The Krampus vs. Santa Claus

Okay, so here it is:

The professor is somewhat obsessed with the Krampus.

Why, you may ask?

Because I fear he might be coming.

See, for those of you who are unfamiliar with the Krampus, it’s a beast that punishes bad children at Christmas time.

Santa Claus gives presents to the good children, but the Krampus beats them (with logs, I think) or carries them away to that fiery place.

Nikolaus_krampus

Now, this is the Krampus and Santa Claus in one pic. It took me forever to find SC. He’s in the back with a funny hat on.

images

Hard to see, but here’s the Krampus leading away a bunch of children.

Not very scary. Why, I’d fetch that brute right out. But the Krampus is scarier in other pictures, I must admit.

film_krampus_heroimage_desktop_1600x900

Krampus likes snow thingies.

Krampus_at_Perchtenlauf_Klagenfurt

Krampus needs a dentist.

Now, we must get back to what this professor was saying above. I said I feared this chap was on his way.

And it’s true.

See, we’re all naughty, I think, so that means the Krampus is coming. I’m giving you a heads-up to prepare.

Sharpen your swords and get ready.

One last thing.

If Santa…

evil-santa

…was to square off against the Krampus, I’m betting on Santa. Who do you suppose would win the fight?

Also, if you’re interested…

78 Responses to “The Krampus vs. Santa Claus”


  1. 1 Haylee December 2, 2015 at 21:17

    I have never heard of the Krampus but my other half has and gave me a little bit of trivia he heard about the film – apparently one of the Christmas markets featured is Nottingham in the UK despite none of it being set here. And they filmed without permission so Nottingham are grumpy. They’re probably on the Krampus’ side which I suppose I should be too, being British!
    Actually, I quite like the idea of the Krampus. I think that’s why I like the film Rare Exports – fairy tales and folklore are dark, dark places and Santa can’t always be that jolly, surely. I will have to add Ito my Chrimble watch list!

    • 2 Professor VJ Duke December 3, 2015 at 14:45

      *laughs* They did? Imagine that. They sneaked in and sneaked out. I might admire them for that, but I don’t know. Well, if you were really wicked this year, yes, you must pull for the Krampus, see.

      That’s right! Santa can’t always be happy. I always thought he was hiding something, see.

      • 3 Haylee December 3, 2015 at 18:20

        I don’t think I was wicked. Not much. But then I suppose the naughtiest never think they’ve done any wrong…

      • 4 Professor VJ Duke December 4, 2015 at 19:57

        Naughty comes natural to you, just like me. And we shan’t let the Krampus ruin it for us, I say! To war!

      • 5 Haylee December 4, 2015 at 20:09

        RAAAAAARRRGH…Lion! 🦁

        (That’s my war cry, ever since my long running ‘bear v lion’ debate started 😊)

      • 6 Professor VJ Duke December 10, 2015 at 14:13

        I always have that debate to! Answer is bear, you know.

      • 7 Haylee December 10, 2015 at 18:54

        Oh dear. I’m afraid we can no longer be blogging buddies. Unless you wish to fight! #Teamlion 🦁🦁

      • 8 Professor VJ Duke December 11, 2015 at 03:23

        No way! You go for the lion? *mouth drops to his toes*

      • 9 Haylee December 11, 2015 at 07:17

        My hair can be wild like a lion’s mane. Seemed logical :)

      • 10 Professor VJ Duke December 13, 2015 at 20:04

        *laughing* But bear’s have wild hair, too!

      • 11 Haylee December 13, 2015 at 22:19

        Not like mine. That’s all crazy wild lion mane. Besides, if I said I was as hairy as a bear it makes me sound incredibly hirsute, which doesn’t sit well for a lady. No further comments needed, I accept that you’ve now defected to team lion! Thank you :)

      • 12 Professor VJ Duke December 15, 2015 at 19:56

        *laughs* Still working out what hirsute means. But it’s cool!

        But…but…my fav animal is a Kodiak bear! I must be able to work this out better, I’m thinking.

      • 13 Haylee December 15, 2015 at 20:26

        Hirsute = incredibly hairy!
        e.g. The gentleman’s back was hirsute and in need of waxing.
        Okay, Kodiak bears are pretty awesome. In fact, I actually prefer bears to lions but I think I’d make a better wild cat if I had to be one. So maybe there’s a place for both teams. Perhaps. :)

      • 14 Professor VJ Duke December 17, 2015 at 15:22

        Oh! Guys don’t wax, dadblameit!

        Niceness. Maybe you can switch every month or so?

  2. 15 Simply Skeptical December 2, 2015 at 20:40

    Krampus doesn’t look so good in red. Of course, Santa would win. Krampus better be watching over his shoulder Santa means business when it comes to the wee ones. (snickers)

    • 16 Professor VJ Duke December 2, 2015 at 20:41

      But, Santa might not win. He doesn’t have horns, see.

  3. 17 Sonya Solomonovich December 2, 2015 at 20:29

    If they wrestle, Santa will crush him sumo-style! However, if they fight with weapons… I’m not sure. Is the Krampus any good with a katana?

    I think this will be a good movie to watch! I’m not usually a fan of horror, but something about the Krampus seems appealing.

    • 18 Professor VJ Duke December 2, 2015 at 20:41

      You know, I’m not sure if he is or not. But look at those horns! I imagine he has fun goring people, see.

      Doesn’t it? Same here. Are you going to see it?

  4. 19 FictionFan December 2, 2015 at 16:26

    Oh, yes! That little boy at the front of the line is you, isn’t he? That’s why you’ve made it blurry, as a disguise – didn’t work! Never mind, Santa looks way more scary than the Krampus, so he’ll (probably) rescue you…

    • 20 Professor VJ Duke December 2, 2015 at 20:40

      Why of course not! The Krampus wouldn’t be able to take me away. *draws katana)

      Isn’t that an awful Santa? *shivers* Do you leave out cookies for Santa?

      • 21 FictionFan December 2, 2015 at 22:59

        Oh, but it was obviously when you were just a little Professor – not the warrior you are now!

        Horrific! Imagine waking up in the middle of the night and seeing that! *shrieks* Give him my cookies?? *shrieks* I think not! He gets a whisky and Rudolf gets a carrot. Do you?

      • 22 Professor VJ Duke December 3, 2015 at 14:49

        But…but…I was always a warrior, dadblameit!!

        Well, that’d be awful. A carrot! That’s nice I might steal the carrot, if I was there. Well, there’s always this cookie platter sitting out. But I cover it up. So, I don’t know if he gets in there or not.

      • 23 FictionFan December 3, 2015 at 18:10

        Well, I don’t know if I believe that! Of course, if you had a photo of you as a cute little warrior-babe, that’d prove it…

        *nods* Like meeting SK in a dark wood… I bet he does! He looks like a cookie-snitcher…

      • 24 Professor VJ Duke December 4, 2015 at 19:57

        I was an ugly baby, you must be warned. Of course, all babies are, so…

        That’d be horrid! You know, I think you’re right. But I’m on a diet now, so no cookies.

      • 25 FictionFan December 4, 2015 at 23:02

        Oh I bet you were the c&a exception to the rule!

        You?! On a diet?! Whatever for??

      • 26 Professor VJ Duke December 10, 2015 at 14:20

        Oh no, definitely not. I was an orc baby.

        *laughs* It has to do with Jiu jitsu and weight and working out and all that boring stuff.

  5. 27 Heartafire December 2, 2015 at 16:19

    I didn’t know there was Krampus. Thank you professor. I don’t guess you could have told us at the beginning of the year? I have been running wild oblivious to the year end twist of fate. I did get a sock full of rocks one year…the Krampus is on to me.

    • 28 Professor VJ Duke December 2, 2015 at 20:39

      *laughing lots and lots* If I warned you beforehand, that wouldn’t be fair, would it? I suppose I should’ve. But I’ll get a visit, too, which is awful. Unless you ambush him for me.

      • 29 Heartafire December 2, 2015 at 21:29

        Krampus is in big trouble if he comes around here. Santa and I are tight. I’ll put in a good word for you. Not for Clara though.

      • 30 Professor VJ Duke December 3, 2015 at 14:46

        Yes, please. I fear I’m on the naughty list. How tight? ‘Cause I want a skyscraper for Christmas.

      • 31 Heartafire December 3, 2015 at 17:00

        hm, how about a small cabin in the woods and few reindeer? :)

      • 32 Professor VJ Duke December 4, 2015 at 19:54

        That’s sounds nice. Is there a shower and running water?

      • 33 Heartafire December 4, 2015 at 20:41

        No, but there’s a little room outside with a half moon on the door. That seems cool.

      • 34 Professor VJ Duke December 10, 2015 at 14:14

        That is definitely cool. I like the moon when it’s in quarters.

      • 35 Heartafire December 10, 2015 at 14:47

        laughs! Enjoy!

      • 36 Professor VJ Duke December 11, 2015 at 03:12

        But I never see it in quarters!

      • 37 Heartafire December 11, 2015 at 14:10

        Then you have not been taking the right …er …medications.

      • 38 Professor VJ Duke December 13, 2015 at 20:13

        *laughs* That’s the truth.

  6. 39 Debbie December 2, 2015 at 15:54

    No way I’m seeing that movie, Professor! Good golly, it’s got ALL the scary things, like goats that creep up on you, clowns, a Jack-in-the-box, and being stuck with a bunch of disagreeable folks for days without electricity!! Sounds like a special part of hades to me.

    Yep, Santa would definitely win. He’s one of the good guys, and we all know Good eventually will trump Evil. It says so in the Good Book, you know. Now I’m going to have to find some chocolate to feast on so I can get the vision of Krampus out of my mind!!

    • 40 Professor VJ Duke December 2, 2015 at 20:39

      *laughs* Bot goats aren’t scary! They eat grass. See, how can a thing that eats grass be scary? Or strong. We must fetch him out, see.

      Dallas will protect you from the Krampus, I’m sure of that. Or you can do the snake-move on it!!

  7. 41 Lady Dunamis December 2, 2015 at 15:41

    Being the 😇 that I am, I do not fear Krampus. Besides, the force is with me!

    My bet is on Santa because he’s got a cranberry red colored Lexus this year and I am sure his archenemy can’t handle that. And word out on the street is Rudolph and his homies have been working out with the WWF. Krampus doesn’t stand a chance.

    • 42 Professor VJ Duke December 2, 2015 at 20:38

      *laughs* The force! Are you a Jedi now?

      I saw that Lexus! It’s quite amazing. *laughing lots* We must help Krampus, then, Lady.

      • 43 Lady Dunamis December 2, 2015 at 22:26

        My Jedi capabilities are used only when needed. Yes, that Lexus IS sweet and besides Krampus needs a dentist and reconstructive surgery never mind help to fight Saint Nickmeister.

      • 44 Professor VJ Duke December 3, 2015 at 14:46

        *laughs* But check out Santa! I mean, he needs a diet, don’t you think?

      • 45 Lady Dunamis December 3, 2015 at 14:51

        No doubt but at least ugly isn’t his problem…hehehe.

      • 46 Professor VJ Duke December 4, 2015 at 19:48

        He’s horribly ugly and you know it!

      • 47 Lady Dunamis December 4, 2015 at 20:06

        Laughing real hard!

      • 48 Professor VJ Duke December 10, 2015 at 14:12

        He’d have to shave for a start.

      • 49 Lady Dunamis December 10, 2015 at 18:37

        I don’t disagree with you in that one.

      • 50 Professor VJ Duke December 11, 2015 at 03:21

        That means I win, then.

      • 51 Lady Dunamis December 11, 2015 at 03:22

        No…it means I don’t disagree.lol!

      • 52 Professor VJ Duke December 11, 2015 at 03:27

        Hmm…why can’t you let a poor chap win one now and then?

  8. 53 desertdweller29 December 2, 2015 at 15:36

    Good God! Make the Grinch look like a perfect pet. Blasphemy, I tell you!

    • 54 Professor VJ Duke December 2, 2015 at 20:37

      You mean, you wouldn’t invite the Krampus for dinner in the desert?

  9. 55 walt walker December 2, 2015 at 15:16

    Never heard of this Krampus fellow, but he looks like fun.

    • 56 Professor VJ Duke December 2, 2015 at 20:37

      DH and him could go get a beer together. And we can chronicle it.

  10. 57 L. Marie December 2, 2015 at 14:13

    Does that mean you’ll see the movie? Believe it or not I’ve never heard the Krampus story. Now I need to research it.

    • 58 Professor VJ Duke December 2, 2015 at 20:37

      I’m so tempted to see the movie! Do you think it’ll be any good, tho?

      • 59 L. Marie December 3, 2015 at 14:43

        Based on the trailer, it’s hard to say. But Toni Collette is in it. She’s usually great in movies.

      • 60 Professor VJ Duke December 3, 2015 at 14:50

        Ooo, I’m not sure I know her. But I kinda would like to see it, I think.

  11. 61 PorterGirl December 2, 2015 at 13:58

    I LOVE the Krampus story! He never comes for me, even though I am sure to be extra wicked this time of year. Pah. Maybe this year I shall be lucky…

    • 62 Professor VJ Duke December 2, 2015 at 20:36

      *laughing* You would, too! Well, that’s the thing, I don’t suppose he’ll come if you keep wanting him, or if you’re not afraid of him. What a thingy.

      • 63 PorterGirl December 2, 2015 at 20:40

        Well, bugger that I say! The whole thing seems dreadfully unfair to me *laughs*

      • 64 Professor VJ Duke December 2, 2015 at 20:42

        Haha! You could always go over someone else’s house–a more wicked person, who is scared of the Krampus–and wait for him there?

      • 65 PorterGirl December 2, 2015 at 21:20

        Oh what a great plan! Yes, I shall do that. I will hide in a cupboard and leap out at the bugger.

      • 66 Professor VJ Duke December 3, 2015 at 14:45

        Be careful not to leap on his horns, tho, see.

      • 67 PorterGirl December 3, 2015 at 15:19

        Ouch! Good point.

      • 68 Professor VJ Duke December 4, 2015 at 19:50

        Yes, yes. Here, use this body armor.

      • 69 PorterGirl December 4, 2015 at 20:44

        Why thank you. It’s just my size!

      • 70 Professor VJ Duke December 10, 2015 at 14:15

        A wonder! It’s good armor. Fought with it in the Crusades.

      • 71 PorterGirl December 10, 2015 at 14:26

        Goodness! In that case, I shall never take it off. Unless it starts to smell bad.

      • 72 Professor VJ Duke December 11, 2015 at 03:11

        Umm…probably already does. It’s bloody too. In fact, I’ve never cleaned it, see.

      • 73 PorterGirl December 11, 2015 at 09:02

        Ah well as long as I can blame the smell on you I don’t mind.

      • 74 Professor VJ Duke December 13, 2015 at 20:09

        Hmm, there goes fairness out the door!

  12. 75 Susan P December 2, 2015 at 13:54

    Actually, I think that Old Saint Nicolas is very scary When I was young child, my parents put me on his lap. I was traumatized for life.

    • 76 Professor VJ Duke December 2, 2015 at 20:36

      Did he try to bite? That’s what I was always worried about.

  13. 77 Julie Harris December 2, 2015 at 13:53

    My bet is on Santa!! That Krampus is scary!!!

    • 78 Professor VJ Duke December 2, 2015 at 20:36

      Isn’t it awful? I hope you’re right. Though, Santa will have to get a sword or something.


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!

TPL Schedule

Sunday: OFF — Day of Shalt Nots

Monday: TPL Story

Tuesday: OFF — Because I'm Gone

Wednesday: Professor Speaks

Thursday: OFF — Because Yes

Friday: OFF — All Day Sleep Does

Saturday: OFF — Blue-Footed Boobies Need Fed

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,874 other followers

Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 115,068 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous


