good day, gentlemen!

PL Symbol

82 Responses to “Professor Speaks: New Things & Chatroom”


  1. 1 Sonya Solomonovich November 13, 2015 at 22:33

    Wow, professor! You’re so tiny and vicious-looking :) I’m excited about the voices. I’ve missed them, and the videos too!

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke November 15, 2015 at 00:27

      *laughs* Aren’t I…incredible? Oh awesome! We’ll have to do it again. Who was your fav character?

      • 3 Sonya Solomonovich November 17, 2015 at 01:53

        I don’t know if I have a single favorite. My top favorites are of course DS and Shwartz as well as Manly Man. And Daniel never fails to make me laugh out loud.

      • 4 Professor VJ Duke November 17, 2015 at 14:06

        Daniel does have a way of saying things that’s just odd. You picked all my favs!

  2. 5 Debbie November 12, 2015 at 19:36

    Interesting. But Professor…you’re a BEETLE? With red eyes?? Golly, I never knew.

    As for this chatroom thingy, well, you just might have some ‘splaining to do. I mean, I understand the chat feature, of course, and use it often, but I’m not sure how it works on a blog. Most innovative, sir!!

    • 6 Professor VJ Duke November 13, 2015 at 16:45

      *laughs* Aren’t I a handsome beetle? Those red eyes sell it.

      I’m not sure either, yet. Well, I think it works like this: a person can sign in (using FB or twitter) or just put in a guess name. And then, if we’re all in there, we can chat in real time! Or something like that.

  3. 7 PorterGirl November 12, 2015 at 07:18

    Aha the skits are coming back! Brilliant! I have missed them muchly. Now, the chat room looks mildly terrifying – How does it work? No doubt I shall drop by on occasion to air my views and maybe other things too. Also, I like the entrance to TPL – it looks mystifying and a bit threatening too. Just how I like my entrances.

    • 8 Professor VJ Duke November 12, 2015 at 14:19

      You’ve missed your buddy, MM, I think. Well, I mean, anyone can go in and chat. But we’ll have to schedule a chat where most of us are in there and whatnot. Scheduling will be hard, but it will be great fun. Still, if it doesn’t ever work, it sits in a great place up there. Looks good, I mean.

      Perfect entrance!

      • 9 PorterGirl November 12, 2015 at 16:53

        I really have missed him lots, you know. Well, I shall maybe just drop in here and there and teach people some rude words, perhaps. If I can make it to a scheduled one – of course I shall! I’ll just barge in, invited or not.
        It is!

      • 10 Professor VJ Duke November 13, 2015 at 16:33

        *laughing* I like the idea of you just barging in and teaching rude words. We should make a rude word cheat-list, you know.

      • 11 PorterGirl November 13, 2015 at 17:03

        Unusual rude words that most people don’t know, of course – then it would be educational! Let’s do that, it’s a great plan.

      • 12 Professor VJ Duke November 15, 2015 at 00:16

        *laughing lots* Unusual rude words! I must be educated there, I think.

      • 13 PorterGirl November 15, 2015 at 11:06

        I shall be pleased to teach you all I know. Here is one – todger *laughs*

      • 14 Professor VJ Duke November 16, 2015 at 14:52

        *laughing* See? To me, that sounds like a delightful word a baby might say.

      • 15 PorterGirl November 16, 2015 at 15:17

        *laughing so much* I am going to teach babies to say it this instant. Their mothers would be furious!

      • 16 Professor VJ Duke November 17, 2015 at 14:00

        *laughs* Or they might not know! But yes, you must. All babies everywhere!

      • 17 PorterGirl November 17, 2015 at 14:36

        Do you know what todger means, perchance? (Probably don’t Google it. Definitely not Google images).

      • 18 Professor VJ Duke November 17, 2015 at 21:35

        *laughs* I didn’t, until I dictionary-ed it. Now I know.

      • 19 PorterGirl November 18, 2015 at 07:10

        I am happy to have educated you *laughs*

      • 20 Professor VJ Duke November 18, 2015 at 21:36

        *laughs* Yes, now I shall get A’s instead of C’s.

      • 21 PorterGirl November 19, 2015 at 09:41

        You are my best student!

      • 22 Professor VJ Duke November 20, 2015 at 14:37

        Capital. I feel spicy, the sudden.

      • 23 PorterGirl November 20, 2015 at 15:34

        Excellent!

      • 24 Professor VJ Duke November 22, 2015 at 18:58

        *nods*

  4. 25 FictionFan November 11, 2015 at 22:41

    Hurrah to the return of Schwarzy!! It’s been a loooooooooooong time!!

    Chatrooms aren’t me, dear sir, as you know, so won’t be doing that – but I hope it’s lots of fun for you and those who participate. *smiles apologetically*

    • 26 Professor VJ Duke November 12, 2015 at 14:02

      Only a few months, really. But, just Schwarz?

      *laughs* I did know you wouldn’t do such things! Which is just fine. Fine. No sweat, see.

      • 27 FictionFan November 12, 2015 at 18:22

        Well, all of them… but especially my Schwarzy!! Though it’ll be nice to hear DS’s wicked chuckle again too – and Zez’s gurgle. And Daniel’s ‘Oh, my!’…

        *laughs* That’s fine, then!

      • 28 Professor VJ Duke November 13, 2015 at 16:38

        FEF’s top characters right there! And I knew every single one, which makes me proud, the sudden. And I’m rarely proud on a Friday.

        It looks good just sitting up there, you must admit.

      • 29 FictionFan November 13, 2015 at 18:11

        You should be proud! I hope they’ll all be appearing, or there will be big trouble… *prepares for big trouble*

        *laughs* It does! Have fun!

      • 30 Professor VJ Duke November 15, 2015 at 00:20

        You don’t believe me. I might not either.

        *laughs* No! You have fun.

      • 31 FictionFan November 15, 2015 at 19:35

        I am eagerly anticipating…

        *laughs lots* No! I refuse! YOU have fun!! I insist!

      • 32 Professor VJ Duke November 16, 2015 at 14:57

        Do you suppose I should be in them?

        *laughing lots* Let’s both have fun!

      • 33 FictionFan November 16, 2015 at 20:07

        Hmm… will there be girls in them? ‘Cos you’d need someone to flirt with!

        *laughing too* That sounds good! Let’s!

      • 34 Professor VJ Duke November 17, 2015 at 14:03

        No, just me, I fear. Just boring me.

        *laughs* To KennyWood then!

      • 35 FictionFan November 17, 2015 at 19:08

        Oh, you’re never boring! Though of course my Schwarzy does make all other men seem a little dull…

        *shock* No, no! To Pemberley!!

      • 36 Professor VJ Duke November 17, 2015 at 21:42

        So, if you had dinner with Schwarz, what would you have speaks with him about?

        Pemberley? Darby’s house? But there’s not running water!

      • 37 FictionFan November 18, 2015 at 17:34

        Cabbages and kings, sugar and spice, yesterday and tomorrow, him, me, you…

        That’s OK – you can bathe in the lake… *wide eyes*

      • 38 Professor VJ Duke November 18, 2015 at 21:46

        Me? What would you ask him about me? See, you should stick with one subject. Like, Kenny G, for instance.

        That’d be cold! Imagine if people happened upon you.

      • 39 FictionFan November 19, 2015 at 16:30

        I’d ask him what the guys say about you behind your back, and whether he thinks you’re good enough to play backing music for him when he sings. The Kenny G conversation might be short…

        Me: What do you think of Kenny G’s hair then, Schwarzy darling?

        Schwarzy: *laughs*

        Not me! You! I’d have the servants drag buckets of hot water up to fill my bath…

      • 40 Professor VJ Duke November 20, 2015 at 14:45

        I’m sure they say I’m quite scary behind my back. And filthy, probably.

        *laughs* That is rather short. But you know, I think you nailed it. That’s exactly what Schwarz would say. Humph noodles.

        There’s no hot water, though, see!

      • 41 FictionFan November 20, 2015 at 15:51

        Oh, they probably say you’re cute and adorable! Especially in your purple shirt.

        The servants would heat it over the fire…

      • 42 Professor VJ Duke November 22, 2015 at 19:01

        Now, here’s the thing: I have not a purple shirt.

        If they find fire, that is.

      • 43 FictionFan November 23, 2015 at 15:47

        You should get one then!

        They could borrow your flamethrower…

      • 44 Professor VJ Duke November 23, 2015 at 16:32

        I’ll ski up a slope before that happens. Ooo, wasn’t that a great comparison thingy?

        Oh no. That’s for the zombies, see.

      • 45 FictionFan November 25, 2015 at 15:53

        If you had a little jetpack you could do that! And wouldn’t James Bond be jealous then?

        Mmm! Krispy Korpses! Yummy!!

  5. 46 Simply Skeptical November 11, 2015 at 22:27

    I can’t wait to interact this is tremendously exciting. I’m also looking forward to hearing those voices and video tales of old. So much fun coming our way compliments of the Professor. Loud and Lots of APPLAUDS!!!!

    • 47 Professor VJ Duke November 12, 2015 at 14:00

      Many thanks, SS! I’m so chuffed, the sudden.

  6. 48 John W. Howell November 11, 2015 at 22:02

    You keep changing. I have to admit this last one will take some effort getting comfortable.

    • 49 Professor VJ Duke November 12, 2015 at 13:59

      *laughs* I know. But this should be more final now. It’s all a bit disconcerting. But it will work out. What think you of the chat room, my good man?

      • 50 John W. Howell November 12, 2015 at 17:45

        I like the chat room but everyone runs away when I go in. Do you think this shotgun is the reason.

      • 51 Professor VJ Duke November 13, 2015 at 16:37

        *laughing* That might do it. Here, hide it in the corner. We must schedule chats in that room. That’s what I’m thinking.

      • 52 John W. Howell November 13, 2015 at 21:28

        Yes. Good idea. Just shoot a note.

      • 53 Professor VJ Duke November 15, 2015 at 00:25

        Niceness. You’ve already visited, I see. And left hilarious comments as usual. Awesome!

      • 54 John W. Howell November 15, 2015 at 12:08

        Yes. But there needs to be a way to know when someone is there.

      • 55 Professor VJ Duke November 16, 2015 at 14:53

        Yes, you’re right. Like a little thing up there or something. Rats. Scheduling one will be a thingy, since all the different time zones, too.

      • 56 John W. Howell November 16, 2015 at 15:32

        I’m sure you can work it out

      • 57 Professor VJ Duke November 17, 2015 at 14:00

        I shall have plenty of cashews to help think on it.

      • 58 John W. Howell November 17, 2015 at 15:53

        My favorite nut. Well, besides VJ Duke.

      • 59 Professor VJ Duke November 17, 2015 at 21:36

        *laughs* I’m rare–inedible–sort of nut.

  7. 60 Lady Dunamis November 11, 2015 at 21:23

    Glad you are bringing back the voices!

    Eh hem, yous forgot their are ladies that peruse your blog so me thinks the closing of ladies and gentlemen would be appropriate, although I am inclined to not think so much that you might have been thinking of using the word in a universal/generic application. I hope I confused you.

    💃

    • 61 Professor VJ Duke November 11, 2015 at 22:01

      I thought you might dig it!

      You did…slightly. But still, your’e right! Goodness. What a mistake. I blame you. What think you of the chat room, Lady?

      • 62 Lady Dunamis November 11, 2015 at 22:53

        Not sure on the chat room. Kinda reminds me of AOL chat rooms when that was the rage but now-a-days there is an Internet rage where most people are down right nasty, rude, and exponentially crude. I call them Internet cowards because if they were speaking with you face to face they wouldn’t be so nasty. But enough with the heavy, I will take a peek because I am most like that and besides I have a reputation of being an angel that I must uphold. 😇👈 this is me and it is and will always be the truth. 😂

      • 63 Professor VJ Duke November 12, 2015 at 14:04

        *laughing* No! It’s the halo. Dadblameit. Well, this is a TPL chat room. Once we get a chat scheduled, it’ll be lots of fun and whatnot. I believe. Can’t be sure, though. It might not even work. But you must admit, it looks good sitting up there.

      • 64 Lady Dunamis November 12, 2015 at 14:11

        This looks like Facebook and I am Allergic to FB. I love it when people from my yesteryear can’t find me. Makes me think I am a secret agent and whatnot.

        Do I need a FB account?

      • 65 Professor VJ Duke November 12, 2015 at 14:20

        I seriously didn’t want to get a FB account. But it’s done wonders for sharing my music videos around. So…it depends, really. But now! A punchy chat room is not like FB!

      • 66 Lady Dunamis November 11, 2015 at 22:55

        * I am most like that was supposed to be I am nosy like that

      • 67 Professor VJ Duke November 12, 2015 at 14:04

        Hmm, I don’t believe you!

  8. 68 Heartafire November 11, 2015 at 20:54

    Very exciting Prof, it’s mad! Are there no limits to your genius!

    • 69 Professor VJ Duke November 11, 2015 at 22:00

      Well, I think I’m rather dull, you know. Only a genius every other week. Or year. Or maybe not at all!

      • 70 Heartafire November 11, 2015 at 22:16

        Dull? rats and a heifer, I’ll have no such talk. If you get dull (or suffer from narcolepsy (sic) I will let you know. :-D

      • 71 Professor VJ Duke November 12, 2015 at 13:59

        Oh, okay. Hector told me I was dull, right before he died on the beach. Sad tale, that.

  9. 72 Haylee November 11, 2015 at 20:36

    Ooh, I saw the chat room do-dah when I came to grab the linky thing to reblog. I peeped, got a bit scared and left, in case I wasn’t allowed to be there without an invite! I look forward to voices though :)

    • 73 Professor VJ Duke November 11, 2015 at 22:00

      Of course you’re allowed in there! What think you of a chat room overall?

      • 74 Haylee November 11, 2015 at 22:48

        Yay! I think it’s a cool idea (and I like the other ideas for the changes ahead) but I’m always a bit slow in chatrooms – although I can’t actually remember the last time I was in one. I’m not a speedy typist you see, so I’ll be that person who chips in with something witty, only to find the conversation moved on a week last Sunday whilst I was still figuring out the acronyms!

      • 75 Professor VJ Duke November 12, 2015 at 14:03

        *laughing lots* Do you know, that’s me too! If there’s lots of people (I haven’t been in one for ages) I just can’t keep up at all! It’s a conspiracy, I tell you.

      • 76 Haylee November 12, 2015 at 17:21

        Well as long as you’re as inept as me, then I shall feel better about dabbling in some dialogue! Perhaps you should send out staggered invites, book people into a time slot. Or issue wristbands like a swimming pool then blow your whistle and tell all the blues to get out… Keep the numbers manageable :)

      • 77 Professor VJ Duke November 13, 2015 at 16:36

        *laughing* There you are! We can be inept together. Now, that’s a thing. But I don’t have a heart to throw people out. I’m heartless, see. Maybe I’ll have you throw the people out, if they misbehave, that is.

  10. 78 Susan P November 11, 2015 at 20:31

    It is looking good!

    • 79 Professor VJ Duke November 11, 2015 at 22:00

      Even the chat room?

      • 80 Susan P November 12, 2015 at 03:14

        Is that what that was? Golly. Somebody was chatting his nose off.

      • 81 Professor VJ Duke November 12, 2015 at 14:16

        I chat my nose off all the time. We’ll have to schedule a chat. And you shall have to moderate it.

      • 82 Susan P November 13, 2015 at 01:46

        Seriously? That explains a lot.


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,876 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 114,747 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


