WOW Bad Days

And just like that, there I was.

Now you’re probably wondering where I was.

Well, I was between a rock and a harder rock.

I wasn’t sure what to say, that is.

And whenever this professor isn’t sure what to say, he just stares at you like a dumb mouse.

This is a Mouse. Period. Don’t correct me.

(And just for kicks and gurgles…look at this moose…)

Well, anyways and a sum, like I was saying, I was between a rock and a very hard rock…

She looked at me. “Well, well, well?!”

And I said the only thing you can say when you’re being pressured. “I haven’t quite decided yet.”

“Decided?!” she almost shrieked. “You’re not making sense! I asked you, ‘How are you today?’ and you said ‘I haven’t quite decided yet.’ How could you not know how you are?! Hmm?!”

And then I yelled. Just a bit, mind.

“Look here,” I said, “I’m not sure how I am and that’s a valid response. I’m not sure how I am because the world is going a bit nuts at the moment. I’m not sure how I am because I ran into you and I really don’t want to see you at all. In fact, I wouldn’t want to see you if it had been a good day. Imagine how bad it is to see you on a bad day. I merely said I wasn’t sure because I didn’t want to be honest and hurt your feelings and because I didn’t want to label the day bad yet. But you have forced my hand and you have forced me to make up my mind. So here it is in a coconut-shell: I don’t like you, I don’t like this world, and I’m having a really dreadful day. Now, good day.”

As I walked away I considered my use of “now, good day”. It probably should have been have “now, bad day”, huh?

Anyways.

Moral: Bad days are bad days. Accept them. Grow from them. Hate them. And swear plenty.  

 

38 Responses to “WOW Bad Days”


  1. 1 Walt Walker February 24, 2024 at 03:31

    Just checking in on the moose again. He’s been standing there for quite some time. Must have good knees.

  2. 2 Walt Walker November 18, 2022 at 04:07

    I just checked in to see if the moose had dropped the ball yet. Looks like he’s still going. Quite skilled, that one.

  3. 3 walt walker May 30, 2021 at 04:43

    I was reading some of our back-and-forths, yours and mine, Old Sport. I do wish you would come back to this place, from your green star, or wherever it is you’ve gone. Perhaps you are eating donuts and can’t be bothered. I hope you have not gotten into a street battle which didn’t go your way, and are now bleeding out. I would like to help if I can. But then, you are quite wiley and likely don’t need help. Just give them, whoever they are, the old what-for. You know, bedazzle them with your confunditry and such.

    • 4 Professor VJ Duke June 14, 2021 at 13:25

      WALT….how have you been? The good news is that the professor has finally finished what he was doing, so I should be back. I’m almost done with my book. Then I’m going to send it to you to keep safe. Then I’m going to retire.

      Well…I am old and could use the help with a street battle. Sometimes my words don’t work in my favor, don’t you know. I actually need Dick as a body guard.

      • 5 walt walker June 15, 2021 at 02:15

        A book?! How exciting! Is it dangerous? If not, I will protect it. I might read it though. Is it in English?

        I’ve spent most of my the time since we last spoke mending my boomerang (it came back). I am older, and getting week in the knees, but still interested in battles, especially street ones. Mr. Hercules hasn’t been round in years (a good thing), but if you sound a horn, like Borowhatsis in that book about the ring and the short folk, he may charge round a corner. Unless he’s gotten fat on hot dogs, or some such. 🌭

      • 6 Professor VJ Duke June 16, 2021 at 14:42

        It’s in professorish English, I’m afraid. It’s not much good. You will most likely get frustrated with it. But, yes, I must give it to you for safekeeping.

        Ah. I’m very glad about the boomerang. Especially since you’re getting weak about the knees. Me too. Age is just something that happens that is awfully vexing. We should actually go and hunt the fountain of youth. You know, I wish I could get fat on hotdogs, the sudden.

      • 7 walt walker June 18, 2021 at 03:16

        Now, Professor. You may quest for the fountain, or you may fat up on hot dogs. But you can’t do both. Hot dogs weigh you down and make you older. And fountains wet buns. They two are incompatible, you see.

        Send the book. I will guard it with my wife.

      • 8 Professor VJ Duke July 5, 2021 at 22:37

        With your wife! hahahahahahahahahahahahaha

        Okay, but seriously you have a great point there. Do you suppose you might invent a way so that I could do both?

  4. 10 Lively Life November 23, 2020 at 21:46

    Glad to restumble on your section of the world. Your words smile my face up real good!

  5. 12 Luke November 10, 2020 at 04:25

    It really do be like that sometimes

  6. 14 Audrey Dawn - Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister May 3, 2020 at 01:34

    Moose, not mouse. Mouses are much smaller, you know. And I know you know. Umm, completely ignore everyone. It works really well then every day is a good day.

  7. 16 Angeline M May 1, 2020 at 14:04

    Well, bad days have been a contagious thing around everywhere lately it seems. I seem to wander off the trail a lot too as hard as I can not want to. But there I go and find myself wandering somewhere or other, but not here. So all in all, and one for all and all for one, just have a bad day. Good to see you again.

  8. 18 FictionFan May 1, 2020 at 10:00

    Don’t you dare swear plenty, sir, or I shall superglue a Covid mask to your face! And imagine how much it would hurt your beard when you tried to pull it off… *imagines and smiles* Then you’d reallllllly have a bad day!

    PS Not only am I not sure what that moose is attempting to do in the second photo, but I’m almost sure I don’t want to know. 😱 The mouse though is extremely talented – bet you wish you had antlers…

  9. 24 walt walker May 1, 2020 at 03:05

    How rude of her to force your hand. I’d have shouted too.

    I’m a big fan of mooses. That’s a brave one up there, attacking the thingy.

  10. 26 Debbie April 30, 2020 at 23:07

    Sometimes it’s hard not to hurt people’s feelings and be completely honest at the same time. Rest assured you’re not the only one among us feeling this disconnect. Everything seems to have turned completely on its head right now. (Um, I don’t want to hurt your feelings, but that first picture isn’t a mouse; it’s a moose — or something like that. And I like the game he’s playing with his antlers!)

  11. 33 John W. Howell April 30, 2020 at 18:30

    And so Professor another deep explanation on where you have been. I think you might be on to something with that mouse. There is a better trap somewhere just waiting to be invented.


Say something...anything...O Punchy Family!




Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,846 other subscribers
Follow The Punchy Lands! on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 121,316 hits

Join the Professor on Twitter!

Professorish Smiley:

==[:-{)=

or

==[:-{)+

Depends on the day, see.

Punchy Argot:

1. Dadblameit.
2. Humdinger
3. Chickit
4. Chicky-woot-woot
5. Malediction
6. Rapscallion
7. Gardoobled
8. Congratulilolations
9. Togoggin
10. Gargonic
11. Two and Five Gurgles
12. Rats and a Heifer
13. Two nods, a wink, and an astroid
14. A bit, bits, and little bits
15. Huff-Hum and a Roar
16. So many thanks, I can't begin to thank you
17. Ri-do-diculous